We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Chalet Giffre

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Samoens
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 66: English reviews
Start your review of Chalet Giffre
 Click to rate
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have just got back from a fantastic week skiing in Samoens. Being a group of 11 ( adults and children) the holiday was made extremely easy with the service we received, from the collection at the airport, warm welcome from Ollie the manager and the fantastic food from Sally. The chalet was ideal for our needs with the comfy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerstine H
Chalet Giffre S, Owner at Chalet Giffre, responded to this review

Hi Kerstine, So glad you had a great time and that Oli and the team looked after you making your holiday a great one. All the best Tina

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had booked a week stay costing £1140. This was based on the reviews of the chalet and service. Unfortunately, things sometimes go wrong ..... And for us it did. After using redundancy money to pay for this holiday I lost my passport and only discovered the night before our holiday. This was clearly my fault and despite my best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
Cheshire,
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our second visit to Chalet Giffre and this time we treated our son and girlfriend to a ski holiday. Our 20 year old daughter suddenly found herself with a week's leave and asked to join us and there aren't many places that are happy to accommodate an adult 'child' sharing parents' room at a VERY reasonable price at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rose63
Chalet Giffre S, Owner at Chalet Giffre, responded to this review

Hi Mags, Thank you so much for your kind words. It was wonderful for me to actually meet you and you lovely this year. Glad you had a great time even though you couldnt ski this year but I am sure you will be zooming down those slops next year. All the best from team Giffre Hugs Tina

Devizes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in the lovely rustic chalet giffre the week leading up to Christmas. We were 2 families with 3 teenage children. From the moment that we were collected from the airport we were provided with an extremely friendly quality service. On arrival at the chalet we were poured drinks and sat by the open fire on comfy sofa's and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Becky T
Chalet Giffre S, Manager at Chalet Giffre, responded to this review

so glad you enjoyed your stay it was lovely to meet both families and hope you will come again next year. It was a shame about the snow but good Flaine was just around the corner. All the best Team Giffre

Reviewed 31 July 2016

Chalet Giffre is excellent! I highly recommend staying here and would most certainly stay here again. The Chalet itself is in an excellent location. It's right near the town, which makes it convenient for eating, drinking, or booking things. In addition, the rooms are comfortable and the living room area is very nice. Chalet Giffre did a very reasonably priced...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joel V
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Chalet Giffre for 1 night while passing through Samoens on the GR5 trail. It was extremely comfortable, clean and convenient. Everything you could ask for. Ontop of this, Ollie was a great host - personable, super friendly and accommodating especially when my partner was sick in bed for the night with a cold. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey F
Chalet Giffre S, Manager at Chalet Giffre, responded to this review

Thank-you so much for the kind words Jeff, I hope Rose felt better soon? Where are you know? The GR5 is an awesome thing to do, I've been praying for good weather for you! Good luck, Enjoy and keep in touch!

Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Spent 4 nights at the Chalet Giffre with a group of friends as a base for a cycling trip. The chalet was perfect for us as a large group with simple, functional en suite bedrooms and a fantastic, large communal space for relaxing with a few beers. There are multiple comfy sofas a mini "library" and even a large chess...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren H
Chalet Giffre S, Manager at Chalet Giffre, responded to this review

Hi Daz, Thank you so much for your review. It was great fun having you and the rest of the guys to stay and L'etape was such an amazing event to be involved in only made even better by being able to enjoy it with your group. You are all more than welcome back here at Chalet Giffre whenever you...

Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

A great chalet for a relaxed and friendly cycling holiday. Good location with lots of routes nearby, massively helpful host Oli, who couldn't do enough for us, and one of the prettiest villages in France. What's not to love? Highly recommended!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
Chalet Giffre S, Manager at Chalet Giffre, responded to this review

Hi Richard, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here in Samoens at Chalet Giffre so much. It really is one of the most beautiful places in the world and such a great base for road cycling among so many other activities. I hope you're well and we'd love to see you here again soon!

Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

Great location 5 mins walk from the centre of a beautiful resort. Rooms were good, communal area excellent. Oli provided great hosting and breakfast making skills. Ideal base for winter or summer activity holiday, will be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
Chalet Giffre S, Manager at Chalet Giffre, responded to this review

Hi James, I hope you're good and the U.K. Is treating you well?! It was brilliant having you here at Chalet Giffre, what a great weekend! I'm glad you enjoyed Samoens and I hope we see you again here sometime soon, cheers!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2016

We were picked up from Geneva airport without any fuss, the drivers were very friendly (Tom and Sam). We arrived to Chalet Giffre and were intrigued from the non-imposing outside but we were instantly we were welcomed by Oli and shown all the bedrooms. The Chalet is huge with 6 bedrooms spaced out on 3 floors. The bedrooms were all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PJ S
Chalet Giffre S, Manager at Chalet Giffre, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words and hope to see you again in the near future.

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Samoens hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neige Et Roc
Hotel Neige Et Roc
#1 of 6 in Samoens
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Residence Gai Soleil
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Glaciers
Hotel Les Glaciers
#5 of 6 in Samoens
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Boule de Neige
0.2 mi away
AEC Vacances - Les Becchi
0.1 mi away
Residence CGH La Reine Des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service

Additional Information about Chalet Giffre

Address: Les Billets, 74340 Samoens, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Samoens
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chalet Giffre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstairs rooms have better views”
 of 5 bubbles 996janw, 22 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Great views”
 of 5 bubbles beckybeebee, 30 Sep 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms we saw looked great!”
 of 5 bubbles 526zih, 23 Sep 2015 | Read review
“middle rooms enjoy a great view of the surrounding mountains”
 of 5 bubbles ashleywN5455GJ, 25 Aug 2015 | Read review
“If you are a light sleep, maybe ask for a room not facing the road.”
 of 5 bubbles Jessa74, 7 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5