We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Rowan Tree

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Truro
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Rowan Tree
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

14 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 12: English reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Brought my dad for a 90th birthday nostalgia trip to his old haunts in Cornwall from 65 years ago. Truro was a convenient day-trip base, and The Rowan Tree was a perfect find. Stunning view of the city cathedral; off-street parking; walkable to city centre (even at 90); lovely start-to-the-day cooked breakfast; and a really warm welcome and tips from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IanRG
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

We visited for work purposes. The owner seemed nice and helpful and we were offered the small bedroom for admittedly a very good price and were unfazed by the tiny size. However, the cleanliness of the 'B and B' was unsatisfactory. Everything needed a good clean. The bathroom, the sticky light switches and everything needed dusting. The curtains in our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile

Very comfortable bed and very quiet room with a beautiful view of the cathedral. You also have a space for your car which it is important especially in Truro,10 minutes walk from the town.Did not have breakfast as I did not have any time for that Will come back again definitely

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frederick T
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is a warm and welcoming B & B, just a short walk from the train station, although a longer walk into the centre of the town. The single room I stayed in was ideal, with a stunning night time view of the Cathedral The cooked breakfast was tasty, as was the home made toasted bread and marmalade. I stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BMathieson
Somerset, UK
Reviewed 26 June 2014

June 2014 The good points about this B/B is it's location with it's own parking area and it's superb view over Truro, which is especially good at night when the cathedral is illuminated. However, this needs to be weighed against it's bad points which are a very meagre breakfast plus a very low standard of basic cleanliness and hygiene e.g....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank wotersay
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Usually I and my girlfriend, when abroad, we prefer to maintain a medium-high budget to find clean and comfortable b&bs, but this time we drammatically failed. We were in Cornwall about a year and half ago but I have always been willing to leave a negative review of this place in order to avoid other guests to have the same...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank icedlin
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We have had a number of stays in this excellent B&B Christine is a model host and the rooms ,food and view is first class. It overlooks the Cathedral and is close but quiet with and easy city access make this lovely house a must if you are in Cornwall and Truro. It is within easy walking distance from rthe...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bernard M
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at The Rowan Tree. Very comfortable with great views and a warm welcome from Christine. Located just outside the city centre, close to great restaurants and shops. Guest house hospitality much appreciated after a long and tedious journey.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian W
WEST MOORS
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We returned for a THIRD successive year to enjoy the wonderful hospitality/location of this excellent B&B. Nothing was , as always, too much trouble for Christine and the flexibility of accesss was conducive to a super stay. Fortified by her breakfasts , of whatever size you require, we set off exploring Cornwall , to return tired and needing to relax...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JOHN C
Greater London
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Guest house conveniently situated between the train station and city. Spacious first floor bedroom with lovely bay window overlooking Truro with it's cathedral. Good value. Cleanliness could be improved. Victorian houses are notoriously difficult to heat but the radiator was not adjustable and only seemed to be luke warm. The weather was cold so unfortunately I never felt warm the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Holitrolli
rowantreetruro, Owner at The Rowan Tree, responded to this review

I was really sorry to read this reiview. In over 6 years of trading I have had nothing but praise from my guests who tell me how much they have enjoyed their stay. and I have some wonderful write ups in my Guest book. However I am really sorry that you were cold. I left the heating on all the...

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Truro hotels
0.4 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#2 of 6 in Truro
547 reviews
0.6 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#5 of 6 in Truro
411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#4 of 6 in Truro
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
750 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
The City Inn
#28 of 38 in Truro
5 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B at the Fieldings
B&B at the Fieldings
#32 of 38 in Truro
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Rowan Tree is a three star bed and breakast, situated in a quiet road with off street parking opposite the house. We are a few minutes walk from the railway station and about eight minutes walk to the centre of Truro.Our room is a twin ensuite with excellent views over the city. Full English, or continental, breakfast is served each morning in the dining room.Cyclists are welcome ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Rowan Tree

Address: 3 Parkvedras Terrace, Truro TR1 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Price Range: £55 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rowan Tree 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
The Rowan Tree Truro, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Rowan Tree staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“See if you can get a room with a City view”
 of 5 bubbles 413bernardm, 25 Dec 2013 | Read review
“call by telephone and book early”
 of 5 bubbles lennoxmac, 22 May 2011 | Read review
2 of 2