We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Fairburn Hotel

14 Loudoun Street, Mauchline KA5 5BU Scotland
avatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (57)
Dining (33)
Room & Suite (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 hotels in Mauchline
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Fairburn Hotel & Restaurant is the only Hotel in the village of Mauchline, recently refurbished it now boasts a contemporary theme. Built in the early 17th century then known as McClelland's Inn and latterly the Loudoun Arms Hotel, the Fairburn Hotel & Restaurant with its historic facade of sandstone brick under slated roofs, still blends in with the surrounding buildings of the conservation village of Mauchline, world famous for its connections with Scotland's National Bard Robert Burns.Following the extensive refurbishment the Hotel has achieved a Three Star rating from the Scottish Tourist Board - Visit Scotland.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Laundry service
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
175Reviews1Q+A21Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 100
  • 46
  • 17
  • 8
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Curious33205079740 wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Family New Year’s Day dinner meal was lovely, booked last minute with only a weeks notice for 8 people and they were able to fit us in no problem. Menu was lovely plenty to choose from al a carte and Christmas special menu. Service and staff was great, always love the fairburn a great local hotel and restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Susan M wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Just had a delicious meal at the Fairburn Hotel with my partner using a voucher received as a birthday present!! Fantastic service from the team as well 😁 overall had a lovely evening, thank you all!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mags1728 wrote a review Oct 2023
Glasgow, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Great wee hotel. Nicely decorated room with tea/coffee facilities, lovely added extra of disposable slippers. Toiletries also supplied in the modern bathroom. Breakfast was available and you chose what you wanted from a menu left in the room, then handed it into reception. Plenty of choice for selection. Breakfast was fabulous, so tasty, the locally sourced items make a huge difference. Lovely cocktail selection in the bar area too. Staff were all really nice and easy to chat to.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jean M wrote a review Aug 2023
16 contributions6 helpful votes
We arrived in Mauchline and found this via a gentleman we asked for directions! He said having only been in it once it was ok!!! We arrived about 2pm, the restaurant was going quite well which we thought was a good sign! We did not really want a huge meal so settled for a starter and a desert! I asked for a Portobello Mushroom with black pudding which was fresh and tasty, with salad, for dessert I had the worst Tiramisu I’ve ever tasted, it was a very poor fake of the real thing, very little flavour but I smothered it in the pouring cream, made it palatable!! My husband had Spicy Flat Bread with Humus, which he really enjoyed!! For dessert he decided to have Sticky Toffee Pudding with Vanilla Ice Cream, again he thought it was superb!! We both had drinks, a Latte and a bottle of Diet Irn Bru. So all and all good, but value for money certainly NOT!! £36.75 for two starters and two desserts, one of which was woeful! The toilet facilities were no great shake. but ok! Would we go back or recommend it, certainly not! The staff were polite and courteous! Would we go back, definitely not
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: No parking that I saw, busy street!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Natalie Carry, Owner at The Fairburn Hotel
Responded 20 Aug 2023
Hi Jean, Thank you for taking the time to review us and it was lovely to meet you the other day. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy the Tiramisu, we would have swapped it if you had mentioned it. All the pricing is on the menu that you read and we can only apologise for the increase in expenses that all businesses are, unfortunately, being served with and therefore have to pass the increase onto the customer. I'm glad you noticed the freshness of our produce in your starter, that your husband enjoyed both of his dishes and I will pass your lovely comments about our team onto them. There is also a large car park directly next to the Hotel. I'm sorry the road was so busy due to the temporarily lights. However, I don't feel this warrants a 2 star review that will stay with us forever. Kind regards, Natalie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
AJSECB wrote a review Jul 2023
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom26 contributions31 helpful votes
Lovely place and staff are great. However, the menu is very dull. Drastically needing a change. Main courses from £15 upwards, doesn’t represent good value. Particularly for pasta or noodles. Many of the old favourites have disappeared over the years, such as mini mixed grill, chicken escalope with mushroom sauce and lasagne. There is now nothing on the main menu to suit me.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Natalie Carry, Owner at The Fairburn Hotel
Responded 20 Aug 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate your comments and we are currently mid menu change. We appreciate that everyone has a different favourite but we can't keep it the same all of the time. Hopefully there will be something you like on our next menu. We can't change the pricing unfortunately, we charge what we need to in the current climate. Kind regards, Natalie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Galadrial wrote a review Jun 2023
Durham, United Kingdom57 contributions28 helpful votes
We’ve just left the Fairburn and we could have stayed longer. The Staff are lovely and nothing is too much trouble. The Hotel is owned by a couple who live there and as such has the feel of a family run establishment. The rooms are small but have everything you need with plenty of wardrobe space, they are on the main road but traffic didn’t stop us from sleeping in the comfortable bed. There is a beer garden which was a great area to have our 6pm G & T’s, raspberry gin highly recommended. I would advise you to book your table if eating dinner there as the restaurant gets quite busy at night as the food is excellent. Breakfast we had plenty of choice and our scrambled eggs were ‘eggsellent’ Altogether well worth the money.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Free parking behind hotel It’s advisable to book your dinner table
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
lanzaholic wrote a review Jun 2023
Glasgow, United Kingdom150 contributions115 helpful votes
we had visited this hotel and restaurant about 5 years ago and we always said we would return. Due to covid and family circumstances we finally did return. Since our last visit, the restaurant has been refurbished and was a pleasant surprise. It was lovely We had our little dog and were able to eat in the bar with him beside us. My husband is in a wheelchair and access was very good. No stairs. We also were able to to take our coffee and desert in the outside area and it was a hot day. The public car park is adjacent to hotel and is fine for parking. A short walk along the pavement to the entrance. We will definitly return. Unfortunately although they allow dogs in bar they are not allowed to stay overnight. Staff were very friendly
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: wheelchair easy access and dogs allowed in bar and beer garden
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Drumado wrote a review Jun 2023
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom51 contributions23 helpful votes
Took the opportunity and purchased a voucher, for a 2 course lunch through Itison and wasn't disappointed. The choices on the menu were amazing as was their quality and presentation. The staff were on the ball and very friendly, a change to have someone with a smile serve you. I'll not list what dishes we chose, but we all had different and not a complaint from anyone was heard, in fact the opposite, everyone loved their choices. From the hotels frontage with it's window boxes and hanging baskets to the recently refurbished interior this was a great choice and one that we will repeat soon.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: There is free parking to the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
GymMumg81 wrote a review Jun 2023
Renfrew, United Kingdom4 contributions3 helpful votes
Honestly such a great find. Staff couldn’t have been more welcoming friendly or attentive. They even phoned before our stay to warn us of local event which would cause the town to be extra busy and told us what parking would be closed and alternatives available. This meant we were able to plan and were not stressed on the day trying to get to a wedding on time ! The following day as no taxis were available they even took us back to our car. Definitely above and beyond!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
64raymond wrote a review Mar 2023
East Kilbride, United Kingdom166 contributions140 helpful votes
Well, never let's us down, another great high tea today, excellent service, great food, comfortable surroundings, at affordable price, this is the second time at the Fairburn for high tea. And don't forget the excellent choice of main meas available, all look delicious. Would definitely recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mauchline area.
PRICE RANGE
£79 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandAyrshireEast AyrshireMauchline
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE FAIRBURN HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Mauchline)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Fairburn Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Fairburn Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Dumfries House (4.9 miles), Many Thanks (0.06 miles), and Barony Colliery (3.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Fairburn Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Fairburn Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Fairburn Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Fairburn Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Black Bull, The Failford Inn, and The Fairburn Restaurant.
Is The Fairburn Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Mauchline.
Are there any historical sites close to The Fairburn Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bachelors' Club (4.1 miles) and Auchinleck Castle (4.5 miles).