We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Old Priory Guest House

Save
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carmarthen
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 60: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Booked this B&B for the price. Got to be honest. Checked in and thought I was transported back to the early 1980's .... Saying that the room was just lovely, nice and warm, clean and bright.. The bed very comfortable. And the wifi excellent. Bath and shower superb.. A lovely B&B for peace and quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fionasneesby
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Not stayed here as we live round the corner but have visited a couple of times just for food. Lovely home cooked meals with large portions and the staff have always been polite. Reasonable prices too.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maree t
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is a good budget hotel, its not the ritz, but overall I felt the visit was good for me. The rooms felt comfortable and relaxing, and wifi was not a problem in the bedroom. The toilet/shower locations are at the end of the corridors. Breakfast was well cooked, but tinned plum tomato's did nothing but make the taste...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank desmond_thomas1
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the restaurant for a Birthday celebration. The staff who served us was friendly and welcoming. The food however was disappointing, the rice was full of water, the chicken curry appeared to be out of a tin!! The plaice was hard. The mushroom stroganoff was awful. We didnt want to complain and ruin the birthday party, however when the bill...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeanettehughes
Phillip C, Owner at Old Priory Guest House, responded to this review

I do apologise that you did not enjoy your meal at the Old Priory. You did make us aware that you were unhappy with your mushroom stroganoff when paying for your meal, although the waitress did notice that there was only a small spoon full left on the plate. As for the chicken curry, it contains the meat of half...

Brecon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We were cycling The Celtic Trail from Fishguard to Swansea and spent our third night at The Old Priory. We were welcomed and given a place to store our bikes though not shown to our room. The room was satisfactory, very clean and had a small shower room and toilet next door. We slept well and the beds were comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank robrees2016
Bala, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

First impressions clean and friendly. However didn't stay the first night to confirm this as carted off to Glangwili Hospital with mini stroke. Couldn't have had a most concerned staff and manager. Returned Saturday to a lower access room arranged by my sister-in-law, only to sleep soundly and safely. The only shower I made was the super one at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Siouxh28
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Second visit in the last 8 months for my wife and friends , I live away and on returning to my home town I suggested we went for a meal here .knowing that the quality of the food and the friendly reception we would have from the staff would not be matched in Carmarthen ,and not surprisingly we weren't let...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aubrey E
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Old Priory is a lovely b&b which offers exceptional value for money and top levels of hospitality. there are plenty of rooms which are spotlessly clean and the owners couldn't possibly make you feel more welcome. The bar is keenly priced and the surprising thing is one of the best restraunts in Carmarthen offering traditional british food like Steak, Fish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edward W
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2016

I stayed at the Old Priory for four weeks while working away from home. The staff were so lovely and friendly and were extremely accommodating. The room was a good size (with a lovely view), the bed was comfortable and it was always clean. The room had free wi-fi which was reliable and very fast. The lounge and dining area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank san899
Menai Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2016

After staying in this period bed and breakfast you will not have room to complain , every care is taken to make you feel welcome and comfortable, you only have to ask Phil or one of his family for anything, if they can do it they will. The rooms are comfortable and clean with wifi, as for the meals I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave-Penny-M3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Old Priory Guest House

Address: 20 Priory Street, Carmarthen SA31 1NE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Old Priory Guest House Carmarthen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Priory Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Old Priory Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?