Rose and Crown Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Rose and Crown Hotel

Traveller (26)
Room 6 'Paxtons'
Room & Suite (86)
Top draw veggie breakfast
Dining (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
£90
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
£90
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#3 of 7 hotels in Carmarthen
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Rose and Crown Hotel offers 10 en-suite bedrooms on a bed & breakfast tariff. This former coaching inn, in the centre of Carmarthen, underwent major renovation in 2005. All rooms are fully refurbished & decorated in a modern style. There is a choice of double twin and family rooms, all with wifi, sky tv, dvd, radio, tea and coffee making facilities. Our busy bar and restaurant provide quality ales and premium lagers, serving prime welsh steak, fish and seafood, quality local produce, and luscious desserts.We are a comfortable 40 minutes drive from the ferry port of Pembroke Dock, and about 50 minutes from Fishguard.We are easy to find. Parking is plentiful- there are large car parks within 50 yards, and coach parking close by. Just follow signs for the town centre.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Languages Spoken
English

Location

117 Lammas Street, Carmarthen SA31 3AE Wales
194Reviews1Q+A33Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 83
  • 52
  • 29
  • 17
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Daniel P wrote a review Dec 2022
Carmarthen, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I've stayed in many different hotels over the last few years while covering in different stores for work and this hotel is hands down my favourite and has now set the standard for other hotels (in my opinion).

I had to stay across 3 weeks (travelling home for a few days and then returning) and each time I returned the staff were friendly and took a genuine interest in what I did for work. The rooms themselves were well maintained, cleaned daily and had a nice cosy feel to them.

Admittedly when you stayed in the rooms on the second floor (Rooms 5-8) you didn't get as much street noise or bar noise as you do when staying on first floor. Though when I did stay on the first floor I was still able to sleep through most of the noise and even have a nap if I got back early enough for one.

The bar downstairs had a nice atmosphere even when they were very busy and the restaurant food was absolutely fantastic. Admittedly you could go elsewhere for something cheaper but you would lose out on the quality of the meal they provide.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Carmarthen. I enjoyed my stay each week and cannot thank the wonderful staff enough for making it such an enjoyable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RogerM9000 wrote a review Aug 2021
Bristol, United Kingdom83 contributions27 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Pub/Hotel is in the middle of Carmarthen and easy to find on the Sat Nav. The staff were very welcoming and =showed id to our room number 1 which was quite large and very clean and tidy. All facilities were there including a very small TV high up on the wall opposite the bed.
The bathroom was well laid out and had a vet good shower, although the light switch was outside the bathroom which caused a bit of a problem if you wanted to switch it on in the dead of night. The main bedroom light had a glow when switched off at night which made it very comfortable, something I had not seen before and a good feature. Tea. Coffee and biscuits were available and update by room service. Great!

Breakfast was served in the dining area and there was plenty of choice. The bacon was a joy to eat. The coffee was excellent, freshly ground and a good strength although a second cup was not offered.

We had dinner there on both nights that we satay and again, the choice, a bit pub foody, was plentiful, with good starters, main courses that certainly pleased me, and a large choice of sweets. My choices were very good and well survived. My wife as disappointed in the sweet she selected, but that was the only problem we had. We drank beer from the bar which was very good and my wife had some bubbly one evening and lager the following.
The service was very good and Olwain, the waiter/barman was particularly attentive and helpful, but all the staff were willing and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Linda D wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Met a friend in the Rose and Crown for breakfast, we both enjoyed a small or “Mini” cooked breakfast as the menu described it. Very good quality and tasty. Coffee was delicious and the staff were very helpful and attentive.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jessica Page, General Manager at Rose and Crown Hotel
Responded 10 Aug 2021
We are very glad to see you enjoyed our Breakfast and Coffee's and we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emily K wrote a review Oct 2020
Llanelli, United Kingdom75 contributions35 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was adequate like a “cottage” hard to spend more than 1 night as it feels claustrophobic, £75 for a “deluxe” room which was just 2 single beds pushed together and one was higher than the other and the mattresses split apart so we may as well of booked a twin and no bath even in the deluxe. Paid for a traditional breakfast and asked without “beans, mushroom and tomato” the lady asked “would you like anything to substitute” so I asked for an extra piece of bacon which I then got CHARGED for even though they offered. We also heard a waitress talking about my partner in a bad way when he asked for a certain coffee so we decided to get up and leave. Lovely food and the male who worked the evenings checking us in and serving us was outstanding!! Praise for customer service like him. No parking. And not nice having to walk through the bar to the hotel, no separate entrance and if you’re up early the bar has NO lights so you have to use your torch/phone to get to the doors, if you didn’t have a phone you’d be screwed. Lovely housekeeping staff and very polite and kept the room immaculate during our stay
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
J4cq1 wrote a review Sept 2021
Mansfield, United Kingdom63 contributions57 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely old revamped coaching inn type pub/restaurant/hotel. Staff very helpful & friendly & nice breakfast & evening meal menu with “specials board”. Food was very good & chips best I’ve ever had! Comfortable, immaculately clean rooms & bathrooms with replenished tea/coffee & toiletries each day. Central, for walking access to shops & places to eat.
Downside, no parking & public car park next door needs a new ticket by 8am after free parking finishes.
Rooms on the front as was ours, can be noisy. It was very hot & essential to open the window, but outside evening drinkers & morning traffic can be noisy.
No croissants (on the breakfast menu) were available during our 3 night stay & breakfast service could be a bit slow if you were in a hurry.
All in all, a very enjoyable & relaxed stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: No lift, so disabled guests would not manage stairs to rooms. No on site parking (Public Car Park...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew D wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel was absolutely brilliant, staff all warm and friendly and manager helped no end sorting out an issue caused by booking.com at beginning of our stay. Rooms very modern and fresh would definately return
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracy G wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We attended as a party of five for a meal. We were surprised that it was so quiet but now realise that word of the dreadful food must have spread!
We had an extremely long and unacceptable wait. The king prawn scampi was tasteless overcooked oily and inedible. Battered fish was greasy, the burger was cold, the chicken schnitzel was edible but bland, dry and tasteless.. The order of chicken curry and rice was mistakenly served with chips. Moving on to the chips which were advertised as triple cooked. I strongly suspect they weren't as they were tasteless and only just Cooked in the centre. We mentioned this to the staff who to their credit were very polite and apologetic. The cost of our drinks was deducted from the bill but I'm afraid 3 Soft drinks and 2 pints does not in any way make up for the huge disappointment. Our meals cost a total of £85 and we left feeling hungry and a great deal poorer! We most certainly will not be returning and would advise others to go elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jessica Page, General Manager at Rose and Crown Hotel
Responded 3 Jun 2021
We are extremely sorry that you had such a poor quality meal at our restaurant. We pride ourselves on providing excellent service and top quality food and we have obviously failed at at least one of those aims. In all honesty we are experiencing staff changes and shortages after lockdown which is the reason your experience was so poor. It is not acceptable and we are in the process of resolving this issue.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Villa Titrit wrote a review Aug 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom18 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent … from the first check in, staff went over and above and even came out to assist with the quirky pay and display car parking ! Great bar service with a Selection of welsh craft ales. Food was not just beautifully cooked and well presented but delicious and plentiful . Our room was luxurious with great mattresses and coffee and tea making facilities and was beautifully decorated with photos of local landscape. Tv reception very good too. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ciara M wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We ate here late afternoon on Sunday, service was slow considering the place was almost empty but friendly staff. No Sunday lunch menu so we all had the pie of the day which was very full and tasty. Charged £2.50 for one slice of bread and butter but the waitress corrected this to 50p with no hesitation. Quality fine for the price
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lesley W wrote a review Jul 2021
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom36 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely stay at The Rose and Crown Inn. Nice room. Clean amd tidy with nice furnishings. Our bed was enormous. Surprisingly quiet. Breakfast was very good. Would recommend when visiting Camarthan. The staff were great. The only issue we had was parking. There is parking in surrounding streets but ensure you have pound coins as card options don't work!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jessica Page, General Manager at Rose and Crown Hotel
Responded 10 Aug 2021
Hi Lesley, Thank you for the feedback, it really makes our day to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay. We hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ruth W asked a question Jan 2019
Abergwili, United Kingdom16 contributions20 helpful votes
Do they have draught Guinnes?
Answer from Rose & Crown
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Yes we do serve draught Guiness.
alfred p wrote a tip 7 May
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"perfect"
Read full review
DwrDeep wrote a tip Oct 2023
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't let the smiling pleasantries fool you."
Read full review
rokka b wrote a tip Jun 2023
County Durham, United Kingdom26 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No parking at the hotel but public car park is a few steps away, daytime parking is for a maximum of 4 hours but free after 6pm."
Read full review
Daniel G wrote a tip May 2023
Walsall, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Towels and shower gels are provided and although we weren’t out late we were told to ring the bell if closed & someone would answer."
Read full review
Jpe wrote a tip Apr 2023
South Wales, United Kingdom22 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We were in one of the back rooms. Potentially noisy on weekends in the front rooms?"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Carmarthen area.
PRICE RANGE
£76 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesCarmarthenshireCarmarthen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ROSE AND CROWN HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Rose and Crown Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Rose and Crown Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Laser Station Carmarthen (0.3 miles), Carmarthen Market (0.09 miles), and The Plume of feathers (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Rose and Crown Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Rose and Crown Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Rose and Crown Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The New Curiosity, Tea Traders, and Cinnamon Indian Cuisine.
Is Rose and Crown Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Carmarthen.
Are there any historical sites close to Rose and Crown Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Skanda Vale (7.5 miles).
All Carmarthen HotelsCarmarthen Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CarmarthenHotels near Rose and Crown Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire