Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel

Alexandra Pier Rodgers Quay, Carrickfergus BT38 8BE Northern Ireland
Traveller (93)
Premier Inn bedroom
Room & Suite (28)
Premier Inn Carrickfergus hotel
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 2 hotels in Carrickfergus
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Stunning coastline, gorgeous countryside and a thriving, historic town... there's loads to see and do at the Premier Inn Hotel Carrickfergus. In fact with so much to do within a mile of the front door - plus popular business destinations only slightly further away - your first visit is unlikely to be your last. Step back in time at Carrickfergus Castle and Museum, before stepping out to its Marina and smartly refurbished Amphitheatre leisure centre. And, if it's the right time of year, follow the steps at the Annual Irish Dancing Championships. Either way, kick back at our tasty Brewers Fayre restaurant before diving into your incredibly comfy bed.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Fishing
Indoor play area for children
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located

Location

Alexandra Pier Rodgers Quay, Carrickfergus BT38 8BE Northern Ireland
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 81 out of 100
81
Belfast Intl Airport
17.1 mi
See all flights
Belfast City Airport
953Reviews15Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 601
  • 230
  • 69
  • 28
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lorraine R wrote a review Dec 2023
2 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 4 nights over Christmas while visiting our daughter. Usual Premier Inn standard - comfy bed, pillows & bedding. Spotless room & bathroom. Very pleasant staff. If I had any slightly negative comment it was that the windows were a wee bit draughty but this did not detract from our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jacki51 wrote a review Aug 2020
Cambridge, United Kingdom151 contributions97 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a staycation in Northern Ireland and spend the first three nights at The Carrickferus Premier Inn, initially booked as it was half-way between The Gobbins and Belfast; however, unfortunately The Gobbins was not open at the time of our visit. This Premier Inn is in a lovely location overlooking the harbour and the castle (closed also), although the view is somewhat marred by the Kilroot power station on the other side of the bay. The beds were comfortable, as always, and the reception staff very helpful. It was a short drive into Belfast and also on the Causeway Coastal Route making it ideally situated for days out. There is free parking and an attached Brewers Fayre where we had a cooked breakfast each morning (table service only, no buffet due to COVID). It was also open for drinks in the afternoon and for evening meals.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pathfinder82162 wrote a review Jun 2021
Lisburn, United Kingdom3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is ideally situated in a quiet location between the harbour and marina, in close proximity to a supermarket and eateries. Staff were both friendly and efficient. Our room was clean and comfortable, with a decent-sized TV.
Minor gripes would include a faint odour of tobacco on the ground floor, past reception. Perhaps a cleaning agent was responsible. Opening the window eventually removed the odour from our room. A Fresh Flow electrical air venting system on the exterior wall of the room appeared not to have been serviced/cleaned for some time - full of dust when the grills were exposed. Standard Wi-Fi is pathetically slow. The furniture to the exterior of reception was either cordoned off or in dire need of some TLC.
None of these minor issues detracted in any significant way to what was a most enjoyable and affordable experience. We look forward to a return visit!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: For easy access, choose a ground floor room close to reception.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie wrote a review Dec 2021
Essex, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We’re just about to check out after a wonderful 7 night stay. The staff were all so friendly and went above and beyond for us all week- a special mention to Andrea, who our daughter loved chatting to every day. We received chocolate selection boxes on both Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, and our room was cleaned even though they were short staffed. Honestly cannot praise the service of this hotel enough. Lovely breakfast too!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1wabbit007 wrote a review Jun 2021
Dublin, Ireland60 contributions52 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed 4 nights, left yesterday 29th, ground floor twin room. Lovely girl on checkin, pleasant staff all around encountered, didn’t dine this time, room quiet, cleAn & modern. Great selection of tv channels. Added bonus Dungeons & Dragons filmed across pier so saw all the stars and weather was great. Of all the hotels in the north this is one of few with no air conditioning, which is fine when the windows open (1 of the few that do) but when it’s super hot and no wind blowing the rooms do get incredibly hot. They do supply a good fan but having stayed in both summer and winter the rooms are still very warm, if the breeze isn’t blowing be prepared. Safe parking, central area for commuting around the north and very reasonably priced I would highly recommend, so much so we are back in a few weeks.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Louise R wrote a review Jul 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Sadly this hotel has a run down feel compared to other premier inn's we as a family have stayed in. A lick of paint outside and a good clean of the tables outside (bird poo) would go a long way. It has an absolutely stunning location but I feel it is not making the best of it. The room's are so hot that sleeping is impossible even with the fan provided. I wish I had taken onboard other reviews stating this before our visit. I also witnessed other visitors complaining about this at reception. The staff however are very friendly and helpful, especially the breakfast staff who always made us feel very welcome. The food in the restaurant is good and the menu has a fantastic variety. It wasn't entirely unenjoyable
but it would have been nice not to wake up each morning feeling exhausted it gets too much by night 3.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
Responded 11 Aug 2021
Hello, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We’re very sorry that you had a disappointing stay with us recently due to the hot temperature of your room which caused an uncomfortable sleep. We're sorry to see you also had problems with the cleanliness of the public areas of the hotel. This certainly isn't the experience we would expect for our guests when staying. Sadly, not all of our hotels include air conditioning. In hotels which don't, our teams do try to make rooms more comfortable by providing fans and thinner sheets. We apologise if this did not help during your stay. If air conditioning is important when staying with us, we would suggest looking out for air conditioning as a listed facility on the hotel's page on our website before booking. We’ve ensured this feedback has been logged to the Hotel Management team so that they can look into these issues with the Maintenance, Housekeeping and Reception teams, to try and prevent this experience from being repeated again in the future. Again, our sincere apologies and thank you for taking the time to share your review. We hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to one of our hotels again soon for a more enjoyable stay. Kind regards, Lauren
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stuart R wrote a review Oct 2022
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms were spotless, corridors quiet and the breakfast was varied and hot foods better cooked than hotels treble the price.
The staff went out their way. So friendly. When my wee boy took unwell, they bought him sweets. They even had a Hallow'een gathering for the kids, as well as a soft play, not something you normally get in anonymous chain hotels.

We will be staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Edwin C wrote a review Aug 2020
Craigavon, United Kingdom9 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had great breakfast in Premier Inn’s restaurant. Jordan was the model of efficiency and friendliness. The restaurant was well set up for safe dining to combat possible Covid transmission. I certainly felt safe with the measures that have been put in place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eli C wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Claire on reception was fantastic, exceptional customer service from her. Whilst rooms are very clean and functional, if you stay in the older part it does feel a bit like a care home. If you are lucky enough to be in the newer part you will have a different experience. Restaurant needs a bit of focus. Meals are from a spec sheet, heated in a microwave and do not represent what is advertised on the menus provided. Staff are very new and inexperienced in the restaurant and need training to understand what service means. Not a good sign when a hotel blames brexit and staff shortages on the failings of providing a decent level of service. We have stayed here so many times over the years and this is the first time the whole family of all ages was disappointed. If you can't provide a restaurant service, turn the Brewers Fayre area into a coffee and lite bites instead to take the pressure off and manage customer expectations. Shame the experience was not where it needs to be as the location is perfect directly opposite Carrick Castle and Harbour.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Teximus747 wrote a review Apr 2022
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
5th year in a row using this hotel and as always it was on the whole a pleasant experience. We normally travel around the summer time to Carrickfergus but due to this hotel not having AC we decided to come in the cooler months, otherwise it is unbearable in the rooms (see my other review).

This trip however was very good, friendly welcoming staff in both the hotel and restaurant. Speedy check in and check out. Comfy bed. Great shower. Great car parking. Excellent location. Good to have the buffet breakfast back (all be it only at weekends).

Food wise, breakfast is great and extremely tasty; however, lunch and dinner does have a feel of microwave about it. Due to this we chose to eat elsewhere. I am not saying it was unpleasant as it wasn’t, I would just manage expectations.

Rooms were comfy and had all the amenities you need (usb chargers, connectivity to the TV etc); however, the room could have done with a 240v plug by the bed.

The room condition was pleasant, there were a couple of issues like a cracked sink and 1 item of rubbish under the bed; however, this didn’t detract from the functionally or experience at all.

(However; Please if the hotel management read this, consider upgrading the rooms with air conditioning!)

Externally is where this hotel requires some TLC, as it is looking very tired; the exterior doesn’t do this hotel the justice it’s location (overlooking the harbour and castle) deserves.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and would defiantly stay again (outside the summer months unless AC is added) and we would thoroughly recommend this hotel. It’s a pleasant base in which to explore the vast scenic and historic areas the gorgeous area had to offer.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Heather B
Belfast, United Kingdom101 contributions79 helpful votes
I’m sure there is John. The girls on the desk or in Brewers Fayre restaurant could help you as they are all locals. If you’re worried I would ring them beforehand just to make sure. I’m sure they’d be happy to help
Michelle R asked a question Oct 2021
Hi is this hotel pet friendly
Answer from 1wabbit007
Dublin, Ireland60 contributions52 helpful votes
No
Ruth M asked a question Oct 2020
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Is there WiFi in all rooms?
Answer from Djdex1978
Derry, United Kingdom38 contributions39 helpful votes
Yes. First hour free, if you want unlimited Wi-Fi it’s £5 for up to 3 devices for 24hrs.
Evelyn H asked a question Jan 2020
Essex, United Kingdom5 contributions4 helpful votes
What are the check in and check out times at Carrickfergus Premier inn please?
Answer from Alan W
Glasgow, United Kingdom94 contributions48 helpful votes
check in 2.00pm
MARK H wrote a tip Mar 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Outstanding place to stay if you have a Ferry / Flights to catch at Belfast or you want to explore the North Coast."
Read full review
Dreamer17293947359 wrote a tip Feb 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The brewers fayre connected to the hotel is amazing. And the staff at the hotel can book you a table "
Read full review
Alfie C wrote a tip Nov 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel is a good spot near the castle I would recommend going to the castle it was very interesting "
Read full review
Rosie C wrote a tip Aug 2023
Nuneaton, United Kingdom12 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want housekeeping remember to request it before 12pm and put the tag on the door."
Read full review
Carôle C wrote a tip May 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Free parking on site. Nearby -Sainsbury’s across the road -FABULOUS Cinema -Wonderful Restaurants -Carrickfergus Castle -Town Centre"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Carrickfergus area.
PRICE RANGE
£56 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
premier inn carrickfergus hotel carrickfergus
LOCATION
United KingdomNorthern IrelandCounty AntrimCarrickfergus
NUMBER OF ROOMS
64
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PREMIER INN CARRICKFERGUS HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Carrickfergus Castle (0.2 miles), Marine Gardens (0.3 miles), and Carrickfergus Marina (0.05 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mayur Indian Restaurant, Papa Browns Grill, and Josh Macs.
Is Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Carrickfergus.
Are there any historical sites close to Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Andrew Jackson Centre (1.3 miles), St. Nicholas Church (0.3 miles), and Grey Point Fort (3.9 miles).
Does Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Carrickfergus HotelsCarrickfergus Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CarrickfergusHotels near Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire