We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Scotch Arms Mews

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Scotch Arms Mews
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 106: English reviews
Start your review of Scotch Arms Mews
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Scotch Arms is one of the nicest pubs around. It's really a B&B, so the bar area is designed around house guests and it shows. Lovely matching arm chairs and tables for drinks and accoutrements (I was going to say magazines, but that has to include kindle and tablet now). We particularly enjoyed the log-burning stove which packs a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hugo M
Dianne N, Owner at Scotch Arms Mews, responded to this review

Wow, a great review to kick off the season, thank you so much. We are all so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with ourselves.

Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We liked this hotel so much, we stayed an extra night & the staff arranged it so that we didn't need to change rooms, which have been recently remodelled. Despite being on the main road, our sleep wasn't disturbed by noise. The breakfasts were delicious, especially the Swiss-style muesli, but there were other cereals, fruit & hot food cooked to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seaviewlover
Dianne N, Owner at Scotch Arms Mews, responded to this review

A lovely review, which is very much appreciated. We are all very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with ourselves and we hope to be able to welcome you again. Dianne

Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

I spent 2 nights at the Scotch Arms Mews last week, and really don't see how the experience could have been improved. The whole building seems to have gone through a major renovation, which has been carried out to a very high standard. The room was in was very nicely decorated and well equipped, and the lounge bar and breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
Dianne N, Owner at Scotch Arms Mews, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your 2 night stay with ourselves and hope to be able to welcome you again. Many thanks. Dianne

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016

if hienikin made b&bs this would be one of the best i spent quite a time at the Mews in brampton and stopped in 3 different rooms in the b&b and they were very tastefully decorated i also stopped in the apartment THE MEWS and again was great Mine Hosts Dianne and Colin were great sat in front of there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidscott2016
Dianne N, Owner at Scotch Arms Mews, responded to this review

What a great review, thank you. We took enjoyed your company for the time you spent in our area and are very pleased to hear that you found everything to be of a high standard giving a comfortable stay. Once again, thank you. Dianne

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2016

This is a B&B with a bar (fairly recently converted from an old pub). We use the bar for our book club meetings. It has tasteful decor, an open fire, big leather armchairs and friendly staff. As it's not actually a pub it does close fairly early (certainly on weekdays) at about 22.00. We got free chocolates this time!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 20pixie16
Dianne N, Owner at Scotch Arms Mews, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very proud our our business and ensure it's always warm, clean and friendly so it's lovely to hear that you enjoy it too. Dianne

Consett, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Excellent B&B. Reasonably priced. Really genuinely warm welcome. Delightful room with tasteful decor beamed ceilings and huge comfortable bed. Spotlessly clean. Warm and cosy. The bar area was contemporary yet warm and comfortable. The hosts where attentive and obviously proud of their hotel. A great nights sleep and a hearty " full Cumbrian" breakfast. Fresh fruit, toast and fresh coffee....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wearfan
Dianne N, Owner at Scotch Arms Mews, responded to this review

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with ourselves and found everything to be of a high standard. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your lovely review. Many thanks.

Newcastle upon Tyne
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Paid more than we usually do for a night here because it was a good location for us - close to friends with whom we were dining. The room was very large and lots of care had been taken with decor. Our tea tray however only had 1 coffee sachet and 2 decaffeinated coffees and no biscuits which was rather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MacTraveller21
Dianne N, Owner at Scotch Arms Mews, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with ourselves and found our premises to be comfortable and our large on site free parking to be useful. The little items on the complimentary tray as you say must have just been missed and of course would have been replaced had you mentioned this...

Grimsby
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here overnight while on business. Scores 10 out of 10 on everything! Nice, friendly and helpful owners, lovely place, spotlessly clean, exceptionally comfy bed, everything you need in your room, free wifi, a good bar but no fraught beer, which I wouldn't expect anyway in a B&B but plenty of choice. Good large car park to the rear, simply...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phillip P
Dianne N, Owner at Scotch Arms Mews, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review of our family ran Bed & Breakfast. You were a pleasure to have stay and we look forward to welcoming you again. Dianne

Menston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We stayed at this fab and comfortable luxury B&B for two nights in September as part of our accommodation when walking Hadrian's Wall. We had an excellent experience. Diane & Colin are very hospitable and welcoming. The contemporary bedrooms are extremely well equipped which is essential when adverse weather conditions are experienced on a walking holiday and boots need drying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
Dianne N, Owner at Scotch Arms Mews, responded to this review

A lovely review, thank you to you both. Well done on completing your walk. P.S, I hope you didn't end up on the train Tracey during the rest of your time away.

Biggar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

A group of four golfers on a weekend break, we found it to be a great location. 5 mins from Brampton Golf course and 15 mins from Eden Valley golf course. Pity they aren't doing meals at present but they were happy to phone local hotel or restaurants for us. no draught beer but a good choice of bottled beer....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davybhoy1967
Dianne N, Owner at Scotch Arms Mews, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We are, as you say in a great position for groups golfing in our area. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stop over with ourselves and found our premises to be very comfortable. We hope to be able to welcome you all again next year. Dianne

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (43)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brampton
5.6 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
913 reviews
2.5 mi away
Farlam Hall Country House Hotel
7.7 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gilsland Hall Hotel
Gilsland Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gilsland
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Howard Arms Hotel
The Howard Arms Hotel
#16 of 27 in Brampton
175 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bush Nook
Bush Nook
#1 of 8 in Gilsland
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Grade II listed property, which underwent major renovation in 2013 to enable the opening of our family ran luxury Bed & Breakfast in 2014. All rooms are en-suite with many original features found during renovation left exposed. The rooms are decorated and furnished to a high standard giving a contemporary feel. Downstairs, our bar offers a selection of wines, beers and cocktails and a warm welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scotch Arms Mews

Address: 34-35 Main Street, Brampton CA8 1SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Brampton
Price Range: £66 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scotch Arms Mews 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Scotch Arms Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotch Arms Mews Brampton, Cumbria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scotch Arms Mews staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Scotch Arms Mews staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms facing the road we found noisy, may be request a rear facing room if you seek a quiet one.”
 of 5 bubbles traceyw947, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the back of the hotel are quieter. The front rooms are subject to stree noise.”
 of 5 bubbles RonS298, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 6 had lovely lofted beamed ceilings. Very spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles 359lizw, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Email contactable and fast to reply”
 of 5 bubbles collettem759, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“There are rooms in the main building and a few off to the side. I paid a little extra for a lovely room in the larger part.”
 of 5 bubbles courtley, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5