We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The School House

School House Stretton Road, Stretton, Warrington WA4 4NT England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (9)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 B&B in Stretton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Family run bed and breakfast situated in Stretton just to the south of Warrington. Easy access to Liverpool, Manchester and Chester via the M56, M6 and M62.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Hiking
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Airport transportation
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Special diet menus
Outdoor furniture
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English
87Reviews5Q+A9Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 73
  • 8
  • 4
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
LOVINitLincoln_Uk wrote a review Aug 2023
Lincoln, United Kingdom28 contributions23 helpful votes
Just back after a wonderful stay at the school house. Lovely couple running this bed and breakfast. The rooms are named after lessons, I stayed in History and the bed was wonderful (super king). The bathroom was massive, with a nice power shower. Tea and coffee in the room and plenty of hangers. Breakfast was lush, cereals or a cooked breakfast with tea or coffee and fresh orange juice. The food is delicious, fresh and nicely cooked. I would definitely stay here again. Free parking and a lovely pub right across the road which does amazing evening meals.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Garry Simcock, Owner at The School House
Responded 25 Aug 2023
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
C Lee C wrote a review Jun 2023
1 contribution
Our stay at the School House was perfectly adequate. The towels were by far the fluffiest I've ever used at a B&B. The breakfast was delicious as well. However, we were a bit put off by our correspondence before we even arrived. We were staying there as we were attending a wedding nearby. We asked if there was a clothes steamer as our wedding attired would be wrinkled and could not be ironed. We were informed No, there was just an iron. Would it have been so difficult to order a 20-quid steamer and be able to say "Yes?" I am sure many other guests would like to be able to use a steamer in the future. I suggest that would be a simple upgrade. We also inquired about gluten-free options for breakfast as our daughter has Celiac. We were politely told that if we wanted anything special we would need to bring it. And again, perhaps since they had advanced notice they could have got some GF muffins to have available? They freeze really well! Both of these gestures would have been appreciated, is it "above and beyond"? I think if it were a budget hostel, yes but these accommodations were not inexpensive at all. Finally, were a bit put off when we arrived in the rain with all of our luggage and could not figure out how to enter. We went to the back door but did not see anything indicating that was where we should be. A sign at the back door, saying "Entrance" would have helped a LOT! Instead, we went to the front door (that did say "Private") and rang that bell and were greeted with a bit of annoyance by the hosts so we did not really feel welcomed. So these are suggestions that may help others. The room was fine for our needs, a few more hooks in the bathroom would have been helpful. Afterward, we found out the pub across the road had rooms and wish we had looked into that option. So my advice is to enter in the back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Bring your own steamer, extra hooks if you need to hang things, proper hangers as they do not...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Garry Simcock, Owner at The School House
Responded 12 Jun 2023
We are pleased to hear that your visit was 'perfectly adequate'. Indeed, prior to arriving you did ask us if we had a steamer and, if not, you'd bring your own. We did offer a steam iron which we assumed would do the same thing using the 'shot of steam' facility but, sadly, you didn't bring your own steamer and didn't want our iron. When we started here, 7 years ago, we did have gluten free and vegetarian options. However, even after freezing these items, we ended up throwing away the vast majority of it because it was the wrong item for our guest or just wasn't used. There are 24 different varieties of gluten free bread and if we had 23 of them here it may well have been that you wanted the one we didn't have. So, in fairness to everyone, we ask you to bring your own. There are 11 items on our breakfast menu board and we are pleased that your daughter had the option of enjoying every one of them except the toast Just to clarify, we, like most homes in the UK, have 2 entrances. One is marked 'Private', ie no admittance unless authorised; the other is marked 'Welcome to our Home'. We feel that this sign is far more welcoming than your suggestion. Your room had 10 hangers and 2 hooks on the back of the door, we are sorry you didn't find this helpful enough. If people have read this far then PLEASE ring the bell at our FRONT door. We look forward to seeing you all again sometime.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jeff P wrote a review Feb 2023
2 contributions3 helpful votes
Oh my god can I just say what a place the old school house is we stayed in the room called science from the first moment we were greeted by Garry the owner we were made to feel so welcome beautiful bed linen and lovely view into the garden absolutely amazing very peaceful and breakfast in the morning served by Helen the other owner I had read about the breakfast it lived upto the reviews great choice and a beautiful room and a table set out I can imagine how it should be years ago can I just say thank you Garry and Helen for your hospitality we will return thank you so much.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Garry Simcock, Owner at The School House
Responded 6 Feb 2023
Wow. What a wonderful review. Thank you so much for taking the time to write it. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us as much as you did. We look forward to seeing you here again in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
304John304 wrote a review Jan 2023
Glasgow, United Kingdom9 contributions10 helpful votes
I really enjoyed my stay at the school house. Very friendly and welcoming hosts. Lovely building with a cracking pub directly across the road serving food. The room was very comfortable and spotless clean. Large bathroom with shower. Large TV on wall with good choice of channels. Brilliant cooked full breakfast in the morning. I will definitely return when in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Garry Simcock, Owner at The School House
Responded 19 Jan 2023
Thank you for your review. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you got home safely despite the snow and freezing conditions. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Charlotte H wrote a review Dec 2022
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Awful customer service at such a tragic time - how anyone can be as cold as this lady is beyond me! Due to stay this weekend, sadly lost our brother last week and she won’t refund , and under the circumstances I just feel this is awful and really sad! I would TOTALLY understand if we just decided to cancel last minute - I’m fully behind the support of a small business ESPECIALLY at this time of year and the way the world is right now but this actually shocked me. With something so awful it shouldn’t even be a questionable situation! I hope this women gets some compassion for a Christmas present this year
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Garry Simcock, Owner at The School House
Responded 3 Jan 2023
Thank you Charlotte for taking the time to write your review. I too have lost a sibling in the past so I do understand your heartache. You mention that you lost your brother 'last week' but fail to mention that you asked to cancel your booking just over a day before your arrival (within our 48hr cancellation policy). Under the circumstances we offered to re-sell your room as it was the busy local Harry Potter weekend and there shouldn't have been a problem to refund you once it was resold. On a number of occasions we asked you to cancel the room with your booking agent so that we could sell it on your behalf, even after you sent us the following text "It's OK I will leave the booking active so you can have your money and I wont have a cancelled booking on my booking.com". We did try to help you the best we could at this sad time.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
carolm1961 wrote a review Jul 2022
Dumfries, United Kingdom7 contributions14 helpful votes
We had a lovely overnight stay in this bed and breakfast. The rooms were spotless,the beds were comfy and the breakfast delicious. The owners were very nice and work hard to make their home welcoming for the residents.The little touches in keeping with the era of when it was used as a school house brought back memories of our schooldays. I will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Garry Simcock, Owner at The School House
Responded 17 Jul 2022
Thank you for your kind words. We're pleased to hear that we brought back good memories for you and not ones that involve the cane we have hanging by the Headmasters Office.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kev F wrote a review Sept 2021
Nottingham, United Kingdom26 contributions3 helpful votes
Great location, dog friendly - we stayed for one night in the history room, very comfortable & spacious with a large bathroom. Our dog was welcomed with a dog bowl & treats. Garden is great for letting your dog wander securely. There’s a great pub over the road, nice food and again, dog friendly
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Garry Simcock, Owner at The School House
Responded 27 Sept 2021
Thank you for your great review. We enjoyed having you all stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Deborah B wrote a review Jul 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Coming to visit my Nana in Northwich, with my eldest son, this was a lovely stay. Close to places to eat within walking distance, the beds were comfy, our room (History) was spotless and airy, with a huge bathroom. Our breakfast was delicious and our hosts friendly and inobtrusive. I would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Garry Simcock, Owner at The School House
Responded 27 Sept 2021
Thank you for your kind words. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you staying with us again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
CMcA2016 wrote a review Jul 2021
Bolton, United Kingdom22 contributions23 helpful votes
The School House is a very clean and comfortable B&B. The owner was very friendly and welcoming, and we had a very good English breakfast in the morning. We would definitely recommend, and would definitely stay here again. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Garry Simcock, Owner at The School House
Responded 27 Sept 2021
Thank you for your review. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we both look forward to you visiting again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
FVG_10 wrote a review Nov 2020
Nottingham, United Kingdom122 contributions112 helpful votes
Perfect place to stay if you're working in the Runcorn Warrington areas, being only 2 minutes from jct 10 M56. Spotless individual rooms within the school theyme, perfect hosts and a lovely breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Garry Simcock, Owner at The School House
Responded 21 Jan 2021
Thank you for your review. We're pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Stretton area.
PRICE RANGE
£93 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCheshireWarringtonStretton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SCHOOL HOUSE - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews (Warrington)

Frequently Asked Questions about The School House
Which popular attractions are close to The School House?
Nearby attractions include Clue HQ - The Live Escape Game (3.7 miles), Cheshire Alpacas (2.5 miles), and Vale Royal Falconry Centre (4.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The School House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
What food & drink options are available at The School House?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The School House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The School House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rio Brazilian Steakhouse - Warrington, Bold Street House, and The Dining Room.
Does The School House have airport transportation?
Yes, The School House offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The School House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.05 miles away from the centre of Stretton.
Are there any historical sites close to The School House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Norton Priory Museum and Gardens (4.4 miles), Walton Hall and Gardens (1.9 miles), and Arley Hall & Gardens (3.7 miles).