We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Glenavon House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Glenavon House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

344 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 340: English reviews
Start your review of Glenavon House Hotel
 Click to rate
County Donegal, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

we were back at glenavon house hotel again in the summer for a few days and also at christmas for a great santa visit. we get the same warm welcome each and every time we stay here . the girls at the front desk are so nice , they take so much time for our children . they go above...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacqueline g
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went for early bird men gammon potatoes was nice but could have put some veg on plate at least if you order extra veg out have to pay for it I did not have any at all the sweet was nice but will try some where else next time

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 462edna
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the check in form, through the corridors to the rooms and on a little sign on the dressing table, don't let it be said that they don't warn you that if they find you drinking alcohol that has not been purchased in the hotel, it's gonna cost you. The room could almost be called grand or traditional, but I'm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thetotalpackage
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear thetotalpackage Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay in room 17. I was disappointed to hear that the room was cold and took too long to warm up - reception could have directed you to the guest controls immediately had they have been aware that the room was cold.As you have pointed...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Exceptional hotel. Usually we stay at Greenvale hotel but so glad we branched out on this trip. This was a far superior experience from the minute we arrived in the taxi. Unbelievably great service from every member of staff we encountered, especially a strapping young man named Peter. Great job everyone, there's no question we'll be back next time we're...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fíonn M
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fionn M Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. I will make sure you kind compliments are passed onto the staff particularly Peter! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Paula Wilson

Tyrone
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped off and never booked(Sunday). We had coffee while we waited for the restaurant to open at 5pm and the staff and service was excellent as usual. I have never been disappointed in this hotel. They have refurbished it recently and it is gorgeous. I would recommend it for everything including weddings

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moke
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Moke, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your most recent visit. Your kind compliments about both the staff and our recent refurbishment are much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Paula Wilson

Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

My two sisters, a friend and myself all stayed for a Christmas evening dinner/dance at the hotel including breakfast the next morning on the 16th December 2016. As the song says "Oh what a night" !!! It was fantastic!! Fantastic food, fantastic music, fantastic atmosphere and fantastic company!!!! This hotel is brilliant. The rooms are are off a very high...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teddybear01
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear teddybear01 Thank you for reviewing the hotel after a recent stay - your kind words are much appreciated by all the staff especially after such a busy Christmas and New Year period - it's good to know that our efforts were worth it! We look forward to welcoming you back again at some time in the future. Kind regards...

Craigavon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed as part of the Santa's magical forest package and had a wonderful experience from start to finish. Due to our late arrival we were a little pushed for time but the restaurant staff were excellent and ensured we were served a delicious meal within our short time frame. When we returned from the forest a room was set...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bima76
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bima76 Thank you very much for your very kind comments following your recent stay for Santa's magical forest package. We are delighted that both adults and children alike enjoyed the event! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and appreciate the time taken to complete your review. Kidn regards Paula Wilson

Swindon
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

As we were visiting family in Cookstown it made sense to book into the Glenavon using the two night deal. From start to finish it was a great experience, beautiful grounds and setting. The building looks really striking from arrival. Staff couldn't do anymore to please you... Swimming pool/ sauna facilities fantastic and great to use. Can't wait to come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barbiegrlSwindon
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear barbiegrlSwindon Thank you for taking the time especially over this busy festive season to review the hotel following your recent stay! We were delighted that you enjoyed our hospitality and facilities and look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the near future. With warm wishes for a very Happy New Year! Kind regards Paula Wilson

Omagh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016

The downstairs dining facilities in the hotel have remained unchanged for many years and this is evidenced by the generally grubbiness of the surroundings, the poor quality of the lighting and the aged decor. The staff were friendly and efficient. However, the food was quite poor but it was relatively cheap. It was served quickly. Not the first time I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OPB58
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear OPB58 We were very disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction following your recent visit to the hotel. We were unaware of any customer complaints during any recent lunchtime service but would have been more than happy to rectify your complaint had it have been brought to our attention. The Cellar, as the name suggests, is for the most part...

Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night , rooms spacious and clean with helpful staff. Only one small complaint is that there was a private party on and the music was very loud in the rooms but it did finish at 01.30, overall a pleasant stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tony M Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. We were delighted to hear that you were pleased with everything. Wishing you a very Happy Christmas and New Year. Kind regards Paula Wilson

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cookstown
2.9 mi away
Tullylagan Country House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greenvale Hotel
Greenvale Hotel
#3 of 10 in Cookstown
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
29 reviews
21.9 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
642 reviews
22.0 mi away
The Silverbirch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
62 bedroom hotel with Leisure facilities located on the banks of the Ballinderry River. Extensive conference, dining and banqueting facilities also available. Complimentary use of Club Riviera with swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room sauna and fitness suite during guest' stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glenavon House Hotel

Address: 52 Drum Road, Cookstown BT80 8QS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Cookstown
Price Range: £79 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenavon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Glenavon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenavon Hotel Cookstown
Glenavon House Hotel Cookstown, Northern Ireland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Glenavon House Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Glenavon House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“just ask and the girls will help in any way they can”
 of 5 bubbles jacquelineg601, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't know”
 of 5 bubbles 462edna, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one of the new rooms”
 of 5 bubbles thetotalpackage, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“quiet area in the out skirts of the town and no noise to annoy anyone. Lovely staff”
 of 5 bubbles Moke, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent as I have previously found out”
 of 5 bubbles Moke, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5