We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Talalla Retreat

Booking.comUS$46*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Talalla Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

558 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Talalla Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 441: English reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

The best things about this place is the beach: pure, secluded, not peopled. The hotel is a little worn down, but overall ok. Be aware some rooms don't have walls (not suitable for kids). Garden and pool rooms have lots of mosquitos. Great organic buffet. The general vibe is chilled, good for families and travellers looking to recharge and disconnect.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katja S
TalallaManagement, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi kanji....Our maintaince team would be sad to here the hotel is worn down....just the other day I was stopped by a guest who asked how old the hotel is...when I told him he said ....wow I thought it was new,...so everything is subjective....we have very few mosquitoes...spraying of the grounds is done every night ...you were probably noticing sand...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2017

My friend and I stayed here in February in one of the ground floor rooms. The open air shower was lovely and the bathroom was clean and tidy. Towels were provided for use in the bathroom and also by the swimming pool. Soap, shampoo, body lotion etc were also provided. There were plug sockets in the rooms for all plug...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Samantha_RG_54
TalallaManagement, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Samantha...thanks for your kind words and we hope to see you again ...when I hope you try our dinner...I think our food is great..

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 February 2017

This place is heaven! The pool is lovely, rooms and gorgeous, food is delicious! The retreat is extremely peaceful, but with plenty to do if that's what you are looking for. I did yoga every morning and absolutely loved it (Evy's class in particular) and surfed every afternoon. Plenty of surf breaks for all levels. The massage with the spa...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MikkiLipson
TalallaManagement, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your kind words...I agree the therapists are great....glad we could sort out the problem you had..see you next time.

Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

This hotel consist of small houses with 4 rooms in one. The top rooms has no walls and outdoor shower on all. Some with view over the ocean. The hotel area is huge with Palm trees and grass and a nice pool. The beach is the best. A small beautiful bay where you can play in the waves. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kristine_h_pedersen
TalallaManagement, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Kristine....I'm not sure if you meant to say the food was good or you did mean the food was god....anyway thank you for your kind words and see you next time.

SF Bay Area
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We stayed here unintentionally for one night because our intended hotel in Hiriketya Beach made a mistake on our booking. Our room was very nice, spacious, and clean, and, as budget travelers up to this point we had not had a hot shower until now. Ah, hot shower! We did not eat at the buffet dinner but it looked excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ERSFBayArea
TalallaManagement, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi and glad you enjoyed your stay....and you are correct there can be noises We are in a village in the tropics...but we are on seven acres with five different room types so if you have a promlem ,see management,they will do their best to help.

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

This place is in a great location, in the fabulous beach of Talalla. On pictures it looks great, and also from outside. But the services and quality of the rooms are very average. The food is also very bland, specially compared with the amazing Sunshine next to it. They offer Yoga and Surf, but for European top prices, which makes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joost_v_bellen
TalallaManagement, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi...if you believe $15 for a yoga class taught by an excellent teacher...with a second teacher to adjust then we are not for you. I don't think the food is bland....I'm biased because I'm the owner but I have also owned quality restaurants for 35 years and consider myself something of an expert when it comes to food. Our food...

Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

We treated ourselves at the midpoint of our trip! A great place to relax and recharge - clean rooms, modern design, nice pool, right on the beach. They run yoga and surf classes too - though it was slightly expensive if you're on any sort of budget. Also enjoyed the food - great breakfast buffet and the salad was an...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rachelwalker12
TalallaManagement, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Rachel....thanks for your kind words.

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Had booked a "bungalow" here, and to my great surprise they took me to a small, windowless room with only barely space for a bed and a shared bathroom outside the building. What?! My booking said nothing about a shared bathroom or that I had in fact booked some sort of communal sleeping arrangement. They offered to upgrade me to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank piroco
Talalla Y, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Piroco...We call the bungalow a bungalow because it is a bungalow....a colonial sri lankan house.....Its our cheapest accomodation and I am surprised you thought you were renting a whole house and not a room in a house......on the website the size of the room ,photos of the room and a description are supplied...I don't feel we can do much...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 February 2017

The immaculate grounds of the property is the first thing that you notice when you enter the place, with freshly cut grass around a beautiful swimming pool it creates a sense of what is to come. On arrival, I was given an open air room around the swimming pool which was not what I wanted, and was thankfully given another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
Talalla Y, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

hi Sharon...glad you enjoyed talalla and I am glad to hear we were able to move you to a room you liked...most guests want to be at the pool ground rooms but everyone is different and that is why we always do what we can to please you...with seven acres of land and five price levels we can usually find...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We stayed for two nights in an ocean villa. Beautiful location and fabulous beach, almost unspoiled. Room was simple but clean and functional. Breakfast a bit disappointing. I asked for fruit juice and was told it wasn't included and I would have to pay for it. I ordered coffee and was brought a small pot with enough for just over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank williamsjeremy1
Talalla Y, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi...gald you enjoyed your stay..sad some things annoyed you....Yes we do charge for fresh juices,and additional coffee but as we charge $8 for breakfast we would rather leave this low price than have to charge everyone more and include the above....thanks.

448 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (412)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (167)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talalla
12.1 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
12.7 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#5 of 20 in Tangalle
321 reviews
4.0 mi away
UTMT Underneath the Mango Tree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Secret Bay Hotel
Secret Bay Hotel
#15 of 17 in Matara
84 reviews
10.4 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 9 in Mirissa
231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Talalla Bay Beach Boutique Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Some places we do not merely visit, we become a part of! Places that touch your spirit, and replenish your soul. Where time fades, and your only schedule is the turning of the tides! Welcome to an undiscovered Beach Resort Sri Lanka paradise. Welcome to Talalla. Talalla retreat is a boutique hotel, offering barefoot rustic charm on the Southern Beaches of Sri Lanka. The retreat sits on Talalla Beach, an undiscovered cove of crystal clear turquoise water, spotless golden sand and mesmerizing sunrises and sunsets. Of all the resorts in Sri Lanka, Talalla offers its guests a level of elegant simplicity just metres from the lapping waters of a secluded cove. Here, time is measured in moments of serenity and pleasure. It is a place to get away from it all and to absorb the unsurpassed natural beauty of Sri Lanka. A jungle paradise, Talalla is built low rise, and set into lush gardens, resplendent with tropical flora. Monkeys play in the coconut palms as they sway softly in the breeze. Monitor lizards roam freely as they have since the days of the dinosaurs. Squirrels twitter as they dart through the grass. And at night, fireflies light­up the surrounds, guiding you lightly to your villa.... Relax in the 20 metre freshwater pool, swing in a hammock or lounge on a sun­chair by day and by night indulge in a cocktail at the bar, or lounge on the sofa nearby. Sri Lanka’s best kept secret is waiting for you, are you ready to replenish your soul and get in touch with nature? ... more   less 

Additional Information about Talalla Retreat

Address: Sampaya House, Talalla 60604, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Talalla
Price Range: £34 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Talalla Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Talalla Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Talalla Retreat staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Bunbury, Australia

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Talalla Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a room facing pool / ocean , or opt for one with Air Con”
her177, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A warning about open air rooms. If you're a light sleeper and rooms are close together or the hotel is near the road, don't. Just don't.”
ERSFBayArea, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms away from the pool”
SharonT668, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the beach bungalows are amazing”
zoes466, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best views”
JussiViking, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$46* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$46
Agoda.comUS$46
Expedia.comUS$46
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates