We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Piston Club @ The Stag

Alcester Road Redhill, Stratford upon Avon, Alcester B49 6NQ England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (76)
Dining (37)
Room & Suite (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 2 small hotels in Alcester
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Looking for a great place to Eat or Stay near Stratford upon Avon? Then look no further than The Piston Club at The Stag at Redhill, a family-friendly small hotel that brings the best of Warwickshire to your doorstep and only a stones throw from Alcester and Bidford. The whole Pub and Restaurant has been completely refurbished with a stunning new theme with a play on its connection as travellers rest, an oldcoaching house, by celebrating all things automotive - the modern way to travel! Everyone is welcome, and even if you're not in to cars or bikes, we are confident you will like your surroundings and ambience and LOVE the food!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Patio
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun umbrellas
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
294Reviews1Q+A28Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 181
  • 64
  • 28
  • 8
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
LC wrote a review 24 Feb
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
Awful experience! Walked in at 7pm We wanted a table for 4 2 adults 2 children We're told 20 mins wait and to have a drink 7:45: no table No communication from staff Was advised manager would be over No manager came a young girl came over Said the table they were going to give us were staying now I asked her surly you can ask them to move to the bar area as this tables booked out for the next people. She abruptly replied well they have booked. Most tables on restaurants have a 2hr reservation so was shocked buy this reply. So we sat up in the bar area there was a 4 seater empty table behind us with reserved sign on..... at 7pm this was still empty when we left at 9:20pm! No customers eating Food and service were awful Food was cold, Slapped together Had to ask waitress to take kids food back as burgers has no cheese on this was then brought back with cold sliced cheese on not even melted. Bun was burnt and hard inedible & Very dry. Ordered a Scotch egg this was dry and the waitresses when I asked what the white stuff on plate was didn't even know what she was serving. We ordered puddings The sticky toffee ginger cake came with some sort of cream on it which was not on the menu and I asked the same rude waitress and she couldn't tell me either. I have severe allergies as I was not asked this upon ordering I don't expect to be looked down upon when I quizz what's on my plate it was disgusting and I did not eat it and I told her that and she walked away and went back behind the bar to eat her chips and speak to her friend. We had no thank you or good bye when we left. Emailed with complaints no response so just shows what time of establishment this is....
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Piston-Club, Owner at The Piston Club @ The Stag
Responded 2 days ago
Very sorry this was your experience. Very disappointed that it appears a member of staff has let us down so badly, you will see from all our other reviews that generally our service and food is exceptional. Emails aren’t checked constantly, as over a weekend we are generally too busy but I will find your email tomorrow and respond fully once investigated a little further. Once again I can only apologise.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Timothy N wrote a review Sept 2023
Northampton, United Kingdom11 contributions3 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
Only went to the pub this time but I can thoroughly recommend it. Great food, very cool atmosphere and lovely staff. The pubs like a petrol heads man cave and the restaurant area is slightly more up market. Will definitely be going back 👍
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Piston-Club, Owner at The Piston Club @ The Stag
Responded 30 Sept 2023
Thank you. We all love seeing a genuine and positive review like this. We look forward to hosting you again soon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
SReynolds158 wrote a review 18 Feb
Mappleborough Green, United Kingdom76 contributions42 helpful votes
Fairly regular visitors over the last few months, enjoy a V6 and a pot of tea at breakfast. Usually book a table so we are seated in the restaurant. Arrived on Sunday to find V6 is now a child’s breakfast, so now have to go for a V8 if you want a cooked breakfast apart from something in a bap, not really interested in a tomato and amushroom. The tea was served in a mug this time, hot water and a tea bag, with a pot of milk. Now might expect this in a motorway cafe but not here when it has always been previously served nicely in a pot. No where to put the tea bag, it ended up on the table top. No sugar offered, asked three times before it eventually came. What has happened in the space of a week? Small niggly things on their own, but altogether made for a disappointing experience compared to previous standards.Now it’s popular, a bit of cost cutting maybe?
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from The Piston-Club, Owner at The Piston Club @ The Stag
Responded 1 week ago
Sorry you felt this way on this occasion. Sundays are exceptionally busy and we had every member of staff available on shift, some did 14hr days to cover many others 12 hrs. Out of interest the previous times you have visited and your experience was positive did you jump straight on here and give us a 5 star review? It’s disappointing that one lesser experience you felt the need to review us negatively which harms us as a business, rather than bring it to the attention of a supervisor or manager at the business. The V6 is still on the menu, it’s just displayed under the Kids section and tea is available in the pot - either way it’s the same amount of tea. Sorry you were not asked your preference on this occasion. All the above said on your next visit we will gladly give you a pot of tea on the house by way of apology
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Oliver F wrote a review 15 Feb
Wakefield, United Kingdom16 contributions23 helpful votes
We visited twice whilst we were staying locally, both experiences were amazing. We had Sunday lunch which was top class, on our second visit we turned up 15 minutes late to order as we didn't realise it closed at 2.30pm. We chatted to a few off the staff and they manged to still cook food for us which again was brilliant. It is nice to go to a place which serves great food, looks a little different inside and also has amazing staff, I would highly recommend this place!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Piston-Club, Owner at The Piston Club @ The Stag
Responded 1 week ago
Thanks Oliver, glad you enjoyed it. You will be pleased to know now we are fully set up and staffed we serve food all day. So from 9:30 till 9pm (apart from Sundays when we stop at 5pm) Hope to see you again
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
starryknightKent wrote a review Jan 2024
Brookland, United Kingdom121 contributions90 helpful votes
Stayed two separate nights as needed to break up our return journey to Lancashire. Last time we stayed here was 2018 and although we had a comfortable stay then this time was even better. We booked thru Booking.com and got a great price. Lovely greetings on arrival, excellent food at dinner and good continental breakfast.Our room was spotless although decor is getting a little tired. Was amazed at the lovely toiletries over and beyond any I have had in staying at many other hotels. We would definitely recommend .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Piston-Club, Owner at The Piston Club @ The Stag
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks for your kind review, we have 5 new rooms under construction currently and as soon as they are live we will refurbish each of the older rooms one by one, however as you will of seen the current ones are still very nice just not quite to the level of refurbishment in the pub
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Fiona M wrote a review Jan 2024
9 contributions
Great value for money and every aspect of our stay was first class. Room was clean and spacious. All staff friendly and helpful. Quality and presentation of food was outstanding. Well stocked bar and cocktail offer very welcome. Breakfast choice good and continental included in our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
r d wrote a review Jan 2024
43 contributions7 helpful votes
Called in here for breakfast today 12 Jan. Been past it many times but this was First visit since refurb. Entrance was fine. First thing greeted us was a bar! The new owners, Power Maxed Racing have decorated it with motor racing memorabilia which we browsed round first. Their products are also for sale. The table we sat at was sticky and cup marks were still visible, so attention to cleaning needed. Ordered breakfast (V6 and V8). Cutlery was blunt and struggled to cut toast and sauce sachets were impossible to open. Apart from that, breakfast was fine and hot as was the tea. There was a group of staff from PMR who I was going to cheekily ask for tickets to the BTCC, but the wife put a stop to that☹️☹️☹️. All-in all a pleasant visit so if your out that way, pop in
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Piston-Club, Owner at The Piston Club @ The Stag
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi The table you sat at we have an issue with the varnish/top coat failing, can assure you its clean. We are going to have it re-sanded and re-done. Sorry you were not strong enough to open a sauce sachet ;-) The good news is we are going to switch to bottles!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ann T wrote a review Dec 2023
Staffordshire, United Kingdom2 contributions
Excellent accommodation. We were so fortunate to have a sofa in our room allowing us the chance to really relax. The bathroom was lovely, large with plenty of towels and toiletries We have two small dogs and these were well catered for too The food in the hotel was lovely. I am gluten free and this is accommodated and was excellent. It was lovely to see how busy the hotel was with local patrons as well as guests staying at the hotel Staff are excellent. Nothing is too much trouble. Housekeeping went above and beyond and I would like to thank them again for their help
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book it now
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Piston-Club, Owner at The Piston Club @ The Stag
Responded 1 Jan 2024
Thanks so much for your incredible review, this will certainly get shared with all colleagues and will be appreciated
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lassx wrote a review Dec 2023
Daventry, United Kingdom56 contributions15 helpful votes
The decor is very good and the staff are friendly. Cutlery and glasses were clean. The toilets were nice and clean. As we’ve only been once, we’ve not tried a lot of the menu, I had butternut squash, which was hard and stringy and not enjoyable at all, we went on a Sunday, so not sure whether that limited vegetarian options, but there was not a lot. My partner had a chicken dish with salad, he said it was ok, but he found the prices high for what it was.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Piston-Club, Owner at The Piston Club @ The Stag
Responded 18 Dec 2023
Very sorry to see this, did you tell anyone at the time so we had an opportunity to put it right? If not please contact us directly and we will try.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bev wrote a review Dec 2023
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom2 contributions
Interesting venue, especially if you into cars 😂. Great line up on beer and lager available on tap. Staff friendly and our waitress April was lovely and very helpful. Food was good, will return in summer to enjoy the outside area with friends. Nice bar area with proper log burner.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Alcester area.
PRICE RANGE
£100 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the stag at redhill hotel alcester
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWarwickshireAlcester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE PISTON CLUB @ THE STAG - Updated 2024 Reviews (Alcester)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Piston Club @ The Stag
Which popular attractions are close to The Piston Club @ The Stag?
Nearby attractions include The Attic Theatre (4.0 miles), Escape Live Stratford-upon-Avon (3.6 miles), and Warwickshire Flight Experience (4.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Piston Club @ The Stag?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Piston Club @ The Stag?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Piston Club @ The Stag?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Piston Club @ The Stag?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Cocktail, Plantarium Cafe, and Loxley's Restaurant & Wine Bar.
Are pets allowed at The Piston Club @ The Stag?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Piston Club @ The Stag offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Piston Club @ The Stag?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Anne Hathaway's Cottage & Gardens (3.1 miles), Holy Trinity Church (3.8 miles), and Hall's Croft (3.8 miles).
Is The Piston Club @ The Stag accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.