We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Alverton

Save
Share
Tregolls Road, Truro TR1 1ZQ England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Trip.com
US$237
View deal
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (578)
Dining (121)
Room & Suite (51)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 03/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Alverton
Updated 03/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 5 hotels in Truro
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Escape to the Cornish capital and indulge in laid-back luxury at The Alverton. Cocooned on the outskirts of Truro since 1830, wander up the winding driveway to discover a beautiful oasis, manicured gardens and a four-star hotel steeped in history. Once a Cornish convent, The Alverton has earned grade II listed status, and the stunning original features and breath-taking architecture are a sight to behold. In addition to the hotel’s gorgeous ivy-clad walls, verdant grounds and central location, The Alverton boasts an award-winning restaurant, The Great Hall - a breath-taking wedding and events venue, and 51 rooms that ooze tradition, comfort and romance, complete with uniquely original features and luxury furnishings. Explore the city, coast and countryside, before returning to The Alverton, where a warm welcome awaits at the hotel on the hill.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
1373Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 881
  • 307
  • 113
  • 51
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Martin F wrote a review 22 Sep
5 contributions
The Hotel was in a great location and it was easy to get to most locations both in town and the wider area. The breakfast offered was a good selection and was well presented. The room was spacious and the staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble..
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
JFMF0912 wrote a review 20 Sep
Worthing, United Kingdom61 contributions24 helpful votes
+1
My husband and I visited the hotel for a short break and stayed 3 nights in total. The hotel is well situated in Truro and easy to find and is a great base to visit many parts of Cornwall. We were made to feel very special from the moment we arrived by the staff who were all brilliant - they really are all fantastic. The trainee on reception whose name I didn’t catch was so helpful - our room wasn’t quite ready when we arrived so we settled into the bar for a drink. She came and found us with our room key as soon as it was ready and had already carried our bags to the room and then took us to show us where it was - she really didn’t need to do this but was so lovely. The bar and restaurant staff were all brilliant too - incredibly friendly and chatty and we were made to feel very welcome. Nothing was too much, and they were very very attentive. The hotel is set in lovely grounds and our room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. We ate breakfast in the hotel which was good quality, delicious and plentiful. We also had one meal in the restaurant which was delicious - I had a lovely rhubarb and custard dessert which was divine! We wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again and really recommend The Alverton and the wonderful staff - we came away feeling fully relaxed and thoroughly refreshed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Larissa Hardy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Alverton
Responded 1 week ago
Dear JFMF0912, Thank you for your wonderful review of your three night stay and beautiful photos. I'm pleased you were made to feel very welcome and looked after from the moment you arrived. I'm so proud of the team and the high level of customer service they continually deliver. I can't wait to share your feedback with the kitchen brigade. The photos look divine so I'm pleased your meals tasted just as good! The Alverton is the perfect base to explore Cornwall and we look forward to welcoming you again for another relaxing break. Best wishes Larissa Guest Relations Manager
Read more
MJH1 wrote a review 17 Sep
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom4456 contributions885 helpful votes
I’ve stayed at the alverton maybe half a dozen times over the last 2 years whilst down on business I think you will see my previous reviews have always been generally positive I like the hotel, I like the staff Not a great experience this trip though I normally stay in a superior room in the courtyard, before the summer I think I was paying high 2 hundreds? The hotel wanted 900 quid for 2 nights B&B. Not prepared to pay that. Instead I paid £330 a night (not much better) for the hottest and noisiest “classic” / standard rooms. I recall the first time I stayed I paid about £160 for such a room - albeit cooler and quieter I get it’s supply & demand and I get they’re trying to recoup income post Covid but it’s got to represent value for money?! Room 36 was a nightmare. Presentable enough, bathroom narrow but nice Cleaner had opened the windows when I’d arrived - they thought it hot clearly also Bed great BUT 0630 next morning deliveries start right below the window - even closed, as single glazed, it’s too noisy for sleep Had a polite moan about it that morning as I left for the farm. Also the reception said they’d get a fan taken in. That night - no fan, just as hot so windows open. The following morning, deliveries started at 0618….. knackered and grumpy which I think I made apparent on check out. I’ve also got to mention the evening dinners which I paid an extra 77 and 105 pounds for over the two nights. For one, with drinks Service friendly - but, and I’ve noticed this before, they struggle to align drinks service with the food, half way through a course before the wine comes out etc. Likewise I always feel rushed - on the last evening dinner, I was still eating my nibbles and drinking my gin when my starter same out - bit odd. Reckon my main came out within 90 seconds of finishing my starter. Yet you then have to chase drinks later in the bar. Food hit and miss too - first night, excellent entree (little fish cake and lemon dressing), steak seemed smaller than 6 oz? Next night the truffle tortellini was beyond al dente, the pasta was uncooked and chewy yet the sea trout was sublime So - in short, £882 for two tiring nights ain’t good value I’m down next week and have booked into another spot in Mitchell for half the price that a colleague stayed in on the same trip and has raved about Perhaps I’ll come back to the alverton but it needs to provide better value next time - sorry
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Avoid room 36
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Larissa Hardy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Alverton
Responded 1 week ago
Dear MJH1, It is always nice to welcome a returning guest and thank you for bringing your feedback to my attention. I wish you had spoken to a Duty Manager because had we known about this during your stay so we could have moved you to a quieter, cooler room if available. Fans are provided in all bedrooms so I'm sorry if there was not one in your room and one should have been brought to you shortly after you mentioned it to reception. Housekeeping have been leaving windows open as the covid guidelines recommend ventilation and it is nice to have them open on warmer days. I will pass your feedback regarding the food and service onto the Head Chef and Restaurant Supervisor so they can work together and give praise where necessary and make changes where needed to ensure we are delivering the best service and food at all times. The hotels rates do vary and when you stayed during the lockdowns as mention in your previous review the prices were naturally lower and when you visited in June you said we were keenly priced. Naturally the rates always increase in the high season and if you book directly with the hotel, as a returning guest you should receive incentives on arrival. I would really like to welcome you again and please email me mystay@thealverton.co.uk so we can discuss this further and make sure you are experiencing the best stay and service possible on your next visit. I look forward to hearing from you. Best wishes Larissa Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Slim91 wrote a review 15 Sep
Porthleven, United Kingdom19 contributions11 helpful votes
Just came back from the Alverton Hotel and let me tell you, what a great value. The rooms are spacious and well appointed while decorated tastefully. The staff couldn't do enough for us and our anniversary as even been acknowledge with a little treat, very nice detail. The restaurant is nothing short of brilliant. Unpretentious and casual while having a cool vibe. But the masterpiece is the staff. All very polite and helpful, with a smile on their face at all time. Will definitely be back and so should everyone wishing to go to Cornwall.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Larissa Hardy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Alverton
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Slim91, Thank you for your amazing review and for choosing to celebrate a special occasion at The Alverton. I'm so pleased you liked your spacious and tastefully decorated room and I'm pleased we were able to put a little treat in there to help you celebrate. "The restaurant is nothing short of brilliant" wow, I can't wait to share this with the restaurant and kitchen brigades who I know will be delighted to hear your kind words. I am so proud of the team and they continually go above and beyond and always have smiles on their faces. We look forward to welcoming you again. Best wishes Larissa Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Mike H wrote a review 15 Sep
1 contribution
Stayed 5 nights 7th to 12th September. Hotel very tired. Carpets dirty and frayed. Upholstery in the bar and Restaurant grubby. Not impressed with Menu. Poor breakfast. Although we booked in January, our friends were given a dog friendly room. Dog hairs on easy chairs and suspicious stains on carpet. They complained and were told no other rooms available. The only plus was that the staff were helpful and polite. I hope they were well rewarded.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Larissa Hardy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Alverton
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Mike H, Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff. I'm pleased they were helpful and polite and I'm so proud of the team. However, I must say I'm disappointed to read your review. I spoke to your friends after they checked in. There were no other rooms available so I reduced their room rate so they could continue to enjoy their stay. They were happy with this. Their room was not a dog friendly room and at no point did he mention to me dog hairs on the chairs so this is the first I have heard about this. He did ask for an additional chair to be brought up so I ensured this happened. We are also running a hotel and restaurant in a pandemic and unlike many business in Cornwall we still deliver a varied menu, are open 7 days a week for breakfasts, lunches and dinners whereas many restaurants in Cornwall have had to reduce their menus and close on certain days that's if they've been able to open at all with the staffing crisis in the hospitality industry. I hope you can understand that we are pleased with the menu we have been able to offer our guests this summer and we are hoping refurbishments will take place over the winter months. We relay on feedback from our guests so we can act upon it and make changes where necessary. The Hotel Manager is very active in the hotel and works full time so he would have been available to speak with you throughout your stay. I do think to set up a TripAdvisor account to write a review after I have spoken to the guests and refunded a substantial amount from his stay is a little unfair. Best wishes Larissa Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$119 - US$197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
alverton manor truro, hotel alverton manor
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Alverton Manor Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallTruro DistrictTruro
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Alverton
Which popular attractions are close to The Alverton?
Nearby attractions include Zafiros Bar (0.3 miles), Kazbah Truro (0.3 miles), and The Sanctuary (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Alverton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Alverton?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Alverton?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Alverton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chorley's Truro, Grounded, and The Rising Sun Pub.
Is The Alverton located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Truro.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Alverton?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Alverton?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Alverton offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Alverton?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tregothnan (2.7 miles).
Does The Alverton have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.