Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria

Äussere Dorfstrasse, 2, Kandersteg 3718 Switzerland
Traveller (245)
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (18)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, 24 Feb
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
£183
Breakfast included
Easy and fast booking
£182
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#3 of 9 hotels in Kandersteg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Our hotel will be closed until 21 December. We look forward to welcoming you back on 22 December. The Hotel Victoria is centrally located with a great view on the snow-topped mountains. You will find a cheerful and familiar atmosphere combined with best Swiss hotel tradition. The ideal place to relax and enjoy oneself. Various recreational activities are at your disposal: indoor swimming-pool, sauna and steam-shower, a beautiful park and a sun terrace. In our restaurant Ritter you will enjoy excellent dining. Our rustic rooms in the Ritter or the comfortable rooms in the Victoria are all equipped with radio, colour-TV and direct-dial telephone.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Public wifi
Pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Game room
Books, DVDs, music for children
Paid public parking on-site
Car park
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Ski school
Skiing
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Children's playground
Indoor play area for children
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Full body massage
Massage
Neck massage
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Italian
463Reviews6Q+A72Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 224
  • 153
  • 46
  • 29
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Philip S wrote a review Aug 2022
Saint Julian's, Malta39 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Beautiful views of the mountains, friendly staff. Very good breakfast and decent facilities (small pool, outdoor area and comba)
Clean, well kept place with staff who speak many different languages. We would like to return in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BPR wrote a review Feb 2020
Beverley, United Kingdom44 contributions8 helpful votes
The Belle Époque Hotel Victoria is a lovely place to stay. It’s a large hotel with all the amenities you could need, and yet it retains a personal touch. The staff are all really friendly and helpful and everything runs like clockwork. My husband and I were there for a week on an Inntravel holiday. We had a lovely large room with king size bed, lots of storage space and a nice big en suite with large bath and shower. We also had a balcony from which we could enjoy the picturesque views. We had a half board booking and were allocated a table in the dining room for the duration of our stay. Breakfast offered all the choice you could want with fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt, cooked items, meat, cheese, fresh bread and croissants. You simply helped yourself to whatever you wanted. Our table was large and there was plenty of space around. At breakfast we filled in our choices for the 4-course meal for the evening. The evening food varied in quality but generally speaking was good and there were some particularly good dishes. Our wine and soft drinks were also all included. The staff were really helpful. We had a winter sports taster week arranged and the hotel kept us informed as to what we needed to do. They were happy to provide courtesy transport when needed - particularly if you wanted to go up to the ski slopes in ski boots and carrying skis and poles etc. The owners organised an evening of aperitifs and canopies to introduce us to the programme and made a point of chatting with everyone.
The WiFi worked perfectly throughout the hotel. There was a lovely comfortable lounge, a quiet reading room, a pool and a sauna. All fabulous. And we were provided with plenty of large fluffy white towels as well as swimming towels and towelling robes. I really couldn’t find a single negative thing to say about our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sandya-and-Erik wrote a review Jun 2022
Colombo, Sri Lanka81,617 contributions405 helpful votes
The building keeps the old charms of the Belle Epoque, with the elevator as highlight. But from the inside is surprisingly well renovated and up to modern standards, so the 4 stars are well deserved.
It's 5 mins walk from the station, and 10 mins to the Oeschinen lake cable car station; supermarket nextdoor. Excellent wide buffet breakfast menu in the 200-year old dining hall. Nice swimming pool in a glass building in the garden, giving great mountain views.
Dinner restaurant (Ritter) is good but be sure to have reservations ahead if eating on Friday or Saturday, it has a good reputation.
Room (we had a minisuite) is spacious, with interesting quite oldish outside balconies. Bathroom is fine (2 sinks), with modern refillable tanks for soap etc. Having a Bosch Senseo-like coffee machine with only 4 capsules of various drinks (even mint tea) was a bit underwhelming for a suite, though the stock was refilled daily; we had at least expected a separate water boiler with more choices for tea. And the modern tech is simply buggy for the power outlet used for the coffee machine (and anything you put on the working desk), as that outlet only works when the main room lights are on. A Belle Epoque technician to fix that please ;-)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Back side (mountain facing)
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
martin c wrote a review Mar 2022
Pangbourne, United Kingdom12 contributions7 helpful votes
This might be an excellent hotel in the high season - there are good rooms, the location is excellent and the lounge and dining areas look great. However we went in the low season ( January) and it was deserted - only two guests rooms being used. The hotel didn't seem at all concerned to provide us with the normal service - no breakfast buffet, no bar open at any time, and we were sent to other hotels to eat. The lights went out everywhere at 8pm, and the recpetion closed prior to this so returning at night to a large and dark, deserted hotel was a bit spooky. We left after two nights and the hotel initially wanted to charge us for the four we had originally booked, before we complained and refused. If you are an Inntravel customer, I recommend going instead to The Castle Hotel in the Gomns Valley not far away. 100% better in every way.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: choose a room at the back overlooking the park
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Casimir Platzer, Owner at Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria
Responded 17 Mar 2022
Thank you very much for your review. It is important for us to continuously improve our service. In fact, this January we had few guests in the house for a week. Despite this situation, we maintained our customary service at all times.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rudi W. wrote a review Jun 2022
5 contributions
The hotel is in an older building, but the rooms are spotlessly clean. We stayed there for one night. The à la carte restaurant is very cosy and has tasty local food. Breakfast was good quality.

The hotel is in a great location, you can see the mountains all around you. It is also a good starting point for a hike to Oeschinensee (4 kms, but the only way is up...). Also, Blausee is a 10 min drive away and certainly worth seeing. The hotel grants you a visitor's pass which entitles you to a 50% reduction at Blausee.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shirley W wrote a review Feb 2022
Liverpool, United Kingdom29 contributions15 helpful votes
The main areas of the hotel are very nicely furnished, however the bedroom was a fairly small room. and the bathroom in urgent need of refurbishment. The shower was situated in the bath with no grab rail or slip mat which was definitely a safety concern. Plastic toilet seat and old wooden stool under sink.
In contrast the dining room was beautiful and service was impeccable, half board included a four course dinner and was a very high standard.
Swimming pool was lovely and very nice play rooms for children.
Only problem we encountered was on checking out our bill was incorrect and the receptionist insisted it was correct even when I pointed out we had not eaten twice on the same day and the bill was signed by someone else! although the mistake was rectified we did not get an apology from her and her attitude was unprofessional.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: As the bathroom was not suitable due to having to climb into the bath to shower we should have...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nigel Hewitt wrote a review Jul 2023
6 contributions
Whilst in general the hotel wasn’t too bad there were issues around the whole dining experience. We were with a group (GRJ) and particularly for the evening meal the food was not great. Some of our party had to wait for pork as this ran out TWICE. The food didn’t look inviting and the service was poor. At one point we started to clear the table ourselves as staff hadn’t done this.
The detail said tea and coffee making facilities were in the room but there was only a coffee machine and a kettle wasn’t available it seems.
The pool was ok but the sauna wasn’t available.
On the last night, a free glass of wine was available with the meal but soft drinks (the lady sitting next to me ) were to be charged to the room.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aragon Christen, General Manager at Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria
Responded 14 Jul 2023
Dear Nigel Many thanks for your review. we apologise that this has happened to you with us. We had some great pork steaks that evening and unfortunately it took longer to cook them than we were used to. We had more choices at the buffet than just the pork steaks. Kind regards from Kandersteg
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard E wrote a review Aug 2022
5 contributions3 helpful votes
Way way overpriced!The water takes 15 minutes of running the water to get warm and you might still take a cold shower. We asked the front desk about the water and they told us that’s how it is. Checkout was at 11, at 1030 we came to our room before we checked out. everything was cleaned and our personal hygiene products and food was gone. We went to the front desk and the manager went to the house keeping and she had cleaned the room and threw away all of our stuff. They gave the excuse that it looked like we had left but we still had a physical key and didn’t check out. They also stated that they were busy. All they had were excuses and didn’t really offer any type of solution. The breakfast started at 7 but hot food barley came out by 730, the eggs were powered and had an odd smell. They make the customers cut their own cheese and we witnessed multiple customers using their bare hands doing so.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid the hotel unless you like cold showers, mediocre food, and bad management
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Casimir Platzer, General Manager at Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria
Responded 16 Aug 2022
Dear Richard E Thank you for your review and we are sorry, that you had such a bad experience during your stay with us. Yes, we send you our excuses (again) and apologise. The long wait you had with the hot water is of course not normal, but we had or have a problem with our main boiler and the system is not working properly until we get a necessary spare part. Due to the actual circomstances the delivery of this part is taking longer than usual. Nothing we can do. I'm sorry that the reception staff did not give you a proper explanation. The housekeeping actually did think that you had already vacated the room and the bags seemed to be garbage, as apparently there were also some empty bottles in the bags. Sometimes people vacate the room, but still have the key and so we can actually start with the cleaning. There are plastic gloves available at the breakfast buffet and also cutlery to serve the cheese. Normally people don't or shouldn't take the cheese with bare hands. Unfortunately we have no control on guests that don't follow these basic rules. By the way, you visited us in our busiest season and the rates are higher then and also depend on occupancy. Before and after the high season our rates are much lower. This will probably be the case in moste hotels. Thank you again for letting us know about your negative experience and I hope that these explanations will clarifiy a few things. Kind regards, Casimir Platzer, owner
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AliG wrote a review Mar 2023
Chester, United Kingdom79 contributions101 helpful votes
Fantastic hotel. We were half board with Inn Travel and food of a very high standard and a wide range of choices. The breakfast buffet was good quality and extensive, too. We had a huge room at the front, 327, with a walk-in wardrobe! Beds were very comfortable and the room was very quiet. The pool is amazing! Swimming with a view of the mountains was such a fantastic experience and for an extra cost you can book the sauna just for your own use. Very well situated, 5 mins walk to the station (bus from right outside if you need one), mini-market next door and tourist information next to that. Staff lovely, nothing too much trouble, would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Meredith F wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
Lovely hotel with the most epic views. It was a great home base for our trip. We drove from Geneva up to Grindelwald to hike for the day, and then back to Kandersteg for the hotel and to spend the rest of our holiday in that area. The pool was a fantastic antidote to our sore feet and a treat for the kids. Breakfast was phenom. The only thing that I think could have been improved upon would be to have a very small mini fridge in the room. Our ice packs were in need of a freezer and our meats, cheeses and houmous from each day of hiking didn't last long without a fridge. Otherwise, I will definitely be returning and will recommend it to friends.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Bring your bathing suit. Totally walkable to the main Kandersteg gondola.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Canton of Schwyz, Switzerland79 contributions13 helpful votes
Parking is free, but limited. Book in advance. Microwaves??? Really??? No. Power sockets; there are never enough, but I am sure your will manage.
Show all answers
Ron381 asked a question Apr 2016
Harrisonburg, Virginia12 contributions10 helpful votes
are you open in oct or do you close for a period of time?
Answer from Larry M
Silver Spring, Maryland11 contributions25 helpful votes
I don't know, but here is the hotel email: info@hotel-victoria.ch
Michael M asked a question Aug 2015
codsall, staffs143 contributions37 helpful votes
Do you have hair dryers in each room?
Answer from Casionaut
Switzerland5 contributions5 helpful votes
Dear Morgsy Most rooms have hair dryers and we have hair dryers available at the reception for the rooms that that don't have one.
Show all answers
Answer from Casionaut
Switzerland5 contributions5 helpful votes
Hello Yes, this does not seem to be a Review for Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria!
Show all answers
Marcelo G asked a question Mar 2019
Hamburg, Germany36 contributions6 helpful votes
Is there gym in the hotel?
Meredith F wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution
"Bring your bathing suit. Totally walkable to the main Kandersteg gondola. "
Read full review
Peggy wrote a tip Jul 2023
2 contributions
"Better reserve adequate time for check-out if you are going to catch a train."
Read full review
Valerie N wrote a tip Jun 2023
1 contribution
"Remember your swimsuit!"
Read full review
Richard E wrote a tip Aug 2022
5 contributions3 helpful votes
"Avoid the hotel unless you like cold showers, mediocre food, and bad management"
Read full review
Sandya-and-Erik wrote a tip Jun 2022
Colombo, Sri Lanka81,617 contributions405 helpful votes
"Back side (mountain facing)"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kandersteg area.
PRICE RANGE
£168 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel victoria ritter, victoria ritter kandersteg
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Victoria Ritter Hotel
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of BernKandersteg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
65
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BELLE EPOQUE HOTEL VICTORIA - Updated 2024 (Kandersteg, Switzerland)

Frequently Asked Questions about Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria
Which popular attractions are close to Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria?
Nearby attractions include Bluemlisalphutte SAC 2840m (0.2 miles) and Kunsteisbahn Kandersteg (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria?
Yes, a parking garage, paid public parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Hotel Bernerhof Kandersteg, Restaurant Ritter, and Schweizerhof Kandersteg.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.09 miles away from the centre of Kandersteg.
Are pets allowed at Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Italian.