We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Talalla Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Talalla Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

519 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 414: English reviews
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The beach and the grounds are beautiful. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. And the food is good. But the rooms are overpriced (and we didn't bother with the yoga, as it was more expensive than a class in the UK). We stayed in a new bamboo hut, which had disintegrating MDF shelves in the bathroom and a mouse...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taykabo
Talalla Y, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Taykabo....Glad you enjoyed the Resort and the staff Everything is subjective ...Our yoga classes are $15 including taxes....after tax $10.50 All the teachers are European and we pay accordingly.....as well as accomodation for the teachers so I am not sure what you would expect to pay.....I guess room prices come under you price reasoning....and the mouse in the bamboo...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

AVIOD! This place isn't what it makes out to be. If it is a retreat you are after with a degree of serenity this place is not for you. If you are after more of a hostel vibe at a high cost then it is! I'll explain further... My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights in one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam D
Talalla Y, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Sam....I guess we won't be able to make you happy but I will try and explain a few things......noise...one of the bamboo huts is close to the restaurant...I am guessing you stayed in this one...however the restaurant does close at ten....and we are an early to bed early to rise place.....and after nine the hotel is normally very quiet....however...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The retreat is located on a beautiful quiet fisherman beach surrounded by nature with only a few hotels and tourists. Notice the retreat has many different accommodation types, from bungalows to small rooms w shared bathrooms. We stayed in a shared bungalow w a private bathroom, it was small but ok, no windows or places to sit. But it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina B
Talalla Y, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Glad you enjoyed your stay...wish you were hear so we could talk about the no windows...all our rooms have Windows or in some cases just bamboo blinds because we have no walls to put a window in...you are right about the slow internet...we now have five different connections but this hasn't resolved the problem......I am not technical but a...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was a truly beautiful hotel, considering the price you are paying. The breakfast was excellent - with a beautiful buffet provided. The only issue I had personally was the Surf - you can't surf on Talalla beach and the board rental is very expensive - compared to where we had been previously and even thou they offer transport, it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
Talalla Y, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Simon ..thanks for your kind words....we have waves at Talalla but not for surfing most of the time....so we travel to various surf spots....sometimes north,sometimes south.....the surf varies a lot...from morning to evening....from high tide to low tide...season to season ect ect.....so no matter where you stay you will be riding around from spot to spot....quite a pleasure for...

Paris, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overview: it it weren't for the beach, we wouldn't have stayed more than 1 night. the place is thought as a money factory for the owners... + the location: the beach is wonderful and practically empty most of the time. there are waves but you can swim, unlike many other beaches around. + the staff: friendly, very reactive and professional...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefan T
Talalla Y, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Stefan.....It sounds like you enjoyed your stay but found us expensive. I am the major shareholder and the general manager....in 12 years my salary would not have averaged $50 per week. In twelve years we have issued one dividend of $120,000. We still owe to various financial institutions around $3,000,000 So we are not really a money making factory....you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just left Talalla after only a 5 night stay and wished we had booked longer (they sadly were booked). The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful always. The room we had was tucked away from the sea slightly up a hill and we couldn't have been happier.... monkeys were literally living in the trees just outside the room so some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachyrai
Talalla Y, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Rachyrai.....thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again.

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really nice resort on super peaceful beach. Excellent yoga. Negatives: ocean view villas are overpriced for the service provided: very poor housekeeping, no wifi in room and poor signal in the lobby. All prices are in dollars(including website), but the final bill is in rupees, which makes it hard to figure out the costs. They applied a very poor exchange...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gisela_BCN80
Talalla Y, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Gisela...Thanks for the positives...now the negatives....we have gone back and forward with pricing in dollars and then rupees and could never please everyone.....we show the final bill in dollars and rupees and at your suggestion will try daily pricing structure in rupees.....we use the daily bank exchange rate. Housekeeping...we have 14 housekeepers for seventy rooms plus 8 handymen.....I think...

Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

Our stay at Talalla retreat was amazing. The staff is friendly, the food is some of the best in Sri Lanka, the Yoga is great and peaceful and the surroundings we will never forget. Don't cheat yourself from getting a massage!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie J
Talalla Y, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Marie...love to here your kind words and hope to see you again...

Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Talalla Retreat Centre has been such a special experience. As soon as you arrive, you're welcomed by very kind and caring staff. You feel right at home straight away. I had a few relaxing days on arrival, long walks along the stunning talalla beach, swimming, attending yoga classes, enjoying the delicious buffet food. Then I started my surf and yoga...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tahlia B
Talalla Y, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Tahilia....thanks for your kind words...looking forward to meeting you when you return...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

This was my second visit to Talalla Retreat. I made the mistake of only staying for a week the first time, so extended to two weeks this time. It's a great resort with fantastic accommodation, food and location. I did a 2 week surf camp, and I can't rate this experience highly enough. Coach Andy found us waves every day...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Charl T

427 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (391)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (51)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (162)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talalla
13.2 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#6 of 14 in Tangalle
296 reviews
12.1 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
4.0 mi away
UTMT Underneath the Mango Tree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#8 of 14 in Tangalle
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secret Bay Hotel
Secret Bay Hotel
#15 of 17 in Matara
80 reviews
14.4 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Some places we do not merely visit, we become a part of! Places that touch your spirit, and replenish your soul. Where time fades, and your only schedule is the turning of the tides! Welcome to an undiscovered Beach Resort Sri Lanka paradise. Welcome to Talalla. Talalla retreat is a boutique hotel, offering barefoot rustic charm on the Southern Beaches of Sri Lanka. The retreat sits on Talalla Beach, an undiscovered cove of crystal clear turquoise water, spotless golden sand and mesmerizing sunrises and sunsets. Of all the resorts in Sri Lanka, Talalla offers its guests a level of elegant simplicity just metres from the lapping waters of a secluded cove. Here, time is measured in moments of serenity and pleasure. It is a place to get away from it all and to absorb the unsurpassed natural beauty of Sri Lanka. A jungle paradise, Talalla is built low rise, and set into lush gardens, resplendent with tropical flora. Monkeys play in the coconut palms as they sway softly in the breeze. Monitor lizards roam freely as they have since the days of the dinosaurs. Squirrels twitter as they dart through the grass. And at night, fireflies light­up the surrounds, guiding you lightly to your villa.... Relax in the 20 metre freshwater pool, swing in a hammock or lounge on a sun­chair by day and by night indulge in a cocktail at the bar, or lounge on the sofa nearby. Sri Lanka’s best kept secret is waiting for you, are you ready to replenish your soul and get in touch with nature? ... more   less 

Additional Information about Talalla Retreat

Address: Sampaya House, Talalla 60604, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Talalla
Price Range: £30 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Talalla Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Talalla Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Talalla Retreat staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Talalla Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Concrete chalets are better value than the bamboo huts”
 of 5 bubbles Taykabo, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“the bungalow for the proximity of the beach and the nature immersion but you will share your room with squirrels, bugs and mosquitoes.”
 of 5 bubbles StefanT374, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose the villa's”
 of 5 bubbles 987kirkr, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Everything in US dollars, not cheap”
 of 5 bubbles nicolelQ7806IU, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Most the rooms are open, so expect some noise at night,”
 of 5 bubbles blundensofboc, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay