We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Lake Ohau Lodge

    2295 Lake Ohau Road | P O Box 51, 7944 , New Zealand
    Save
    May 7
    May 8
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Traveller (116)
    Room & Suite (27)
    Pool & Beach (10)
    Mountain Chalet Motels
    265 reviews
    #1 of 6 Speciality lodging in Twizel
     
    Matuka Lodge
    302 reviews
    #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Twizel
     
    Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre
    667 reviews
    #2 of 4 Speciality lodging in Mt. Cook Village
     
    Mackenzie Country Inn
    303 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Twizel
     
    Overview

    • Excellent58%
    • Very good31%
    • Average8%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “mt cook” (15 reviews)
    “contiki tour” (7 reviews)
    “bike trail” (6 reviews)
    Free Parking
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    3 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
    Mountain Chalet Motels
    265 reviews
    #1 of 6 Speciality lodging in Twizel
     
    Matuka Lodge
    302 reviews
    #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Twizel
     
    Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre
    667 reviews
    #2 of 4 Speciality lodging in Mt. Cook Village
     
    Mackenzie Country Inn
    303 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Twizel
     
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

    We decided to add a night to our long weekend and rang on the day we arrived....grateful to find they had a room. We had never been before. It was amazing value for money. We arrived on dusk and got great service from the moment...More

    Helpful?
    Reviewed 5 days ago

    We didn't do our homework properly. When we thought of a lodge, we though more of a lodge like you would get in Europe, so it came as an awful shock to us to find we were in a room with no fridge or jug...More

    Helpful?
    Response from LouiseNeilson, Owner at Lake Ohau Lodge

    I'm sorry that you were disappointed but thank you for your review as it is important to understand if we fail to meet our guest's expectations. Of course you get what you pay for and you would have been in our cheapest outside Huxley wing...More

    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    We booked a one night dinner bed and breakfast package this weekend whilst cycling the alps to ocean. We were not expecting great things! We booked the Huxley rooms which we were told had an en-suite but very basic. We thought they were awesome. Actually...More

    Helpful?
    Response from LouiseNeilson, Owner at Lake Ohau Lodge

    Oh! Thank you so much! How kind! Yes, I think being away from it all can be quite good in the Huxley wing, as long as it's not pouring with rain. When my family come to stay they often quite like staying as "a gang"...More

    Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    Spent our last night in New Zealand here and what a climax to the tour. Away from it all in comfortable rooms, good food and stunning views. Service from the staff was excellent and would have loved to have spent more time here to soak...More

    Helpful?
    Response from LouiseNeilson, Owner at Lake Ohau Lodge

    Oh thank you! I imagine when you've come from cities all over the world that it's great to be away from it all and experience something very kiwi. We hope that maybe you can come and stay again.

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    I stayed here recently as part of my 'Contiki' tour and absolutely loved it! Unfortunately we were only here for one night but found the lodge to be very clean and comfy. The views from our room were incredible and we even took the little...More

    Helpful?
    Response from LouiseNeilson, Owner at Lake Ohau Lodge

    We will look forward to seeing you when you can make it back! Thank you!

    Mountain Chalet Motels
    265 reviews
    #1 of 6 Speciality lodging in Twizel
     
    Matuka Lodge
    302 reviews
    #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Twizel
     
    Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre
    667 reviews
    #2 of 4 Speciality lodging in Mt. Cook Village
     
    Mackenzie Country Inn
    303 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Twizel
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
    • Shuttle Bus Service
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hot Tub
    • Tennis Court
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$70 - US$140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms ,
    • Suites
    Photos
    Traveller (116)
    Room & Suite (27)
    Pool & Beach (10)
    Dining (5)
    Nearby
    Nearby Restaurants
    Poppies Cafe
    640 reviews
    14.40 miles away
    The Wrinkly Ram
    236 reviews
    19.42 miles away
    CJ's Bar and Restaurant
    17 reviews
    31.95 miles away
    Shawty's Cafe
    484 reviews
    14.21 miles away
    Nearby Attractions
    Lord of the Rings Twizel Tour
    142 reviews
    11.36 miles away
    Hot Tubs Omarama
    251 reviews
    19.29 miles away
    Mt. Cook Alpine Salmon Farm
    131 reviews
    16.37 miles away
    Clay Cliff
    161 reviews
    18.24 miles away
    Questions & AnswersAsk a question
    Muckleman
    Wifi is not mentioned. Is there any or any access to the Internet ?
    19 February 2017|
    Answer Show all 2 answers
    Response from LouiseNeilson | Property representative |
    Thank you for your enquiry. Yes we do have WiFi available for a small fee just around the public areas. We charge $2 for 10 MB, $4 for 20MB etc. We look forward to you staying.
    1
    Vote
    Nostalgia2015
    Hi, can you tell me if a mini fridge and tea/coffee maker are provided in the rooms please? If not, can they be hired? Thank you
    23 January 2016|
    Answer Show all 2 answers
    Response from JSNMitchell | Reviewed this property |
    Apologies for the delay, yes they are avaialble in the rooms as part of the room charge
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Luxury price, for basic rooms"
    Read review
    "Located on Lake Ohau, views to die for."
    Read review
    "Lake View Rooms"
    Read review
    "With a view of the lake"
    Read review