We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
05/11/2017 06/11/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Lake Ohau Lodge

    2295 Lake Ohau Road | P O Box 51, 7944, New Zealand
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    05/11/2017 06/11/2017
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake OhauSee available hotels in Lake Ohau
    Traveller (118)
    Room & Suite (27)
    Pool & Beach (10)
    Hotels related to this hotel
    Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
    1,506 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Mt. Cook Village
     
    Peppers Bluewater Resort
    3,021 reviews
    #3 of 4 hotels in Lake Tekapo
     
    Ahuriri Motel Omarama
    103 reviews
    #2 of 4 hotels in Omarama
     
    Hermitage Hotel
    2,003 reviews
    #2 of 2 hotels in Mt. Cook Village
     
    Overview
    • Excellent60%
    • Very good31%
    • Average7%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “ski field” (20 reviews)
    “contiki tour” (8 reviews)
    “mt cook” (15 reviews)
    Internet
    Free Parking
    Hot Tub
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Restaurant
    Suites
    Bar/Lounge
    Meeting Rooms
    Tennis Court
    Self-Serve Laundry
    Shuttle Bus Service
    3.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Hotels related to this hotel
    Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
    1,506 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Mt. Cook Village
     
    Peppers Bluewater Resort
    3,021 reviews
    #3 of 4 hotels in Lake Tekapo
     
    Ahuriri Motel Omarama
    103 reviews
    #2 of 4 hotels in Omarama
     
    Hermitage Hotel
    2,003 reviews
    #2 of 2 hotels in Mt. Cook Village
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (293)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    1 - 5 of 279 reviews

    Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

    I stayed for one night with friends and had a brilliant time! Our room overlooked the lake and had the most stunning views and was clean and very comfortable! The food was absolutely fantastic, especially the breakfast. The veggie options were so different and delicious!...More

    Thank Emma V
    Response from LouiseNeilson, Owner at Lake Ohau LodgeResponded 15 September 2017

    Hi Emma, aren't we lucky?!!! Every day to come to work and look out on this gorgeous vista - energy for the soul. It is lovely that you recognised all the things that make this Lodge and Snow Field so good, our staff first and...More

    Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

    We had a fantastic weekend at the lodge. The service was great and the dinner outstanding . Great destination for skiers hot pools on the deck and million dollar views dinner was kumara doup and choice of pork or lamb for the main both were...More

    Thank sarah12014
    Response from LouiseNeilson, Owner at Lake Ohau LodgeResponded 7 September 2017

    Hi Sarah, I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay, we are definitely fortunate to have such fantastic chefs and I agree that our meals are outstanding. Everyone gets blown away by the quality of our food. You have been here for one of our...More

    Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

    In a campervan so stayed at the powered sites out the back. Great value for $40 for two people. We're able to use the facilities of the lodge (spa, restaurant and bar). We didn't eat at the restaurant as we had dinner in the camper...More

    Thank Wade B
    Response from LouiseNeilson, Owner at Lake Ohau LodgeResponded 23 August 2017

    Hi Wade, Thank you for staying with us and for your review. It's good to read comment about the road to the Snow Fields as that is something that people often ask about. Hope we see you again and come for dinner next time, it's...More

    Reviewed 14 August 2017

    Stayed here last night in the hope of hitting the slopes today. Unfortunately the slopes were closed due to too much snow. If it wasn't for this place we would have been super disappointed. Great food, wicked atmosphere, nice friendly staff. Cool bar with good...More

    Thank Scott_maughan34
    Response from LouiseNeilson, Owner at Lake Ohau LodgeResponded 19 August 2017

    Hi Scott, I'm so sorry you didn't make it up onto the snow as we are having a really fantastic season this year. You'll just have to come back! Glad you enjoyed the atmosphere of the Lodge. Thank you for your lovely review.

    Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

    The rooms are quite small and pretty average to look at. Our heater didn't work and apparently there were heated floors but this must of skipped our room because all we had was this weird leak in the corner of the room which I could...More

    1  Thank DamoTravels23
    Response from LouiseNeilson, Manager at Lake Ohau LodgeResponded 21 July 2017

    I can only assume that you were on a bus tour so maybe it wasn't the place for you and you missed out on being allocated a north facing view room and you unfortunately didn’t find the switch for the heater that your friends found....More

    Hotels related to this hotel
    Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
    1,506 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Mt. Cook Village
     
    Peppers Bluewater Resort
    3,021 reviews
    #3 of 4 hotels in Lake Tekapo
     
    Ahuriri Motel Omarama
    103 reviews
    #2 of 4 hotels in Omarama
     
    Hermitage Hotel
    2,003 reviews
    #2 of 2 hotels in Mt. Cook Village
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
    • Shuttle Bus Service
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hot Tub
    • Tennis Court
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$70 - US$139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms ,
    • Suites
    • Number of rooms
    • 62
    • Location
    • New Zealand >
    • South Island >
    • Canterbury Region >
    • Lake Ohau
    • Also Known As
    • Lake Ohau Hotel Twizel
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (118)
    Room & Suite (27)
    Pool & Beach (10)
    Dining (5)
    Hotel & Grounds (84)
    Bathroom (2)
    Family and Play Areas (2)
    Nearby
    Hermitage Hotel
    2,003 reviews
    36.98 miles away
     
    Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
    1,506 reviews
    36.86 miles away
     
    Ahuriri Motel Omarama
    103 reviews
    19.80 miles away
     
    Peppers Bluewater Resort
    3,021 reviews
    36.23 miles away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Shawty's Cafe
    535 reviews
    14.21 miles away
    The Wrinkly Ram
    262 reviews
    19.42 miles away
    CJ's Bar and Restaurant
    20 reviews
    31.95 miles away
    Poppies Cafe
    673 reviews
    14.45 miles away
    Nearby Attractions
    Lord of the Rings Twizel Tour
    152 reviews
    11.36 miles away
    Hot Tubs Omarama
    279 reviews
    19.29 miles away
    Mt. Cook Alpine Salmon Shop
    155 reviews
    16.37 miles away
    Clay Cliff
    177 reviews
    18.25 miles away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Muckleman
    19 February 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from LouiseNeilson | Property representative |
    Thank you for your enquiry. Yes we do have WiFi available for a small fee just around the public areas. We charge $2 for 10 MB, $4 for 20MB etc. We look forward to you staying.
    1
    Vote
    Nostalgia2015
    23 January 2016|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from JSNMitchell | Reviewed this property |
    Apologies for the delay, yes they are avaialble in the rooms as part of the room charge
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Amazing views of the lake and mountains. Closest spot to the access road to the pistes"
    Read review
    "Luxury price, for basic rooms"
    Read review
    "Located on Lake Ohau, views to die for."
    Read review
    "Lake View Rooms"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing