We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2131 Hakatere Potts Rd, Ashburton Lakes 7771 New Zealand
E-mail hotel
Hotels.com
FindHotel
getaroom.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (69)
Dining (12)
Room & Suite (9)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Mount Potts Lodge accommodation caters to everyone, whether you travel in campervans or would like to stay in a deluxe en suite studio or shearers cottage or everything in between, we have accommodation suited to you. We are positioned in an impressive location in New Zealand High-Country amid the Hakatere Conservation Park, Ashburton Lakes, Canterbury. Mt Potts Lodge offers a chance to experience an incredible but little known part of New Zealand, surrounded by mountains on all sides, at the base of Mt Potts (2200 metres) and a five minute drive to Mount Sunday made world famous as the setting for Edoras, capital of Rohan in the Lord of the Rings film. We have plenty of activities for everyone, whether it be tramping, mountain biking, fishing, climbing, or just relaxing and taking in the panoramic views with a glass of wine, Mt Potts Lodge has something for you. In our Cafe, Bar and Restaurant our Professional Sous Chef and Patissiere creates an imaginative seasonal menu with an emphasis on locally sourced produce. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner is served from 8.00 am-20.00 pm. Situated on a 1,200 hectare working farm, there are a choice of animals to feed and pet. Horse riding can be booked in advance. We cater for all events and propose a tailored solution for any occasions function or venue with quality service and facilities.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Horseback riding
Bicycle tours
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
BBQ facilities
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
French

Location

Full view
Contact
2131 Hakatere Potts Rd, Ashburton Lakes 7771 New Zealand
See all nearby hotels
89Reviews1Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 62
  • 17
  • 5
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
J C wrote a review Mar 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand1 contribution1 helpful vote
I booked a bunk room at Mt Potts lodge, costing $110 for the night. During the night a high pitched piercing beep began to sound and lasted all night. It wasn’t the smoke detector, but an old system that was connected to underfloor heating. The room was super warm so I knew it was on as I didn’t have the heater running. There was no possibility to turn it off and after earplugs and pillows over my head didn’t work I even considered going to sleep in my car, but it was damn cold. The following morning I reported it to staff and said how I didn’t sleep and that I wanted some kind of compensation after showing her the fault. She heard the sound and commented that she had heard it before from the room I was in... She said she was not capable of making the decision to give me some type of refund. I asked for someone who could. She messaged another person and he came and looked. He said it wasn’t her fault (the staff member) after I said I want compensation for the worst night ever due to almost no sleep. It didn’t sound when he was there and he said it was the smoke detector, even though I had removed the battery earlier so knew it wasn’t. I was then told neither of them had the ability to compensate and that I would have to talk to the owner, who is very rarely there. I left my details and was told I would get a call or email. I specifically mentioned I would like to sort it out within a week. No call or email from anyone after 10 days. Very dissatisfied and a terrible way to treat customers given the circumstances. Nice location but pity the owner and staff who operate the tourism side of the station don’t show more care for customers. I will never stay there again and recommend people choose elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Paul Amy wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
We Booked a camping site for Saturday 13 March 2021. Mt Potts Lodge is a wonderful little hideaway tucked in the New Zealand's back country surrounded by breathtaking mountains and beautiful rivers. Without a doubt we were very well looked after. I can truly say it's some of the best views in NZ. The amenities were all so close to where we were camping it was so easy to roll out of bed and have a lovely hot shower! We loved it so much, we really didn't want to go back to City where we live. If only we could’ve stayed longer we would’ve. Ours hosts a gentleman called Philip and our lovely Russian lady called Rita they were friendly and extremely helpful. Food available this evening was vegetarian pizza or a pepperoni really started to have one of each this was one of the best pizzas I’ve ever had.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Helpful
Share
Lisa wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions
Beautyful and quite place to stay. Localy and seasonal fresh food. Very delicious. Nice and clean bathroom. Only 5 min from LotR Edoras. Beautyful landscape - a must do! Also a trip worth for people who don't know the LotR films.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from NZaccommodation, Manager at Mt Potts Lodge
Responded 21 Mar 2020
Thank you for your kind words.
Read more
Chris H wrote a review Feb 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom1,885 contribution789 helpful votes
Called in for lunch at the Mt Potts Lodge – the only place potentially serving refreshments on the long gravel road drive up from Mt Somers. We arrived hungry and thirsty to find that no food was available and only black coffee could be served as they didn’t even have any milk. They did have a few bottles of alcoholic and soft drinks. An annoying disappointment, especially as there is no sign at the turn off to warn that food is not available and the next opportunity to eat is around a one hour drive back down the gravel road. Star ratings include a rating for rooms - I clicked on that by mistake and could not undo the rating. We did not stay, so I have no basis on which to give a rating. My mistake - apologies
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from NZaccommodation, Manager at Mt Potts Lodge
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Hello Chris, I am so very sorry this happened to you as I pride myself in looking after all of our customers and making sure they have good food to enjoy because as you state it is a long way to travel just for coffee. Certain circumstances meant that myself (the chef) could not be present at this time so unfortunately you got given a sub par experience. I strongly recommend if you are local visiting us again soon and have a better experience and on the house on my behalf. If you can read our previous reviews then you will see that we are quite consistent in our restaurant. Having limited staff here (2) means that when a unforeseen circumstance such as this one arises then the system falls and crumbles and I am certain this review should not reflect the overall work, time and effort that is put into running this small business. I apologize again as I can empathize with your situation Kind regards, Management
Read more
Alvin wrote a review Jan 2020
8 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked the Silver Birch cottage for two nights here which lies across a small stream (after rainy weather- you will mostly need a 4wd to get over it as it is pretty deep). There used to be a bridge but it got swept away by a flood a few weeks ago (we stayed in late December 2019). You can still use the foundation of the bridge as stepstones to cross by foot. The cottage itself was beautiful and private, fully stocked with amenities, electricity, water, and kitchen. The only modern piece missing was wifi which was only accessible back at the main part of the camp. The food - delicious. We were initially skeptical that one man could manage the entire site and also cook all three meals for the people here. But then we had our first meal and was completely blown away by the quality. The food here was on par or better than most of the meals we have had in the cities. Everything is locally sourced and made from scratch. Menu changes based on what he can buy. The leg of lamb - soft, juicy, tender. The pork belly sandwich was mouthwatering soft and flavorful. The banana and berry smoothie - definitely recommend - it was an incredibly refreshing way to end a long hike. But the winner of the trip was the bread he makes - it was like eating crack. We literally could not stop and eventually ended up buying entire loaves to eat on our own. The view here was gorgeous. The hike up to Mt Sunday offered a great view of the valley. However, just up the road, you can do a steeper climb up Mt Potts which offers a unique view of its own, even if you do not make it to the top. This was a perfect location to avoid the many tourists. At night (if you're lucky!), we had a clear sky, and around 00:00, you could see the stars so clearly, away from any city lights nearby. And if you know where to look - you can see the milky way with just the naked eye! The owner of the place, Lloyd, was incredibly nice and accommodating. We really enjoyed his company and wish him the best!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from NZaccommodation, Manager at Mt Potts Lodge
Responded 2 Jan 2020
Thank you so much it means a lot. I really enjoyed meeting and hosting you guys, I hope to see you again at some point. Kind regards, Lloyd
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$72 - US$72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionAshburton Lakes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mt Potts Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Mt Potts Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a lounge, free parking, and a business centre.
What food & drink options are available at Mt Potts Lodge?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Mt Potts Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Does Mt Potts Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Mt Potts Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Mt Potts Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.