Olde House
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Olde House

Loundsley Green Road, Newbold, Chesterfield S40 4RN England
Traveller (38)
Bedroom
Room & Suite (21)
Olde House
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

£88
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 inn in Newbold
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Originally a farm house, The Olde House pub was converted into its present form in the 1960s. We still boast a traditional exterior that is matched by the design of our 12 en-suite lodge rooms, which are traditional on the outside and smart and well appointed on the inside. The pub itself has two function rooms and a civil licence, making us the perfect venue for a wedding in Chesterfield. We're proud to serve the local community, and offer a great place for everyone to meet and eat. Come in for a cuppa, a catch-up with the crew, or a great-value meal. Get your glad rags on and make us your Friday-night destination. With a fantastic selection of real ales, lagers, ciders, wines, and spirits, we're definitely up for a party! In fact, The Olde House is a brilliant place to spend the whole weekend. Grab a cheeky pint on a Saturday afternoon, and we reckon you'll be tempted by our varied menu of great British classics, colourful curries, and juicy American-style burgers.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
323Reviews2Q+A49Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 125
  • 100
  • 39
  • 23
  • 37
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
John H wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Four friends visiting Chesterfield to attend a funeral. We were made to feel very welcome by all the staff and the rooms were spotless, also very impressed with the size of the car park.
Just one tiny hiccup, we were asked to pay for our breakfasts on the last morning even though I had payed for them upon arrival. Perhaps administrative systems need tweaking a little bit. That little problem was sorted out immediately, so all in all a very pleasant stay. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marston's Inns, Revenue Management at Olde House
Responded 14 Jan 2023
Sitski, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at Olde House - Hotel. Thank you again for the great review!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharron W wrote a review Jan 2020
Sheffield, United Kingdom21 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for one night as attending function. Was checked in by a lovely friendly lady who was very helpful. Our room was a lovely size and very clean. The bed was really comfortable so we had a great nights sleep. The only negative comment on the room would be the bathroom. While the shower was really powerful and hot the spray made thebathroom became really wet and very slippy on the floor. Everything in the bathroom becomes soaked including any cosmetics left out in the sink. Maybe the small shower panel is not enough to prevent this or the fan is not strong enough. I imagine it to be only a matter of time before someone slips and has an accident in there! Overall the room is lovely just that one negative. The bar staff were ok but when I ordered a cocktail one lady seemed really put out! My cocktail was served in a half pint glass. I'm no snob but a nice cocktail glass would be more appreciated than it slopped in a large glass. Breakfast was nice and served very quickly with the lady serving us very friendly and helpful. Overall it was a nice stay and I would return here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OldeHouse, General Manager at Olde House
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Hi Sharron thank you for your review and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are grateful of your feedback with regard to the shower screens in the hotel rooms...we are now having a hotel room make-over due to your concerns, so I hope that you will return soon to see the improvements that you have helped to put in place. Regarding cocktails I will certainly look into the glasses problem that we seem to be having just recently and a little staff retraining may help. thank you and hope to see you soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah b wrote a review Jul 2023
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom2,255 contributions915 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great hotel accommodation. Clean comfortable with comfortable bed and plenty of hot water. Shower gel and soap provided in wall dispensers to save on plastic waste which we appreciate and was of good quality. Just enough storage for a short stay. Separate car park at rear of pub for easy access to the rooms which adjoin the pub itself so no dash across the car park for us here! Tea and coffee making in the room. Good hairdryer in the room too.

The meals at the pub were great with a good menu include traditional pub grub and good selection of drinks including non alcoholic. We had a traditional English breakfast which was great, freshly cooked and delivered to our table, and nicely presented, delicious with good sized pot of tea and toast, and juice and cereals on the buffet table.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Park at the rear of the pub.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marston's Inns, Revenue Management at Olde House
Responded 25 Jul 2023
Srablair, we're happy to hear you had such a positive experience with our team! we're happy you found our staff to be so supportive during your experience here at Olde House by Marston's Inns. We look forward to your next visit! Take care!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
paulfalconer01 wrote a review Apr 2022
Chesterfield, United Kingdom534 contributions73 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked in for a meal as a party of five. Arrived to be told to just find a table. After finding an empty table that was yet to be cleared or cleaned, we decided to order ASAP as the food waiting time was 45min. Great start to having dinner out…not. We do appreciate that the hospitality industry is currently struggling to retain and recruit but 45 min and a dirty table, didn’t bode well to start our experience. Food order placed, and I specifically requested two light bite Hunters chickens without chips and just salad. Well this is what the menu gives as an option on the large version but the other lite bite option on the same menu says chips and side salad. Even after requesting full salad no chips, the kitchen delivered chips and side salad. It went back to the kitchen before he brought the plate back out to show us what order they had m received in the kitchen. Why keep walking the plate through the dining area. It was then taking away again and the chips removed and the salad increased. OMG don’t bother with the lite bite, it was basically a normal portion cut in half but not at half the price. Disappointed.
The burger was really good and well cooked as was the gammon. The French fries were quite greasy and soggy.
Service was poor. Which seems to be the norm at the moment around chesterfield. It took a second request after our starters arrived to have the old plates and glasses removed from the previous dinners. The appearance of the server only made this visit all the more unpleasant as his clothes/uniform were not clean. We weren’t asked how the meal was and by the time they addressed the chips not slag issue the other meals were getting cold.
Needs to address the basics of operational management and personnel training. More staff needed when big numbers of bookings being taken. Later on we had a drink from the bar and staff just didn’t seem to be on top of it. I’ve in drinks when we asked for no ice, staff holding glasses near the top when all good bar staff no the bottom half is where they touch so as customers don’t drink out the top where their fingers have been.

Long review but worth putting it all down. Only eaten here once before but not sure if I will give it another try in the future
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Good parking Arrive early Check menu difference between options on main menu and lite bites
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marston's Inns, Revenue Management at Olde House
Responded 6 May 2022
Dear Mr Falconer, I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit to us yesterday. at present table bookings are booked though our head office which sometimes leads to miscommunications, so all I can do is to apologise on their behalf. Unfortunately since re opening the hospitality industry has suffered trying to recruit experienced staff which means that we are doing our best to train new staff to work to the standard that our customers expect. We'd like the opportunity to discuss this with you. Thank you for leaving feedback. Please reach out to us at 01246 274321 so we may identify ways to improve your experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nick R wrote a review Jul 2022
Sheffield, United Kingdom147 contributions53 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had an overnight stay here for a wedding in Chesterfield 3 rooms 6 adults and one child.
All the rooms were spotlessly clean and had comfortable beds, ample tea and coffee, hair dryer and fan.
We received a warm welcome from the helpful staff and received a nice cooked breakfast the following morning
Could find fault with this hotel particularly when you consider the very reasonable prices
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from julie wood, General Manager at Olde House
Responded 12 Sept 2022
Nick, your wonderful feedback and rating mean a lot to us. we're happy to hear you had such a positive experience with our team! We hope to see you soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
J4dexx wrote a review Apr 2024
Sheffield, United Kingdom56 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself & My Daughter had been for a lovely walk around Homebrooke Park and as we aren't from the area we nipped into The Olde House for some dinner before heading home.

Firstly we was approached by a lady who said "you can't go in that area it's over 18s only" admittedly I missed the small sign overhead stating this. It wasn't what she said it was how abruptly she said it and basically recived an 'eye roll' from her.

I ordered the chicken dippers & chips off the kids menu, that arrived and was what you'd expect, my daughter enjoyed it. I ordered the Jacket Potatoe with Tuna Mayo & Salad, although the side salad was nice with the cous cous the actual jacket wasn't it was still hard and barely lukewarm and the portion size of the tuna was too small.

Positive note the Capucinno was lovely!! Big coffee fan.

The park was brilliant and my daughter enjoyed playing before we went home.

To summarise you get what you pay for it was cheap and cheerful. Customer Service could be a little better & the food could be warmer.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pub Service Desk, Owner at Olde House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear jade, I am vey sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your visit to us recently, You have highlighted a training issue which I am grateful for. We hope that you will visit us again
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie Y wrote a review Oct 2022
Grimsby, United Kingdom11 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent stay very helpful and kind staff. Food was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them we ate in the evening and we had full English breakfast both were very good. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Enjoyed every minute of our stay we enjoyed it so much we have booked to ho back at Christmas excellent hotel would definitely recommend this hotel. I would also like to compliment Kay who serves the breakfast for the excellent service she gave us and Gerrard who cooks the breakfast very tasty and lovely and hot.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Good base for touring Derbyshire based in the lovely town of Chesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from julie wood, General Manager at Olde House
Responded 31 Oct 2022
Julie, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at Olde House - Thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review! We look forward to seeing again soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NorthStar23939640207 wrote a review Sept 2023
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We had a really nice stay but the room can get hot but thankfully a fan was provided and the bath plug could cope with the shower output and ended with a foot spa. Small negatives for a really nice stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Malccon wrote a review Mar 2024
Chesterfield, United Kingdom57 contributions66 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It used to be our local, visited this week, first time in over 5 years.
Pleasantly impressed.
For a Thursday dinner quite busy.
I had the best Hunters Chicken I have ever had and my wife had a great steak at very reasonable price.
Will definitely return soon.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pub Service Desk, Owner at Olde House
Responded 10 Mar 2024
Dear Malccom, Welcome back to us we are very happy we could provide you with a positive experience! Thanks again for the recommendation, and have an amazing day! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer B wrote a review Jan 2023
Chesterfield, United Kingdom5 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a 'hot cobs' buffet for 50 people. The food was poor, variety non-existent, insufficient choice for our vegetarians, tea plates for a £16 buffet! Sweets at £4 per head were two pieces of tray bake cut very small. Rude staff (when they put in an appearance at all). Music was inaudible on the dance floor. Definitely not recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marston's Inns, Revenue Management at Olde House
Responded 30 Jan 2023
Dear Jennifer, I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the choice of buffet that was requested. the Hot cobs is a vey popular buffet but probably not for a lunch time event. Our Sweet treats at £4 for 4 different flavoured desserts work very well with buffets which allows you to cater for less than the full guest numbers, In our function rooms we offer background music free of charge. Disco music to dance to can be booked at an extra charge. I am more than happy for you to contact me on 01246 274321 to discuss your function
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alice L asked a question Apr 2016
Overstone, United Kingdom12 contributions5 helpful votes
Please tell us what size bed is in a 'King Room' a King size bed? or just a double bed thank you
Chesterfield, United Kingdom1 contribution
all our hotel rooms have a king size bed
Maureen W asked a question Aug 2014
cheshire184 contributions29 helpful votes
does it have tea & coffee in rooms
Chesterfield, United Kingdom1 contribution
Yes we have tea, coffee, hot chocolate and oval tine available in the room
Jackie B wrote a tip Nov 2023
Norwich, United Kingdom167 contributions51 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"As you turn into the car park, turn immediately left for the hotel spaces and entrance."
Read full review
Sarah b wrote a tip Jul 2023
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom2,255 contributions915 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Park at the rear of the pub."
Read full review
Dorothy K wrote a tip May 2023
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom11 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The food was exceptional, after our main the ladies in our group fancied a dessert but seemed to much so we were offered children' dessert."
Read full review
Julie Y wrote a tip Oct 2022
Grimsby, United Kingdom11 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good base for touring Derbyshire based in the lovely town of Chesterfield "
Read full review
Lynda W wrote a tip Jul 2022
Folkestone, United Kingdom45 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lots of free parking"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Newbold area.
PRICE RANGE
£50 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDerbyshireChesterfieldNewbold
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OLDE HOUSE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Olde House
Which popular attractions are close to Olde House?
Nearby attractions include Junction (1.3 miles), Zombie Uprising (1.4 miles), and The Parish Church of St Mary and All Saints (1.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Olde House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Olde House?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a sofa.
What food & drink options are available at Olde House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Olde House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Olde House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sicily Restaurant Chesterfield, The Divan Restaurant, and Afat's Grill.
Is Olde House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the centre of Newbold.
Are there any historical sites close to Olde House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Parish Church of St Mary and All Saints (1.6 miles), Barrow Hill Roundhouse Railway Centre (3.5 miles), and Revolution House (1.7 miles).
Is Olde House accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire