The Higher Trapp Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Higher Trapp Hotel

Traveller (589)
Room & Suite (60)
smoked salmon pate starter
Dining (47)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

£71
Get rewarded with One Key
£71
Fully refundable before Wed, 29 May
Multiple ways to pay
£64
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Simonstone
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Finding an ideal quaint hotel in the Ribble Valley does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Higher Trapp Hotel a nice option for travelers like you. Rooms at the hotel offer a flat screen TV providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi. A 24 hour front desk, room service, and baggage storage are some of the conveniences offered at this hotel. An on-site restaurant will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Higher Trapp Hotel, free parking is available. Looking to explore? Then look no further than Reedley Marina Bistro Bar, which is a popular Burnley marina – and it is conveniently located a short distance from the hotel. Higher Trapp Hotel puts the best of the Ribble Valley at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English
1,438Review23Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 781
  • 406
  • 140
  • 63
  • 50
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Laticsforlife wrote a review Feb 2020
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom393 contributions233 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I came here on their £109 all inclusive deal, meal, drinks, overnight accommodation and breakfast.

The good points are the food was all excellent, much better than expected.

The drinks are all branded names, and they are quick to serve.

Breakfast was also very good although a bit slow due to everyone being there at roughly the same time (9am is best avoided!).

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

On the down side we were put in what they call the lodge, an outbuilding 1 minute walk down a hill. That would be OK in summer but in February it's a freezing cold walk with your coat on when going for dinner, so if possible make sure you ask in advance to be in the main Hotel.

Also the rooms in the lodge are pretty basic. Initially we were in rm30 (the accessible room), except we aren't disabled so don't want a wet room, we want a bath. Also the TV in that room is more like a monitor, quite ridiculous.

A move to rm31 was a bit better, although I'd say the bed was pretty darn uncomfortable.

Overall we had a good night, but a poor sleep, so knocked a star off.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jamie Proctor, General Manager at The Higher Trapp Hotel
Responded 7 Mar 2020
Thank you for leaving feedback following your stay with us at the Higher Trapp. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to also take advantage of our all inclusive offer which is exceptional value for money. Great to hear you were well looked after by the staff on duty, We aim to provide excellent service for all our guests. Shame to hear you didnt enjoy the rooms in the lodge, We do try to provide information regarding our lodge rooms on all websites & confirmations so guest are well informed of the location of some of the rooms before arrival. Hope to welcome you again in the future Kind Regards Jamie Proctor
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WidderFlipper wrote a review Feb 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom14 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I took advantage of Lavender Hotels' £99 deal for January/February and I have to say we were both really impressed. For £99 we got a standard double room for one night, a two course meal from the specials menu, free drinks between 6pm and 11pm, a full breakfast and a late checkout. The hotel interior is quite old and rather beautiful and the staff are really friendly and helpful. There's a great resident's lounge with a roaring fire and full of leather chesterfield sofas and armchairs, a perfect place to spend a quiet evening. The rooms were what I would assume is standard Best Western; nothing spectacular but clean and comfortable with all the amenities you'd expect. The restaurant/bar was large, informal and pleasant enough. The evening meal was a choice of starter and main or main and dessert and the food itself was top notch, couldn't fault it. There was plenty of choice for the free drinks too, which we certainly took advantage of! Breakfast was also excellent, with a good selection of cereals, breads and juices and a "choose your own" list of cooked items to customise your own hot breakfast. All in all we had a lovely stay there and have booked to go again in March!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jamie Proctor, General Manager at The Higher Trapp Hotel
Responded 7 Mar 2020
Thank you for taking time to leave such a lovely review following your recent stay. So pleased to see you have awarded us 5 stars! and re-booked again to stay, Its great to hear you enjoyed the hotels amenities and were able to take advantage of the all inclusive offer. I shall pass on your lovely comments to the team and we look forward to welcoming you again in March Kind Regards Jamie Proctor
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MrsStockers wrote a review Feb 2020
Cheshire, United Kingdom15 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
An all inclusive deal popped up on my newsfeed on Facebook which lead me to the website for a closer look. I booked a deal that included an early (1pm) check in, afternoon tea, 2 course evening meal with a bottle of wine, overnight stay and full English breakfast for 2 people for £139 Valentine’s weekend!!
It’s a lovely little hotel with helpful and friendly staff. There was a wedding on and we were told that we had a room at the back away from the noise. The room was spotlessly clean and we couldn’t fault it.
We went for afternoon tea and enjoyed the views from the big windows of fitzy’s (I bet these views are much better when storm Dennis isn’t in town!)

We decided to have a couple of drinks while we were there and the lady behind the bar visited reception and came back to tell us that she’d checked the deal that we were on and if we wanted we could pay £20 extra and this would include all our drinks between 6pm-11pm for both of us (it would have been plain old rude for us to pass that up haha) all we had to do was give up the bottle of wine with the evening meal which was fine as neither of us are wine drinkers.

Breakfast was good quality and there was plenty of choice too. Our overall experience was very positive and we had a great time thanks to a hard working staff team that clearly make this place what it is.. a shout out to lovely blonde lady from behind the bar at fitzy’s and dark haired lady from reception who also came to help in the bar later on (I’m so sorry I didn’t get your names!)

The only negative (if I was to be picky) when booking a deal the available menu is restricted and there are only 4 mains included that don’t require a supplement.
May also be worth checking when booking that your room is in the main building as there is an annex of 10 rooms which I’m sure is fine in summer but there was an unhappy guest who’d got wet going back to his room but this wasn’t our experience.

Great job guys, see you again no doubt about it :)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jamie Proctor, General Manager at The Higher Trapp Hotel
Responded 7 Mar 2020
Thank you for taking time to leave such a lovely review following your stay with us. So pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit and found everything to be most enjoyable. Its great to hear you were well looked after by the staff and special mentions to Kerris & Mollie. I shall pass over your review. we aim to provide excellent service to all our customers! Thank you for provided information to other guests which will help them when booking the hotel. Look forward to welcoming you again soon. Warm regards Jamie Proctor
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shirley R wrote a review Jul 2021
6 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wow is all I can say we have just had a 2 night all inclusive package at Higher Trapp country house hotel for our 40th wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived we had a wonderful time nothing was to much trouble we even had an Anniversary card in our room for us which was a lovely touch. Rebbeca on reception was amazing with her warm welcoming personality as were Anne Marie & Leon in the restaurant and the young lady behind the bar who's name I forgot to get.
Our room (room 8 ) was absolutely stunning with views over looking the gardens and it was spotlessly clean credit to the house keeping team the room had everything you would need a beautiful 4 poster bed which was very comfortable. There was also fluffy white bathrobes,iron and ironing board, hair drier, tea & coffee making facilities and fans to help keep the room nice and cool which was very much appreciated as the weather has been extremely hot this weekend.
The food at Fitzy's restaurant was was delicious and I can highly recommend the blade of beef it just melted in your mouth it was that good we had it both nights even though they is a very good selection on the menu the desserts are just as delicious sticky toffee pudding and the strawberry cheesecake were amazing compliments to the chef.
The full English Breakfast on both days was just as nice and set us up for the day and the eggs were cooked perfectly with a dippy yolk, and a good selection of marmalade, jams or honey to accompany the toast tea coffee and fresh orange juice.

Thank you to all the staff at Higher Trapp for helping to make our 40th Anniversary special, and we look forward to a return visit very soon
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Room 8 beautiful room with comfortable 4 poster bed and lovely views of the gardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LiverpoolLakes wrote a review Sept 2020
Liverpool99 contributions113 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked the one night dinner B and B plus all inclusive bar from 5-9pm. We stayed in the Lodge which is next to the hotel, nice and quiet with parking right outside the room which was appreciated as we had to unload a large cage for our dog. Dogs very welcome but not allowed in the bar and restaurant areas and you have to stay in the overflow area for food and drinks if with your dog. The overflow area is the best area of the hotel with its large fireplace wood panelled walls and big armchairs and sofas. Scenic country walks from the hotel, a great value for money package and fabulous staff means we will definitely recommend and return. Special thanks to Jamie for the help he gave us on the walk when we got lost but all the staff deserve a special mention as they made the stay very enjoyable. Thanks to everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jamie Proctor, General Manager at The Higher Trapp Hotel
Responded 3 Oct 2020
Thank you for taking time to leave such wonderful feedback. I am delighted to see you have awarded us top marks and thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Its pleasure to read that you enjoyed the facilities and were able to relax in the lounge area. I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding the staff, its a -pleasure to ensure our guests have the best stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Warm Regards Jamie Proctor
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John K wrote a review Jan 2020
Mold, United Kingdom72 contributions63 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very charming hotel but a little dated. Great location with beautiful grounds. We took advantage of the all inclusive offer which was great value for money with bed, breakfast, evening meal and free bar and paid a small amount for a room upgrade to the bridal suite, which is very charming. A really good stay and thoroughly enjoyable. The only slight grumble was that we had to choose dinner from a very limited special menu which was not really made clear in the offer. We would have been happy to pay extra for an a la carte menu choice and surely that would have been of benefit to the hotel? Overall an excellent travel experience and very good value for money.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Terry B wrote a review Mar 2020
Easingwold, United Kingdom9 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 2 night on a package deal, with small dog.

Firstly the hotel was very dog friendly which is a major consideration given the separate dog annex. Hotel seen from public areas only, but the environment was top rank (viewing also function rooms well prepared). As to the staff, very courteous and cheerful, thus overall impression first class. The evening meal was very reasonable, and the daily breakfast menu very comprehensive and well prepared.

Should be considered as an ideal small conference venue, and well suited as a wedding venue (with lots of available parking). To be recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Best views would be overlooking the garden and velley.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Linzi wrote a review May 2021
Liverpool, United Kingdom58 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Purchased the all inclusive package which consisted of
Room and breakfast
2 course meal
All listed alcoholic drinks between 6pm and 11pm
On arrival reception staff were pleasant and welcoming.
Beautiful gardens to walk around
Upgraded room which was more or less double normal size.
Very clean and comfortable bed.
Ordered brisket of beef for main course
Would say nicest cooked beef I've tasted.
Spirits were all famous names. Good wines
All staff attentive and pleasant.
Great stay
Well done staff and thank you
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jamie Proctor, General Manager at The Higher Trapp Hotel
Responded 8 Jun 2021
Thank you for taking time to leave such a lovely review following your stay I am pleased to hear you had a great stay and thoroughly enjoyed your visit. I shall pass on your lovely comments to the team We look forward to welcoming you again Warm regards Jamie Proctor
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TONY B wrote a review Jan 2020
Widley, United Kingdom1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Very poor service in the Hotel restaurant on the last two meals that we had there, 5 persons dining on Saturday evening and two for breakfast on Sunday morning.

Our bedroom was cold and the curtains were ill fitting, letting outside light into the room, The room was next to the noisy boiler room and our door opened directly to the outside of the building. The bill for our three night stay had additional items added which we did not order.From correspondence received from the General Manager later, he appears to condone the poor service!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Do not accept a room with an outside door and dine in another hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ollieanddarcie wrote a review Sept 2020
Kendal, United Kingdom328 contributions45 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We took advantage of the very good all inclusive offer and also upgraded the room and added late check out
On booking we were dealt with in a very professional, friendly manner which gave us confidence in our choice
On arrival we were greeted with the same professional, friendly attitude

All Covid-19 measures we in place throughout the hotel and all adhered to which made us feel extremely safe for the whole of our stay

The setting of the hotel is beautiful. A beautiful old building set in fantastic gardens. Loved the wedding set up and can see why many people choose this place for their special day
Our room overlooked the gardens and was large, bright and airy. Very comfortable bed which made for a great nights sleep. Loved the Nespresso machine and the rest of the hospitality tray
Great decore, carpet and furniture
Bathroom was a bit dated but had everything you need and perfectly functional
The food at dinner was delicious and all served with a lovey smile
Mollie is a great asset and we’d love to clone her!!
Good selection of drinks from the bar
Room service breakfast was also served with a smile (though we didn’t get the ladies name) and was delivered on a butlers tray placed on a stand and not just passed through the door to you like most hotels

We would most defiantly return to this hotel again and will recommend it to our friends

Thank you for a lovely restful night away
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
moomin asked a question Jan 2024
2 contributions
Is there a lift to upper floors?
Answer from HtrappGM
Burnley, United Kingdom
Good afternoon, Unfortunately we do not have a lift - this is due to us being a listed building. I hope this answers your question. Kind regards, Millie
Answer from mac26Lancs
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom152 contributions136 helpful votes
We booked 6:30 I think, not sure if there are two sittings, they gave us a choice when we booked
Neil C asked a question Aug 2023
Morecambe, United Kingdom10 contributions
Any decent pubs near by we can watch the football
Answer from ken271
Louth, United Kingdom183 contributions67 helpful votes
Hotel is more for chilling out but there is a pub in the village not sure if any pay per view channels available there but it serves decent ale. Just enjoy The Higher Trapp it is GREAT. Ken
Alan D asked a question Mar 2023
1 contribution
What times evening meals has might be late arriving.
Answer from HtrappGM
Burnley, United Kingdom
We serve until 9pm every evening and will try our best to organise food for late arrivals. Call us 01282772781 to discuss
Answer from ken271
Louth, United Kingdom183 contributions67 helpful votes
Hi. JUST GO & taste the delights it is an outstanding Hotel with even more outstanding members of staff. Wine is standard type but sure they will look after you. WELL WORTH IT. Ken
dominic wrote a tip 17 May
Bury, United Kingdom7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book it. You won’t be disappointed"
Read full review
Sue W wrote a tip 11 May
Denton, United Kingdom91 contributions71 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"I'm not sure I'd want to go again when there is a wedding on. "
Read full review
dianatN6967PF wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good pair of walking boots lots of lovely walks "
Read full review
Kevin V wrote a tip Apr 2024
Liverpool, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t go it’s disgusting and filthy "
Read full review
Elaine S wrote a tip Mar 2024
Lancaster, United Kingdom120 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just go and we do recommend the all inclusive option "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Simonstone area.
PRICE RANGE
£65 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western burnley, burnley best western
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Best Western Burnley West Higher Trapp Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLancashireSimonstone
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE HIGHER TRAPP HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Higher Trapp Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Higher Trapp Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Pendle Hill (4.0 miles), Clitheroe Castle and Museum (4.3 miles), and The Singing Ringing Tree (4.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Higher Trapp Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Higher Trapp Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Higher Trapp Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Higher Trapp Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brizola Bar and Grill, 2 Sisters Cafe & Bistro, and The Crafty Fox.
Is The Higher Trapp Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the centre of Simonstone.
Are pets allowed at The Higher Trapp Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Higher Trapp Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Higher Trapp Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Pendle Hill (4.0 miles), Clitheroe Castle and Museum (4.3 miles), and Gawthorpe Hall (2.1 miles).
Is The Higher Trapp Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Simonstone HotelsSimonstone Hotel DealsHotels near The Higher Trapp Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire