We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel Sonnenhuegel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Sonnenhuegel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 22: English reviews
Kaltenbrunn, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016

The facility is huge, consisting of several bodies, with quite a walking distance in between, with one dining hall and other leisure possibilities collocated in the main facility. The personal extremely friendly and helpful, rooms large and well arranged however with aged furniture. The bathroom shower is in the bathtub requiring some attention to get in and out. So far... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adi_the_Explorer
Sonnenhuegel97, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Sonnenhuegel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback concerning your stay at our Hotel Sonnenhügel. Your Sonnenhügel-Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

This is a very quiet hotel. Accommodation is rather dated in the rooms but in hotel main areas in nice. Very nice pool, restaurants good and food exceptional. Two dislikes for me. Vending machine that sells alcohol? This may be normal in germany But open to abuse to a child. And the basic, No Hot water. Hense the avergae review

Helpful?
Thank m t
Sonnenhuegel97, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Sonnenhuegel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback concerning your stay. Your Sonnenhügel-Team More 

Las Pinas, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Simple hotel, big rooms, very clean and big toilet with tub, staff is very accommodating easy to communicate. I like the food german noodle with pork and gravy, veges, Salad, pasta. Breakfast the bacon, bread etc. Love it like the simplicity of the hotel. Fresh air, lots of trees, if you want quite time stay in this hotel. Safe place... More 

Helpful?
Thank JhascyB
Sonnenhuegel97, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Sonnenhuegel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback concerning your stay at our Hotel Sonnenhügel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Your Sonnenhügel-Team More 

Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2015

The Hotel Sonnenhuegel is not a normal or traditional Hotel, but is more of a Holiday complex, with three huge accomodation "blocks" (called 'Houses') . The first "House" (Number 1) contains the reception area, all the restuarants, the various swimming pools and saunas, etc, as well as bedrooms. The other two houses are purely for accomodation. The Hotel is themed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter S
Sonnenhuegel97, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Sonnenhuegel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback. We would love to welcoming you again one day. Your Sonnenhügel-Team More 

The Netherlands
Level Contributor
110 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2014

The fact that the architecture of this hotel is best described as modernistic, does not necessarily mean the hotel can’t be cozy or comfortable. At least that's what I thought… This hotel is old and worn down. Doors, glass and furniture are dirty and/or broken, windows temporarely fixed with wooden sticks. There’s even some visible decay of the concrete balconies.... More 

Helpful?
Thank edgar_was_here
Sonnenhuegel97, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Sonnenhuegel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very sorry, that you haven't been satisfied with your stay. Kids get the cup for free drinks for free at arrival. The cup can be cleaned during the stay or you can buy a new cup if you wish to. It is way to dangerous to offer glas cups to children.... More 

Travellers are raving about these Bad Kissingen hotels

Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2014

OK. So we weren't in the best of moods: Our United Air flight back to San Francisco was scrubbed; there were no hotels anywhere in the greater Frankfurt area due to a big book fair in town; we were carted 2.5 hours (at 9pm) to Hotel Sonnenhuegel and put up for the night. Ach! We weren't looking for luxe accommodations,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gary H
Sonnenhuegel97, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Sonnenhuegel, responded to this review

Dear Gary, we are very sorry, that you didn't enjoy your quick stay at our hotel. As you arrived in the middle of the night and left at 7 a.m. in the morning, you didn't have a chance to enjoy our nice pool and sauna area, our bar or any other facilities. All our rooms are twin rooms what is... More 

Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
169 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We are a young couple on a relaxing leisure break. The Hotel we booked via internet, because of the location priorities closed to the forest. If some Buildings are not up to your taste just go inside. You feel the 3 Stars nothing special out of the great hospitality and the SPA area. The hotel was good booked and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank N-Joy-Bleisure
Sonnenhuegel97, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Sonnenhuegel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Bad Kissingen. Your Sonnenhügel-Team More 

Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Poor experience, this was my 3 stay in the hotel. Old needs remodeling. Example - shower heads spray everywhere and it is impossible to keep the water in the huge deep bathtub with tiny shower curtain. Staff not very helpful when encountered problems - slow internet with poor phone reception throughout.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
Sonnenhuegel97, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Sonnenhuegel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry that you haven't been satisfied with your stay. We try to renovate all parts of the hotel. Our reception has a 24h service and we always try to send our technical staff as soon as possible to fix any problems. WLAN usually works pretty fast. Once again, we are... More 

Brasschaat, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We visited the hotel 5 years ago and now. The 1st time our room was in house 3, so now we did not made the same mistake and booked in house1. Altough more expensive is for sure better to be inside and to be able to go to the pool and restaurant without to be necessary to walk outside in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank valsirob
Sonnenhuegel97, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Sonnenhuegel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very happy that you were satisfied with the value for money. We try to refurbish all parts of the hotel constantly. We would love to welcoming you again. Greetings from sunny Germany to Belgium Your Hotel Sonnenhügel Team More 

Topsham, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Sonnenhuegel for one night while on vacation and traveling throughout Germany. Bad Kissingen, itself, is actually quite a nice town that was fun to explore. (You must try the mineral waters, but have a chaser prepared for some.). While the other reviewers are right about the building’s exterior appearance, I was pleasantly... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank NCMB
Sonnenhuegel97, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Sonnenhuegel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. More 

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bad Kissingen hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Frankenland
Hotel Frankenland
#3 of 31 in Bad Kissingen
196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parkhotel Cup Vitalis
Parkhotel Cup Vitalis
#1 of 31 in Bad Kissingen
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dappers Hotel | Spa | Genuss
Dappers Hotel | Spa | Genuss
#2 of 31 in Bad Kissingen
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Bad Kissingen
Wyndham Garden Bad Kissingen
#7 of 31 in Bad Kissingen
101 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kaiserhof Victoria
Hotel Kaiserhof Victoria
#20 of 31 in Bad Kissingen
85 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Weisses Haus
Hotel Weisses Haus
#6 of 31 in Bad Kissingen
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Hotel Sonnenhuegel

Address: Burgstr. 15, 97688 Bad Kissingen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Bad Kissingen
Price Range: £78 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sonnenhuegel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Sonnenhuegel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenhugel Hotel Bad Kissingen
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Bad Kissingen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Sonnenhuegel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take a suite and you have the real vocational home.”
 of 5 bubbles N-Joy-Bleisure, 13 May 2014 | Read review
“If you can't get a room in building #1, you'll have quite some walking distance for meals and pool.”
 of 5 bubbles Carsti29, 25 Jan 2012 | Read review
“Get a room in the top of the buildings...”
 of 5 bubbles PeterB8, 1 Sep 2011 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay