Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Oyster Cove Chalet

42 Manuka Rd Kettering, Oyster Cove, Tasmania 7150 Australia
Nearby - Snug Falls is worth the 30 min walk!
Traveller (21)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 guest house in Oyster Cove
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Oyster Cove Chalet is the perfect place to experience Hobart and its surroundings. The city center is merely 20 minutes away and the airport can be reached within 40 minutes. Accommodation consists of 4 modern and luxurious self-contained studio apartments, all on ground level and easily accessible. The apartments all contain very comfortable queen or King/Twin beds, ensuite bathrooms, and fully equipped kitchenettes. Each room has a private deck with BBQ. At Oyster Cove Chalet, the excellent service and superior facilities make for an unforgettable stay. Whilst lodging at this wonderful property, guests can enjoy free Wi-Fi in all rooms, wheelchair accessible facilities for disabled guests, and free car parking. Oyster Cove Chalet is the perfect base from which to enjoy your stay in Hobart, and our location is perfect for quick access to Tasmania’s famous Bruny Island- being only 3 minutes from the Kettering Ferry Terminal. Nature lovers will appreciate the abundance of birdlife
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Hiking
Babysitting
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Express check-in / check-out
Car park
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Concierge
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
First aid kit
Private check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Dining area
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Complimentary toiletries
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Kitchenette
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
45Reviews0Q+A5Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 37
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Bronnie B wrote a review Apr 2021
7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great place to stay close to Kettering for the Bruny Island ferry. Guy and Annie were terrific hosts with special treats left on our beds through to advice on where to go for a lovely dinner. The rooms were spacious and well appointed and wheelchair accessible (not that we required it). There was a lovely space to sit and feed the Paddymelons who came in search of some apple and it was only three minutes to the ferry in the morning.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GoTheTahs1 , Owner at Oyster Cove Chalet
Responded 18 Apr 2021
It was an absolute pleasure to host you and your sister. Annie and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you so much for leaving such a fabulous review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ankita k wrote a review Nov 2021
5 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Oyster Cove is close to nature and we woke up to wallabies in front of our room. The hotel is very close to the Kettering terminal and Bruny island is easily accessible from there. It is a 30 mins drive from the city and when returning at night, it can be very dark with no lights around. But, if you are a nature lover and want to relax, have bbq it is a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GoTheTahs1 , Owner at Oyster Cove Chalet
Responded 6 Nov 2021
Thank you for your stay with and we hope to see you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alan H wrote a review Jan 2024
Melbourne, Australia11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Terrific location with an abundence of wildlife. if you are looking for a peaceful location that is easily within the Hobart surrounds and Bruny Island a 2 minute drive then this is the place. Guy was quite easy to deal with and very accomodating. Will definitely use again
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guy Williams, Owner at Oyster Cove Chalet
Responded 31 Jan 2024
Thank you so much for staying with us at Oyster Cove Chalet, and taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. Annie and I definitely hope to see you back again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gary M wrote a review May 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Huge spa which you can't use but still have to climb into for a shower. No consideration for disabilities. For the price 1 coffee pod for use the you have to pay $2 a pod. Bad slippery timber walkway to deck with broken solar lights
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't want a spa or have a disability
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guy Williams, Owner at Oyster Cove Chalet
Responded 25 May 2023
Hi Gary. We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as much as other guests. During your 2 night stay with us you were given 6 Lavazza coffee pods at no cost to you. Should you have chosen to request more pods, we definitely have to charge for that. We believe that to be entirely reasonable. With regards the bathroom, we have an accessible room available (wheelchair accessible) for guests should they have any mobility issues. You only have to ask when you make your booking. Thank you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jillk wrote a review Sept 2020
Burnie, Australia156 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oyster Cove chalets were beautiful; set in serene Bush land. The unit was well appointed and nice touches such as home made chocolate and a pod coffee machine. The owner was friendly and very helpful. Loved the vases of daffodils which greeted us.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guy Williams, Owner at Oyster Cove Chalet
Responded 10 Sept 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review of your stay with Annie and I. We certainly look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wittyjo wrote a review Jan 2022
Liverpool, Australia26 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic place to stay. Annie and Guy fantastic hosts. Breakfast was included. Chocolates handmade by Annie left on the bed. Saw and fed Paddymelons, turbo chickens and also saw Wallabies and an Echidna. Close to Kettering and the ferry to Bruny. Very comfortable and homely. Definately recommend and will stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GoTheTahs1 , Owner at Oyster Cove Chalet
Responded 27 Jan 2022
Thank you so much for leaving such a wonderful review of your stay with us. Annie and I are so glad that your special occasion was so successful during your stay at Oyster Cove Chalet.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DebbieButterwoth wrote a review Oct 2020
Burnie, Australia3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful place to stay, attention to detail was fabulous. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. Owners were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Thoroughly recommend it and it’s close to many attractions. Extremely happy.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Great location
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guy Williams, Owner at Oyster Cove Chalet
Responded 16 Oct 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of your stay with us. It was an absolute pleasure to host your family, and we look forward to seeing you next time you visit Southern Tassie.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rocelyn I wrote a review Jan 2023
Launceston, Australia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fabulous stay. Comfortable bed and the bushland chorus made it a relaxing stay. Step for the shower access: appreciated the trouble taken. Friendly and caring hosts. Close to Channel Highway a bonus
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guy Williams, Owner at Oyster Cove Chalet
Responded 19 Jan 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of your stay with us. Annie and I were more than happy to find a solution for you. Looking forward to your next stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hunnybun19 wrote a review Sept 2017
Ipswich, Australia24 contributions41 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first trip to Tasmania and came across this little gem in my research. What a pleasant experience!!!! We are not touristy people so finding something close to Hobart and central to natural wonders and historical spots we wanted to see was important. Guy and Annie are wonderful hosts who contacted us on the day of arrival to check our eta (tick for customer service). Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and told that there was fresh homemade scones just about to come out of the oven!! (double tick for customer service). We were also advised that on the mornings when Guy made a batch of bread there would be some to supplement our included continental breakfast. One morning the girls laid some extra eggs so another bonus extra!!! The apartment was roomy and with a well equipped kitchen and very clean. Being Queenslanders the efficient heating in the apartment was great. Our apartment faced the front of the property and we were able to watch the native wildlife including the native hens which roam the property. We got the winter special but I would happily come back regardless of the price. Guy and Annie thank you again for a wonderful stay and we hope to be back again to experience your fantastic hospitality.Keep up the good work!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guy W, Owner at Oyster Cove Chalet
Responded 6 Sept 2017
Thanks so much for the great review. It was a pleasure to host you and we really hope you managed to get some great pictures- it is such a photogenic part of the world! We actually had some light snow this week, and we are expecting more tonight, so you must come back next winter to experience it!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lottiencol wrote a review Dec 2019
Nightcliff, Australia32 contributions36 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the perfect place to come if you want peace and quiet and a beautiful bush setting but like the comfort of a spotlessly clean room, crisp sheets, a comfortable bed and a hot shower. The small kitchen was very well equipped. Oyster Cove Chalet is extremely good value for money and we thank Guy and Annie for the wonderful hospitality (and the sighting of a swift parrot).
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from gdwocc, Owner at Oyster Cove Chalet
Responded 6 Dec 2019
Thank you very much for leaving such a lovely review of your stay with us. It was a pleasure to host you, and such a privilege to be able to assist in sighting such an endangered bird.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Gary M wrote a tip May 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't want a spa or have a disability"
Read full review
DebbieButterwoth wrote a tip Oct 2020
Burnie, Australia3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great location"
Read full review
Joy D wrote a tip Sept 2019
Greater Melbourne, Australia18 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Few rooms so definitely book well in advance if traveling during the busy season."
Read full review
David wrote a tip May 2019
14 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are only a small number of rooms. We stayed in one around the sideway, Very quiet, with a bush view."
Read full review
willyw35 wrote a tip Jan 2018
Pakenham, Australia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are amazing"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Oyster Cove area.
PRICE RANGE
£90 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaTasmaniaOyster Cove
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OYSTER COVE CHALET - Updated 2024 Reviews (Australia)

Frequently Asked Questions about Oyster Cove Chalet
Which popular attractions are close to Oyster Cove Chalet?
Nearby attractions include Raptor Refuge (0.5 miles), Nutpatch Handmade Fine Chocolate (1.1 miles), and Bruny Island Quarantine Station (4.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Oyster Cove Chalet?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a concierge.
Which room amenities are available at Oyster Cove Chalet?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Oyster Cove Chalet?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Oyster Cove Chalet?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Oyster Cove Chalet?
Conveniently located restaurants include Peppermint Bay Hotel, Woodbridge Village Store, and Oyster Cove Inn.
Are any cleaning services offered at Oyster Cove Chalet?
Yes, self serve laundry and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Is Oyster Cove Chalet accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.