We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Main Road, Greenhead, Brampton CA8 7HB England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (53)
Dining (28)
Room & Suite (5)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 3 hostels in Brampton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Greenhead Hotel, ran by the hands on owners (Jordan & Anna), is situated on the Northumberland and Cumbrian border, just 20 miles from Hexham with Hadrian's wall on our doorstep, the hotel offers a cosy drinking area with locally sourced ale. Also, a chic restaurant serving homemade classic pub food with a modern twist and 7 newly refurbished dog-friendly en-suite guest bedrooms, alongside a 48 bed Hostel, just off the A69 with ample parking available as well as EV charging points. Our kitchen, ran by Jordan Dodwell & Daniel Nattrass has been awarded one AA rosette in May 2022 for culinary excellence. Each dish served is a masterpiece, meticulously crafted with locally sourced ingredients bursting with flavour and creativity. From succulent burgers & elevated pub classics to more refined & unique gastropub dishes edging on fine-dining with a relaxing feel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Walking tours
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Electric vehicle charging station
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Desk
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English
121Reviews0Q+A21Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 106
  • 10
  • 1
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Gilly1966 wrote a review Sept 2023
Sunderland29 contributions9 helpful votes
Fabulous stay in the beautiful hotel. Perfection to detail, staff were very friendly, food was outstanding, would highly recommend. Good location for walkers, lovely scenery in a sleepy village. Short drive to nearby Gilsland which was also great.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Chris B wrote a review Aug 2023
12 contributions2 helpful votes
Overall, the hotel is nice. Staff were pleasant and the food was lovely, although very expensive for what you actually got. Breakfast was lovely too! The bar and drinks selection was good, but they appear to just make up the hours as they go along due to demand. It's a very 'walker' orientated hotel but there us very little to do near by other than walk really. I also object to automatically adding a 10% service charge to the bill. Service should always be good. Exceptional service should be rewarded at the clients discretion, nit the hotels
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
happy1012 wrote a review Jul 2023
Carlisle, United Kingdom163 contributions68 helpful votes
Popped in for lunch today we have driven past hundreds of times before not realising what we were missing! The menu was varied& well priced. The food was delicious and all home made including the bread( served warm) The soup .. courgette,pea& basil was absolutely fantastic. The homemade chips are fabulous. We couldn’t fault a thing. Staff are lovely friendly& knowledgeable. It’s a 10/10 from me.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elise Geddes, General Manager at The Greenhead Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Responded 22 Jul 2023
Thank you for spending the time to write us a review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your lunch, I will pass your comments onto the kitchen team & we can't wait to see you again in the near future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
TrailBlazer718301 wrote a review Jul 2023
15 contributions11 helpful votes
Room 10 - Whilst the room was large it seemed to have been kitted out for a child. The room was large enough to take a large double or even king bed but no you had a small double that was lost and tiny in the room, and totally uncomfortable for two to sleep, but single occupancy would have worked. Whilst there was a small chaise lounge it did not work as a comfortable seating for two, there was plenty of room for two comfortable chairs and that would have been better. Wardrobe was tiny and totally in the wrong place, miss matched and not well thought out. Tea making facilities were so poor you had to be on your knees to make the drinks.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elise Geddes, General Manager at The Greenhead Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Responded 22 Jul 2023
Hello, Thank you for spending the time to write us a review. We take all feedback onboard & are always looking at ways to improve our Hotel. As mentioned on check in we do have larger bed/room types and advised your walking company should've stated on booking to ensure you got a larger bed as requested, as we were fully booked this day which unfortunately meant I couldn't move room types for you. I hope you enjoyed everything else about your stay, a shame that you didn't mention anything positive. We hope you had a wonderful rest of your walking holiday and if you are in the area again we hope you do visit us!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kevin S wrote a review Jul 2023
Whitchurch, England, United Kingdom20 contributions2 helpful votes
This hotel is perfect in every way. The staff, the room (we had Sycamore Gap) the food and the location to Hadrians Wall. We had excellent food with a good range of locally sourced ingredients and excellent service from all staff. I don’t know what else to say.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elise Geddes, General Manager at The Greenhead Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Responded 22 Jul 2023
Hello, Thank you for spending the time to write us a review. I am glad to hear that everything was perfect for you, it is a pleasure to hear such great feedback & of course I will pass it into all the staff! If you are ever in the area again it would be wonderful to welcome you back to the hotel. Kind Regards, Elise
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MrMcCoatup wrote a review Jun 2023
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom57 contributions10 helpful votes
Unquestionably 5 stars from us: great menu, delicious and well-priced food, three perfectly kept real ales and friendly, attentive staff. A gem of a place to eat when in the area. We were staying in Gilsland and decided to walk to the pub rather than drive - 35 minutes along Hadrian's Wall path: easy walking and we were treated with a display from a dozen or so Curlews on the return trip.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elise Geddes, General Manager at The Greenhead Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Responded 22 Jul 2023
Hello, Thank you for spending the time to write us a review. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and our ales! We pride ourselves on sourcing local ingredients & ales so it's a pleasure for us and the small businesses who supply the hotel that you enjoyed everything! If you are ever in the area again, it would be lovely to welcome you back for a drink, meal or overnight stay!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Pandora B wrote a review Jun 2023
Copenhagen, Denmark274 contributions105 helpful votes
Almost perfect. Would give 5 stars if the corridor carpets were cleaner and the double bed was larger. Booked the last room which happened to be a quadruple room with double bed and 2 bunk beds. However the double bed was so small it would be more suitable as a single. This is a shame as the room was spacious. Bathroom was large, modern and clean with fluffy towels. Tea and coffee was provided as well as biscuits and fresh milk in the fridge in the hallway. Staff were extra helpful and friendly. Help was given to carry suitcases up the stairs. Breakfast was excellent. Hadrian's Wall is a short drive away. A delightful stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elise Geddes, General Manager at The Greenhead Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Responded 22 Jul 2023
Hello, Thank you for spending the time to write us a review! Firstly thank you for your positive comments, we try and go the extra mile (like taking bags up to the room) to make your stay as relaxing as possible! We have also taken your other feedback onboard too and have since had the carpets cleaned, during walking season we aim to clean them as often as possible as unfortunately we get lots of muddy boots (especially with all the rain we get!). I will also pass your feedback on regarding the bed size onto the owners. Please do not hesitate to visit us again if you are back in the area!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Diane J wrote a review Jun 2023
10 contributions4 helpful votes
Just had a super lunch here today. Great balanced menu with interesting dishes as well as traditional bar food. I had a falafel wrap with hand cut chips and my friend had the cheese soufflé. All beautifully presented. The pomegranates in the wrap were a revelation and the chips were perfection. Great value too. Lovely smiley service. We will definitely return, thank you
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jackie S wrote a review May 2023
39 contributions7 helpful votes
Walking Hadrian's wall this was a great place to arrive after a long days walk. Staff were very friendly and a bonus was our bags in our room. We ate in the hotel. The food was lovely and beautifully presented. If you are in the area it is very much worth a visit
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
henry l wrote a review May 2023
4 contributions
The Greenhead Hotel looks like a nice place and is, as far as I can tell, the only place open in Greenhead in the evenings. The menu looks excellent, there is a good choice of beer and wine and the atmosphere when you enter the hotel seems convivial and welcoming. Beware though if you are a solo traveller looking to eat alone. I had booked a table but was placed in the restaurant, which was empty apart from one couple, rather than the main part of the pub where everybody else was seated. There are two tables for one person in opposite corners of the restaurant. Sitting at either of these tables felt a bit like being placed on the naughty step. I asked if I could move to the area of the pub where everybody else was having a fine time, but was told they were fully booked, so I
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greenhead Hotel, Other at The Greenhead Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Responded 20 May 2023
I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience. Being the only place for meals in Greenhead, we get extremely busy on an evening and are quite often fully booked. I believe the night you were due to dine, the restaurant was also full, just later on in the evening and the atmosphere was just as lively as the bar area. Unfortunately, only the bar is dog friendly and accessible and so this area is quite often fully booked. Again, we apologise that you felt you couldn't enjoy your meal and hope you will give us another try.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Brampton area.
PRICE RANGE
£131 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaBrampton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GREENHEAD HOTEL, BAR & RESTAURANT - Updated 2024 Prices (Brampton)