We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Alpenhof Murnau

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Alpenhof Murnau
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

255 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 104: English reviews
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Used as an overnight stop on our way to the south in August, we stayed at this hotel in a “Deluxe Double room”. The room itself was really beautiful with a very nice view to the garden. The bathroom however let us down. First, there was mold near the bathtub. Second, the drain was full with hair and third, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gandalf62
Marc J, Sales Manager at Alpenhof Murnau, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your review. We have made note about your complaints and are sorry about that you did not enjoyed your stay that much. Please be sure about that we will take these complaints serious and are going to discuss all points within the team. Kind regards More 

washington dc
Level Contributor
165 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Very spacious and comfortable room, lobby area and lounge/bar. I loved the toiletry and good water pressure. Nice swimming pool and simple gym with necessary equipments. Nothing much around so this is a place to come for relaxing time. Staff are friendly and breakfast was great. Good Espresso/coffee machine but not available before 7 am. Unless you have a car,... More 

Helpful?
Thank bubbleDC
Marc J, Verkaufsleiter at Alpenhof Murnau, responded to this review

Dear bubbleDC, thank you for your great recommendation. Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! See you soon! Kind regards, Anna Brandt Convention Sales Manager More 

cornwall
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We had driven a long way and had a lovely welcome, the room was lovely and we had room service, the Wiener schnitzel was tasty, with some lovely wine. We swan in the outside pool in the dark with a view of the Alps great!!!! Fabulous breakfast selection, still the best we've had. Thank you to Elisabeth for bring so... More 

Helpful?
Thank CornwallHunnybun
Marc J, Manager at Alpenhof Murnau, responded to this review

Dear Guests, many thanks for your wonderful feedback. :-) :-) All the best for you and goodbye. Claudia Scheidel Sales and Reservation Manager More 

Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights when visiting the region on business. Breakfast buffet is very impressive and the restaurant view is the very well looked after hotel grounds. I believe there are old and new blocks. I stayed in the new one and was quite allright. Clean and spacious. Bathroom amenities are great! There are various trekking routes very... More 

Helpful?
Thank laleluli
Marc J, Verkaufsleiter at Alpenhof Murnau, responded to this review

Dear Laleluli, thank you for your good valuation. Nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us! See you next time! Regards, Anna Brandt Convention Sales Manager More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

Our family kicked off a two week vacation with a two night stay at the Alpenhof. It was a great start to our vacation. The hotel is beautiful, an easy jumping off point to Linderhof and Neuschwanstein castles, the room was a great size and the kids loved the pool and we all loved the meals.

Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa C
Marc J, Sales Manager at Alpenhof Murnau, responded to this review

Dear Teresa lovely feedback! Thank you! Regards Marc Jaeschke More 

Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We stayed one night at this beautiful hotel on our trip through Germany. Second time we've stayed here. Nice atmosphere, friendly staff and very comfortable rooms. Very clean and spacious rooms. Outside area is very nice, with an outdoor restaurant and pool.

Helpful?
Thank Dagfinn B
Marc J, Sales Manager at Alpenhof Murnau, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for this positive review! We're happy that you enjoyed your second stay at our place that much. Kind regards, Marc Jaeschke More 

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
176 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Used this hotel as an alternative place to stay because our favorite hotel Kaufmann in Rosshaupten was fully booked. It was a pleasant stay with some good and bad points. The hotel has two very different faces. When you are lucky (or you prepared your trip well), you will enjoy a contemporary five star German hotel worth every penny. When... More 

Helpful?
Thank KeesE
Marc J, Sales Manager at Alpenhof Murnau, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your detailed feedback. We'll take the mentioned points serious and will talk about them within the management. Would be glad to welcome you again. Kind regards Marc Jaeschke Sales Manager More 

Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

This is an excellent luxury hotel in Germany. Breakfast and dinner food are delicious and let me tell you that the SPA is unreal. Fitness room is quite small, not for strong Man. It have beautiful alps and mountains views and it's at 10 minutes walking from Murnau Main Street.

Helpful?
Thank Cosorio35
Marc J, Sales Manager at Alpenhof Murnau, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your awesome review. We are more than happy that you enjoyed yourself at our hotel and would be glad to see you soon. Kind regards Marc Jaeschke More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2016

We recently held a family event at the Alpenhof (with ages randing from 8 months to 74 years!). The whole thing worked perfectly from start to finish (well - except perhaps for a bit of rain!). We travelled to Murnau in less than an hour from the Munich Hauptbahnhof (central station), then were collected from the station by the hotel.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mustgotobed
Marc J, Sales Manager at Alpenhof Murnau, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for that lovely review. We are more than happy reciving such a good feedback and would be glad to welcome you and your family back at our location. Kind regards Marc Jaeschke More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2016

We stayed here for 1 night and ate in the hotel restaurant. The location is great with views of mountains. The lobby/entrance area and bar are lovely, with a modern chalet vibe and the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were huge but needed a bit of upgrading as did the bathrooms. From leaving the lobby area to going... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma R
Marc J, Sales Manager at Alpenhof Murnau, responded to this review

Dear Emma, thank you for your very detailed rating. We do offer different room categories and a lage part already has been refurbished. We are working step by step to implement that "modern charlet style" in all parts of the hotel. The new lobby, reception and bar will be our orientation and template for this. Kind regards Marc Jaeschke More 

138 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murnau
24.1 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 39 in Fussen
374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Angerbraeu
Hotel Angerbraeu
#4 of 6 in Murnau
57 reviews
24.5 mi away
Hotel Wiedemann
Hotel Wiedemann
#19 of 39 in Fussen
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Wellness Hotel Eggensberger
0.8 mi away
Griesbrau zu Murnau
Griesbrau zu Murnau
#2 of 6 in Murnau
69 reviews
23.4 mi away
Hotel Sommer
Hotel Sommer
#7 of 39 in Fussen
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Alpenhof Murnau
Alpenhof Murnau
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our hotel, located directly by the Murnau Nature Reserve and not far from the impressive Murnau lakes, with a fantastic view of the nearby Alps, enjoys an incomparable natural setting. Situated between Munich and Garmisch-Partenkirchen, we will take you into a world in which body, mind and spirit find peace. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alpenhof Murnau

Address: Ramsachstr. 8, 82418 Murnau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Murnau
Price Range: £135 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alpenhof Murnau 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Alpenhof Murnau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Alpenhof Murnau staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rooms facing the hotel entrance. Pool facing. New Deluxe room.”
 of 5 bubbles KeesE, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are big, but our favourite one are the duplex maisonette suits in the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles maxdedikov, 5 Sep 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are great if you love cold, cold showers.”
 of 5 bubbles christinao306, 26 Jun 2015 | Read review
“All rooms have views of the mountains”
 of 5 bubbles GKTravellers, 1 May 2015 | Read review
“Especially for a longer stay, I would recommend investing in a suite.”
 of 5 bubbles MetooAmsterdam, 16 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay