We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Ferme De Montagne

1020 route de la Turche, 74260 Les Gets France
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (10)
Dining (10)
Room & Suite (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#12 of 17 hotels in Les Gets
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Ferme de Montagne is a luxurious and lovingly restored old Savoyard farmhouse nestled in the tranquil hamlet of La Turche in Les Gets with stunning views of the mountains, valley and pine forests. Conveniently located, just 1 hour from Geneva, with ski-in ski-out access to over 650km of pistes in the Portes du Soleil ski domain. Ferme de Montagne has established a reputation for outstanding food and excellent service over the last 10 years. We offer a package experience for long and short break stays within a boutique hotel setting in elegant, luxurious and beautifully-fitted, comfortable rooms with en-suite facilities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Skiing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Spa
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Full body massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Ski In / Ski Out
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, French
128Reviews0Q+A13Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 109
  • 8
  • 2
  • 4
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Lisa S wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
Visited this month for Christmas with my partner and left early due to upset stomach had chicken in sauce and veg for dinner, whist eating we realised it wasn’t cooked properly and was cold in the middle. Asked to speak to the chief and was told the owner Suzanne was actually cooking tonight she came out promptly and said “there was a problem with the microwave”….. she could re-heat.. which of course we didn’t except. Hole of the next day was terrible and costly experience that we will never forget.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lois M wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The owners of this establishment are THEIVES! We were promised a refund for the full price we paid for our stay on countless occasions over a 2 year period. The constant excuses, the lies are just beyond comprehension. We have hard evidence of all our messages and emails and telephone calls of the promises the refund would be in our account and it never came. They blocked our numbers and completed ignored us hoping we would go away. WE WILL NEVER GO AWAY. We will get our hard earned money back from you thieves!!!! Staff if you work there we heard first hand about your complaints about the controlling Suzanne. We never thought she would also be the biggest liar and thief we have ever met. We are a young couple with a new baby who are struggling financially and this woman has and continue to puts us through hell as she owed us thousands of pounds which we desperately need. It’s absolutely disgusting and disgraceful.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
785cliffc wrote a review Nov 2022
Sudbury13 contributions25 helpful votes
We had our money withheld and no new dates offered after paying in full. They cancelled twice and on the 3rd occasion we couldnt do the date. They have ignored all correspondance. But the last time we went the in house ski guide kept hitting on my Fiance when i wasnt around. The food was mediocre at best. The owners are in your face and annoying and the rooms tiny.......THIS PLACE IS NOT AS ADVERTISED AND NOT 5 STAR !!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
John B wrote a review Oct 2020
London, England, United Kingdom3 contributions6 helpful votes
Went with high hopes along with 2 other families having read the glowing reviews. We had several young children in our group which meant they needed to get the details spot on for it to work. Don't be fooled by their misleading website, it was far from a seamless experience and many of the smaller details were not dealt with properly which when taken together left a bad taste, particularly given the price. Where do I begin? 1. The false promises and misleading website In conversations with Suzanne (the owner) before we arrived I was repeatedly assured that "nothing would be a problem" - that they are experts at sorting out lessons, sorting out the kids, getting them to and from ski school, and looking after them in the afternoon if needed so that we could relax and enjoy our skiing holiday. The reality was that they cannot (and will not) look after young kids. Had they just said so we could have made alternative childcare arrangements but by then it was too late, so it meant that one of us got at best 2 hours skiing in before having to collect our youngest. We told her when we booked (a year in advance) that we wanted to lock in private lessons and as it was half-term week we knew these would book up quickly. We were assured it wouldn't be a problem as they have great relationships with all the ski schools. Well they didn't get around to getting back in touch with us about lessons until January, and wouldn't you know it the private instructors were all booked out and the best they could offer was one hour a day of lessons. A one hour ski lesson gives you enough time to meet, queue, take a chairlift up and do one or two runs and is pointless. We were asked in advance if we had any food preferences or allergies, including whether we wanted offal. We said we eat anything except offal. I don't know why they bothered asking, we were offered beef heart on at least 3 of the 6 nights we were there, along with duck hearts one night and lamb's tongue another night. Yes there were other choices but there were only 3 choices each night, and if you didn't fancy offal or smoked eel you really only had one choice. The menus on the website look fantastic with a lot of choice but our menus were nothing like the website. The "spa" - is really just a small room down by the laundry. The massage treatment was excellent, but it's not a spa. The sauna doubles as a drying room, and most of the time was filled with wet ski gear. The hot tub is out the front of the chalet and has a strange smell. The website claims it is one of the top 100 spas in the world. Honestly I don't know who they could have paid to make this claim. Some of the bedrooms are ridiculously small. The beds are also small. Not at all a five star experience or the "most comfortable beds in the world" as the website claims. 2. The setup It's set up like a chalet but the restaurant takes external bookings and at times it feels like the external bookings are their priority. The communal area is only small and includes the lounge and the restaurant. It is very hard to relax in this area, especially with kids, when external guests come in to dine in what is quite a formal restaurant setting. At one point during the day, one of our group was doing some work on one of the dining tables, and was asked by the owner if she could move because they had a housekeeping meeting! 3. The food The website describes itself as having "Michelin level food". That should have set alarm bells ringing. On reflection what does that mean - is that a self-endorsement because it's not endorsed anywhere by the Michelin Guide? As per above the choices were often limited. Also we found that it was just different derivations of the same dishes that were recycled throughout the entire week. We would have preferred they didn’t try so hard to offer fine dining style food every night, because most of the time it didn’t quite reach the mark, and many of us would have just preferred good quality comfort food after a day’s skiing. The portions were on some occasions ridiculously small. One night the starter was a single small scallop, sliced into four pieces to make it last longer but smaller than the amuse bouche. Breakfast portions were also small and got smaller as the week progressed. 4. The attention to detail Our friends missed their train back to London because the transfer left the chalet too late and there was extra traffic on the road. Would it not have been too much for one of the staff to check the traffic and ensure they left enough time? Google Maps is generally pretty accurate these days. Their transfer had to divert to Geneva Airport where they were dropped off and had to spend a fortune booking last minute flights. At no point did the chalet contact them to check they had made it home ok or that they were able to book flights. 5. The hidden charges This was the final straw. On travelling back to London I reviewed our bill and compared the prices we had been charged for ski passes and ski school with the advertised prices on the web. I thought we had been overcharged by around £500 so I contacted the chalet. After a long conversation with the other owner Henry it transpired that I was mistaken in some of the prices I was looking at, but in fact (a) we had been charged an adult’s pass for one of our children – an error by the chalet (b) they apply a 6% charge to costs they pass through to cover “banking costs”! and (c) they pay in Euros but convert bills back to pounds at a rate of 1.10 to protect themselves against exchange rate movements! (the prevailing exchange rate was 1.20 at the time). Henry assured me he didn’t want us to leave with a bad taste and asked what I would be happy with. I said I wanted to be charged the same prices as if I had bought the ski passes and lessons myself, because this is a standard service that any 5* chalet should provide. After a truly painful conversation we agreed that they would refund me £181. I didn’t hear anything for a week, so I sent an email asking what had happened to the agreed refund. I didn’t get a reply, but yesterday I saw in my account that they had refunded me £65. What a joke. All in all Ferme De Montagne has ideas above its station. It’s priced like a premium experience but they get too many things wrong to justify the prices. I should say that the young staff and ski guides are fantastic and extremely hospitable, and nothing is a problem for them. Special mention to Bertie and Lucy our ski guides. The staff are a credit to themselves but the owners are overbearing, irritating, and really should take a back seat in the operation because hospitality doesn’t come naturally to them.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
FoodieJez wrote a review Mar 2020
Ferndown, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
Michelin level cooking, fabulous food and beautiful relaxing rooms. Great hospitality from host and very knowledgeable, professional staff. Great personalised attention to detail. What more could you want in this fantastic setting. Totally spoilt by the whole experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from FDM D, Guest Relations Manager at Ferme De Montagne
Responded 7 Mar 2020
Dear FoodieJez, Thank you for such a wonderful review - it was a pleasure to welcome your family. We hope to see you again in the near future! Warm regards, Ferme de Montagne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Damien P wrote a review Feb 2020
Ella, Sri Lanka24 contributions3 helpful votes
What an amazing venue and place to stay. We were particularly amazed by the incredible food we had. We enjoyed a 7 course tasting menu which was prepared to a Michelin starred standard. Would definitely recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from FDM D, Guest Relations Manager at Ferme De Montagne
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Dear Damienp253, We are overjoyed that you loved the Tasting Menu prepared by our chefs! We agree that it is something special and thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback with us. We would love to see you again. Warmest regards, Ferme de Montagne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sam Lilley wrote a review Feb 2020
Cheshire, United Kingdom26 contributions11 helpful votes
In order to give our boys a couple of extra days on the slopes prior to half term in Les Gets we brought our sons (4 & 11) out two days early and booked into Ferme De Montagne. We were collected on time at Genève and the communication to meet once we had landed was good (which can occasionally be tricky) and the journey back smooth. Upon arrival we were greeted with drinks and a lovely light lunch. Lifts in / out of the town were readily available and logistically all was easy and help forthcoming. The rooms are cosy and classically alpine with the restaurant and bar forming the main hub of the operation. Both dinner and breakfast were superb - small ish portions (which were perfect for us) with the offer of more if you were still hungry. The wine was well priced with a good selection and all of the staff very friendly and made a point of introducing themselves. With a good number of well trained staff the service was great. We would definitely stay again. 😁
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from FDM D, Guest Relations Manager at Ferme De Montagne
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Dear Lilloire, Thank you for such a lovely review. We were lucky to host such a friendly pair of fathers and sons for an evening! We are glad we were able to help the family (especially the kids) get some extra practice on the slopes - in such gorgeous sunshine too! We hope to see you again. Kindest regards, Ferme de Montagne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Goody McGooderson wrote a review Feb 2019
Weybridge6 contributions7 helpful votes
I wanted to treat me and my family to a luxury ski trip to celebrate my 50th birthday. As this falls over the New Year period of 2019, know I'd have to get in early. During the first week off January 2019 I emailed the Ferme De Montagne explaining the reason for the trip and asking if they had availability. Katie Smith their client relationship manager emailed me back to confirm they had availability from 28th December to 4th January. I spoke to her on a few occasions to check details such as proximity to ski runs/lifts and what time we could check ion on 28th so we could co-ordinate our flights. She confirmed they could provide transport into town to the more child friendly ski runs and that we could check in at whatever time we liked on 28th and on her advice we booked the 7am flight so we'd get on the slopes that afternoon, my 50th birthday. We booked and paid for flights and I received an email from Katie on 9th January confirming our booking and that she had taken a deposit of £2577 on my credit card. I was so excited as my children have never skied and I have never skied with my husband, it was a real treat for us to look forward to. On 17th February, my friend contacted Ferme de Montagne to see if they could accommodate her and her family also for that week, to be told by Sammy that they had an exclusive booking that week and had no availability. My friend was shocked and called me recommending I call the hotel. I called and Sammy said she did not know whether I had a booking or not. I was very upset and shocked and asked to speak to the manager. Henri, the owner spoke to me and also said he couldn't confirm if I had a booking or not and he would look into it. I was astounded as this is an 8 room accommodation. I called back 2 hours later as I had not heard anything and Henri again advised that he didn't know if I had a booking or not as he couldn't access their booking system. I asked if Sammy could and he said no but that he would call me back later. He called back late afternoon to tell me that I didn't in fact have a booking as my booking had been 'made on paper' and not on their system? I asked him what he thought my deposit monies were for as they had them on 8th January and we are now on 17th February and he answered that they have no idea what money coming in relates to what booking as they have so many payments coming in. I thought this was a professional and luxurious chalet hotel who pride themselves on outstanding client service and go out of their way to provide an unforgettable holiday experience but I found their whole outfit to be a complete shambles. Their client manager took my money but didn't book me into their system. My money arrived but they didn't tie this up with my booking and possibly the worst aspect of all of this is the fact that, had my friend not called, I would not have known that I had no accommodation potentially for months. I have also as Katie had known, booked flights which leaves me with little flexibility for other location options. Overall I have never been treated this badly when attempting to book a holiday and their total lack of any kind of processes to avoid this scenario is, at best worryi9ng and woefully unprofessional. A lucky escape perhaps!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from FDM D, Public Relations Manager at Ferme De Montagne
Responded 7 Apr 2019
Dear Emma, We at Ferme de Montagne would like to send our sincerest apologies for this. I know we have already spoken and refunded your deposit but we wanted to respond to this review to once again apologise. We regret that we are unable to accommodate you and your family for next New Year but we did manage to find you several excellent hotels nearby that we thought would suit all your family's needs. If we can be of any further help please do not hesitate to call us. Unfortunately, we are not able to offer you the additional compensation you requested but we would like to offer complimentary transfers to and from Geneva airport for the mistake in our booking system. We really do hope you and your family have a fantastic holiday in Les Gets and once again, please accept our apologies for this. With our best wishes, Ferme de Montagne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
AAT wrote a review Feb 2019
Zurich, Switzerland2 contributions1 helpful vote
We went as a family (couple + 2 youth's) to Henri and Suzanne's "Farm House" . It was magic, the FDM crew is spectacular. We had a ski / guide during the whole time, guiding us on the different slopes and areas to ski. The entire crew is well skilled and really gave an extra step to make us special. The food was very good and the feeling of staying in a well crafted mountain wood chalet was unique and very special. A definitely GO, Go ,GO! We will come back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The feeling on a well crafted Mountain wood chalet
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from FDM D, Public Relations Manager at Ferme De Montagne
Responded 10 Mar 2019
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review and it is so nice to hear you enjoyed your stay. From all our team, we wanted to say how great it was to meet you guys and we are so happy to hear we made you've stay unique. It was a pleasure having you here. Hopefully see you again next season. All the best, The Ferme de Montagne team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JLN64 wrote a review Feb 2019
Harrogate, United Kingdom173 contributions90 helpful votes
There’s so much about our stay we loved. Starting with the owners, Suzanne and Henry – their attentive service and very high standards set and excellent example to their talented team, including James, Bertie, Daisy and Carol. I was slightly worried the confines of a 7-bedroom chalet and the luxurious service might be a bit stuffy, but it wasn’t. In fact, the atmosphere was extremely relaxed, and you could be as sociable, or private as you liked. There are so many great touches from the airport pickup, ski passes on arrival, being run around the resort, the ski concierge (guiding) service, skis and boots being stored in a lovely heated hut to lunch spots being booked and much more. Our bedroom was a modest size but featured a lovely big comfy bed and was quiet being away from the main dining room area. The bathroom featured Jo Malone toiletries and had a fantastic big bath to laze in after a hard days skiing. The TV didn’t work despite the attempts from several members of staff, although they didn’t seem confident in what they were doing (some instructions would help). The upstairs dining room/bar area is simply superb. Whether for breakfast or dinner, the atmosphere is most enjoyable. Overall, the food was excellent but not flawless. Our 7-course tasting menu was spoilt by an overpowering garlicky aioli sauce that we could still ‘taste’ the following morning and scallops and salmon that had been served the evening before. However, some of the dishes were amazing too. The wine list is interesting, well-constructed. Matched wines for the tasting menu would be fun. Service was occasionally a bit slow, or maybe my expectations just a bit fast. Afternoon tea was lovely and the cakes always delicious. There is a small sauna, outdoor hot tub and treatment rooms are also available, although we didn’t have any treatments. This was a tough one to rate. Many aspects of our stay exceeded our expectations, but bearing in mind the price we have chosen very good. Very very good!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from FDM D, Public Relations Manager at Ferme De Montagne
Responded 10 Mar 2019
Thank you so much for your review. We, at Ferme de Montagne, really appreciate the feedback we get from all our guests. It is so great to hear you had an amazing time with us and we hope to see you back again soon. All the best, The Ferme de Montagne team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Les Gets area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
ferme de montagne hotel les gets, ferme de montagne les gets
LOCATION
FranceAuvergne-Rhône-AlpesHaute-SavoiePortes du SoleilLes Gets
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FERME DE MONTAGNE - Hotel Reviews, Photos (Les Gets, France)

Frequently Asked Questions about Ferme De Montagne
Which popular attractions are close to Ferme De Montagne?
Nearby attractions include Les Gets (0.6 miles), Bikepark Les Gets (0.6 miles), and Le Refuge de Marie Louise (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ferme De Montagne?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Ferme De Montagne?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ferme De Montagne?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ferme De Montagne?
Conveniently located restaurants include Vina Annapurna, la Fruitière des Perrières, and Les Copeaux.
Is Ferme De Montagne located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the centre of Les Gets.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ferme De Montagne?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Ferme De Montagne?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Abbaye d'Abondance (9.5 miles).
Does Ferme De Montagne have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.