We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunnyvale Caravan Park

Save
Share
Foryd Road, Kinmel Bay LL18 5AS Wales
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (136)
Room & Suite (27)
Pool & Beach (12)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 03/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sunnyvale Caravan Park
Updated 03/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 Speciality lodging in Kinmel Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Sunnyvale is located on land surrounded on 3 sides by the mouth of the river Clwyd and golden sandy beaches that stretch for miles. We specialise in renting a small number of high quality lodges and caravans and have a stunning well appointed touring field next to the beach. Predominately private owned lodges and caravans (some with spectacular sea views) make up the majority of our park. We are considered a mid sized holiday park with a total of around 250 pitches, so low guest volume to facilities and staff ratios mean an unequalled level of service. So although we have a club, bar, bicycle hire, convenience store, all weather pitch, outdoor childrens playground, world class beach and guest events at times throughout the year (for example a music festival and comicon) we are for the most part a quiet park which comes alive during the summer season and holiday periods. We have a number of partnership arrangements with local attractions inc SC2 Water Park so lots to do all year round!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's playground
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car park
Paid wifi
Outdoor dining area
Boating
Game room
Hiking
Bicycle tours
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Board games / puzzles
Nightclub / DJ
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
24-hour security
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun deck
24-hour check-in
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Private beach
Dining area
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Landmark view
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, German
202Reviews11Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 148
  • 18
  • 5
  • 12
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Pete wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
For years, sunnyvale has always been a clean, well managed site. Recent improvements have made it an even nicer place to visit. All of the staff are pleasant, Knowledgeable, and go the extra mile to help. The site is right on the clean beach, and close to dunes where the walks are pleasant and you can see lizards and a large variety of wildlife in the warmer months. Very highly recommended, a jewel in Wales Crown.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aaron Scantlebury, General Manager at Sunnyvale Caravan Park
Responded 26 Oct 2020
Thanks for an excellent review which is very much appreciated. We are blessed with our enviable location and oasis of wildlife that surrounds us. Please come back and visit us again, you are always very welcome.
Read more
Meggastrom wrote a review Sep 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom5 contributions
We stayed in a static caravan for two nights and it was fantastic. The site was quiet and well maintained with great security. The caravan was exactly as described and very clean. The beach is accessed directly from the caravan site and there is also a playground which my 4 year old grandson loved.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Aaron Scantlebury, General Manager at Sunnyvale Caravan Park
Responded 26 Oct 2020
Fabulous review and we thank you very much for taking the time to do so. Sunnyvale attracts discerning families that enjoy the tranquillity and peaceful surroundings we have while any fun activities are within easy reach. Please keep visiting us and enjoying your special time with us.
Read more
Sally H wrote a review Sep 2020
Morecambe, United Kingdom11 contributions3 helpful votes
Booked a 2 nights' stay on their site for caravans and campers. It was quite busy, however very quiet despite the amount of people booked on. The staff were very friendly and went above and beyond. Security staff were very friendly everytime we went on and off the site. The staff in reception went above and beyond what we expected for a caravan park. Very COVID secure, with the toilets and showers being open for a limited amount of time, being cleaned on the hour every hour whlst it was open. You do have to take your own toilet roll with you, which for us wasn't an issue. Great seaside local, lovely stroll along the front into Rhyl. Only downside is that most car parks in the area have barriers going into them of 2.1m and our van is 2.72m heigh which spoilt the stay a little bit but this was nothing to do with the Caravan Park itself.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aaron Scantlebury, General Manager at Sunnyvale Caravan Park
Responded 26 Oct 2020
Thank You. Your review paints a lovely picture of our park. It is hugely appreciated and welcome as is your family to our park. The low height barriers on some car parks in the area are a bit of a pain to be honest and limits parking for the highest of vehicles..... although a few visits to the area soon reveal the best parking spots available! We look forward to welcoming you back to Sunnyvale.
Read more
AndyMax2003 wrote a review Sep 2020
Bolton, United Kingdom10 contributions15 helpful votes
Ok, it wasn’t or first choice of holiday for 2020, but for obvious reasons our trip to Spain was cancelled, so we decided on something closer to home and we’re not disappointed. Comms and booking was all done via phone and online without any problems. Even got a call mid-day on the day of arrival to say our van was ready for check in (officially it should of been 4pm) Easy enough to find and following temp check to make sure we didn’t have the COVID we were in. Caravan was modern, clean, spacious (well as much as a caravan can be) with ample parking for the Jag on the drive. Bedding is supplied but you need your own towels plus essentials such as toiletries, fairy liquid etc. The setting was second to none, right on a beautiful beach, with sand dunes to the side and just the coastal path between us and the sand. The Harbour was a 5 minute walk and a further 20 into Rhyl town centre (not the nicest) along with an Aldi close by and an Asda the other way. The Mayquay Pub was just next door which did great food as reasonable prices. Llandudno is a nice day out about 30min drive away. All the staff we met were friendly and accommodating though we pretty much kept ourselves to ourselves. Because of the COVID and it being end of season not all facilities on site were open, such as the shop, bike hire, pub or club though I do believe the bar was open at weekends. If you’re after a typical holiday camp set-up with loads going on, organised activities, evening entertainment, swimming pools and hundreds of other council estate scumbags with their grotty kids running amok round the site then there’s plenty like that on offer round here, Sunnyvale is a definite class above that. We enjoyed it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Aaron Scantlebury, General Manager at Sunnyvale Caravan Park
Responded 13 Sep 2020
Hi. Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our park. Sunnyvale certainly isn't a run of the mill holiday park and most certainly does attract a different clientele from the traditionally percieved view of holiday parks. Our caravans and lodges are all modern and well equiped including deckings and wifi availability. Our location although central boasts an enviable beach and sand dunes. we are a quiet park and our guests enjoy being either within walking distance or a short drive to some great eateries and attractions.... We look forward to welcoming you back and once again appreciate your taking time to review us.
Read more
biscuitchops wrote a review Sep 2020
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom63 contributions46 helpful votes
On arriving in the touring section, myself, husband and 2 children paid a visit to the conveniences to find no loo paper. The attendant told us it was due to Covid and that was the rules in Wales. Unfortunately, we know this isn't the case as we live in Wales and all other public conveniences have loo paper stocked. The Government guidelines are to minimise the amount of touch surfaces and sanitise these regularly, not to completely remove toilet paper (can be checked out on the Providing Safer toilets for public Use Coronavirus - Welsh Government website). In fact they encourage paper hand towels as a replacement for hand air dryers and making the facilities as useable as possible to replace the public's faith in using facilities as the restrictions of lockdown ease. The absence of loo roll is in contradiction of this and encouraged other anti social behaviour in the toilet block (I won't elaborate). Also the fact that we hadn't been pre warned there was no loo roll on our first visit (no signs or information) led to an embarrassing situation, which could have been avoided. The toilet roll holders in the toilets in addition are Tork roll dispenser (the round ones with the dispenser in the middle) which means you only touch the sheets you've dispensed. So there's no excuse whatsoever to not implement toilet roll. Unless it is just a cost saving exercise and therefore at least be honest about it and brief the attendant to tell people the correct information. The other issue was the amount of dog muck in the grass on the touring site. Admittedly, we didn't witness it anywhere else on the main static but I think, due to disrespectful dog owners in the touring part, there were two large deposits right next to and behind our caravan both when we arrived and a fresh sample during our stay which made it unsavoury, especially with our two children who would have enjoyed using the grass around our caravan to play on but unfortunately, was banned for this reason. We also noticed there had been bags of it left next to (not in) the bins and there was another pile on the way to the shower block that we had seen a dog leave but because the owners had tied the pet on a long lead outside their caravan, were oblivious to. We also witnessed a tethered dog urinating up someone else's awning. Saying the above, we liked the location of the site. The staff and visitors were friendly. The lady who took our temperature at the security office on our arrival was very engaging with the children who were a little scared of having their temperature taken and reassured them it wouldn't hurt which was nice. We have visited Rhyl and surrounding areas before and know that it has a lot to offer our family and entertain the children. Put some loo roll in the shower block and be more stringent with rules for people bringing pets (especially tethered dogs) and we will definitely be back. Thanks for having us.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Aaron Scantlebury, General Manager at Sunnyvale Caravan Park
Responded 10 Sep 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review our park. Our holiday team do inform new bookings that the toilets are manned by toilet attendants to ensure spacing requirements and regular hourly cleans take place and customers are to bring their own toilet paper. I'm sorry on this occasion you were not informed fully of our operational requirements. I appreciate your observations and accept that the paper dispensing system normally in use is safer than roll dispensers however (and i'm sure you will have observed) Sunnyvale are far more stringent with our covid-19 safety procedures than any other park i know. This includes but is not limited to stringent booking in and out system to ensure we can inform both the Welsh & English track and trace systems of anyone potentially in contact with someone that finds themselves infected with covid-19. As you have pointed out we also temperature check everyone entering our park at least one during a visit, again a measure not employed by any other park i'm aware of. These measures including those some may consider above and beyond that required by legislation or government advice are designed to minimise the likelyhood of Sunnyvale having to close its doors to visitors as some businesses in Wales have had to do since the lifting of restrictions. The impact on the enjoyment of our park is negligible if any however, we must ensure that we inform everyone of our policy in full and i apologise again you were not informed in good time that toilet paper would not be made available. I'm really disappointed you had to put up with dog fouling in and around the pitch. I can assure you it is far from the norm and not something we suffer from as a park. Nevertheless we are really sorry you had this experience. When you next visit us please bring any concerns you have to my immediate attention so that we can do something about it straight away. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you back at Sunnyvale.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$103 - US$162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesConwy CountyKinmel Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sunnyvale Caravan Park
Which popular attractions are close to Sunnyvale Caravan Park?
Nearby attractions include Rhyl East Beach (0.3 miles), Marine Lake (0.3 miles), and Pont-y-Ddraig Harbour Bridge (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sunnyvale Caravan Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a lounge, free parking, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Sunnyvale Caravan Park?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a dining area.
What food & drink options are available at Sunnyvale Caravan Park?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Sunnyvale Caravan Park?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sunnyvale Caravan Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bistro Restaurant, Rhyl Cookhouse + Pub, and Harbour Hub Cafe.
Is Sunnyvale Caravan Park located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Kinmel Bay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sunnyvale Caravan Park?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Sunnyvale Caravan Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Sunnyvale Caravan Park offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a banquet room and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sunnyvale Caravan Park?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.