We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Avenue House Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Avenue House Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 41: English reviews
Wakefield
Reviewed 13 September 2016

As recent reviews have pointed out, the Avenue is indeed being renovated at present. During our recent stay the ground floor room at the front of the house was being decorated but it did not cause a problem at all, nor did the 'builders' rubble' in the front garden (I suspect they have removed an old wall or a rockery)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MiriamWakefield
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

When we arrived at the house the outside was littered with builder's residue. A quick glance inside revealed downstairs rooms empty and in a state of redecoration. Our room was an adequate size with neutral decoration and presentable (apart from a loose electricity moulding which dangled forlornly from the ceiling), although it must be said the on-suite was cramped and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Ignore all reports about how great this B&B is folks; Mary has left the building. This is no longer a B&B and, as we understand it, it's going to be a series of very small rooms where you get a continental breakfast. If you like to go walking on a full English, forget it. Very disappointed that Mary did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thebakewelltarts
leanne1986, Ex-owner at Avenue House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi, the business has indeed now changed hands to a lovely couple who also run the pub a few doors down. My mum (Mary) had a bit of a rushed move and is sorry she wasn't able to get in touch - most of her stuff is in storage so she couldn't find your number! Please could you email your...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We visited Bakewell on a bank holiday Weekend on the Sunday...it was such a lovely day we decided to make a night of it. However, tourist information couldn't find us a last minute room. We popped in to the pub The Manners and asked in the hope they had a cancellation. They are the landlords of the Avenue and by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ailsa I
nth yorkshire
Reviewed 9 August 2015

My Husband and I recently stayed at Avenue House, this was our first visit to Bakewell. We thoroughly enjoyed it. Mary was a very good host, her cooked breakfasts were the best we have ever had in a b&b. Her advice about the local area and where to eat was very helpful, all In all we had a great time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mini1275
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2015

We've been staying here for the past 10 years and it's great. Mary cooks the best breakfast in Bakewell, by far, which means walkers leave with a full tank of fuel so there's no need to look for anywhere to eat at lunch time. A lovely, friendly and hospitable family all of whom welcome guests into their home. We just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thebakewelltarts
Manchester
Reviewed 27 July 2015

My partner and I recently stayed at The Avenue for a long weekend. I booked the B&B after reading many reviews and it seemed to be just what we wanted and within walking distance to town centre. I cannot understand why no other reviews mentioned the traffic noise? We were in a room on the front and as this was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ericboy321
East Sussex
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Lovely B&B, located 2 minutes walk from bakewell city centre. Arrived in Bakewell at its best - on carnival day. Room was huge and very comfortable. Mary was a good hostess and made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts were amazing. We had a lovely time and we will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MBayES
Reviewed 4 July 2015 via mobile

Walking distance to all Bakewell's attractions the Avenue offers a relaxing haven. Lovely large room with a comfortable bed you can stretch out and relax. Breakfast was hearty and delicious and our host was thoughtful and helpful. Internet was good and free off road parking was a bonus.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
Hereford,England
Reviewed 8 June 2015

We booked up at very short notice for one night at the Avenue House B&B. Mary is the owner and made us feel very welcome. We had a lovely front of the house upstairs room and the bed was very comfortable. There was a communal fridge outside our room that had fresh milk in so we could make tea and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkRawlings

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
0.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Terrafirma Guest House
Terrafirma Guest House
#20 of 46 in Bakewell
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manners
The Manners
#15 of 46 in Bakewell
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bed and Breakfast One Castle Street
0.3 mi away
Sleep Lodge
Sleep Lodge
#5 of 18 in Bakewell
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#12 of 46 in Bakewell
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family run Bed & Breakfast, we have 3 rooms all en-suite (2 doubles and one twin which contains a double and a single bed). Located 200 yards on the flat from the centre and easy walking distance around the town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avenue House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Avenue House The Avenue, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Price Range: £81 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Avenue House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue House Bed & Breakfast Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Avenue House Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“DO NOT have a room on the front if you want your windows open and don't like traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles ericboy321, 27 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Enquire before arriving about parking as there is enough room for average family cars but not for larger vehicles.”
 of 5 bubbles jeanetteyardley4, 5 Aug 2014 | Read review
“We chose the room at the side as the owner advised it was slightly quieter than the one that faced the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles LyndC, 16 Jul 2014 | Read review
“All good, bright and roomy - two with en suites / showers, one with bath”
 of 5 bubbles Eeeeeeebs, 15 May 2014 | Read review
“All 3 rooms were very good”
 of 5 bubbles Phil--Fowler, 28 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay