Sunset Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Sunset Hotel

Lungomare Giuseppe Giardina 119, 90015, Cefalu, Sicily Italy
Traveller (160)
Room & Suite (10)
Pool & Beach (4)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#9 of 39 hotels in Cefalu
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Situato a circa 5 metri dalla bellissima spiaggia di Cefalù ed a 7 minuti a piedi da centro storico, il magnifico e nuovissimo Hotel a 4 stelle plus dispone di 27 camere elegantissime, moderne e lussuose. Il SUNSET Hotel dispone, inoltre, di un ristorante, una SPA ed una piscina panoramica a sfioro sul rooftop della struttura.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Solarium
Paid private parking on-site
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Car hire
Taxi service
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
24-hour front desk
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Safe
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 2 more

Location

Lungomare Giuseppe Giardina 119, 90015, Cefalu, Sicily Italy
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 70 out of 100
70
Punta Raisi Airport
50.5 mi
See all flights
115Reviews4Q+A7Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 93
  • 11
  • 8
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jacqui S wrote a review Aug 2022
Bari, Italy21 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cefalù’s Lungomare (seafront) is one of the most scenic beach fronts in Sicily with hotels, well serviced lidos, bars, restaurants and kiosks all along the promenade; but further down the road and away from the hubbub of laughter and shouting by both locals and tourists, there nestles a gem of a hotel that majestically overlooks the Tyrrhenian Sea.
The Sunset Hotel is everything you’d expect in terms of Sicilian hospitality: a warm welcome at the 24 hour reception centre, clean rooms and service with a smile; nobody is too tired or too busy to attend to you and your needs!
Rooms are spacious and air-conditioned and are cleaned daily, with every level of amenity provided for (including a personal safe in your room for your valuables,secured its ) and breakfast in the garden is definitely the best way to start your day – unless you decide to succumb to the lure of the sound of the waves and go for an early morning walk on your private beach which is right across the road from your room. Go for that magical walk and then have breakfast – who cares in what order – you’re on vacation – spoil yourself!
And then some: as if the seaview is not gratifying enough, the establishment offers an infinity pool that has to be experienced first hand: the pool deck boasts a spacious area with lounge chairs and umbrellas,a roof top bar to tickle your taste buds with apertivi or a glass of Chardonnay and a sunset view that ….well…you have to be there at that magical moment to capture it on camera and in your mind.
The Sunset Hotel has rightfully secured its spot as an establishment of value on Cefalù’s Lungomare and with every guest that passes through, it will surely remain a memorable experience in the minds of all those who visit it from the four corners of the earth.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: smart aircon in every room so you don't have to worry about leaving the balcony doors open
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SUNSET HOTEL, Servizi per gli ospiti/front office at Sunset Hotel
Responded 12 Aug 2022
Dear Jacqui, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your appreciation with excellent words and filling all the five grants, it's much appreciated! Our team works every day to offer our Guests an incomparable stay, and reading your words gives us the necessary energy to continue to give the best of ourselves. Magic moments are also for us welcoming Guests as You who appreciates Cefalu's beach, SUNSET Hotel****, Sicilian hospitality at the reception, clean and spacious rooms, services always offered with a smile, breakfast in the garden, infinity pool, rooftop bar with aperitivi and glasses under the stars remaining in the minds memorable Magic Moments. Looking forward to see you again soon Guest SUNSET Hotel **** in Cefalù Best regards from the entire Sunset Hotel Team****, where the guest becomes family! Rosa C. Hospitality - Front Office Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steven90 wrote a review Oct 2021
16 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I went in September on holiday with my mum (we are both from Sicily but I live in London) and discovered this gem in Cefalù.

I spent many many years in Cefalù but I never find such a beautiful hotel.

Starting with the location, that overall is always one of the main reason to choose or not one place where to stay. Cefalù is a small town, where you can just walk from top to toe the full area. This is why sometimes in other hotels it might be a bit noisy even during the night time. The Sunset hotel is in the seafront away from the noise and the crowd but still few minutes walking from the centre.

The sea is just across the street, it takes no more than 2 minutes from your room to touch the sand with your feet, and believe me Cefalù is one of the best seafront in Sicily.

Staff is very friendly and helpful, the room was so clean and tidy.

Beautiful rooms for couples, even with private balcony pool, very intimate and discreet. I would say is a perfect hotel to spent time with your partner between the sea and the sky.

But there is one thing that actually catches my heart and that is the only one in Cefalù: is the sky pool. Immagine being in a pool and you have the mountains, the sea and the city view under a beautiful blue sky.

Absolutely stunning.

I work with luxury hospitality in London so I can guarantee to all tourists that here you will leave part of your heart.

Emanuela
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SUNSET HOTEL, Proprietario at Sunset Hotel
Responded 29 Oct 2021
Dear Emanuela, A huge THANK YOU for having described us as a gem and stunning! Gems for us are guests like you, writing such beautiful words about us. This is so honouring and gives our team the motivation to improve our skills and do it always better! We wish you and your mum all the best and hope to see you soon again, here at SUNSET. Best Regards, Your SUNSET Hotel Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Iris S wrote a review Sept 2022
The Hague, The Netherlands3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our first time in Cefalù, where we selected the Sunset Hotel purely for the 'looks' on the website.This 4* hotel actually only opened its doors in March 2022, perfectly located on the boulevard, which takes you directly to the heart of Cefalu within 10 minutes' walk.Regarding the hotel we can be brief, service is perfect.Can only say that the always friendly staff will serve you well! As for the hotel, perfect location, just across the road, a private beach reserved for hotel guests, with excellent sunbeds, umbrellas (included) with lunch time, lunch service on the beach, for those who want to use it . Rooftop bar with infinity pool are, in a word, fantastic. I have to be honest, service during the day at the rooftop bar could be a bit better, doesn't start until 4.30 pm (I'm dedicating this to the start-up issues. )Rooms excellent, perfectly working soundless air conditioning, clean bed linen, towels, etc. every day. Still room for improvement, large mirror not (yet) present (is on order according to owner) and some hooks or towel rack in the bathroom would also be nice.All in all, an absolutely fantastic hotel, and, once the spa and health center are ready, I suspect the hotel will be approaching its 5th*.We look forward to coming back, highly recommended!Ruud and Iris.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SUNSET HOTEL, Servizi per gli ospiti/front office at Sunset Hotel
Responded 23 Sept 2022
Dear Ruud and Iris, Very happy that guests like you had a wonderful and unforgettable experience at the SUNSET Hotel **** Cefalù and are confident that we will be rated as 5-star, we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards from the entire SUNSET Hotel**** Team, where the guest becomes family! We are looking forward to seeing you again soon! Rosa Hospitality-Front Office Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Addison M wrote a review Jul 2022
19 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently stayed at the Sunset hotel. It is a year old and very modern. The staff are very attentive and friendly. The location is perfect. 10 mins walk to the city center and across the road from the beach. The roof top pool is beautiful as well. We did have a few suggestions for example more umbrellas should be available on the roof top for shade. Also the bar on the roof top was not open and you had to go dish to the lobby to order any food or drinks and even receive towels which the hotel charged for. We feel a 4 star hotel should not charge for towels. Also the washrooms in the rooms have poor lighting. There isn’t a light above the mirror!! In addition do not stay on the first floor. You will here all the noise from the lobby, especially the staff putting away dishes after midnight.

Otherwise we would recommend the hotel as a place to stay in Cefalu.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SUNSET HOTEL, Servizi per gli ospiti/front office at Sunset Hotel
Responded 6 Aug 2022
Dear Mr. Addison, thank you for taking the time to provide a positive 4 star rating, your opinion is greatly appreciated it helps spread the good word about SUNSET Hotel**** and helps us maintain an excellent standard of service to our customers. We welcome all feedback to further improve the experience for future guests. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the modern style, staff, location and the infinity skypool on the terrace. On the terrace, swimming in the infinity pool and sunbathing are treatments aimed at the beauty and health of the body. Infact, it's a Solarium which means "place exposed to the sun." Beach towels are nice that they are the same color a little rule Hotel, usable throughout the period of stay both in the pool and at the beach with an extra charge for laundry service. Best regards from the entire SUNSET Hotel Team****, where the guest becomes family! Rosa Front Office Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charlotte D wrote a review Aug 2023
Dublin, Ireland20 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Disappointed.

We booked directly on hotel website sea view room and discovered 24 before arriving price on affliated websites for same room had dropped by 100 euro , appreciate hotels do this to fill empty room. Notified hotel and when arrived was promised would be looked after , nothing had to complain that beach club was closed due to weather but no space at pool. When went to swim was told it was closed , although lots of young italians drinking & smoking by pool at same time. Staff at breakfast were helpful but it was chaotic and not a 4 star hotel. We left at 2.00pm next day and receptionist asked us for key and told us we would be charged for beach chairs. There was no offer of courtsey area to change and shower. Salvadore spoke to me in a rude manner and gave me 30 euro off bill only when I reminded him. He offered a upgrade after we had checked in and later in the evening. Our room only faced sea at side and this needs to be stated . For me this was not a four star hotel and for 380 euro per night was on trip to Sicily and last night most disappointing. We looked at other hotels on same strip in front of beach and were better value. So disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Pool area fills up quickly , check affliated sites via tripadvisor as rates are better than hotel...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
vacationstephen wrote a review Jul 2023
Boston MA7 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wow, was so happy to find this property. You know that feeling when you find something on your own and it really lives up to what you see online. This property is clean, modern, stylish and wonderfully accommodating. This is exactly the property that I look for when traveling; one that is well appointed and genuinely cares about hospitality and the needs of their guests. The location is directly across from the beach with private chairs and towels. The rooftop infinity pool with sunset and historic town views is perfect if you want some easy time in the sun or to cool off. We had an enjoyable breakfast in the morning and cocktails on the roof at sunset. It is an easy walk along the sea wall to the historic town center for dinner and evening people watching. And little did we know this beach is where many scenes for "White Lotus" were filmed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
steves_been wrote a review Sept 2023
Arnold, United Kingdom809 contributions198 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely boutique hotel five minute walk to all the bars and restaurants across from the beach. Amazing pool on the roof and lovely rooms. Breakfast was typical continental pastries and coffee mainly but had eggs and ham etc too.

Pool towels are available from reception and they have sun beds on the beach too

Note if from Uk the plugs are three pin not two pin so get Italian plug before you travel
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew H wrote a review Sept 2023
Sydney, Australia522 contributions219 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location for experiencing Cefalu. On the beach, short walk to town and restaurants. Pool was crowded, but the beach has a few chairs for guests or visit a local club. Nice for an early swim or a cool off in the afternoon. Rooms are relatively small and getting a bit tired, but we did not come here to sit in the room. Room with a balcony is nice. Breakfast is average.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frans v wrote a review Nov 2021
10 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful, the beach is at few steps (cross the road), brand new. Many fantastic features,but during our 1 night stay we had problems with:
- elevator that didn't work for a while
- no water from bathroom the whole night
- A/C kept streaming cold air while we wanted warm air
The super friendly and helpful receptionist could obviously not handle all these technical problems.

They try hard, opened just 8 weeks before we got there. I hope they are able to control their technical issues by next season.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SUNSET HOTEL, Proprietario at Sunset Hotel
Responded 4 Nov 2021
Dear Frans, Thank you for your evauation, compliments and for sharing your experience with us. Yes, unfortunately we had some technical issues maily because of controversial weather conditions, like the tornado, that hit us: this meant electrical and pipeline problems for all Cefalù, not only for us. We hope to see you again soon and have the possibility to show you our best. Best Regards, SUNSET Hotel Cefalù****.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MCDublin9 wrote a review Apr 2023
Ireland80 contributions76 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent service in this hotel - especially from Flavia, she is a superstar of good customer service! We stayed in the villa next door, not quite as nice but less expensive. Breakfast is lovely, lots of options. The rooftop pool was freezing in April but I’d imagine would be fabulous in summer! Shout out to Nancy also who helped us book in. Some background music would be a nice addition for breakfast :-)
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Terric58
Crowthorne, United Kingdom43 contributions47 helpful votes
Yes.
chop@134 asked a question May 2023
Stourbridge, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi Are there ironing facilities available?
Vet1995 asked a question Sept 2022
Windsor, United Kingdom8 contributions6 helpful votes
Is the restaurant in hotel open formeals, also does pool area have snack bar etc?
Answer from NeilUK1905
London, United Kingdom53 contributions24 helpful votes
The hotel offers breakfast and there is a bar for snacks in the pool area. There are numerous restaurants in the lovely old town which is only 10 minutes away. Also there are plenty of beach bars which offer snacks during the day.
andrewlawrence2021 wrote a tip Apr 2024
3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check on the extra chargers before booking "
Read full review
Andrew H wrote a tip Sept 2023
Sydney, Australia522 contributions219 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a room with a balcony."
Read full review
LeoGuy60 wrote a tip Sept 2023
Melbourne, Australia106 contributions105 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nothing of note. Great venue."
Read full review
Charlotte D wrote a tip Aug 2023
Dublin, Ireland20 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pool area fills up quickly , check affliated sites via tripadvisor as rates are better than hotel website."
Read full review
291030 wrote a tip Oct 2022
United Kingdom44 contributions35 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Remember that you have to pay City tax"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cefalu area.
PRICE RANGE
£126 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ItalySicilyProvince of PalermoCefalu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SUNSET HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Sunset Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sunset Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Maljk (0.06 miles) and Old Town Cefalu (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sunset Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Sunset Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a bidet.
What food & drink options are available at Sunset Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sunset Hotel?
Yes, free parking and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sunset Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pizzeria White Horse, La Gallizza, and Al Chiosco.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sunset Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Sunset Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Sunset Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Sunset Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sunset Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to Sunset Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Duomo di Cefalù (0.7 miles), Piazza del Duomo (0.7 miles), and Porta Pescara (0.6 miles).
All Cefalu HotelsCefalu Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CefaluHotels near Sunset Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire