We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waterberg Guest Farm

Traveller (189)
Room & Suite (47)
Pool & Beach (13)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Pool
Free Internet
Free parking
Restaurant
Laundry Service
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
Contact
149 Farm Okosongomingo 30 km east of highway B1, 22 South Side of Hwy C, Okakarara Namibia
Getting there
Hosea Kutako Intl Airport129 mi
See all nearby hotels
340Reviews
189Photos
1Q+A
17Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 165
  • 96
  • 44
  • 24
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed one night. We took the farm tour we liked a lot because of the enthusiasm of the guide. We did the morning game drive and we had a look at the foot prints of dino’s. The diner was very poor most guest didn’t finish their plates. We got a good takeaway breakfast. The
Read more
Response from WaterbergGuestFarm, Owner at Waterberg Guest Farm
Responded 12 Jan 2019
In a perfect world one would wish that reviews on this forum would stay fair and reasonable. Accusing us of exploiting and cheating our guests and being “stingy” is neither fair nor reasonable. To be charged for your drinks is normal practice all over the world. The room-key deposited is not a charge, it is indeed a deposit – meaning you get it back at the end of your stay. This practise is a management tool which has been introduced after numerous occasions where guests have accidently taken their room keys along at departure leaving us to constantly having to cut new keys or even changing door locks. The fact that this nominal key-deposit amount (N$100.- or Euro 6.-) is required is indeed indicated on our booking platforms - so it would not be a surprise at arrival of our guests. Talking of which - all our advertising (printed or virtual) explicitly indicates that we are a guest farm – not a lodge or “hotel”! This means we are an active agricultural farming operation in addition to our accommodation facilities. This does not mean, however, that a guest farm is of substandard quality to a lodge/hotel from an accommodational point of view – not at all! It does mean, that the combination of farming and guest operations inevitably has an effect on the character and the focus of the operation as a whole. In fact that is part of the attraction of a guest farm in the first place. How else does a tourist get in contact with a true Namibian farm? The classification as a lodge, hotel, guesthouse, guest farm etc. are categories made by the Namibian Tourist Board and the fact that we are a guest farm is indeed emphasised on all of our advertising platforms (website, Tour-operator’s information etc.). On the same advertising platforms it is also clearly indicated that our guests have their dinner at a common table. This has been our concept for 20 years in hospitality. In all this time it has never occurred to me what could possibly be wrong with also having German-speaking guests at that table. What is wrong with German-speaking guests? How could it possibly reflect negatively on Waterberg Guest Farm that German-speaking guests also come and stay here? Whatever prompted this remark, I would not dare to even speculate. For the credit card swipe device not to work consistently in rural Namibia – a developing country with its 2.3 million population and about one person living on 3 square kilometre! – has nothing to do with a trick to “avoid paying percentages”. To have stable cell phone and Internet connections is unfortunately just not a given in this part of the world and is just another factor that adds to the challenge of running an operation catering for developed world expectations in a developing world environment. In the same light, even if your dinner on one specific night was below your personal expectations be assured that this is an exception and not the rule. We are usually complimented for our good food – as you could read up in reviews on this forum. But if that is what you felt that night - and of course this not acceptable – kindly accept my apologies. We are truly working hard on avoiding such exceptions to the rule. To refer back to fair and reasonable reviews in a perfect world, I would wish that the writer of such a review would at least properly motivate his/her claims or have gotten his/her facts straight. At least then I could take this as constructive criticism. How long can it take to read the information given on the webpage of an operation you are about to visit? Why travel at all to countries outside the comfort zone of the developed world if not with a mind open to things being done slightly differently - or when you dislike Germans for that matter. You’ll probably find German tourists all over the world but for obvious reasons, you’ll find them here in Namibia. Just google “Namibia” and find out why.
Read more
+ clean rooms and facilities + friendly and helpful staff + amazing family breakfast and diner ( all guests including the owners eat together) + quiet area + free parking + small pool and sunbeds + complimentary coffee and cake in the afternoon - poor wifi signal and only
Read more
stayed in a standard room - incorrect description - it was very basic - such a shame when it would be easy to make them so much more welcoming. bar and pool area very welcoming although pool is not one you could swim in - very very small. meals very good food-wise but certainly
Read more
We had a fanatastic view to the waterberg from bungalow 7. It's was amazing. The bungalow was perfect with the domestic equipments and the beautiful in- and outdoor shower.We enjoyed specially the dinner with the family style.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
We've had a nice stay at Waterberg Farm House. Especially the bungalows are beautiful. Unfortunately we got 'just' a room. But it was clean and bathroom was perfect. Be aware that travelagents ask the same price for the luxury bungalows and the basic rooms. Not fair! Dinner was
Read more
Response from WaterbergGuestFarm, Owner at Waterberg Guest Farm
Responded 19 Sep 2018
We are thankful for this comment. However, it would have been really helpful if these comments would have been made to management while being here and not in form of an anonymous comment on this forum. At least then we could have addressed these concerns immediately and effectively. This way, we cannot even know which tour operator actually sells our standard rooms for the same price as our bungalows. For a tour operator do such a thing would be misrepresenting our property, possibly even fraudulent? The least we could have done is to get this guest reimbursed but we cannot do that due to the fact that this information reached us via this forum under an anonymous name! Concerning the internet access password, there is a simple explanation. Internet access in Namibia is slow at the best of times. To install only the hardware to get connected to the internet in a remote location of a guest farm to start with is not only a huge financial investment, but can only be done with limited bandwidth. There is no alternative available! Therefore, internet traffic has to be managed. It takes no expert to imagine how much internet traffic can be caused by only just 20 guests all using their different electronic devices to connect to the internet - and that in addition to the bandwidth used by our management to be able to run a guest business, which relies on the internet (bookings, communications etc.) for its mere existence! Internet abuse by staff and guests alike – has unfortunately become a real concern, which is why access passwords are used all over the world more or less for those same reasons. Having it typed in for convenience is an international practice. Tipping here is indeed done collectively. Tips get divided by staff themselves, equally and amongst all staff every fortnight. We do not encourage individual tipping as this would be unfair to staff working in the kitchen, housekeeping or laundry who contribute as much to your pleasant stay here at the guest farm as waiters and guides, working directly with our guests. Owners/managers are not amongst the beneficiaries of tip monies! If one of our waiters asked a guest “whispering” for an individual tip, then that was an individual act, deceiving his/her fellow staff. That we as owners do not encourage that is self-understood. Again, I wish this would have been pointed out to us while still here when we could have reacted appropriately. Yet, this is the first time such an incident has been brought to our attention. Hopefully this was a once off.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining
Patio and entrance to chalet
Well appointed bathroom behind beds in one room chalet
View of Waterberg Plateau from chalet patio.
PreviousNext
12345610
Hi - How long does the hike up 'little Waterberg ' take? Thank you in anticipation.
Good day and thank you for your message. Depending on your fitness level I would say normally about an hour to go up and and hour to get down.
1 vote
Show all answers
"do not get a standard room !!"
"The chalets are well spaced and have excellent views."
"Chalet number 4 has a great view of the mountain. Some of the rooms in the main building are not great as they do not have windows!"
"All rooms are private lodges"
"The rooms up the hill are secluded and have amazing views of the plateau"
PreviousNext
1234
PRICE RANGE
US$249 - US$267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Otjiwarongo District
LOCATION
NamibiaOtjozondjupa RegionOkakarara
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing