We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fern Howe Guest House

Save
Share
Fern Howe, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5SZ England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (18)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 28/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Fern Howe Guest House
Updated 28/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Braithwaite
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Fern Howe Guest House is situated within the picturesque village of Braithwaite, 2.5 miles from the popular market town of Keswick in the beautiful Lake District National Park. Fern Howe provides high quality accommodation and locally sourced and free range produce and toiletries where possible. Fell, garden/woodland and courtyard view rooms.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Baggage storage
Wifi
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
43Reviews0Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 39
  • 2
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Phil T wrote a review Oct 2020
Nottingham, United Kingdom15 contributions4 helpful votes
We had a 3 night stay here whilst walking a few local Wainwright fells. What a great place to stay! We booked direct with everything handled efficiently and professionally. Covid precautions were first class with an excellent breakfast served to the room on trays. Great to have an allocated parking space (1 per room). Our twin room (Wastwater) was pristine having recently been refurbished with a lovely view over to Skiddaw. Nicely located on a quiet road, just a 2 min walk down to the Royal Oak where we ate on a prebooked basis. Glorious walks from the doorstep including the Coledale and Whinlatter fells. Thank you for a lovely stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Emma W, Owner at Fern Howe Guest House
Responded 30 Oct 2020
Thank you so much for a lovely review Phil. It was a pleasure having you to stay and it was fantastic to hear that you've now conquered over one hundred Wainwrights! We are so pleased to hear that you found our customer service to be so good and that your enjoyed our room service breakfasts. It is great to hear that you enjoyed staying in our newest room, including the gorgeous views out to the fells. We very much hope to see you again. Take care.
Read more
David R wrote a review Sep 2020
Fleetwood, United Kingdom14 contributions2 helpful votes
This is the second time I have used this Guest House and I am pleased to say that it still provides an excellent location for a visit to the Lakes. The arrangements put in place to safeguard visitors during this pandemic were well thought out and we felt completely safe whilst on the premises. Our hosts Emma and Mark are very helpful providing us with a n excellent breakfast service and tending to any specific request we had.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Emma W, Owner at Fern Howe Guest House
Responded 30 Sep 2020
It was so lovely to have you stay again David, thank you for rebooking with us. We are so pleased that you still found us to be keeping up the high standards that you experienced during your first stay with us. Obviously times are somewhat different to when we saw you last year and so thank you for highlighting the fact that you feel the measures that we have in place re. Covid-19 gave you peace of mind. We hope very much to welcome you back again! Take care.
Read more
David C wrote a review Sep 2020
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom15 contributions13 helpful votes
I just spent 4 nights at Fern Howe: 3 of us were staying there as part of a photography course run by local photographer John Gravett. The accommodation couldn't have been better. My room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable with gorgeous views from the windows. (Note: not all rooms have a view over the valley however). The owners have done an amazing job of making the place "Covid-Secure" with contactless check-in and breakfast brought to the bedroom to avoid the need to mix with other guests. There was a good choice of cereals, filled hot breakfast rolls, teas, coffees, juices etc - and packed lunches are also available. Emma and Mark are really helpful and friendly. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the best views
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Emma W, Owner at Fern Howe Guest House
Responded 23 Sep 2020
Thank you so much for your wonderful review David, it is so heart-warming to read. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you also had a lovely time with John. It was a real pleasure meeting you and we hope that you will be back again in the future. All the very best.
Read more
piercel wrote a review Sep 2020
York41 contributions12 helpful votes
With Covid restrictions, I was apprehensive about booking a hotel but the reviews for Fern Howe were very complimentary and there was a discount for our multiple-day booking when booked direct with the guest house. From start to finish, everything was handled impeccably. I had no worries whatsoever about health and safety and was enormously impressed with how breakfast was handled. A good variety of options for breakfast under the circumstances (particularly teas), the quality of which was was very good and incredibly filling. Plus, who doesn't like breakfast in bed!?! It's clear the owners have put a lot of thought into all details and managed to adapt exceedingly well considering the restrictions. The *only* downside was the size of the showers, which were a little on the small side. I would *definitely* recommend Fern Howe Guest House! We went as a family of four - with 14yo son and 9yo daughter - and thinking food would be quite easy to come by for dinner, but no...not at all. If you can, book ahead! We tried a few places in Keswick, but some were booked up until October! Fellpack and Dog & Gun (in Keswick) were highly recommended. We ended up with Kingfisher fish & chips one night (great!) and dinner at Lake Road Inn (nice service!). The pub at the end of the road from Fern Howe, The Royal Oak, Braithwaite had great reviews too. While it was fully booked during our stay, it's easily within walking distance from the guest house. You can see Skiddaw from a fell view room, providing glorious views at all times of day, no matter the weather. Parking at the guest house can be tight, but that's mostly due to its location. If you fancy trying Skiddaw, I recommend parking at the base if you have kids, but get there early to get a reasonable spot! Whinlatter Forest is nearby as well. Definitely worth a stop!! It was a fallback for us on our last day and we were disappointed to have so little time there. Overall, I don't think we could have found a better location, literally everything was within a 10min drive of the House. Already discussing a return trip! :)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Try for a fell view room, the views are to die for!! :)
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Emma W, Owner at Fern Howe Guest House
Responded 13 Sep 2020
Thank you so much for your amazing and detailed review Lisa! It is fantastic that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and had a lovely time in the Lakes. Thank you for highlighting the benefits of booking directly with us - it really is worthwhile! We are glad that your enjoyed our lovely views and that we were able to make you feel safe and secure re. Covid. We appreciate the feedback re. the showers - one of the rooms you stayed in has recently had the bathroom refitted and we installed the largest cubicle that the room configuration would allow. However, we will most definitely use your feedback when we are in a position to make further improvements to the other bathroom. We would be delighted to welcome your family back - perhaps it could include a longer visit to the lovely Whinlatter!
Read more
Mark C wrote a review Aug 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom11 contributions4 helpful votes
Just returned from several days where I was using Fern Howe Guest House as a base for doing my Mountain Leadership Award. They are superb - so kind and helpful, the rooms were well equipped and immaculate. Lovely breakfast and such outstanding service and thoughtfulness. Initially I had baulked at the price, but on reflection, it was worth every penny - many thanks - an outstanding place to stay with lovely views.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Emma W, Owner at Fern Howe Guest House
Responded 13 Sep 2020
What an absolutely fantastic review Mark, thank you so much! It was a real pleasure meeting you and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay within our Single Fell View Room, Ennerdale. We hope that you enjoyed your leadership award and the adventure you had planned after leaving us! Take care.
Read more
Previous
1234569
PRICE RANGE
US$111 - US$163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictKeswickBraithwaite
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fern Howe Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Fern Howe Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Alpacaly Ever After (1.9 miles), Derwentwater (2.3 miles), and Surprise View (3.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Fern Howe Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Fern Howe Guest House?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Fern Howe Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Fern Howe Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fern Howe Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fellpack, The Restaurant at The Cottage in the Wood, and Thyme Bistro.
Is Fern Howe Guest House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Braithwaite.
Are there any historical sites close to Fern Howe Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Castlerigg Stone Circle (3.7 miles), Mirehouse & Gardens (2.6 miles), and Crosthwaite Parish Church (2.0 miles).
Is Fern Howe Guest House accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.