We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Blythe Road Newark, Ollerton NG22 9EB England
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (463)
Room & Suite (55)
Dining (25)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 2 in Ollerton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Sherwood Hideaway is a collection of 24 luxurious cedar lodges nestled deep in the Sherwood Forest. Five different styles of two and three double-bedroom lodges boast beautifully appointed state of the art kitchens, wood-burning stoves, flat screen TV, DVD, CD and iPod entertainment facilities, Porcellanosa bathrooms and Molton Brown toiletries. Contemporary outdoor hot tubs offer an extra treat beneath the forest canopy, on the decking of all lodges. Guests can explore acres of beautiful countryside around The Sherwood Hideaway on foot or bike. For a change of scene, a little further afield there's the Sherwood Forest visitor centre, Rufford Golf Club, Ollerton Watermill and Clumber Park (National Trust) where bike hire is available. The many other attractions of Nottinghamshire are within a leisurely driving distance. Close at hand is Thoresby Hall Hotel, where guests can enjoy professional spa pampering and a sanarium at a discounted rate. And if guests are feeling too relaxed even to enjoy the splendid lodge kitchens to create their own meals, the fine dining restaurant in the hotel is an easy alternative. Thoresby Park also boasts its own art gallery and Victorian Courtyard with craft and boutique shops, military museum and cafe - the perfect place for a relaxed browse.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Picnic area
Room features
Bathrobes
Fireplace
Private balcony
Seating area
Sofa
Dishwasher
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
363Reviews44Q+A56Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 282
  • 59
  • 14
  • 4
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
grantblack13 wrote a review Apr 2022
Airdrie, United Kingdom8 contributions6 helpful votes
Was great to be able to relax or take walks away from the madness of every day life, the cabin had erverything we ned for a great holiday. The set up, added extras and also the welcome pack. The detail given to al laspects including pets was amazing
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Tracy Sherwood Hideaway Team, Marketing at The Sherwood Hideaway
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Grant, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, it is really appreciated. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and had a relaxing time. We do hope to see you here again in the future.
Read more
eslam o wrote a review Mar 2022
6 contributions
Just wanted to thank the staff, general manager Alan and the lovely lady at the reception from the moment we arrived they were very welcoming. We were in two minds due to the reviews about cleanliness but we decided to see for ourselves. The lodge we stayed at was fantastic, very clean and it gave us a luxury feeling. Everything here is 5 star, you have everything from A-Z which makes you feel like its a home away from home. The location gives it the hideaway experience as its so peaceful with beautiful views of the forests. Once again thank you so much for making my staycation amazing. Look forward to returning soon.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Tracy Sherwood Hideaway Team, Marketing at The Sherwood Hideaway
Responded 31 Mar 2022
Thank you for your lovely review, we really do appreciate it. We loved having you stay with us at the hideaway and are so pleased you had a great time and enjoyed the peace and tranquillity of our special location. Your thanks will be passed on to the staff, they are great and work very hard so your thanks will mean a lot to them. We can't wait to welcome you back to Sherwood Hideaway soon 😊
Read more
Smitchie wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
We have used Hoseasons to book stays before and had a really good experience so thought we would try different location. The Sherwood Hideaway is in a great location, you drive up a long driveaway into the estate and the cabins are all nestled in a clearing in the forest, it's a great location- really peaceful and quiet, you cannot hear the road at all. Everything is a short drive away, we visited a few different places all less than a half hour drive. This was good. The lodge however, was a massive let down. The first thing we noticed was how grubby they were; we have always been a 'take your shoes off at the door' family so we did, and walking from the front door to the bedrooms to look around, my socks were BLACK. It was like this the whole time, it got to the point when we went shopping that I bought more socks so I could change them multiple times a day because after walking around the cabin you were getting stuck to the floor. We were all using my Brother-In-Law's sliders when we got out the shower so we could get to our rooms with out our feet being filthy again, it was really bad. The kitchen island/table was similarly grubby- I tried to wipe it all down with the baby wipes we had. Some of the cutlery in the drawer wasn't clean, some of the glasses in the cupboard weren't either- it was just such a let down. The lodge was also just a bit shabby, stuff was just broken or in disrepair, this wasn't immediately noticeable but rather things we noticed throughout the week. There was cellotape on one of the outlets ? who knows why, we didn't want to investigate, there was unfilled holes in the wall, one of the sheets on the bed had a huge hole where the seams had torn but it had been used anyway, there was a corner protector missing from the island. The oven was an experience, I'm not sure if it is poorly ventilated or just broken but everytime you opened the oven door when it was on it let out billows of smoke, we had to get into this bizarre routine of getting dinner whilst opening the front and back door for fear of setting off the smoke alarm. There was also this weird thing where at random times the sink in the kitchen would gurgle or the toilet would gurgle but for a solid hour or so? Really odd. Worst thing was the smell, there was this bizarre sewage smell, we were never sure where it was coming from but it would come and go, was usually more noticeable in the mornings when you woke up and walked back into the living room it hit you. It was all just a let down. We managed to book early and got a week booking during half term for just over £400, when we checked again later they had put the price of our holiday up to nearly £1000. If I had paid £1000 I would be in fuming. For the price we paid it was like somewhere to sleep, we just went out. I think because it was a pet-friendly lodge they just don't care about the cleanliness of it but honestly, it was awful. If this review hasn't put you off, or you have booked already and are checking reviews as an after thought, just a few more things to help- - Take blankets because they place is freezing. There are heaters but they are tiny and they are weak. - Take extra towels because the place asks you not to use the heaters to hang towels on and the towel rack is tiny so between the hot tubs and having a shower and the lodge being freezing, the towels they provide are thinner than toilet paper and just never dry so you need some extras. - The TV in the lodge doesn't connect to any channels, they give you a DVD player (but no DVDs), but we took the Playstation so we could watch Netflix and Amazon stuff, would DEFINITELY recommend. The WiFi is an Open Network so it is slow but we managed to stream films most nights with just some mild buffering. -If you are taking a pet, thoroughly read all of the information they send you because they have Breed limitations for their park, we were reading the book they provide in the cabin and it is listed in there and it caught our eye as we are buying a Rottweiler in a few months and that is one their banned list. Overall, it was a let down of a stay, it hasn't put me of using Hoseasons because like I said, our other stay was brilliant but I wouldn't stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Tracy Sherwood Hideaway Team, Marketing at The Sherwood Hideaway
Responded 22 Feb 2022
We are sorry to hear you had some issues during your stay with us. We always endeavour to correct any issues as soon as we possibly can, however, we were not made aware of any of these during the duration of your stay with us, which unfortunately, now you have departed the hideaway, leaves us unable to rectify any of the points you have raised. Our team would be happy to discuss this further, if you so wish, you can contact us on 01623 824594.
Read more
trixbella89 wrote a review Feb 2022
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom36 contributions21 helpful votes
+1
First time I've been to the sherwood hide away lodge I'd read the reviews and was a little worried but it was totally wrong the lodge was beautiful, modern and very clean me and 5 friends had the best time. Hot tub was hot very clean! I'd highly recommend these lodges and I'll be back! Loved the wine and chocolates plus the dressing gown and slippers were a lovely touch! 10/10
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tracy Sherwood Hideaway Team, Marketing at The Sherwood Hideaway
Responded 15 Feb 2022
Hi Amy, thank you so much for leaving us a review, it is much appreciated. We are so glad you had a great time staying with us We are pleased you and your friends enjoyed the hot tub and the little treat of wine and chocolates. We can't wait to welcome you all back to the hideaway soon.
Read more
bd00lisa wrote a review Jan 2022
Cambridge, United Kingdom239 contributions49 helpful votes
I have stayed lot with Hoseasons We decided to have our first family holiday with my brothers and sister in laws in 20 Years When I arrived at the lodge 6 the place was freezing no heating on and not standard we are use too, clean standard was dreadful from gritty floor and dust everywhere and en-suites shower was not clean. So we went down to the office and complained and also one of the light bulbs had blown too !!! They did come and give us 2 portable heaters and changed the light bulb ( normally they have the heating on to make it nice cosy !!) which Took good hour to make the lodge warm and we decided to go in the hot tub and it was broken and I could also tell there was no chlorine in the hot tub !!! So off we go again to the office and the lady tried to fix it and could not and she suggest to use the hot tub at the next lodge but it was not safe for some of our group to walk in the dark and try to avoid loads of mole hills !!! Plus that hot tub had no chlorine in it too Health safety by not putting chlorine in the hot tub is very dangerous god knows when these was cleaned !!! ( I am hot tub owner) and this was main reason we wanted lodge as we all wanted the hot tub !!!! She said she be back in the morning let us know when it be fixed!! In the meantime in the morning we cooking breakfast and decide to put on the hood omg the noise level was terrible could not have it on and so the smoke detector went off !!! So went back cross to the office at 10.30 went to complain again about the hood and ask about the hot tub and was told hot tub man had covid!!!! So offered us to look at lodge 8 which was ok but was not keen swapping as It mean packing up and move, so we did decide to move took our day up by doing this took time off our weekend but than they offered us a superior lodge 26 which was much better but there was faults there too Out of date hot chocolate which was dated September 2021 !!! Floor was very gritty and hot tub outside was better and did have chlorine but at night it was dangerous getting out of there using steps as you can’t see where steps as there was no lighting where steps was Very disappointed with the lodges would I come again no and would I recommend no Family holiday which should of been relaxing and chilling turned in to a night mare This park was not up to the normal standards we have experience with previous Hoseasons We come to expect
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Tracy Sherwood Hideaway Team, Marketing at The Sherwood Hideaway
Responded 26 Jan 2022
We are very sorry you experienced some issues with your stay and appreciated you coming into reception to let us know so we could try to rectify what we could at the time. The heating is set at a standard level due to different people liking different temperatures which can be changed to your own preferred setting when you arrive at your lodge, we also have blow heaters in the plinths in the kitchen for quick heat, and the fire in the lounge. We understand your frustration regarding the hot tub jets failing and again we apologise for any inconvenience this technical issue caused until we could get you moved to an upgraded superior lodge, which at the time you seemed happy to accept. If you wish to discuss this further, we would be more than happy for you to contact us on 01623 824594
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandNottinghamshireOllerton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Sherwood Hideaway
Which popular attractions are close to The Sherwood Hideaway?
Nearby attractions include Skirmish Paintball Games Nottingham (2.4 miles), The National Holocaust Centre and Museum (3.6 miles), and The Adrenalin Jungle (4.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Sherwood Hideaway?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, internet access, and a picnic area.
Which room amenities are available at The Sherwood Hideaway?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a dishwasher, and a fireplace.
Is parking available at The Sherwood Hideaway?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Sherwood Hideaway?
Conveniently located restaurants include Smoke&Ice, The Hay Barn Cafe, and Forest Lodge Hotel Restaurant.
Is The Sherwood Hideaway located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the centre of Ollerton.
Are there any historical sites close to The Sherwood Hideaway?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Rufford Abbey (2.5 miles).