Rockliffe Hall
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Rockliffe Hall

1 Pilmore Mews Hurworth Place, Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington DL2 2DU England
Traveller (1867)
Panorama at the Rockliffe Hall
360
Panoramas (13)
Rockliffe Hall Superior Old Hall Bedroom
Room & Suite (504)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Rockliffe Hall is the only five red star resort hotel in the North of England. Set on a magnificent 18th century estate on the banks of the River Tees, Rockliffe Hall is a destination in itself. Rockliffe Hall's world-class spa and golf course, well-equipped meeting rooms, three restaurants including the 3AA Rosette Orangery restaurant with menus by head chef Paul Nicholson and sublime service ensure it is the perfect place to escape and relax, to do business, and to create memories that will linger on.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Highchairs available
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Golf course
Aerobics
Fishing
Patio
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Butler service
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English

Location

1 Pilmore Mews Hurworth Place, Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington DL2 2DU England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 59 out of 100
59
Newcastle Airport
39.1 mi
See all flights
Durham Tees Valley Airport
3,752Reviews34Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 2,923
  • 463
  • 227
  • 82
  • 57
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
TourT2 wrote a review Aug 2022
East Kilbride, United Kingdom151 contributions69 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My friends and I have just spent 2 wonderful days in Rockliffe Hall Our 2 bedroom apartment was immaculate offering lovely accommodation and was fully equipped with everything we needed throughout our stay. We made full use of the spa enjoying all the facilities from the pool 🏊‍♀️, the infa- red sauna 🧖‍♀️and the experience showers to name just a few. Breakfast in the Orangery both mornings just cried out"Eat me and Drink me"with a selection 👌to suit all needs . All staff from Hanah on reception to the breakfast team were customer focused ,helpfull and pleasant Special mention to Evie this morning who went above and beyond to allow all our party to have a scrumptious breakfast 😋 Your staff Jason are clearly passionate about their work and are great ambassadors for your brand 👏👏
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jason Adams, Other at Rockliffe Hall
Responded 23 Aug 2022
Dear TourT2 Thank you so much for the wonderful review, and it goes without saying that the team we have are hugely passionate and professional in how seriously they take their duties. Everyone of the team has continuous training to make sure we not only deliver, but surpass all our guests and members expectations Thank you for mentioning Hannah & Evie especially, they will be very pleased. I really appreciate you taking the time to praise Rockliffe Hall and the team and do hope we will see you in the not too distant future Kind Regards Jason Adams MANAGING DIRECTOR
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
emmcguig wrote a review Aug 2020
manchester22 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently had a two night stay at Rockcliff hall, the grounds are beautiful and there is plenty to do. The tennis courts and golf range were great and there is a great play area for kids. The hotel itself is beautiful and within magnificent surroundings.

We had breakfast at the hotel and whilst it was clear the staff were busy the breakfast itself was delicious. The breakfast staff were really friendly and went out of their way to sort everything out.

We were staying in one of the lodges just off from the main hotel and I would not recommend staying there. Our neighbours in the lodge appeared to be on a weekend golfing trip and were outside drinking and making a lot of noise until the early hours of the morning. The hotel did not do anything about it and this really impacted our stay as we didn’t get a full night sleep.... and I’m not prude but shouting outside your window at 2am would annoy anyone.

The hotel has done loads to improve hygiene with the covid response, there is plenty of hand gel available as you went around the hotel. The spa facilities are excellent.

I would definitely stay at the hotel again but unfortunately the partying in neighbours would put me off staying in the lodge. We informed the hotel but nothing really happened
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rockliffe Hall, Other at Rockliffe Hall
Responded 26 Aug 2020
Dear emmcguig Thank you very much for your lovely review, and of course delighted that overall you enjoyed your whole experience here at Rockliffe Hall. After investigating with the night team we were not aware of any disturbance, and of course if we had been made aware we would have dealt with it immediately. The location is slightly away from the main hotel building and does make spotting these kinds of noise issues a little more difficult to manage and I am sorry if the other guests disturbed you. I will make sure when you book next time you are in the main house. I have put a note on your guest history for when you return Lastly and probably most importantly, I am pleased you felt safe in the hotel with all the actions we have taken in regards to making you covid safe, that does please me, as huge amounts of work has been done in regards to new procedures and processes that have had to be put in place, so thank you. Kind Regards Jason Adams MANAGING DIRECTOR
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ca3004 wrote a review Aug 2020
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom82 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a local Staycation due to C-19, as our holiday plans like many others were cancelled for Spring and Summer 2020.

But I can assure you that this was no second best option to being abroad. In fact we now want to make a Rockliffe Hall staycation a regular event as we had such a fantastic time.

We stayed in one of the Armstrong apartments which was great. A lovely sitting / kitchen / dining area with two bedrooms. The apartment was well equipped, and spacious. It looked onto immaculate mature lawned gardens.

All areas of the hotel were squeaky clean and we felt very Covid safe.

We ate in the Orangery on Saturday evening and ordered the taster menu with the wine pairing. Liam and his team looked after us with five star service and the food and wine were DIVINE. A truly memorable evening.

The Spa was limited due to the C-19 restrictions, but I had a wonderful relaxing treatment from Morgan. And because you were limited to the amount of time spent in the Spa itself. It means that there are never too many people in the Spa or swimming pool, so we remained comfortable and Covid safe at all times.

We forced ourselves to sample the cocktails on each night of the stay, and they were extremely good. But to counter balance all the delicious food and drink we consumed, we did use the very well equipped gym and made use of the pristine grounds for running. We also borrowed a bike to cycle down into Croft village one day. The “Bike Butler” checked it over for us before we departed.

The break definitely recharged our batteries and we highly recommend Rockliffe Hall to anyone who wants to stay in a beautiful hotel, with amazing staff, great food & drink and a gorgeous spa. We don’t golf so we can’t comment on the course but if it’s like the hotel I’m sure it will be a golfers treat.

We can’t wait to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rockliffe Hall, Other at Rockliffe Hall
Responded 5 Aug 2020
Dear ca3004 Thank you very much for your wonderful review, I am delighted you enjoyed everything about Rockliffe Hall, and hopefully when things get back to normal we will see you again. Thank you once again for your kind words Jason Adams MANAGING DIRECTOR
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lygr20 wrote a review Nov 2020
8 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a night here as a surprise for my husband's birthday and, after checking the various menus, decided to book the Clubhouse restaurant for our evening meal (The Orangery, although I'm sure lovely, isn't really to our taste). The morning of our arrival I received a phone call from the hotel to say that, due to a member of kitchen staff being told to isolate due to Covid, the Clubhouse restaurant would not be open that evening. Obviously this could not helped, I totally appreciate that there might be issues whilst travelling during a pandemic! (although dubious as to why the entire restaurant had to close unless someone had actually tested positive). Anyway, it was the attitude of the staff which upset me. They told me I could book The Orangery instead, but I pointed out that not only did I not like the menu (plus I don't eat meat so options there are very limited) but it was going to cost me 3 times the price to eat there as opposed to in the Clubhouse. I asked whether it would be possible to get something from the Clubhouse menu but I was told No, it was either The Orangery or room service (which wasn't an option when we were going for a surprise birthday trip). I asked whether, if the room service menu is still available, then perhaps I could order from that but eat in the restaurant? Again, No. I find it difficult to comprehend that a 5* hotel with a Michelin star chef cannot even provide a simple meal just because it's not on the menu. I asked to speak to a Manager but the receptionist instead put me on hold and then came back and said she had just spoken to the Manager, and there was nothing they could do. We were literally on our way out of our house at this point so I had to tell my husband what was going on and tell him to pack a different outfit, as the dress code is different in The Orangery. This completely took the shine off what was meant to be a lovely, relaxing trip, and I hadn't budgeted on spending £110 just on food that night. So, on arrival, I asked the receptionist whether we could perhaps get a complimentary bottle of wine with dinner, to compensate for the inconvenience. Her response? "there's pubs in the village you can eat at instead" ! So we did! We had to pay £8.50 each way for a 3 minute taxi journey, but I'd pay it again rather than give any more money to Rockliffe.

On a positive note, the spa was very quiet and clean, and the reception staff there were very friendly. Our room was lovely - however we know that other guests stayed in the same room the night before (we saw this on the spa signing-in sheet) - when the hotel was nowhere near its capacity, and given the current Covid guidelines, why were we not given a room which had been left unattended for at least 24 hours? There's no way everything in that room had been disinfected before our arrival (there was dust around the bedside lamps so they hadn't even been wiped).

A very disappointing stay, the hotel certainly didn't live up to expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chris Cooper, Other at Rockliffe Hall
Responded 8 Nov 2020
Dear lygr20, Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us in September to celebrate your husband’s birthday. At Rockliffe Hall, our utmost priority is to deliver special and memorable experiences and to know that we missed this opportunity is disappointing and I offer you my personal apologies. It is very unfortunate that you were not able to experience the Clubhouse during your stay on this occasion. At the end of September, a number of our kitchen team members were contacted by NHS test and trace and asked to self-isolate. With this in mind, we took the difficult decision to immediately close the Clubhouse for a short period of time. This decision was made so that we could allow team members to stay safe and rest at home. Also, so that we could undergo a professional deep clean of all back of house and front of house areas. These decisions may seem drastic but ultimately the safety of our team members and guests had to come first. I am sorry to hear how the staff upset you; I am sure this would never have been their intention. Our team always strive to deliver exceptional customer service and they will be saddened to hear your comments. I do appreciate that you may not have budgeted to dine in the Orangery and I am disappointed that you decided to dine elsewhere. Having investigated the points you raised; I was pleased to find that you were in fact offered a complimentary bottle of wine to accompany a meal in the Orangery, but this has sadly not been acknowledged in your review. I am pleased to read, however, that you loved the facilities in the Spa and that you enjoyed the room. I can assure you that we do have exhaustive cleaning procedures and we have been awarded number of accolades for our extensive Covid-19 safety measures and your room was completely disinfected before you stayed. I do hope that you would consider returning to Rockliffe Hall in the future, so we can provide you and your husband with a stay to remember for all the right reasons and restore your faith in us. Kind regards Chris Cooper Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Teesside_tourer wrote a review Jan 2020
Teesside53 contributions51 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Arranged early entry to (excellent) Spa for two of four guests in advance of overnight stay. Lunch in Bistro ok but reception explained that, as hotel room was still being cleaned, non user of Spa would have to wait until 3pm for entry. Obviously a hotel policy as we discovered that rooms were serviced and empty. Entry was eventually provided 20 minutes early. Were advised pre-visit that Clubhouse would have live music and were invited to book table, but subsequently established there would be no live music. Very good rooms but fresh (?) milk was off and biscuits crumbled. Breakfast moderate, with poor fruit selection, weak coffee (Cappaccino, etc available at £4.50/cup supplementary charge) and cold (pre cooked?) poached eggs. Stayed recently in five star hotel in Madeira. Rockliffe needs to take some lessons.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rockliffe Hall, General Manager at Rockliffe Hall
Responded 2 Mar 2020
Dear Teesside_tourer, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Rockliffe Hall with the Tripadvisor community. We appreciate all feedback, both positive and constructive, as this allows us to improve as a resort moving forward. Please be assured that your feedback has been shared amongst the relevant members of the team who will of course take it on-board. We hope that we are able to welcome you back to Rockliffe Hall in the future in order to assure you of our best intentions. Kind regards, Simon Roberts General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
badboybrown wrote a review Sept 2020
Newcastle & Fort Lauderdale10 contributions21 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I have just returned today driving home in the sun. As soon as I turned into the hotel and saw the immaculate grounds I drove up to the reception area and was greeted by the concierge who took my bags from us and straight to the hotel room with our early check in. We had a a downstairs double room facing the golf course. It was just like the pictures with doors leading out on to a small patio area which is ideal for smokers.
We wondered off down to the clubhouse which is part of the golf club. We had not made a reservation so we had to sit outside which was fine. We had to wait a little bit but then the server made up for the wait which was fine due to the Covid situation. We pre booked in for dinner , breakfast and the spa treatments again due to the Covid. Its not ideal but the staff done very well due to the circumstances. The first night we stayed in and had room service which was very good I had the filet steak.
We had booked breakfast for 9 am and was lead straight in and served pretty fast the breakfast was locally sourced. The first day it was luke warm , the second day was eggs benedict and perfect , the 3rd day the breakfast was piping hot and fresh with the most perfect poached eggs I have ever eaten anywhere in the world ( I am a chef ) but the last day it was again luke warm and the poached eggs were like boiled eggs.
We had booked into the spa everyday not only to use the pool facilities but also for a message. The employees there were great and very accommodating it was all very nice . We did book into the outdoor spa for £30 each which gave us a 2 hour slot to use the heated outdoor pool which I would recommend.
I keep reading the same complaints about having to wait a long time to be served I did not experience this whatsoever in fact it was the opposite for me but I also tip very well. The hospitality industry needs a boost so put your hands in your pocket. If you can afford to stay here you can afford to tip it goes a long way.
The Orangery restaurant its service and food are truly 5 star. Our dining experience here was outstanding and so was its staff. We ate on the 2nd and 4th night. They even changed the tasting menu for us as they realised we had eaten there 2 days prior.
Overall the hotel and its grounds are immaculate and worth the money even if it does cost the same as 5 start hotel overseas. Everyone from the maids to reception, to bar, restaurant staff and front of house where very accommodating. I shall be staying here for long weekends for the foreseeable future.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The rooms facing the golf course have a balcony or you can have a patio with table and chairs if...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rockliffe Hall, Other at Rockliffe Hall
Responded 9 Sept 2020
Dear badboybrown Thank you so much for your kind words. You are one of the very few guests who "get it" The Covid restrictions and challenges across the resort are unprecedented, but you seemed to have embraced it, which is wonderful to see, most guests just think they have an inferior experience, and yes in some cases that will be because of the restrictions, but we are doing everything and more to keep our guests safe and make sure the experiences is five star and world class. Dont get me wrong things have not been perfect but we are learning every day and guests are feeding back changes, and as we get that feedback we evolve, and hopefully for the better. Thank you for your positive and not so positive points, ones which I will raise with the team. I very much appreciate your review Kind Regards Jason Adams MANAGING DIRECTOR
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
820kev wrote a review Mar 2020
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom22 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hall is beautiful in lovely surroundings an decorated to a very high standard. There are numerous rooms to relax before heading into The Orangery for your afternoon tea. The staff are so very welcoming and helpful, nothing was a trouble to them and everything was so well organised. The tea had an innovative twist in both savoury and sweet offerings and they were delicious. The tables are well spaced so you don’t interfere in each with other guests and the cleanliness of all the cutlery etc was exemplary. It’s a wonderful venue offering exceptional service and a great place to treat yourself or your family and friends. We will make Rockliffe Hall a regular treat after this first occasion.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Easy parking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rockliffe Hall, General Manager at Rockliffe Hall
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Dear 820kev Simply delighted by your review, so thank you very much. We do love afternoon tea here at Rockliffe Hall, and the team take their careers very seriously and try and make sure the experience provided is one that our guest's will never forget, so I am thoroughly pleased that everything about your experience was perfect We very much look forward to seeing you again very soon Kind Regards Jason Adams MANAGING DIRECTOR
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laura B wrote a review Aug 2020
Castleford, United Kingdom103 contributions35 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have just returned from a overnight stay at Rockliffe Hall. We arrived on 25th to a lovely warm welcome,we had arrived earlier than check in however we were able to leave our bags at reception and we headed to the Spa. Our temperature was taken and we were given gowns to wear by the poolside. We went to the poolside where Paul then showed us the way to the Spa Garden, he explained where everything was and how to use the facilities. The Spa Garden was really clean and there was also a hot drinks machine for you to use too. This was the first time we have booked the Spa Garden and I would definitely recommend it. We then had a little swim in the main pool,all the poolside staff were really welcoming and helpful with any questions we had. Because of COVID we had to select a time for when we wanted to use the facilities,we didn’t feel that this affected the experience. We seen the staff keeping on top of cleaning throughout the use of the spa. There was hand sanitizer throughout the hotel and spa. My husband and I had booked a 60 minute oil massage each which was amazing. The young ladies that did our treatments were Amy-Jessica & Morgan they were warm and welcoming. They made us feel relaxed and explained exactly what the treatment involved. I have never received the quality of treatments in any other hotel. The spa areas were spotless and every member of staff were lovely and acknowledged you when walking passed. After the massage we headed to our room, we were booked into the clubhouse,we have been several times before so we know the quality of food and it didn’t disappoint. We had an amazing night sleep, the shower and the bath in the rooms is so good.Our room was 213 and had a lovely view of the grounds. Breakfast was in the orangery and we both had the orangery breakfast,the staff were attentive and the food was really nice. The staff at the entrance of the hotel were really friendly and even took us down to the clubhouse on a golf buggy as it was raining (Manus & Tomos). Overall our stay was incredible,we were really looked after and nothing was a problem. I have been to rockliffe for meals,afternoon tea and spa days,this was our first time staying and I would recommend it to anyone. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and I will definitely be booking for next year.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rockliffe Hall, Other at Rockliffe Hall
Responded 26 Aug 2020
Dear Laura B Thank you so much for this wonderful review, the team will be delighted. As you have found out the team have gone to extraordinary lengths to make sure we offer not only world class service, but delivering it the safest possible environment with huge amounts of training during lock down. I am so pleased you had a enjoyable experience with us and will be delighted to the thank the specific team members in question myself. I very much look forward to seeing you again very soon Kind regards Jason Adams MANAGING DIRECTOR
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicola F wrote a review Dec 2021
Aberdeen, United Kingdom20 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited Rockliffe Hall as a gift that I got for my partners 30th and it was absolutely brilliant from start to finish.

From the room being ready on arrival, the grounds, the spa and the room itself it’s safe to say our breath was taken away on more than one occasion.

We booked a suite on the ground floor which I would absolutely recommend. The patio doors that opened out on to the golf course made for the perfect morning coffee view and the tv in the bath was such a nice addition for chilling in the evening!

The spa is the best I have ever visited. The facilities were spotless, and there were plenty rooms to keep us amused for 2 hours! We paid extra for a further 2 hours in the spa garden and would 100% do it again. The views from the heated outdoor pool were amazing at sunset, and the prosecco served to us made it that bit more special. There were only a small group of us in the spa garden at one time which was much appreciated.

In the evening we decided to have room service as we have a toddler at home and wanted to chill!! Unfortunately our food took nearly 2 hours to arrive, however they apologised profusely for this, and without question wiped the whole meal and drinks from our bill. The food itself was delicious, and was very hot when it arrived.

The room itself was huge, and it was no problem at all to help us out when I requested harder pillows. Housekeeping actually came in and re made our bed with them, rather than just passing them to us!

Breakfast in the morning had a huge buffet selection, as well as hot options from the menu which were served at our table. The staff were so kind and polite, and at least 3 people said good morning in the passing as we waited to be seated.

Check out was easy and the complimentary bottled water for the drive home was a little extra that we also very much appreciated.

It has taken just one stay for Rockliffe Hall to become our favourite UK hotel and we can’t wait to return. The next time it will definitely be for longer!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rockliffe Hall, Other at Rockliffe Hall
Responded 7 Dec 2021
Dear 691nicolaf Thank you so much for your very kind words and wonderful review, the team will be delighted I am so pleased we delivered in all areas of the resort, but as you will expect, I am a little disappointed by your your wait for your room service, but glad that was quickly rectified We have a wonderful resort, and glad to say one where the owners continually invest and put back into the business, which is very rare these days especially after the losses through closure and Covid 19 Thank you once again and we very much look forward to welcoming you in 2022. Kind Regards Jason Adams MANAGING DIRECTOR
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MrsCundell wrote a review Sept 2020
Harrogate, United Kingdom66 contributions44 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been going to Rockliffe for a number of years, to the point of us considering it our second home! The place is absolutely stunning, in fact the grounds and views are breathtaking.

We have noticed a drastic change in our last few visits and keep on going back to see if it was just a one off, but unfortunately our beloved Rockliffe keeps on disappointing, let me elaborate...

On previous visit I booked a room for a 2 night stay, when we arrived we had been allocated a twin room, the receptionist when introducing us to it advised that if I was so bothered about I could put both of them together ( she never offered to sort it). On the second night we return to the room after it had been spruced, only to find the beds pushed apart again, after our struggle of putting together. We arrived at the brasserie around 5is for a snack and was greeted with “if you have not booked we are fully booked”... well that was that then! With this episode behind us we decided to give it another go. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary. I had a few exchanges with reception as I wanted to ensure we would have a nice weekend, having spent months in lockdown. One of the exchanges was to book a treatment at the spa, and for the first time in 6 years, despite being a 2 night guest, I was asked to provide payment upfront. Upon arrival we were greeted by the lovely Anton, who guided us to reception, for a speedy check in . The receptionist walked us to the lodge we were allocated. The rooms once known for its pompous dressing was looking rather ‘naked’. The bed had no throw or cushions, the bed base was exposed, no dressing. The receptionist acknowledged the room had not been done properly but still didn’t send anyone to sort it. The shower was combined with the bath, and really high up. Having stayed at pretty much much in every single room, this was disappointing. No dressing area, room was very dark.
Due to COVID we had to book a 2 hours slot at the spa, however during our stay there was no one single free slot. We booked the soa garden area which is stunning and worth the £33 pp. there is no longer service in there (can’t get a nice bottle of prosseco anymore). The staff booked our breakfast and spa experience around the same time, which was a bit of a hassle. My treatment was fab, however the round relaxing room post massage is no longer available. The brasserie was closed during our stay, but the clubhouse and orangery were fantastic - it was lovely to see familiar faces like Owen, David, and Sean - these guys are super stars and work tirelessly to ensure we have a good time! The bar and the staff are also fab, the drinks are delish and well elaborated!
Overall, our stay was ok, but things have definitely changed over our recent visits!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rockliffe Hall, Other at Rockliffe Hall
Responded 20 Sept 2020
Dear Mrs Cundell Thank you for your constructive review and having spoken with team about your experience, I must apologise we didn't deliver on some aspects of your stay this occasion There are huge restrictions laid down by the government which has clearly impacted on yoru ecxpeirence and would perhaps allow me some time to explain, and wondered if you could call me at the hotel so we can discuss your experience further I look forward to speaking with you. The number to call is 01325 729999 Thank you Jason Adams MANAGING DIRECTOR
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Janice O
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom15 contributions14 helpful votes
Hi Sorry that is one place I didn’t visit sorry so I can’t answer this question but if you ring the hotel they will be able to help you , enjoy but I’m sure your will
motherluv asked a question Apr 2023
north east42 contributions37 helpful votes
Are the robes a generous size?
Answer from Erica Agombar
28 contributions2 helpful votes
Yes they are :)
ClaireMarie87 asked a question Mar 2023
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom158 contributions88 helpful votes
Can you book the spa garden on arrival?
B C wrote a tip Feb 2024
Sunderland, United Kingdom47 contributions18 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If it's Burns night - head elsewhere. Want a drink in hotel after 10 pm..take your own!"
Read full review
SuzyMP72 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Billingham, United Kingdom724 contributions218 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"New Hall Rooms have been refreshed"
Read full review
Cheryl O wrote a tip Jan 2024
Warana, Australia678 contributions105 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We loved the size of the rooms in Tiplady Lodge"
Read full review
Paul S wrote a tip Jan 2024
United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you arrive in time to use the Spa."
Read full review
Zoe wrote a tip Dec 2023
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Everything was perfect"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hurworth-on-Tees area.
PRICE RANGE
£330 - £432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rockliffe hall hotel hurworth-on-tees
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCounty DurhamDarlingtonHurworth-on-Tees
NUMBER OF ROOMS
77
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ROCKLIFFE HALL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Rockliffe Hall
Which popular attractions are close to Rockliffe Hall?
Nearby attractions include St Peter's Church, Croft on Tees (0.6 miles) and The Croft Bar (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Rockliffe Hall?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Rockliffe Hall?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Rockliffe Hall?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Rockliffe Hall?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rockliffe Hall?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Orangery, The Clubhouse Kitchen & Bar, and The Comet Hotel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Rockliffe Hall?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Rockliffe Hall located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the centre of Hurworth-on-Tees.
Are any cleaning services offered at Rockliffe Hall?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Rockliffe Hall offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Rockliffe Hall?
Many travellers enjoy visiting David Mach's Train Sculpture, Darlington (3.3 miles), Durham Town Hall (3.1 miles), and Tees Cottage Pumping Station (3.6 miles).
All Hurworth-on-Tees HotelsHurworth-on-Tees Hotel DealsHotels near Rockliffe Hall
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire