We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mount Ephraim B&B

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (32)
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 special B&B in Hernhill
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Mount Ephraim B&B is offering accommodation in Hernhill. Free WiFi is offered. At the bed and breakfast, all rooms have a wardrobe. All rooms are fitted with a private bathroom, while some feature a garden view. Guest rooms in Mount Ephraim B&B are fitted with a flat-screen TV and free toiletries. A Full English/Irish breakfast is available every morning at the accommodation. Canterbury is 9 km from Mount Ephraim B&B, while Southend-on-Sea is 32 km from the property. London Southend Airport is 35 km away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Breakfast available
Meeting rooms
Show more
Room features
Bottled water
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Polish
28Reviews1Q+A7Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 22
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
FrenchieMummy wrote a review Feb 2024
Ashford, United Kingdom409 contributions41 helpful votes
+1
More details and family-friendly reviews on my blog 'The Frenchie Mummy' and on Instagram @thefrenchiemummy. So Google it and have a look there too. Merci! We have been living in Kent for over 5 years and I can't believe we had not been here before! The grounds are beautiful and so was our room. We had a very relaxing time and the managers were lovely! It was so nice to have breakfast in the original kitchen while looking at the gardens. We will have to come back in the summer! Beautiful gem in the heart of Kent!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucy Dawes, General Manager at Mount Ephraim B&B
Responded 25 Feb 2024
Thanks so much for your lovely review. It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Terry C wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
+1
Me and my wife have just returned home after spending a night in the Sir Edwyn Suite. What an incredible place. So much history, so much to see in the garden (even in the deoths of winter) and the staff we encountered, Elliot and Sophie, were both so friendly, knowledgable and willing to help. Elliot makes a wonderful breakfast too..
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The food we had at the enchanting Red Lion pub nearby was very good, and reasonably priced.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucy Dawes, General Manager at Mount Ephraim B&B
Responded 22 Jan 2024
Thanks so much for your lovely review and we're so glad you had such a great stay here. We hope to see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
probbins2000 wrote a review Jan 2024
Dartford, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
We have been coming here for many years and enjoyed the stunning gardens in the summer. However, this wis our first winter trio and first stay in the B&B. We were so pleased we stayed here as the room (Butler room) we stayed in was welcoming and very comfortable. So nice to come back to a toasty warm room after a bracing walk around the wintery gardens. The room and house were lovely and the cooked English breakfast was delicious. Sophie & Elliot were very helpful and friendly. Will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucy Dawes, General Manager at Mount Ephraim B&B
Responded 22 Jan 2024
Thanks so much for your lovely review and we're so pleased you enjoyed your first stay in our B&B - we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
David C wrote a review Dec 2023
Thirsk, United Kingdom33 contributions40 helpful votes
Never met the owner as it was self check in which is hideous. Butler room the curtains did not fit and were coming off the hooks. Toilet seat and lid fittings broken. Loo brush disgusting. Lied about our card payment not being accepted even though we had used it the same day twice and the day after. Brilliant house and location but owners have no idea how to operate what should be a wonderful stay. No staff communication as there used to be with Any who was a star.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Think before you book
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucy Dawes, General Manager at Mount Ephraim B&B
Responded 11 Dec 2023
Hi David. I'm really sorry to hear that you had a poor experience staying with us over the weekend. We've always operated a self check in system since we opened the B&B due to being such a small team and this was the same when Amy worked here - she is a star I agree! If you're not having breakfast with us then as we do operate self check in there's not always the opportunity to meet our staff but we do explain this in all of our online listings and in our pre-arrival communications. We certainly didn't lie about any card payment not being accepted and I think this was an issue with the online travel agency you booked through changing systems which we are looking into. Sophie made me aware of the issue and explained she had spoken with you over the phone about it so I'm sorry you felt we were not being honest - this certainly wasn't the case. We also believe our curtains do fit the window - they are bespoke and have been in place since we opened the B&B but we do occasionally have some issues with the hooks coming off so please accept our apologies that we hadn't rectified it if a hook had come down. I think it's to do with the weight of the curtains as they are very high quality. And I'll be sure to look at the toilet straight away and get that fixed if there is a problem. Please accept my apologies for this. So we are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay this time, but we certainly haven't changed how we operate since Amy left the team here.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BeachBoy wrote a review Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed for one night. Comfortable and clean room. Beautiful views. Freshly cooked breakfast. Attentive staff. It was so nice to be able to stroll around the gardens out of hours when they are closed to the public. So peaceful and relaxing. We enjoyed it so much we have already booked a return visit!
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
divtttt wrote a review Sept 2021
1 contribution
A fabulous place to stay and hosted by super friendly people. The room overlooking the topiary garden was perfect as was the full English breakfast. Highly recommended
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
lucyalex12 wrote a review Jul 2021
London, United Kingdom23 contributions4 helpful votes
Enjoyed a two night stay for our anniversary. Stunning grounds to enjoy & the room is well equipped and clean. It’s unusual to stay in a place with such vast and pretty grounds that you can explore at your leisure. After the grounds closed to the public we enjoyed a lovely glass of wine on the terrace. We stayed in the Butler room with the roll top bath in the bedroom, a lovely addition. Really enjoyed our breakfast. Bed was a little too firm for me but everyone has their preference. Would highly recommend & will likely return for a third stay in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Deborah wrote a review Oct 2020
Deal, United Kingdom58 contributions9 helpful votes
We visited recently to enjoy the gardens and the surround. We were not disappointed, the gardens are beautiful and provided many opportunities for photography and walks. The house is very grand with beautiful views from the rooms upstairs. We stayed for a B&B experience and were extremely well looked after by our host Amy. The breakfast was cooked to order, the rooms very comfortable and we enjoyed staying in a quiet peaceful environment.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucy Dawes, General Manager at Mount Ephraim B&B
Responded 3 Oct 2020
Thanks so much for your lovely review and we're so glad you had a great anniversary treat.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
matkincc wrote a review Sept 2020
Moulton, United Kingdom411 contributions208 helpful votes
We visited the BnB just before lockdown and enjoyed a great weekend. The rooms were very comfortable and well appointed at reasonable prices. Great breakfast with friendly service. Lovely walks in the extensive gardens. We look forward to visiting again soon.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucy Dawes, General Manager at Mount Ephraim B&B
Responded 3 Oct 2020
Thanks for staying with us and your lovely review
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
matkincc wrote a review Mar 2020
Moulton, United Kingdom411 contributions208 helpful votes
We stayed for a couple of nights whilst visiting family in the area and enjoyed a wonderful experience. From a very friendly welcome to a surprise parting gift the weekend was excellent! The bedroom was spacious, well equiped, warm, comfortable with great views. The bathroom was well equipped with modern shower, bath and with some quality products. Breakfast was the best we have had in any B&B with tasty local bacon, eggs and sausages and homemade jams served in a wonderful period dining room. There is a nice pub within walking distance and the Mount Ephraim Gardens are pleasant and enjoyable with many attractions including a maze. We look forward to our next visit and highly recommend the B&B.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: The Maid room had great views.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from MountEphraim, Manager at Mount Ephraim B&B
Responded 19 Mar 2020
Thank you so much for such a lovely review and we're so glad you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hernhill area.
PRICE RANGE
£98 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandKentFavershamHernhill
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MOUNT EPHRAIM B&B - Updated 2024 Reviews (Hernhill)

Frequently Asked Questions about Mount Ephraim B&B
Which popular attractions are close to Mount Ephraim B&B?
Nearby attractions include Clever Dilemma (3.0 miles), Joe's Bows (4.6 miles), and Amedea (4.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mount Ephraim B&B?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Mount Ephraim B&B?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mount Ephraim B&B?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mount Ephraim B&B?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Hare at Blean, Please Sir !, and The Dove Dargate.
Is Mount Ephraim B&B located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Hernhill.
Does Mount Ephraim B&B offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mount Ephraim B&B?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Russian, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Mount Ephraim B&B?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chilham Village (4.0 miles), Maison Dieu (3.8 miles), and Chart Gunpowder Mills (3.4 miles).