Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Falcon Hotel and Restaurant

111 Lammas Street, Carmarthen SA31 3AP Wales
Traveller (37)
Dining (10)
Room & Suite (8)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, 29 Feb
No prepayment needed
£120
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 7 hotels in Carmarthen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Located in the heart of Carmarthen, the historical Falcon Hotel has been the hotel of choice for visitors to this bustling market town for generations. For the past 50 years the hotel has been run by the Exton family. With 16 beautiful en-suite bedrooms, a talented team of chefs creating delicious dining, and impressive customer service, it is easy to see to why guests keep coming back time and again to this proud independent hotel. Here you can relax and take advantage of that good old fashioned hospitality that is so difficult to find these days. From the moment you enter you are made to feel at home and nothing is too much trouble for the friendly and attentive staff.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
319Reviews2Q+A51Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 175
  • 89
  • 28
  • 17
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Welshwitch1944 wrote a review Feb 2020
Pembroke, United Kingdom39 contributions32 helpful votes
The Falcon Inn is conveniently situated in Carmarthen next to a car park although you have to pay. There are a number of disabled places available. There is a flat walk into The Falcon and the restaurant is disabled friendly. We had an excellent lunch in the front dining room with a nice fire . I had the fish and crab gratin and liver and bacon which was terrific and my wife had the pork which she thoroughly enjoyed. All the staff were friendly and the service matched the food. Would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ex17, Guest Relations Manager at Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
Responded 11 Feb 2020
Thankyou for your kind review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
heather0012016 wrote a review Jun 2021
Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom58 contributions21 helpful votes
We stayed for one night and had delicious dinner chosen from extensive menu with interesting and unusual options. Freshly cooked great breakfast. Our room was very clean, with tea/coffee making facilities, individual tubes of shampoo and shower wash, etc, small but everything we wanted. There was a bit of singing and shouting in the side street in the early hours but not for too long, Service excellent, notably Thomas. Best: food and service, characterful building. Worst: Max 4 free parking spaces, partly used by management, otherwise pay and display.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Narrow stairs so elderly ? avoid 2nd floor. If you don't mind havig shower or bath tub, maybe...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John Robert Exton, Owner at Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
Responded 16 Jun 2021
Thankyou for your kind review.The pay and display car park offers free parking from 6pm to 8 am.It also offers the facility to pre pay after 6pm .This allocated charge carries on from 8am.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Raymond C wrote a review Nov 2022
13 contributions9 helpful votes
The room we stayed in was well equipped, had a comfy bed, was well heated, and had a bath, often a rarity these days.

Dinner was very good with several homemade dishes to choose from. Breakfast was equally as enjoyable.

Prices were reasonable, but above all the owners and staff provided a first class service. No matter how good or bad the food and facilities are, if the service is poor it's a "thumbs down" for me. The Falcon was a"thumbs up" and when we return to Carmarthen we hope to stay here again.

Raymond Caley
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry B wrote a review Sept 2021
Crowthorne, United Kingdom151 contributions63 helpful votes
The Staff are super friendly and helpful and the food we had was good. Our stay a was joined by a very noisy group of fellow neighbours ( guys who looked liked builders working locally) - noisy in the corridors and late at night.A double room was small with an even smaller toilet and shower room…view from the window was a brick wall. My main gripe was ‘value for money’ was very poor. £100 per room per night was pricey… 2 of us staying 2 rooms for 2 nights + 1 evening dinner for 2 = in excess of £500. Location of hotel is central to the town with parking for 3 cars at the back
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
540Rupert wrote a review Mar 2020
Carmarthen, United Kingdom170 contributions79 helpful votes
A year ago I praised one hotel and was critical of another nearby. Now, a complete turn around. Whereas the Rose & Crown has slid downhill its near neighbour the Falcon has jumped in about every category. Our food was excellent; the young girls serving were so polite and helpful, while the price of the set menu was a bargain. We had a Sunday lunch: the meat was cooked perfectly; the vegetables were just as we liked while the rest of our food was as near perfect as you could have wished. Well done.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John Robert Exton, Owner at Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
Responded 9 Mar 2020
Many thanks for your kind review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen T wrote a review Jun 2021
4 contributions
We eagerly booked this accommodation for a 4 night stay. We had stayed at a beautiful hotel on our trip down to Pembrokeshire and were looking forward to a lovely stay at this B&B. When we arrived we were shown into the property via the rear door. The walkway was shabby and narrow, we passed the kitchen area which looked a little concerning. We were immediately asked to choose our breakfast for the following morning before we were given the key for our room. Considering that this is a restaurant I really did not understand the reason for this. When we did get to our room it was found to be very dark and dingy looking. We booked a superior room with a luxury Hypnos bed. This was totally untrue as the bedroom was small, claustrophobic and definitely did not have a Hypnos bed. We were so upset and horrified that we were booked to stay here for 4 nights. I will say that the management were helpful when we complained, they did offer an alternative room but found this to be the same as the first room. We decided that we could not possibly stay in this B&B, the management agreed to refund us in total and understood that we were not happy to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Falcon Hotel Management, Owner at Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
Responded 28 Jun 2021
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review, we take on board all comments and are proactive to resolve any issues within our control. Firstly I must highlight that you were taken through the rear trades entrance to save coming round to the front of the hotel and the main entrance due to the amount of luggage you had thinking that this was being helpful. The trade entrance walkway is of standard width but far from shabby and is well maintained as is the rest of the hotel. The kitchen which is not fully visible on your way through has been through vigorous external inspections and we maintain a 5* food hygiene rating and has done since introduced in 2010. We are sorry that the room was not to your liking and as you mentioned in your review we did offer an alternative, unfortunately we are not a modular hotel we a 100 year old building with character which has been tastefully converted. Due to pressures of COVID which many people are sympathetic and aware off we have asked our residents to let us know what time they require breakfast and to pre-order. This is for the for the safety of our staff and customers, we do not offer a breakfast buffet service our breakfasts are all freshly made to order . We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around the uk and have a safe trip back to the USA.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jackiedmazda2 wrote a review Jul 2021
Grimsby, United Kingdom44 contributions21 helpful votes
My husband and I visited Falcon Hotel for a week, was very pleased with room we booked superior room was worth the extra (was t much more than standard room) Staff was very welcoming very helpful booked breakfast and chose time in this pandemic can understand and except these rules. Good location is free parking but limited. Food is really good, good choice, the staff are very good could not do enough for you, we found this every where we went. Supplies of tea coffee and toiletries in room hair dryer change towels daily if needed, can have room cleaned if desired again in this pandemic only when requested but not a probem
.We will be returning thank you to all the staff at Falcon Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Falcon Hotel Management, Owner at Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
Responded 6 Jul 2021
Thankyou for your positive review.We are fortunate to have dedicated staff who aim to please.We look forward to welcome you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carolyn J wrote a review Oct 2023
Manchester, United Kingdom87 contributions18 helpful votes
We had lots of time to spare in Carmarthen and wanted lunch but it was after 2.0pm so we were not sure whether anywhere would be open. However we were welcomed by the restaurant staff and they gave us a lovely meal, beautifully presented, and assured us we could stay as long as we wanted. The ambience was delightful with low music that was in no way intrusive, flowers on a spotless white tablecloth and quiet clientele. My liver and mash was perfect, with a side dish of creamy, fluffy potato sprinkled with herbs. My husband had a beautifully presented pate, very generous, with three crusty slices of toast. We had a very pleasant afternoon enjoying our lunch and a glass of wine. I cannot fault the staff and their kindness and the food was excellent. Definitely recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HelenBJLlandovery wrote a review Jun 2021
Llandovery74 contributions30 helpful votes
We were delighted with our first visit, we enjoyed beautifully prepared & presented food & caring, attentive staff. We were delighted to find our second visit reinforced our initial positive dining experience. In addition, car parking alongside is very helpful for those with mobility problems. Confident to recommend delicious food and warm welcome.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John Robert Exton, Owner at Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
Responded 24 Jun 2021
Many thanks for your positive review.We are supported by our dedicated staff and look forward to seeing you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eliza J wrote a review Aug 2020
Norwich26 contributions19 helpful votes
We booked last minute we know our room was a standard room, but we were so disappointed with it, scrapped wallpaper, mouldy filler in the bathroom. Walls didn’t look that clean needed redecorating, Just the basics in maintenance.

Also a large gathering of a party last night the music kept me awake. There was so many people no social distancing. So was a Covid concern for me.

When we checked in, we wasn’t asked if we wanted dinner and when we checked out wasn’t asked if we enjoyed our stay.

I know it’s peak time but £90 is so much to ask for that room. I raised my concerns with management that they said that they charged that last year and have to pay booking.com commission.

We did a road trip Around wales and stayed in several Hotels in budget rooms but the others were all lovely rooms. And well maintained and decorated. Also our window faced the high street and it seemed to attracted drunks lots of shouting late at night and early in the morning.

The good things were lovely white crisp sheets, breakfast and waitress was friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jacquelinebamburgh asked a question Jan 2019
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom31 contributions3 helpful votes
Are you dog friendly?
Answer from Jillexton
Carmarthen10 contributions4 helpful votes
Sorry.We have no facilities for dogs.
Hugh E asked a question Feb 2015
Reading, United Kingdom41 contributions46 helpful votes
Is it possible to reserve a parking space for night of 13th June?
Answer from Jillexton
Carmarthen10 contributions4 helpful votes
We have limited parking at the rear of the hotel.Please contact the hotel direct.
Stephen W wrote a tip Yesterday
9 contributions
"Do not book room 4"
Read full review
Christine D wrote a tip 14 Feb
Carmarthen, United Kingdom3 contributions3 helpful votes
"Hotel situated in the centre of the town, close to shops, restaurants and other facilities. Plenty of places to visit in the surrounding ar."
Read full review
Christopher Samuel wrote a tip Nov 2023
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom1 contribution
"The restaurant at the Falcon Hotel is usually busy, it is best to book."
Read full review
Susieetal wrote a tip Sept 2023
Somerset54 contributions44 helpful votes
"Definitely try the Sunday lunch menu 👍"
Read full review
Euros J wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution
"Book early so not to be dissapointed."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Carmarthen area.
PRICE RANGE
£109 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesCarmarthenshireCarmarthen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FALCON HOTEL AND RESTAURANT - Updated 2024 (Carmarthen)

Frequently Asked Questions about Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
Which popular attractions are close to Falcon Hotel and Restaurant?
Nearby attractions include Laser Station Carmarthen (0.3 miles), Carmarthen Market (0.1 miles), and Carmarthen Castle (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Falcon Hotel and Restaurant?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Falcon Hotel and Restaurant?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Falcon Hotel and Restaurant?
Yes, paid public parking on-site and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Falcon Hotel and Restaurant?
Conveniently located restaurants include The New Curiosity, Tea Traders, and The Warren.
Is Falcon Hotel and Restaurant located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Carmarthen.
Does Falcon Hotel and Restaurant offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.