Chalet Philibert
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Chalet Philibert

                  Sauna - Swimmingpool
Traveller (80)
Room & Suite (3)
Pool & Beach (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#21 of 44 hotels in Morzine
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Philibert is a beautiful Savoyard hotel, lovingly crafted from local wood and stone. It’s run exclusively by us and enjoys some of the best views in Morzine from its position high above the town centre (while still only 5 minutes walk to the centre of town). Enjoy wonderful views of the ski slopes of Le Pleney in the distance and the mountains of Avoriaz behind. It’s a quick 5-minute shuttle from just outside the chalet to the main lifts - and the best skiing that the Portes du Soleil has to offer. Stepping outside, we’re lucky that you have the choice to catch the Morzine bus on one side of the street or the Avoriaz bus on the other side. Not many places have the Avoriaz lifts at Les Prodains a direct shuttle ride away. We also have have the ‘Chalet Petit-Philibert next door. It’s perfect for groups of 12-15 who want the extra privacy of a chalet, but with all the facilities and perks of a hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Canoeing
Golf course
Babysitting
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Ski school
Skiing
Water park
Canoeing offsite
Tennis court offsite
Water park offsite
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Telephone
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

Route des Putheys, 74110, Morzine France
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 83 out of 100
83
Geneva Airport
29.1 mi
See all flights
Sion Airport
30.2 mi
See all flights
182Reviews0Q+A29Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 116
  • 44
  • 10
  • 8
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Corinne L wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent a lovely week at Hotel Philibert. It’s a lovely traditional chalet style hotel with great staff and great food.. Cozy bar with fire, perfect for a relaxing drink after a day on the slopes. I had my 5 year old twins with me who loved the hot tub! We weren’t quite brave enough to take a dip in the outdoor pool as it was around -4-5 degrees for most of our stay but other guests took the plunge and said it was great! The hotel is a few minutes walk from the bus stops that are perfectly located to head to either Le Pleney or Avoriaz and it is on the best bus route with very frequent service, most of the time the wait was only few minutes, think longest we waited was 5 mins. The only negative which I think can so easily be fixed, is lack of hanging space in the room. With 4 sets of coats and ski stuff it was a challenge! A simple installation of a rack of 4 - 6 coat hooks would make this a 5 star review!
Would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Thanks to Dan, Jenson and the team for a lovely stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wizards wrote a review Sept 2022
Marlow, United Kingdom4 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent holiday , all staff were amazing and worked so well as a team to make our holiday so enjoyable. Food was exceptional, nothing was too much trouble for the staff , will be coming again . The holiday includes a multi pass which allows you to use all the lifts and swimming pools for free , we used the bike daily which were all well maintained. The kids used the pool a lot and made instant friends. Thankyou once again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kim_Ray2013 wrote a review Feb 2023
Exeter, United Kingdom5 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
For a ski holiday this hotel ticked all the boxes: Showers, always hot and great pressure, fluffy towels, beds comfy, rooms clean, tasty and varied food always plenty of it. Views of the mountains from the room (Peccher)

We liked dinner wasn’t at a set time, which we have found previously at chalet hotels so you don’t need to rush back if apres in full swing. The team at the hotel were attentive and friendly. The welcome meeting was succinct and informative. Ben and Sean and Thea stood out as being exceptional. The night porter, whose name I didn’t catch, was really chipper and helpful when we checked out at 0430. However is recruiting the team is doing a great job.

Location wise it’s really easy access to both ski areas. We hired a locker at Pleney and walked from the hotel to the lift, it takes less than 10 minutes through the town. There’s also a good sized locker room at the hotel we used for the days we skied at Avoriaz. The ski bus stops outside the hotel and really easy to access via the Prodains lift, much quieter than the super morzine.
Between the two resorts there’s plenty of skiing, lots of great mountain restaurants. Our favourites were the Eagle park at point nyon and the Terrasse at Lindretts. For apres in the sunshine, Avoriaz was better. It’s worth a trip to the Folie Douce, which luckily is just a short ski back to the prodains lift. The cavern in morzine was good for live bands from 5pm. Le Tremplin is at the bottom of pleney with s DJ and always busy. On the chalet’s night off we are in la Rotonde which was superb.

I’d not used Alpine Elements before but would definitely recommend and use again in the future. Wishing the team at Hotel Phillibert a great rest of the season.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peteel_CH wrote a review Feb 2020
Lucerne, Switzerland5 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Small room but adequate. Nice to have the sauna, Jacuzzi and pool after active days. Location good, not too far to walk to town and bus stops to Morzine town and Avoriaz just around the corner. This is all mentioned before and doesn't change from season to season.

The staff however do usually change with the season and I echo the points of other recent reviews this season. Food was good, but unfortunately let down on a few occasions primarily due to being overcooked. The staff while friendly and trying hard, were disorganised and overall poorly trained for service. Worst of all was being woken by the noise of the night staff, clearing away the common areas during the middle of the night. This is an issue not had by people on higher floors, but something which should be considered if guests are on the ground floor (the room rate isn't any less). The staff appear to be young and inexperienced, but with some decent training and management could be improved so much. I expected better from an Alpine Elements holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor due to night staff cleaning
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clare Smith, Guest Services / Front Office at Chalet Philibert
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Hi Peteel_CH Thanks for your review. Glad you were impressed with the hotels spa facilities, its excellent location and the hardworking attitude of the team. Whilst our staff are trained to provide the best possible care to our guests, your constructive comments have been taken on board. All the best The Hotel Philibert Team Morzine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sunflower8608 wrote a review Jan 2020
Oxford, United Kingdom164 contributions94 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Basic but comfortable hotel for a 3 night ski trip. Room had limited storage and the bathroom was very small and dark. Comfy beds and robe, slippers, towels and toiletries were provided. Quiet at night. 10 minute steep downhill walk into town but handy having both direction bus stops outside the hotel. Jacuzzi was very small, a squeeze for 3 people. Staff were friendly but seemed a bit disorganised. On arrival, the lady rushed us through and didn't explain timings of meals or anything about the town as she was leaving to go skiing. Breakfast finished at 9am, which was a bit too early and we weren't told that, so we missed the cooked breakfast. 5 course dinner was usually good, only the vegetarian mains let it down. Adequate for our trip but I wouldn't return, especially given the amount of hotels to choose from here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CustomerCareAlpine, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Philibert
Responded 23 Jan 2020
Hi Sunflower8608 Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Glad you were impressed with the comfy beds and the staff's friendly attitude. We apologise if you missed out on breakfast, however we will always leave out any leftover pastries & croissants for any guests who had a lie in or are after some elevenses. Your constructive feedback has been taken on board. All the best The Hotel Philibert Team Morzine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
madeleineelaa wrote a review Feb 2020
Waltham Forest, United Kingdom27 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at Philibert was fine for what it was, unfortunately having stayed at a Neilson chalet the season prior it was a bit of a letdown when it came to the small gestures.

The staff were lovely and did their best, especially when it came to cancelled flights causing chaos. But a little bit more initiative would have been helpful in some areas. The light in the boot room went out mid-week and wasn’t fixed, our bathroom door wouldn’t shut properly (which didn’t matter to us really but would others), the tap leaked, the sauna ventilation broke off mid week and stayed broken. All things that I’m sure won’t be broken for long.

We were lucky with the size of our room but would recommend looking at the floor plan when booking and requesting a specific room. We know other guests weren’t as happy but were moved quickly which is great.

As a vegetarian I personally didn’t enjoy the food but I know other guests did, each to their own but I found it a little bland. You won’t go hungry though with 5 courses! We struggled to make it through most days. There’s a lovely little bar area which is good for a chat with other guests, and the bus stops are just down the road into town and up to Avoriaz - Prodains.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clare Smith, Guest Services / Front Office at Chalet Philibert
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Hi madeleineelaa Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and was impressed with the team. Your constructive comments have been taken on board and we are pleased to say that any maintenance issues with the sauna have been addressed. All the best The Hotel Philibert Team Morzine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter L wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited Hotel Philibert via a holiday arranged through Alpine Elements

The package included a range of activities (white water rafting, guided walk, kids club, quiz night etc) which helped keep us busy but wasn't overwhelming. and through Alpine elements we could book loads of local outdoor activities (canyoning, high ropes, climbing mountain biking etc)

Our room was fairly small but clean and comfortable and we didn't spend much time in it. We had half board and the food was good and there was cake and coffee etc available between meals so it was great to stop and refuel before going out again

All of the hotel staff were amazing and attentive, nearly everyone who worked there seemed to enjoy the activities locally themselves so we got loads of advice and recommendations for good walks, places to see, which trips were best etc.

Special mention to Becca, the main point of contact on site, who organised any trips or adventures we wanted and Jensen who knows all the best hikes in the area

The package is great for people looking to fill their holiday with outdoor stuff
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CarolineM78 wrote a review Aug 2023
Edinburgh, United Kingdom79 contributions50 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a wonderful week bursting full of sunshine and activities from start to finish! The week was unbelievably well organised from start to finish, even before leaving home.

We had a day white water rafting, a SUP session at beautiful Lake Montriond, a Go Ape style high ropes/zip wire morning and a wealth of other suggestions. We also had some lovely family bike trips too and a trip up to Avoriaz for the day, which is great for children.

The hotel itself is clean, comfortable and located just a short walk from the main town.
All the food was delicious (special thanks to the chefs for accommodating our son’s dairy free diet) and all staff are so friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Emma the activities leader and Alice who was our 7 year old’s favourite!

Our children loved playing at the pool with new friends after a busy day on the hills. Bikes were also available all week, fitted by very lovely guys. NB you do need to rent proper downhill bikes for the MTB trails. The multi pass is brilliant for access to a variety of other activities.

I’m certain we will be back, in winter or summer. Our biggest debate this week has been which season the Alps are more beautiful in! It’s a perfect set-up for families looking for a week of activities. Many thanks to everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: It’s on quite a steep road so wouldn’t be brilliantly located for anyone struggling to walk uphill.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
chris l wrote a review Apr 2022
Oxford, United Kingdom15 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had initially booked at another hotel where there was little snow but were moved to Chalet Philbert and were very glad to do so. It is 60 seconds walk to the bus stop to Avoriaz where the snow is excellent even at the end of the season. Chalet Philibert has a heated swimming pool, a jacuzzi and sauna so the end of the day was so relaxing. Dinner is 3 courses and even though we were skiing hard and hungry, the portions were perfect. We could not fault it.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: ask for balcony
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul I wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just back from a great half term week skiing in Morzine. Cannot praise Dan and his team enough. We can always be nervous when booking a holiday, as our daughter is Coeliac and needs strict gluten free diet without the fear of cross contamination. Dan and the Alpine Elements team went above and beyond, ensuring everything our daughter had to eat was gluten free, making sure her breakfast was served separate from other guests, and even including her in the afternoon tea with her gluten free cakes. The rooms were spotlessly clean and overall we were very impressed with the whole holiday provided by Alpine Elements. Cant wait to book again for next year :-)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Escape775402 wrote a tip Mar 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Spa facilities can busy up so keep an eye out and get in when you can "
Read full review
CarolineM78 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Edinburgh, United Kingdom79 contributions50 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It’s on quite a steep road so wouldn’t be brilliantly located for anyone struggling to walk uphill."
Read full review
Adele F wrote a tip Feb 2023
Holmfirth, United Kingdom21 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Easy access by bus from hotel to town or the Prodaine lift which takes you to Avoriaz. Good selection of games. Bar shuts at 10ish"
Read full review
adele l wrote a tip Oct 2022
Seaford, United Kingdom6 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Close to bus stop for Avoriaz so perfect for for winter ski trips."
Read full review
Jo G wrote a tip Aug 2022
Worldwide3 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We paid extra for the larger apartment in the basement: ideal for family with up to 3 kids."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Morzine area.
PRICE RANGE
£173 - £419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chalet philibert hotel morzine-avoriaz
LOCATION
FranceAuvergne-Rhône-AlpesHaute-SavoiePortes du SoleilMorzine
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHALET PHILIBERT - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Chalet Philibert
Which popular attractions are close to Chalet Philibert?
Nearby attractions include Les Rhodos Bar (0.2 miles), Bar Robinson (0.2 miles), and Dixie Bar (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Chalet Philibert?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Chalet Philibert?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Chalet Philibert?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chalet Philibert?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Clin D'Oeil, L'Improviste, and Gusto e Basta!.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chalet Philibert?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Does Chalet Philibert have airport transportation?
Yes, Chalet Philibert offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Chalet Philibert located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Morzine.
Are pets allowed at Chalet Philibert?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Chalet Philibert?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Chalet Philibert?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Abbaye d'Abondance (7.1 miles).
All Morzine HotelsMorzine Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MorzineHotels near Chalet Philibert
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire