We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Canal Court Hotel & Spa

Traveller (226)
Room & Suite (77)
Dining (14)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The award winning 4* Canal Court Hotel & Spa nestled in the heart of Newry City and sits on the banks of Ireland's Oldest Manmade Canal. The Canal Court Hotel and Spa is a proud Irish hotel with an emphasis on service and tradition. The hotel boasts 112 bedrooms including a Penthouse Suite, Superior and Ambassador Suites along with family suites and standard bedrooms. All rooms have private safes & suites have Jacuzzi baths & mini bars with air conditioning in most rooms throughout the hotel. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available as well. The hotel boasts the award winning CC Spa with a full range of Spa / Beauty treatments available using the Germaine de Cappucini Product range. Along-side CC Spa is our Leisure Complex with a full 20m swimming pool studios and full gym with a full strength and conditioning area. The Granary Bar has numerous outlets to it including our Mezzanine Cocktail bar, our Gin Bar and our local Craft Beer Bar with live music every Friday, Saturday and Sunday (FREE Entry). For a more relaxing drink, we have the Merchants Bar with views over the Canal and fountains. For dining, you will never go hungry at the Canal Court Hotel with a number of dining options / outlets to choose from including our Old Mill Restaurant with a strong focus on local, Irish produce and fresh ingredients. The Old Mill is open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with an Early Bird served 7 days a week 5.30pm to 7pm. We also have the Granary Bar and Grill which serves our legendary Carvery 7 days a week from 12 noon and Bar Food served everyday from 3.30pm. We also serve traditional afternoon tea 7days a week - no booking required.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Electric Vehicle Charging Station
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
88Good for walkers
Grade: 88 out of 100
62Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
5Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1,154Reviews
264Photos
14Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 706
  • 286
  • 78
  • 48
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We wanted to get Netflix and as we couldn’t get it on the tv complained to reception. David duty manager was up in seconds and explained that because it the type of tv it wasn’t possible but something they were working on. Please Canal Court sort this out as staff, food and
Read more
Response from CanalCourtHotel, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Hello Westin186606 Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. In relation to accessing Netflix via our Televisions this is something we will consider moving forward. I will be sure to pass on your lovely feedback to David. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Patrick Mckerr
Read more
We went here Saturday night to see Bagatelle concert and was told by reception that doors would open at 8.30pm and band would start at 9pm but we sat from 8.15 till 10.15 before band arrived on stage, first we had a lady singer who I might say did not come on till 9.45pm, but
Read more
Response from CanalCourtHotel, Front Office Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Good Afternoon, We have had very positive feedback from the Bagatelle concert and am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your evening with us. As a general practise we do not restrict dancing at our concerts and apologise the dancing restricted your view. In relation to the other matters you have mentioned I would ask you to contact myself directly at the hotel when I would be happy to discuss them further. I look forward to hearing from you, Regards Louise.
Read more
This place definitely deserves its 4 stars. Lovely decor and atmosphere throughout. Excellent breakfast & lovely staff. I only wish I could stay longer. You get all the extras included which is really nice! Robe and slippers, gourmet buscuits, sparkling/still water in fridge,
Read more
Response from CanalCourtHotel, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Helene, Thank you for taking the time to post an excellent review and we are delighted that you had enjoyed your time with us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Patrick Mckerr
Read more
We stayed here at Christmas. It is a very busy hotel however check in was very quick. We had a standard room which was fine. The bed was ok but the mattress was on the hard side and the pillows were not great. We could hear people talkin G in the other rooms around us so the
Read more
Response from CanalCourtHotel, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Travelseeker2014 Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience. Whilst we are delighted to read that you found the check in very quick and that you had an enjoyable breakfast the following morning we are disappointed that you found your room average as all our bedrooms have been recently refurbished to the highest standards. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Patrick Mckerr
Read more
This was our first ever visit to the Canal Court and we will definitely return. Spotlessly clean, friendly and efficient staff, superb spa and leisure facilities and great location. Only negative was being told by a member of staff that it depends on who is on duty as to whether
Read more
Response from CanalCourtHotel, Front Office Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Many thanks for your lovely review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay & look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. In regard to the issue of the cocktail many thanks for bringing the matter to our attention. Can you please forward me your contact details via email to lyoung@canalcourthotel.com and I will follow up and be in contact? Many thanks Louise Young
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementCanal Court Hotel & Spa
Night View
Slippers!
Bathroom
The bathroom
Bathroom in Ambassador Suite
PreviousNext
12345616
Yes breakfast is included in the price. It is not when it says room only. The breakfast was included when we stayed and was of good quality, choice and you could have extra portions if you wished. Highly recommend this hotel.
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi there fellow traveler, sorry i never had a chance to visit other pubs but i do know that there are quite a few nice looking pubs in the town center you should find something or the Canal Court shows the footie. Good Luck and i hope that you enjoy Newry!
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi , it depends which country is your credit card. If you are euro is always better to pay in the local currency. They try many times to tell you do you want to pay in euros, we have a good rate, NO. Is not true. They take lot more in your currency then in their one. This is credit card concern. If you pay cash just check what is the best rate of exchange from your country, and have a look in few of your banks or buero of exchange.. pay attention to the northern irish pound. It is completely legal , but in England in many places not accepted. Enjoy your holiday
1 vote
Show all answers
No idea but if u rang them they could tell you!
0 votes
Show all answers
Yes there is parking at the hotel at the back but limited. There is a tunnel entrance sharp left off keys as you approach hotel, if full there is free parking at shops further back.
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123
"MIne was 325 overlooking the river, high enough away from bars downstairs and also away from lift etc"
"front rooms offer a great view of the canal"
"Odd numbered rooms have a canal view (i.e 107, 109 etc)."
"Ensure there is Air Conditioning as the noise outside is very loud"
"Request a room in the back of hotel--quieter and these rooms tend to have AC"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$141 - US$218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
canal court newryhotel canal courtcanal court hotel newry
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Canal Court Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomNorthern IrelandNewry
NUMBER OF ROOMS
112
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing