Lopesan Baobab Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Lopesan Baobab Resort

Traveller (9631)
Panorama of the Double Deluxe with Pool View at the Lopesan Baobab Resort
360
Panoramas (12)
Lopesan Baobab Resort
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Get rewarded with One Key
£138
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
£138
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 resort in Meloneras
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Exclusive luxury Lopesan Baobab Resort was inaugurated in 2009; it is located in the south of the island of Gran Canaria, in the exclusive Meloneras holiday area, just a few walking minutes away from the extensive, several kilometres long, Maspalomas beach and the impressive landscape of sand dunes. Famous Maspalomas lighthouse is situated nearby, as well as the long coastside promenade. ExpoMeloneras Convention Centre is also located only a few steps away from the hotel. Five-star hotel Lopesan Baobab Resort has become one of the preferred destinations for family holidays of Spanish national tourists. Thanks to the uniqueness of its architecture inspired by the African continent, its impressive water landscapes with pools, rivers and waterfalls, as well as the high quality services offered, this hotel shows off ethnic charm, modernity and refinement. The hotel’s main entrance leads guests over a picturesque wooden bridge to the reception area, passing a grandiose aquatic landscape with waterfalls. From the lobby you can reach the hotel rooms or the large garden area, on a surface of 56,000 square metres, in the centre of which a large 21 metres high wooden African lodge is located; this lodge houses a restaurant and a bar. Common areas are connected by an extensive sheet of water crisscrossed by small bridges. In total there are nine swimming pools (all of them heatable at different temperatures) covering a total surface of 4,245 square metres. The “lazy river”, two artificial beaches, pools with waterfalls and caves, and two pools for babies and children are specially outstanding. The hotel’s leisure and recreation areas are enriched even more by a complete entertainment programme with a variety of activities during the day and in the evenings. The Lopesan Baobab Resort offers high quality cuisine in all restaurants, characterized by an elevated level of creativity. For this purpose the hotel’s select kitchen staff puts special emphasis on using the best products and on preparing them in presence of the hotel guests. The ‘Akara’ Restaurant is only open for dinner and its name refers to an African recipe; it offers flavours from the very heart of Africa with a menu committed to originality. The hotel’s second à la carte restaurant is the ‘Pili Pili’ Restaurant, open at lunchtime and specialised in paellas, seafood and grilled meat. Furthermore, there are two buffet restaurants, the ’Marula’ and the ‘Baobab’, the premises of which are conveniently separated to provide differentiated atmospheres where delicacies from international occidental cuisine are served. The rooms’ interior design carefully combines colour schemes and African ambience. The Lopesan Baobab was built on a plot of 72,000 square metres with a total of 677 modern rooms. The hotel has at its guests’ disposal a complete and varied entertainment programme, offering something for everybody. Many of the organised activities take place during the day and in the evenings.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Boating
Babysitting
Children's playground
Car park
Lazy river
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Shallow end in pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Diving
Game room
Windsurfing
Bowling offsite
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Water park offsite
Children's television networks
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German
Hotel links
Special Rate:Get up to a 20% discount Booking Directly

Location

C/ Mar Adriatico, 1, 35100 Meloneras, Gran Canaria Spain
Name/address in local language
9,402Reviews1,288Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 5,999
  • 2,074
  • 808
  • 276
  • 246
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
gaze11 wrote a review Dec 2023
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom45 contributions30 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We love the African theme of this large hotel it’s a beautiful place to stay , this was our Second visit staying half board and will definitely be returning we think it’s great value for money The buffet food is great, lots of good quality food and plenty of choice, it’s all very clean , the rooms are spacious . There are lots of pools and sunbathing areas , all the staff are friendly and professional .
We dined in the al a carte Akara restaurant one visit is included in your half board option, we thought the food and service were excellent , would highly recommend a visit , it gets booked up quickly though.
If you do want to dine out there are some lovely restaurants ( and Shops) a few minutes walk away from the hotel.
We had a great stay and was sad to leave, can’t wait to return next year
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Departamento de Relaciones Públicas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lopesan Baobab Resort
Responded 30 Dec 2023
Dear Guest Elaine G, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Lopesan hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We look forward to your visit and are at your disposal for any further questions. Best regards, Guest Service Department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EmmaMcClymont wrote a review Mar 2020
Prestwick, United Kingdom3 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from a weeks holiday as a young couple with our 8 month old baby. We booked this as a last minute deal and got a good deal. I would certainly return again if the price was right.

On arrival we had a speedy check in and got a room that met with our email request- a bright, quiet room on a high floor. The room was huge even with a buggy and cot in it and perfect for us. It was lovely and bright, clean and plenty of storage. Beds were comfy and we did not once hear any noise.

Food was great, our baby ate like a king for the week and loved trying lots of new food. The stokke highchairs in the dining room were great and always clean. We didnt tire of the food and found plenty of choice for the 3 of us. The food was always warm and importantly it had taste. The 6pm oepning time was perfect for our family and popular with all who had kids wanting to go the mini disco.

Pools were super with loads of sunbeds in sunny and shaded spots to choose from. We were not once told off for any inflatables in the pools and found the water warm enough for a baby. The pool towels in your room were welcomed.

Location is good, lots of upmarket shops about and close to the beach.

The hotel is big but we had no issue finding our way about. We were given a map on check in and within a day knew our way about. We loved going walks with the buggy around the hotel pools.

If you dont like kids, babies or pregnant woman then this is not the hotel for you. There were lots of families and it was a friendly atmosphere.

The kids pools are located within a gated village where the kids club is perfect if you had a toddler. The mini disco is also very good with a mascot which the kids love.

The staff were all so welcoming and our baby loved the attention from them.

We were unlucky to have our holiday disrupted by Covid-19 but found the hotel to be ever so professional. We were kept in the loop of changes with letters posted through room door and found the hotel to be doing everything they could. On the night before the lockdown the mascot was unable to come to the mini disco so instead all the kids were given a stuffed toy, a lovely touch which was appreciated.

We hope to return in the future and thanks for a great holiday. Our only small suggestions to improve would be new towels in the rooms, some we had were past their best and the turn down service could be a bit later as the maid was always trying to get in when we were showering.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gisele Gómez, Guest Services / Front Office at Lopesan Baobab Resort
Responded 30 Jun 2020
Dear Guests, thank you so much for choosing us, we are so glad to hear that although the situation in the world you could still enjoy your holiday. We are now glad to inform you that we are bach on the 7th of July. We would be glad to receive you again soon. Best regards, Public Relations Department.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fiona G wrote a review Aug 2020
Ireland59 contributions99 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been loyal Lopesan customers for the past 14 years normally staying in their Costa Meloneras hotel across the street but due to it being closed for renovations we decided to try the Baobab as we knew the Lopesan cleanliness standards would be extremely high during this nervous time with Covid 19.

We arrived the first Saturday after they reopened in July.

The reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly when we checked in. We had decided this year to treat ourselves to a Unique Junior Suite as we were expecting to spend more time in our room due to Covid and to be honest we were extremely disappointed when we walked out onto our balcony of our ground floor room to have a view of nothing but trees and plants. We spent the first 2 hours of our holiday in reception trying to locate another room after quite a stressful journey. We were advised that it would be 48 hours before another suite was available. We thought when we paid the high price for a junior suite that we would have a view similar to the website but again unfortunately we were disappointed. It was better than our first view but nothing close to our expectations which were set by the images on the website.

Initially we were very impressed with how the hotel were dealing with Covid situation - you were given a time slot for each of your meals and there was plenty of space between diners and tables. On a couple of nights in the Baobab restaurant the head waiter tried to seat us right beside other diners (within 1-2 feet) and was quite aggressive when we pointed it out to him. It did make us nervous going forward that we were going to have a confrontation with him every night.

The sun loungers were disinfected every night which was great and meant you had confidence using them.

Overall they are dealing with a very difficult situation in a positive manner but staff need to remind some guests that masks are mandatory in restaurants and public areas.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gisele Gómez, Atención al cliente/recepción at Lopesan Baobab Resort
Responded 6 Aug 2020
Dear Guests, Thank you for sharing your experience with other users. It is certainly very helpful to know what other travellers think about us. For our part, we are happy that you enjoyed a pleasant stay with us. We inform you that during your stay wearing mask in common areas was not mandatory, however this has now changed. We are so sorry for the inconveniences you have had with your room, and we would have liked to have the chance to speak personally to you regarding these issues. We could have seen if another room was available. We would be glad to receive you again for the 15th time at Lopesan Hotel Group. With kind regards, Public Relations Department.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Annika B wrote a review Mar 2020
Oslo, Norway6 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 2 weeks with our 4 month baby and grandparents. All in all we are happy with our stay but expected more from a 5* in this price range.

Modern and clean rooms with big bathtub. No coffee or kettle in the rooms apart from in the suits. Aircon was too simple, only choice was 0,1 or 2. For us it was too cold on 1 and clam and stuffy on 0. They changed the towels every day but the timing was really off. They knocked on the door around 18.00 and for us that is shower and bath time so had to open door wearing towels and could then obviously not change them. Could close the balcony door completely and the noise from the entertainment every night was a rather loud. One night the hotel had an private event for a big company and the guests were pretty loud and hanging around outside where people where sleeping, not so well organized from the hotel side.

The pool areas were all pretty ok. Only the big pool in the middle was warm enough to swim in. That pool did not allow floaties. Huuuuge problem was the never ending reservation of the sunbed issue. Cos of the baby we were up pretty early every day but people started putting towels out around 07.00 and by 08.30 it was full. The hotel had staff out in the morning putting a note on the sunbeds with towels saying that if no people were on them within 30 min they will remove the towels so others can use them. Good idea but works only halfway when the sunbed reservations starts at 07.00 and the staff gets out at around 09.15

Breakfast was good with plenty of variations. Slightly hectic between 08.30 - 10.00 so we always had late breakfast in peace an quiet at 10.30. Downside with that was that they did not fill up as well then. The bread selection was very limited for example.

We didn't have any dinners at the hotel. There was a lot of good restaurants down by the beach.

Very old fashioned ways with WiFi.. free in common areas but had to pay extra to have in the room.



Nice toilets in common areas.

Overall extremely good service and very accommodating staff (we had a few small problems with our room and got upgraded)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gisele Gómez, General Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort
Responded 7 Mar 2020
Dear Guests Thank you very much for your detailed review concerning your 2 weeks visit here at the Lopesan Baobab Resort We all are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay here on Gran Canaria. Your detailed description and the professional analysis of your travel experiences are not only valuable for other travellers, but also a wonderful feedback to share with all members of our team. It has been a pleasure and honour having you as our guests and we all are looking forward to welcoming you back soon to the Lopesan Baobab Resort. If you want to inform us about anything else, please contact we us per mail and we can go deeper in your comments. Kind regards, Guest Relations Department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pem C wrote a review Dec 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom25 contributions28 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Loved the design of the hotel & theme decor is in keeping with than Africa style 5 star lodge..which I thought was very Authentic..furniture in the hotel is very unique..
We stayed in a standard room as there were no upgrades due to hotel not running to full capacity due to Covid..
Rooms were basic & Dark even with every light on still dark.. shower & bath a good size so was the balcony..
Only got water in the room on the first day..for a 5 star hotel very surprised by this as all other 5 star hotels we stay at provide water every day free of charge..
Buffet for half board.. you can buy lunch as an extra which we did on 3 occasions so much nicer to be served at your table..buffet good variety but not for me as
I’m vegan & gluten free..I must say the chefs always made me either a pasta or rice dish for evening meals & breakfast was always good so 10/10 although we did eat out 3 nights because we wanted a change..
Staff excellent friendly helpful & accommodating 10/10
Quite due to Covid..not all bar areas were open only 2 out of 4..wish they did an A/I they do do full board options..
Could of done with some entertainment on at least 3/7 nights..there was none except a DJ in one of the bars playing the same tunes every night..they could of just put Spotify on you wouldn’t of known any different..
Total 8/10 overall
Would definitely recommend the area as it was so nice clean unmarked shops nice restaurants & quite no tacky bars or shops which we like..
We are a couple in our early 50’s..
About 7-10 min walk down to bars restaurants & lighthouse..
30 mins from airport we hired a car..
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Departamento de Relaciones Públicas, Atención al cliente/recepción at Lopesan Baobab Resort
Responded 27 Dec 2020
Dear Guests, Thank you for choosing us for your last visit to Gran Canaria. It gives us great satisfaction to know that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with other holidaymakers and for your comments giving us ideas for our future. We hope that we will see you again at the hotel. Kind regards, Public Relations Department.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Colin W wrote a review Jan 2020
5 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first visit to the Baoba Resort but not to Gran Canaria. We know this area very well although this hotel was not built when we last visited. What a joy it was; great food in good dining rooms every service you could need. All the staff without exception greeted you with a smile which really left you feeling special.We visited with our adult daughter and had rooms next door but one on the first floor. Our room was a little dark at times due to palm trees outside but was quite relaxing and the view from the balcony was pleasant. Whilst this was a family hotel and a lot of young children were in residence this did in know way spoil things; I guess thanks to the Kids club with its own pool and some great parenting. The hotel is five minutes walk from the beach and prom' and if you want to travel further the great value buses run from around the corner from the hotel. The immaculately kept pools and gardens completed the picture. This is a superb relaxed five star hotel with all the facilities you need. Go and enjoy.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Inward facing rooms get no or little road noise, if you want a sea view ask for a higher floor room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 121baobab, Guest Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort
Responded 17 Jan 2020
Dear appreciated guest, thank you so much for staying with us during your recent holiday on Gran Canaria and also for taking your time to give us such a nice review. We are delighted that your stay completely satisfied your needs and met your expectations. We will forward your kind words to our colleagues and we are sure they will receive it with great excitement. Hopefully we will be able to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Guest Relations Department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
joolesah wrote a review Feb 2020
Northampton, United Kingdom17 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Lopesan Baobab for a week. The low lighting everywhere could be seen as atmospheric; our theory is it’s to make the hotel appear less dirty! The beds are hard - but not as hard as the pillows. The bedding is cheap. The towels are thin and threadbare. A number of the windows are badly cracked; including two of the huge windows as you come in the front door

Arriving after dark, we had drinks in the hotel on our first evening. Having decided not to give reception our credit card so we could charge things to our room, we were unable to run a tab; every drink had to be paid for at the time of order - something entirely alien in regular hotels, the local bars and Spain in general

We had endless problems with our keycards and spent way too much time trekking back and forth to reception getting them changed. Only to be told on our penultimate day, the door batteries needed changing - one member of staff had previously told us our mobile phones were to blame for upsetting their sensitive cards; thankfully our credit cards are made of more robust stuff

Breakfast is cafeteria style. The tables are damaged and most of them wobble unevenly. The room is predictably dirty and nothing is fresh. Despite supermarkets allowing you to juice your own orange, all the hotel juices are from bottles. The toaster needs about four attempts to toast one side of bread to a standard a fellow guest described as ‘edible’. Unlike the coffee, which is undrinkable. On asking for sparkling water (which isn’t freely available) with ice, I was told to walk the length of the breakfast room to get the ice myself...

There are small streams of water winding through the communal areas. All of it is dirty; full of grime, leaves and other items

Nothing about the Lopesan Baobab is five star. Not the dirty hotel. Not the tired decor. Not the cheap processed food. Not the slapdash lackadaisical staff. Definitely not the service
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 121baobab, Guest Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort
Responded 9 Feb 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for having chosen our hotel and also for letting us know your personal experiences via Tripadvisor. We are sorry that you haven´t enjoyed your stay with us and that you had to leave our hotel disappointed. As we take customer reviews very seriously, we have already forwarded your comments to our department managers for closer investigation and to take in consideration to improve them. We are worried, why your experience in the restaurant and in the hotel has been so negative, as the feedback that we get from the majority of our guests in forums and also in our independent questionnaire, which we carry out 3 times a month, is normally quite positive. But please be assured, as we have mentioned before, that we will have a close look in the service quality in our restaurants. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any suggestions or additional comments you might have. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Oliver Widengren wrote a review Nov 2020
Frankfurt, Germany152 contributions53 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from a 8 night stay at Baobab. This was my first time at this hotel.

Visually, the hotel is impressive, with very large open spaces, nice decor and lighting.

Reception went smoothly, however the receptionist, who was fantastic, spoke so fast I could barely process anything she was saying. They seem to be more focused on getting the queue moving than actually taking their time and explaining everything at a normal speed. I can understand this if it was a 2* or 3* hotel, but in a 5* hotel you would expect more.

The pools are it's best asset. I really enjoyed them every day I was there and never had a problem finding a sunbed because the hotel was not packed due to COVID.

The room has a more than decent size with a nice bathroom with a shower and a huge bathtub. Robes are provided but no slippers, creams or lotions which was quite surprising to me.
Room comes with a empty mini fridge you can use which was nice. TV size was ok but not that big.
The worst part of the whole stay was the mattresse and noise from the street.
One of the reasons I chose this hotel was because of it's category and I was confident the bed would be comfortable. It felt like I was sleeping on a 20 year old box spring (it is box spring). You could literally hear the springs every time to moved around and at time could even feel them poking into you. I informed recepcion and they put a mattress cover which was too thin to provide any comfort.
The noise at night from the bars/restaurants just in front of the hotel did not make things any better.
In addition, on weekdays starting at 8 AM they started construction/renovation work on the hotel Lopesan Costa Meloneras, also located right in front. So in my case there was no good rest during my stay there, which made me feel constantly fatigued.

Breakfast was very limited and not really appealing. No good selection at the bread/bakery section. Muffins were dry and doll size.
I really did enjoy the bowles of fresh fruit (watermelon/papaya/melon or mixed fruits) and freshly made juices, the juices were quite small so have to go back several times.

You also have boiled, scrambled eggs or omelette, bacon, cooked mushrooms, tomates, crepes or waffles with whipped cream and hot homemade chocolate sauce or mixed berries in addition to the cold cut, cereals and yogurt section. Everything very limited in choice though.

Coffee is served without a teaspoon and you must ask for one every time, unless you want to use the large spoon which they already provide you with. Waiters were sometimes forgetful.

All in all, it was an ok experience but it didn't reach my expectations nor blow my mind away.

If it wasn't for the bed and noise, I would consider returning, but as they say, the first impression is what counts. And unfortunately mine wasn't good enough to want to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gisele Gómez, Atención al cliente/recepción at Lopesan Baobab Resort
Responded 27 Nov 2020
Dear guest, We highly appreciate your comments published on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at our Lopesan Baobab Resort. Thanks also for your review and we would like inform you that we have taken note of your comments and we will work hard to improve them. We are very happy to know that you had such a good time with us and we are especially glad about your positive valuation of our hotel facilities. We would like to inform you that we have forwarded your comments about the quality of food and supplements for extra service to the department in charge. In our daily improvement process the comments of our guests are one of the most important part for being able to continue fulfilling wishes and expectations and we apologize to hear that in your case we didn’t manage it. If you want to inform us about anything else, please contact we us per mail and we can go deeper in your comments. Once more, we wish to thank you for your feedback and would be delighted to welcome you back at our hotel. Best regards Guest Relations Department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Des M wrote a review Feb 2020
Gargrave, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We decided after alot of time to choose this hotel because of its tropical feel. We were not disappointed with the theme at all. The hotel is lovely the staff are very polite all of the time. Prices for drinks I think are more than reasonable as were the food prices. The buffet restaurants serve a whole array of themed foods. The hotel it self gives off its 5 star rating. A few things I thought could have been better. The rooms and hotel inside can be very dark but that is the theme. For a 5 star hotel I was surprised that we had to pay for the use of a room safe at 17.50 euros a week and the tea coffee and water was only complimentary once. Even a 2 or 3 star would normally have these as complimentary. The gym in the hotel is poor, however there is a fantastic gym down below the hotel that guests get for a very good rate. Overall a very good hotel that I would recommend at this time of year I would imagine it is very very busy in high season. Definitely 4 to 4.5 star in my eyes. Thanks for the stay we loved our holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 121baobab, Guest Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort
Responded 17 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Lopesan Baobab Resort for your recent stay in the south of Gran Canaria and also for let us know your opinion. In our daily improvement process the comments of our guests are one of the most important part for being able to continue fulfilling wishes and expectations and we apologize to hear that in your case we didn’t manage it. The comments about the complimentary services will be passed to the departments in charge. However, we would like to thank you because we love to read that you enjoyed your holidays. We would be pleased to welcome you again in a future holiday. Best regards, Public Relations Department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
67carl wrote a review Jul 2022
Leeds, United Kingdom25 contributions36 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here from 18th June to 2nd July 2022 and traveled with tui uk.
Check in was very quick as I was only one checking in as my plane had been delayed, after I did initial check in they sent me to get something to eat in the restaurant before it closed, much appreciated, I put my credit card on my room card which has a €280 deposit against your card which came on my app straight away but never showed in account , I don’t know if that’s normal as it’s the first time I’ve done it, when I left I paid my bill in cash and the deposit was ‘returned in full’ to the bank app.
My room was a large and spacious twin which had a large bathroom area, toilet and shower/bath have separate rooms, there’s a lot of wardrobe storage with a mini bar and a safe inside, the safe was free on my visit, you get pool towels in there to, the bathroom towels were changed regularly sometimes twice a day and the bedding on request, the beds were comfortable.
On arrival they ask you to book your meal times online through a link they send to your email, these can be changed at reception later.
The restaurant is well laid out and very clean, always staff cleaning tables and floors to make sure it was spotless, the food was very good, it did get a little repetitive after 2 weeks but that’s minor and on some occasions food were only warm instead of hot but I always enjoyed what I had.
The hotel does have a dark African theme but there is plenty of lighting at floor level and on a night it does have a very relaxing feel, the drinks I had in the hotel were more expensive than outside, water €2:50, large draught beer €4:50, coffees €2:50 but they were same price as I paid in the same resort at a different hotel 3-years ago so no complaints from me there, the service in the bar areas was very good and a good choice of drinks.
The pools spread out over a large area with plenty of sun beds with parasols and some shaded by palms, there’s busy pools and quieter ones, choice is yours, I mainly went to the beach which is about 15 minutes away by the faro lighthouse, if you go on the beach you have to pay for the beds and parasols by card NO CASH and they were only €2:50 each.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: High floors have good views of the dunes if you’re on the pool/garden side
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Departamento de Relaciones Públicas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lopesan Baobab Resort
Responded 15 Jul 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing us for your last visit to Gran Canaria. It gives us great satisfaction to know that you enjoyed your stay at Lopesan Baobab Resort. Thank you for sharing your experience with other holidaymakers and for your comments giving us ideas for our future. We hope that we will see you again at the hotel. Kind regards, Dept Public Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lindylou146 asked a question 18 May
Plymouth, United Kingdom1,217 contribution638 helpful votes
Do men have to wear long trousers at the evening meal?
Turner67 asked a question 18 May
41 contributions45 helpful votes
Is there a kettle in the room
jslbsa30 asked a question Apr 2024
London, United Kingdom72 contributions24 helpful votes
Hi do they have dairy free milk alternatives many thanks
Lindylou146 asked a question Apr 2024
Plymouth, United Kingdom1,217 contribution638 helpful votes
Can you charge to the room or is everything paid for in cash? There are conflicting comments on here.
Answer from Sharon P
Yes. We went and they would ask if we wanted it adding to our room each time but we paid card as we went rather than to our room.
Lindylou146 asked a question Mar 2024
Plymouth, United Kingdom1,217 contribution638 helpful votes
Are pool towels provided
Tony wrote a tip Yesterday
Broxburn, United Kingdom61 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pools are not heated at certain times of year so in summer months water is very cold! Best time to breakfast 830-900am it’s quieter."
Read full review
John Burridge wrote a tip 18 May
4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be honest with guests! If you are closing significant areas down warn us when booking. We would have stayed at Costa Melanoras if we had known"
Read full review
Sven H wrote a tip 14 May
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"May was great, not too busy and we don’t need to rush for a bed at the pool :)."
Read full review
Richard S wrote a tip 8 May
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Remove cheickh from front desk. Fix the pool tiles. And change the management in reception "
Read full review
Dave wrote a tip 4 May
Belfast, United Kingdom9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Private pool room is very good"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Meloneras area.
PRICE RANGE
£155 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lopesan baobab hotel maspalomas
LOCATION
SpainCanary IslandsGran CanariaMeloneras
NUMBER OF ROOMS
677
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LOPESAN BAOBAB RESORT - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Lopesan Baobab Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Lopesan Baobab Resort?
Nearby attractions include The Mint Company Luxe Meloneras (0.3 miles), Chester Meloneras Club & Lounge (0.1 miles), and The 19th Hole - Meloneras (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Lopesan Baobab Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Lopesan Baobab Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Lopesan Baobab Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Lopesan Baobab Resort?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lopesan Baobab Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Terraza by El Oasis, Restaurante Bandera Tapas y Copas, and The 19th Hole - Meloneras.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lopesan Baobab Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Lopesan Baobab Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Lopesan Baobab Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lopesan Baobab Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Lopesan Baobab Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Lopesan Baobab Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.
All Meloneras HotelsMeloneras Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MelonerasHotels near Lopesan Baobab Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire