We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Lake Ohau Lodge

    2295 Lake Ohau Road | P O Box 51, 7944, New Zealand
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Traveller (116)
          Room & Suite (27)
          Pool & Beach (10)
          Mountain Chalet Motels
          277 reviews
          #1 of 6 Speciality lodging in Twizel
           
          High Country Holiday Lodge
          110 reviews
          #4 of 4 hotels in Twizel
           
          The Lakes Motel
          22 reviews
          #1 of 4 hotels in Twizel
           
          Lakestone Lodge
          56 reviews
          #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pukaki
           
          Overview
          • Excellent59%
          • Very good31%
          • Average8%
          • Poor1%
          • Terrible1%
          Travellers talk about
          “mt cook” (15 reviews)
          “contiki tour” (7 reviews)
          “bike trail” (6 reviews)
          Internet
          Free Parking
          Hot Tub
          Non-Smoking Hotel
          Restaurant
          Suites
          Bar/Lounge
          Meeting Rooms
          Tennis Court
          Self-Serve Laundry
          Shuttle Bus Service
          3.0 Star Hotel
          All hotel details
          {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
          Mountain Chalet Motels
          277 reviews
          #1 of 6 Speciality lodging in Twizel
           
          High Country Holiday Lodge
          110 reviews
          #4 of 4 hotels in Twizel
           
          The Lakes Motel
          22 reviews
          #1 of 4 hotels in Twizel
           
          Lakestone Lodge
          56 reviews
          #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pukaki
           
          Write a Review
          Reviews (286)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language

          1 - 5 of 286 reviews

          Reviewed 6 May 2017

          We stayed at this lodge as part of our Alps to Ocean cycle ride. Despite our bunkrooms being very tight for four adults the actual lodge was lovely. The views over the lake superb. Great facilities to relax and eat and drink as you liked...More

          Thank Alison H
          Response from LouiseNeilson, Owner at Lake Ohau LodgeResponded 7 May 2017

          Hi there. I agree that the bunk rooms are very tight for four adults but at $95 each which includes your 3 course dinner and a cooked breakfast it's excellent value. That's great that you thought the Lodge was lovely and really, sometimes it's only...More

          Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

          We stayed for one night only which was our last night in NZ as a part of group. The location is stunning with great views . The sky is lovely at night with very little light pollution you could see the Milky Way clearly The...More

          Thank GizaN7
          Response from LouiseNeilson, Owner at Lake Ohau LodgeResponded 2 May 2017

          Gosh! Well that's me so thank you! It's nice to say goodbye to the groups who stay as it's hard to get around everyone. Aren't we fortunate to be able to see that sky? It makes me think that I must take time to wrap...More

          Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

          We decided to add a night to our long weekend and rang on the day we arrived....grateful to find they had a room. We had never been before. It was amazing value for money. We arrived on dusk and got great service from the moment...More

          Thank AntarcticChick
          Response from LouiseNeilson, Owner at Lake Ohau LodgeResponded 28 April 2017

          Thank you so much for your really lovely review. You have responded to some of the issues raised by the previous reviewer which is greatly appreciated and lovely to have some balance in perspective. I'm so sorry about the smell that you had in the...More

          Reviewed 21 April 2017

          We didn't do our homework properly. When we thought of a lodge, we though more of a lodge like you would get in Europe, so it came as an awful shock to us to find we were in a room with no fridge or jug...More

          Thank vannsandra
          Response from LouiseNeilson, Owner at Lake Ohau LodgeResponded 28 April 2017

          I'm sorry that you were disappointed but thank you for your review as it is important to understand where we fail to meet our guest's expectations. You would have been staying in our outside Huxley wing which is for people who are more budget conscious....More

          Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

          We booked a one night dinner bed and breakfast package this weekend whilst cycling the alps to ocean. We were not expecting great things! We booked the Huxley rooms which we were told had an en-suite but very basic. We thought they were awesome. Actually...More

          Thank nomadicnevs
          Response from LouiseNeilson, Owner at Lake Ohau LodgeResponded 20 April 2017

          Oh! Thank you so much! How kind! Yes, I think being away from it all can be quite good in the Huxley wing, as long as it's not pouring with rain. When my family come to stay they often quite like staying as "a gang"...More

          Mountain Chalet Motels
          277 reviews
          #1 of 6 Speciality lodging in Twizel
           
          High Country Holiday Lodge
          110 reviews
          #4 of 4 hotels in Twizel
           
          The Lakes Motel
          22 reviews
          #1 of 4 hotels in Twizel
           
          Lakestone Lodge
          56 reviews
          #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pukaki
           
          About
          Awards & Recognition
          Certificate of Excellence
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Restaurant
          • Bar/Lounge
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
          • Shuttle Bus Service
          • Meeting Rooms
          • Self-Serve Laundry
          • Things to do
          • Restaurant
          • Bar/Lounge
          • Hot Tub
          • Tennis Court
          Details
          • Price range
          • US$73 - US$145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
          • Hotel class
          • Room types
          • Family Rooms ,
          • Suites ,
          • Non-Smoking Rooms
          • Number of rooms
          • 62
          • Location
          • New Zealand >
          • South Island >
          • Canterbury Region >
          • Lake Ohau
          • Also Known As
          • Lake Ohau Hotel Twizel
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (116)
          Room & Suite (27)
          Pool & Beach (10)
          Dining (5)
          Hotel & Grounds (80)
          Bathroom (2)
          Family and Play Areas (2)
          Nearby
          Nearby Restaurants
          Poppies Cafe
          650 reviews
          14.40 miles away
          The Wrinkly Ram
          245 reviews
          19.42 miles away
          CJ's Bar and Restaurant
          19 reviews
          31.95 miles away
          Shawty's Cafe
          494 reviews
          14.21 miles away
          Nearby Attractions
          Lord of the Rings Twizel Tour
          144 reviews
          11.36 miles away
          Hot Tubs Omarama
          260 reviews
          19.29 miles away
          Mt. Cook Alpine Salmon Farm
          141 reviews
          16.37 miles away
          Clay Cliff
          168 reviews
          18.24 miles away
          Questions & AnswersAsk a question
          Muckleman
          Wifi is not mentioned. Is there any or any access to the Internet ?
          19 February 2017|
          Answer Show all 2 answers
          Response from LouiseNeilson | Property representative |
          Thank you for your enquiry. Yes we do have WiFi available for a small fee just around the public areas. We charge $2 for 10 MB, $4 for 20MB etc. We look forward to you staying.
          1
          Vote
          Nostalgia2015
          Hi, can you tell me if a mini fridge and tea/coffee maker are provided in the rooms please? If not, can they be hired? Thank you
          23 January 2016|
          Answer Show all 2 answers
          Response from JSNMitchell | Reviewed this property |
          Apologies for the delay, yes they are avaialble in the rooms as part of the room charge
          0
          Votes
          Room Tips
          "Luxury price, for basic rooms"
          Read review
          "Located on Lake Ohau, views to die for."
          Read review
          "Lake View Rooms"
          Read review
          "With a view of the lake"
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing