We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Olde House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Olde House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 180: English reviews
Start your review of Olde House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked late Saturday evening. Warm friendly welcome. quick check in and down for evening meal. Excellent service. Large comfortable and spacious surroundings. Excellent food. Wine and draft beers offered at reasonable prices. Rooms located on a separate wing. Spacious and comfortable with tea. Coffee and complimentary bottle of water. Nice comfortable bed with fresh bedding and towels. Nice warm shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
oldehouse, Manager at Olde House, responded to this review

Dear Andrew I was pleased to hear that you mostly enjoyed your stay with us in the hotel, our hotel is in the process of having a make over, hence the new pipework and the new radiators. I will certainly look into any holes that should not be in the walls. regarding the bathroom door we are waiting for it...

Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Ordered double wammy burger came out with some just warm frozen chips , the burger its self was RAW this was served with some sort of salad garnish that i wouldnt feed to a starving rabbit , notified the member of staff to wich he responded "oh" then returned 10mins later and offered a desert , not a happy customer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joshua S
oldehouse, Manager at Olde House, responded to this review

Hi Joshua I am very sorry to hear of your recent visit to us, if you could contact me direct on 01246 274321 I would very much like to hear what where we failed you in more detail regards Julie

Chesterfield
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

We visit here regularly and always have a good meal and there is always good service. There was 20 of us and all meals were good on our last visit. Would reccomend to anybody. Very large pub also with large function room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adamgG5829OD
oldehouse, Manager at Olde House, responded to this review

Hi Adam Thank you for your review it is always good to hear that when you visit as a large party the team at the Olde House were able to look after you, leaving you looking forward to your next visit. watch out for our new offers coming through your email box. cheers Julie

Isle Of Wight
Reviewed 22 December 2016

Our party of 14 stayed at the Old House Inn on 3rd December 2016. We were warmly greeted by friendly staff who couldn't do enough for us for our entire stay. The accommodation was excellent. All the rooms en suite and have tea and coffee facilities and bottled water at the side of the bed. We had booked the party...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bakery_Beast
oldehouse, Manager at Olde House, responded to this review

Thank you for your super feed back, it is always a pleasure to hear how much you all have enjoyed a Christmas get together. We look forward to your visit next year....watch out for our hotel room upgrade in the New Year, maybe we will see you all before next Christmas regards Julie

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Stayed here December 10 for a works do, check in was a hectic as we arrived late and no one on reception as the bar was extremely busy (reception is at the bar ) but soon sorted and went on to our rooms which where very nice clean and comfortable so cannot complain,party food was OK but nothing brilliant but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank t0nyl0we
oldehouse, Manager at Olde House, responded to this review

Hi thank you for taking the time to tell others about our hotel. I am sorry that it was a little hectic on check in ...unfortunately we can get a little noisy in the bar at this time of year, but I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us regards Julie

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Vistied at 3pm on a sunday, ordered 2 starters and 2 mains. The starters were ok nothing fancy but then you cant really go wrong with battered mushrooms and side salad! The mains were terrible. 2 pies which were soggy and filled with mush hardly any meat, chips were like cardboard and gravy was watery. Both myself and my partner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
oldehouse, Front Office Manager at Olde House, responded to this review

Dear We are very sorry to hear of your experience with us and we do strive to correct and improve our standards to make sure they are always maintained. If the issue was raised at the time we would have gladly replaced the meal for you, this does seem to be a supplier issue that we are addressing. Please call...

Frome, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Pleasant room let down by the newly installed shower not working. This was quickly looked at by the housekeeper but could not be resolved and no other room was available. Thought the bathroom looked clean but on closer inspection not so good. Black biuldup around shower door and the floor laminate came away from the wall.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crs C
oldehouse, General Manager at Olde House, responded to this review

Dear Mrs C I was very sorry to hear about the problem with the shower on your recent visit to us. I can confirm that the problem has now been resolved. We are waiting for a room make over, so when you are next visiting Chesterfield, give me a call on 01246 274321 and I will discount your next visit....

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night here, enroute to further up north. Large, well run establishment. Swift and easy check-in and we were given a very nice room, which was clean and comfortable. Very slight niggle was that the walls are not that sound proof, as the person in the next room had their tv on ALL night and although low volume, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulW42
oldehouse, General Manager at Olde House, responded to this review

Hi Paul thank you for your lovely feedback and we look forward to a return visit, but should you have any problems with noise from other rooms, please do not suffer, pop down to us in the bar and we will try to resolve any issues. regards Julie Wood

Wallasey, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Stayed for a single night visiting family in Chesterfield. Hadn't been to the Olde House for over 30 years but very impressed with the standard of accommodation and good vegetarian breakfast. Room rather too warm but clean & well appointed. Staff were friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
oldehouse, General Manager at Olde House, responded to this review

Hi Colin We were very happy to welcome you back after such a long time, I hope it brought back happy memories. Our rooms are individually heated so next time all you need to do pop down to the bar and we will show you how to adjust the settings. Hope to see you again soon regards Julie Wood

Bolton
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

I had the opportunity to stay here for 1 night on a business trip. To be fair the accommodation is very nice, and good value for money. The room was spacious and well presented, the bathroom was clean with an excellent power shower over the bath. Checking in was organised and friendly with information on food deals and times. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MandyR28
oldehouse, General Manager at Olde House, responded to this review

Hi Mandy Thank you for your feedback which is always nice to receive, I am sorry that breakfast wasn't as quick as we are normally. Our breakfasts are cooked to order so at times it can be busy when everybody orders at the same time, but should next time you be in a hurry just mention it to the waitress...

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chesterfield North Hotel
1.8 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
721 reviews
1.1 mi away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#12 of 15 in Chesterfield
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
552 reviews
4.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
678 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Olde House

Address: Loundsley Green Road | Newbold, Chesterfield S40 4RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Price Range: £64 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Olde House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olde House Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Olde House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
cheshire
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Olde House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 7 was very nice, not sure about the bathroom floor though ?”
 of 5 bubbles t0nyl0we, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 10 at the back was quite, parking close round the reception area for only 5 cars but has a huge car park round the front.”
 of 5 bubbles crsc2013, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seem to be the same”
 of 5 bubbles KFox24, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“on first floor, lift to rooms. very quite.”
 of 5 bubbles karenmP7488CS, 28 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Our room was on the ground floor and was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles karemae, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5