We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Windsor Hotel

6 Church Road, Johnston, Haverfordwest SA62 3HE Wales
Traveller (5)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 2 inns in Johnston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Windsor , pet friendly, budget accommodation, with bars & restaurant in the the village of Johnston, half way between Haverfordwest & Milford Haven off the main 4076. 5 star hygiene rating. Close to miles of country walks & cycle paths, including the Pembrokeshire coastal path, with stunning scenery and wildlife, there are plenty of things to do and see, including Oakwood Theme Park, Folly Farm, Heatherton, Castles, fabulous beaches and small coves are all within short driving distance. train station. The village has shops, garage, post office and church. Open for Breakfasts from 7am till 9am. Lunches from 12 till 2-30pm & Evening Meals from 6-30pm till 9pm. Bar Snacks available. Sky Sports in bars. Pool Table in Sports Bar. We are pet friendly allowing guests to bring their dogs. Discounts available for long stay bookings.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
35Reviews3Q+A6Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 14
  • 7
  • 3
  • 1
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Steve G wrote a review Oct 2023
Southport, United Kingdom106 contributions53 helpful votes
Clean comfortable and great value. The mattress was perfect and you are guaranteed a quiet night. There is a bar downstairs but based well away from the rooms. This was my second stay and I hope to be back soon!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Hermanus324 wrote a review Aug 2023
Devizes, United Kingdom1 contribution
Very very basic accommodation. Like a hostel. Exterior very tatty and untidy, picture not factual.Room needed repainting and updating, twin beds on separate walls.Bathroom basic and dated, poor water pressure.. Very noisy at night, doors slamming, paper thin walls. Landlord unfriendly.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Very basic accommodation, no kitchen
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rh Tech wrote a review Nov 2019
6 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Booked last minute due to changes in company schedule. Dampness. Cigarette smoke. Bed Bugs. Mould. Insects crawling under bedding. Just generally dirty. Owner accused guests of bringing the insects and refused to acknowledge any of the complaints. Did not stay here. Have attached some photos for reference. Also have a video of one of my colleagues lifting the bedding up to reveal insects crawling on the bed and bedding. No reply from the owners of the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
WillWingnut wrote a review Jul 2019
London, United Kingdom12 contributions17 helpful votes
A friend and I stayed here for two nights whilst visiting Skomer Island (a 15 minute drive away). The Windsor is excellent value. Couldn’t find any rooms cheaper in the area. The owners are very friendly and happy to chat, and also eager to help with advice about the local area. The bar downstairs is quiet with a decent selection of seats and drinks, and a few equally friendly locals drinking there in the evenings. The resident dog is very sweet and joined us for a beer or two. We felt very much at home. My friend and I took a single room each with shared bathroom. The rooms are basic but include everything you’d need – tea, coffee, clean towels, wardrobe, TV, bedside lamp and a window that opens nice and wide for lots of fresh air. The décor isn’t particularly new or chic, but it is clean and comfy. Good bed and mattress; I slept like a log. Room service visits and tidies up during the day. The shared bathroom was very good. Lots of space, a decent power shower and it’s obviously kept clean – a definite win here, as shared bathrooms can get pretty disgusting if not looked after. Very little ambient noise in bedrooms, as the hotel is set well back from the road. The bar isn’t too rowdy so you don’t get much noise from that either, and it shuts at around 11 anyway. There are probably posher, more fashionable places to stay if that’s your bag, but at this price we were very impressed with the Windsor and will certainly return next time we’re visiting Skomer.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Hoofhearted wrote a review Jun 2019
Chester, United Kingdom34 contributions38 helpful votes
The Windsor is situated off the main road in Johnston and is basically a pub with a few rooms. The licensee is a friendly enough chap and accommodating. However, it is certainly not worth the amount I paid for one night. The room I had was very noisy until midnight (ish) when the pub closed. I could have done with an earlier night. The bar had a half price happy hour, which meant my drink was only £2.50 a pint. I'm glad I didn't have to pay £5.00 for a pint of flat ale.. I ordered some food which I was looking forward to. When it arrived, it smelled of stale cooking oil and the meat had been cremated to toughness of leather. The room had a couple of bulbs that didn't work but it appeared clean but beyond its sell by date. None of the rooms appeared to have anti-noise closure devices which meant a lot of banging of doors throughout the evening. It certainly isn't the best or cleanest place I've ever stayed, but for one night it was ok. It is what it is. If I'd booked for a week to take a holiday, I wouldn't have stayed and would have been very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Difficult to say as my room had a view of the car park.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
David and Lesle... W wrote a review Jun 2019
Milford Haven, United Kingdom26 contributions23 helpful votes
Had a busy afternoon and dropped in on the off chance for a swift pint, other than the landlord and landlady we were the only people there, which seems a shame as we were made welcome and they took time to chat to us, the bar and dining areas were clean and tidy. We cannot comment on the accommodation as we are locals. The Sunday Menu looked good value, and we shall certainly return with our wives to sample the fare. Many thanks for your warm welcome. Dave and Jack-Metal Detectorists.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Katherine S, Owner at The Windsor Hotel
Responded 3 Jun 2019
Thank you for your 4 star review, we hope to see again soon Kind regards Kathy & Fred
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Wil wrote a review Dec 2018
Plymouth, United Kingdom36 contributions9 helpful votes
We all had the carvery for lunch with some of us having a desert also. All the food was very nice, no complaints. We will be go back again soon. The hotel is a great stop off for visiting the South West of Wales area.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Katherine S, Owner at The Windsor Hotel
Responded 5 Dec 2018
Thank you for your 4 star review. We are pleased you enjoyed your meals and look forward to seeing you all again
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
tarlywhile wrote a review Oct 2018
Hereford, United Kingdom2 contributions
Worst hotel experience ever. A mistreated welcoming by a very unfair and judgemental woman. Dirty hotel rooms. Horrible bedding. Disgusting smell of wet dog. Poor room space. Uncomfy beds. By far my worst experience of a hotel ever! I suggest to anyone looking NOT TO consider using this hotel. Was there all of 20 mins when decided to leave and sleep in the car. Poor service. Not the way to treat customers. Very discrimative and disrespectful. Disgusted.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Katherine S, Owner at The Windsor Hotel
Responded 30 Oct 2018
I take great exception to your review, Having you only being in your room for approx.15 minutes the whole landing stank of smoke & not ordinary cigarette smoke at that, when showing another resident into the letting room corridor to reach his room we were immediately hit by the smell that was coming from your room, This was obviously coming from your room as you had just opened your door to exit the room, I have informed the booking agent of your actions and can only say people who abuse the no smoking policy will never be welcome at this hotel and certainly no tolerance of any substance smoking. You chose to leave after I offered to call the police to advise of what had been smoked. The room was totally clean and tidy when you arrived but had to be completely stripped after you left. As for the bedding it was not horrible, there was no smell of wet dog, and I will be advising Trip advisor to remove this totally untrue Review. Disgusted Hotelier
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tim C wrote a review Aug 2018
Milborne Port, United Kingdom9 contributions5 helpful votes
Did not look like the picture..smelt of dogs on the landing. Room from the 60s ..room smelt/ pillows smelt. Old furniture, bathroom..cheap towels and plastic old cups,hole in shower ceiling taped up. Rather have slept in my car for the night!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
chris p wrote a review Aug 2018
Brighton, United Kingdom12 contributions9 helpful votes
arrived in early July, for 4 nights, very friendly people and helpful. the food was excellent, nice and central to look around Pembrokeshire. good value as well. wish you all the best Kath and Fred Chris and Sandy from Brighton
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: a must stay for touring Pembrokeshire
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Johnston area.
PRICE RANGE
£75 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesPembrokeshireHaverfordwestJohnston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE WINDSOR HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews (Johnston)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Windsor Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Windsor Hotel?
Nearby attractions include West Wales Maritime Heritage Society (4.5 miles), Torch Theatre (3.2 miles), and Pembrokeshire Coast National Park (4.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Windsor Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Windsor Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Windsor Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Windsor Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sand & Stone Kitchen, The Georges Restaurant & Cafe Bar, and The Bar.
Is The Windsor Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Johnston.
Are pets allowed at The Windsor Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Windsor Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Pembroke Castle (6.1 miles), Chapel Bay Fort & Museum (6.1 miles), and Upton Castle Gardens (6.4 miles).