We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

VR Takapuna

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
VR Takapuna
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

572 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 537: English reviews
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

POSITIVE Very large room with a great view of the sea, bridge and general nice outlook from the balcony and from inside. Good separate bedroom from lounge area. Kitchen is perfect with a good size fridge/freezer, pantry, microwave, some tea/coffee supplied and good quality cutlery, plates, glasses etc. Everything was very clean. The location was good for us because we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MacDutch
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review

Dear MacDutch, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are a 5 Star Hotel in Auckland with a long history of providing quality service and accommodation. Our location has the positive attribute of being over the shore, away from the hustle & bustle of the CBD, making it a quieter environment with stunning location. We are...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Has a nice view of Auckland city and Harbour bridge particularly from the Restaurant. Not as Luxurious as expected, but they have what is needed for travellers. Has good service with helpful staff. Had a very nice meal from the restaurant too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kensinghe
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review

Dear Kensinghe I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive experiences, from your recent stay at Auckland Takapuna Oaks Hotel. This makes very happy to hear that; you took an advantage of beautiful quiet location with an outstanding view & you have had a wonderful time here. I am so proud of our team...

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Takapuna Oaks Bayswater Auckland – Certainly the smartest apartment I stayed in whilst in New Zealand. It was also quite expensive. The apartment was compact, well equipped and it just felt so modern and slick. Free car parking at the back of the hotel. When I read the guest information book lying inside the room I found it mentioned a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kayhel2011
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review

Dear Kayhel2011, Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed staying at Auckland Takapuna Oaks Hotel. We are a 5 Star Hotel in North Shore, Auckland with a long history of providing quality service and accommodation. Our amenities, location and employees are top notch and I am delighted to read that you had...

Dargaville, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just had 3 days and nights here over new year with some friends who were on holiday from the UK. We booked and got two super apartments with harbour views so we could watch the fireworks (not so good this year) on Skytower in comfort. The staff could not be better, so obliging and helpful without being intrusive. The restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm K
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review

Dear Malcolm K, Thank you so much for your amazing review. We appreciate your feedback and we were so pleased to see you enjoyed our breakfast and Dinner menu. It was our absolute pleasure to look after you. I am so happy to read of your wonderful experience with our friendly staff, Clean and comfortable room with an amazing view...

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loved the location of this hotel as it's by the harbour on the North Shore but far from the rush and chaos of the city. You can amble down the road to the marina and get spectacular views especially at sunset. My apartment was spacious and the bed was super comfortable. Only issue was theTV was broken and there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bianca5699
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review

Dear Bianca5699, Thank you for your feedback on Trip advisor. We are so glad to see that you embraced what we offer here at our property. Great rooms, Great price, Great location. The hotel certainly have a feature of a spectacular & quiet location, away from hustle- bustle of the city, yet very close by ferry. However, it was disappointing...

Mildura, Australia
Reviewed 15 December 2016

our room had all that we required good bed clean plenty of room. continental breakfast was included which we enjoyed, not far from Devonport attractions. We enjoyed a meal in the restaurant, beautiful views over Auckland harbour

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review

Dear Ian M, Thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience with us at the Auckland Takapuna Oaks Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I am delighted to read you had a great stay with and enjoyed your room facilities, our quiet location and delicious food at our restaurant. Thank you for...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Following a long trip from the airport in a shuttle bus it was great to receive a warm welcome. Our room was on the third floor with a view to the harbour bridge. Plenty of space in the 1 bedroom apartment and a large balcony. No noise and the ferry to Auckland 5 minutes walk away. The only downside was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review

Dear Johb H, Thank you so much for a review on your recent stay at Auckland Takapuna Oaks Hotel. We are thrilled and appreciate your kind word about beautiful location and staff. We appreciate your comments; it helps us to improve in the future. We are extremely disappointed that the service you received at the restaurant fell below both your...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 November 2016

We booked the Oaks for one night after a late arrival at the airport. The location is residential and very quiet. The apartment had a large living area and a nice view over a bay in the harbour, but not the city. The bedrooms were a little small and the bathroom arrangement very unusual. The one bathroom is an ensuite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TukoPomojaAustralia
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review

TukoPomojaAustralia, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased to heat that, you enjoyed the beautiful Harbour view. Our location has the positive attribute of being over the shore, away from the hustle & bustle of the CBD, making it a quieter environment with stunning location. We appreciate your feedback, it will assist us in improving our...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

Booked this at short notice. A friend then told us we should have booked in Devonport. We disagree. Took the short trip to Devonport (nice)and agreed that we had a much better, quieter location. Didn't try the restaurant (didn't get past drinks, nibbles and the amazing sunset on our own balcony). Staff fantastic, includes a ferry tide into Auckland city...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheSteggs
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review

Dear TheSteggs, Thank you so much for a fantastic review on your recent stay at Auckland Takapuna Oaks Hotel. We are thrilled and appreciate your kind word about beautiful location and staff. We have a great team who genuinely love looking after our guests, and your feedback is so valuable to continue the inspiration to strive to deliver the fabulous...

Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

I booked this hotel through Booking.com which ended costing us a substantial amount more than if we had booked direct. We were attracted to the location which was nice. Having booked the superior 1 bedroom apartment with twin beds, we had high expectations. The rooms were adequate with everything that we needed .The layout of the apartment was ok with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HaleyvL
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review

Dear HaleyvL, Thank you for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor and I am disappointed to note that your stay on this occasion appears to have fallen short of your expectation. We strive to ensure that every guest receives a memorable experience at Auckland Takapuna Oaks Hotel and your feedback is certainly taken on-board. Thank you again for taking...

150 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (143)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayswater
2.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
3,786 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.7 mi away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
1,997 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#12 of 68 in Auckland
2,048 reviews
2.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience 5 Star luxury by the sea in the newest Takapuna Hotel accommodation site. Situated oceanside between Takapuna and Bayswater, this new, fully serviced, boutique apartment hotel will exceed all your expectations. Auckland Takapuna Oaks offers fully self-contained 1 and 2-bedroom luxury apartments, just 10 minutes by complimentary ferry from Auckland City Center / VIADUCT HARBOUR. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the property as well as continental breakfast per person. Lounge access with stunning views across Auckland Harbour is its true unique factor. All guests have complimentary gym usage and a Shuttle Service - to and from the Bayswater Ferry Terminal. Our property is truly something special in Auckland.Auckland Takapuna Oaks offers unique, spacious conference facilities. Offering flexibility and a range of accommodation and catering options to make your next event stand out from the rest. ... more   less 

Additional Information about VR Takapuna

Address: 1 Beresford Street, Bayswater 0622, New Zealand (Formerly Auckland Takapuna Oaks)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Bayswater
Price Range: £97 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Takapuna 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your VR Takapuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Takapuna Oaks Hotel Bayswater
VR Takapuna Auckland/Bayswater, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from VR Takapuna staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from VR Takapuna staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For more than one night, choose a room with a balcony and sea view”
 of 5 bubbles MacDutch, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms will be super, but the harbour view rooms have that little extra.”
 of 5 bubbles pearlNorthampton, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for sea view and avoid level one as it's below the main floor and a bit dark”
 of 5 bubbles bianca5699, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the east side have the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles X8765GWjohnh, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Most rooms have some sea view”
 of 5 bubbles paulkZ6025NQ, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay