We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Fern Villa B&B

Fern Villa Church Road, Goodwick, Fishguard SA64 0EH Wales
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (18)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 2 guest houses in Goodwick
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Fern Villa Bed & Breakfast offers comfortable and affordable accommodation in a Victorian Villa situated in a quiet coastal village location in Fishguard, Pembrokeshire.We have double, twin and single en-suite rooms with free wifi available. Stunning sea views from the breakfast room and all double rooms. 5 minutes walk to the coast path, ferry to Ireland, local buses and trains. Free parking.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
245Reviews0Q+A42Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 184
  • 46
  • 12
  • 3
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Anonymous1456 wrote a review Jan 2023
Birmingham50 contributions28 helpful votes
Fantastic and welcoming hosts; from when we arrived, they couldn't do for us! Room was were really well done up, beautifully clean and water and tea was topped up each day. The views from the sea view rooms are just amazing, even in the middle of winter. The location is great, only 20 minute walk/ 5 minute walk to Fishguard with plenty to do and explore. Very reasonably priced, I would recommend to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
C+M wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We only had one night there but it was everything we hoped for. Only surprise was having to pay in cash on arrival at night from the Ferry but luckily we just had enough. Lovely comfortable room.Spotlessly clean ,great shower and good breakfast. The owner was a very warm friendly man and we would certainly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: All rooms upstairs but owner helped with our bags straight away.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Heather wrote a review Sept 2021
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Sue & Mike were so welcoming. Breakfast was stunning & the room was spotless. I Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend & would definitely stay here again if I’m in the area. I was met with a huge smile & welcoming manner after a long day of driving. Bed was so comfortable. The view from the front of the building over looking the sea is breathtaking. Very knowledgeable owners of the local area & full of helpful tips & advice. Big thumbs up from me 👍
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Maria wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions
Sue and Mike are wonderful hosts and very welcoming! They make a delicious breakfast and really go above and beyond to make sure you are enjoying your stay! The room is spotless and very comfortable! Great base and location to everything that you might want to see or do! We cannot recommend this place enough!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bish53 wrote a review Jul 2021
Fleet, United Kingdom49 contributions59 helpful votes
We stayed here for four nights as part of a cycling tour holiday. Sue and Mike were very friendly and welcoming. We had a lovely room at the front of the house looking out towards Goodwick/Fishguard Bay. We would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to stay in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue B, Owner at Fern Villa B&B
Responded 26 Aug 2021
Thank you for your kind comments, we enjoyed having you stay with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Patricia R wrote a review Aug 2020
London England14 contributions1 helpful vote
Sue and Mike were great hosts and made a huge effort to make us feel comfortable despite the restrictions imposed by Covid 19 regulations. The bedroom was tastefully decorated and the beds very comfortable. Packed lunches were available and they provided a lovely cooked breakfast. They were also full of tips and advice about walking and where to get an evening meal in a town on partial lockdown. Would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue B, Owner at Fern Villa B&B
Responded 26 Aug 2021
Thank you for your kind comments.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ailene C wrote a review Oct 2019
Camberley, United Kingdom8 contributions
Spotlessly clean and made very welcome by Sue and Mike. Brilliant choice for breakfasts. Wonderful views from our bedroom and dining room. Good base for loads of walks and drives around very scenic part of the countryside.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: The views at the front of the house are fab for sunrises
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue B, Owner at Fern Villa B&B
Responded 26 Aug 2021
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Volker wrote a review Sept 2019
Schonaich, Germany26 contributions1 helpful vote
Very nice and convenient B&B. Very warm welcome by Sue and we've got the best room in the house, just on the topmost floor with a wonderful view of the Goodwick Bay. The room was big and very clean, same for the bathroom with a shower. Breakfast was freshly made and very good, sitting at the window and enjoying seaview and talkign to other guests. I can definitely recommend. Thank you Sue for hosting us.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Top floor, best view of the bay
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue B, Owner at Fern Villa B&B
Responded 26 Aug 2021
Thank you for your lovely comments, we loved having you stay with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
rhodes1985 wrote a review Jul 2019
rhodes198513 contributions
Fern Villa is a lovely place, and Mike and Sue are absolutely lovely people. My Dad and I stayed here as part of our trip along the Pembrokeshire Path, and it was a perfect location, with good room and great breakfast. Highly recommend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue B, Owner at Fern Villa B&B
Responded 26 Aug 2021
Glad you had a lovely time with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
John S wrote a review Jul 2019
Manchester, United Kingdom1 contribution
This is the first review I've written on tripadvisor and it is not easy to write as the proprietors are clearly making very genuine efforts to provide good accomodation. I am writing in the hope that they will find it helpful. First there were good basics. It was a clean good room with an excellent view of the bay. Our first difficulty has been noted by others. Mike gave far too much information and suggestions, particularly over breakfast, that was not asked for and reached the point of intrusiveness into my wife and I's relaxed, peaceful planning time. He also asked questions about what we had done every day (4 days). He needs to tailor his advice and information to what different guests want. At one point he was rude enough to break into our private conversation. The breakfasts were about the poorest we have had in a B&B - very basic. The food was not of a quality we are used to and the preparation was poor. Poached egg, tomatoes and mushrooms were served in almost a pool of water. Eggs and tomatoe were poor quality and tasteless. Vegetarian breakfast meant nothing more than a hash brown. The tea tray and toiletries were stingy - nowhere near four star standard. I do hope these comments are helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue B, Owner at Fern Villa B&B
Responded 26 Aug 2021
Thank you for your comments, which have been duly noted and will be acted on.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Goodwick area.
PRICE RANGE
£111 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Fern Villa Guest House
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesPembrokeshireFishguardGoodwick
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FERN VILLA B&B - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews (Goodwick)

Frequently Asked Questions about Fern Villa B&B
Which popular attractions are close to Fern Villa B&B?
Nearby attractions include Strumble Head (3.6 miles), The Last Invasion Tapestry Gallery (1.1 miles), and Melin Tregwynt Woolen Mill (3.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Fern Villa B&B?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Fern Villa B&B?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Fern Villa B&B?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fern Villa B&B?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hooked At 31, The Royal Oak, and Peppers.
Is Fern Villa B&B located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Goodwick.
Are there any historical sites close to Fern Villa B&B?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fishguard Fort (4.0 miles).