We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Riber Hall

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Riber Hall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Riber Hall
See the most recent reviews
Showing 171: English reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2015 via mobile

We hired the stables for a family weekend away. Communication with the owners and home runner was great from the beginning. Great when planning a weekend for 20 people. All the rooms were perfect and loved the 4 poster beds. The conservatory and kitchen were a great sociable space for all the family to get together. Looking forward to going...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lee D
London
Reviewed 13 November 2014

15 of us have just spent an amazing weekend at Riber Hall. It was the perfect winter venue. Fires in all the rooms, plenty of cooking space (and fridge spaces for the bottles of Prosecco etc) and dining spice and the cinema room was perfect for the obligatory hen Mr & Mrs game etc. The hen specified that she wanted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LouTall2000
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2014

Well I was slightly nervous from reading some reviews, but I did not experience many of the criticisms made. The rooms were warm and very comfortable and convenient if you were just staying to explore the region., we were in a party of 20. Agree the kitchen in the dining area is limited but you can see that from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Badger1953
UK
Reviewed 8 October 2014

Just returned from another stay at Riber Hall, and as ever, it was a wonderful visit. We stayed in Studio 10 this time and it was so worth the extra few pounds for the jacuzzi bath! Was slightly dismayed initially to find there was no hot water or heating, however, a text to the management/owners sorted it and within a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynnconnolly
Reviewed 10 September 2014 via mobile

Stayed in room 7 and it was just to die for. The four poster bed was delightful and soo comfy and the whole room was decorated and furnished beaufully. The bathroom was also gorgeous and everywhere was spotless. We will most definitely be back. Location amazing and views that had you gazing. Brilliant price too.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank debiecash
Nottingham
Reviewed 8 September 2014

Absolutely beautiful place to stay, very romantic, fantastic garden. The only down side was we could not get hold of anyone on the number they left for us to ring if we needed somebody. We did actually ring to see if the room was available for an extra night but despite ringing several times and leaving messages we had no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Esh8991
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2014

Booked through cottages4u. Agree with comments rooms have damp smell, dark and dingy. The website showed the conservatory area, we thought this was in addition to a lounge. The barn is advertised for 20 people, we were a party of 14 so did not use all the rooms but found the small kitchen with two marble top static tables were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 15yvonne
Harthill, Owner at Riber Hall, responded to this review

3rd review from “Self Catering in Riber Barn” & "Musty, dark and dingy” Same response Harthill, Owner at Riber Hall, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago As you will notice, I don’t tend to respond to reviews. However, on this occasion I do believe it is wholly unfair. I will address each point: ‘£120 per couple’ The actual cost...

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was a break with a group of friends. It's always difficult to find large enough places where we can eat and socialise together and this seemed to fit the bill. The property looks attractive from the outside but the first impression as I entered one was of the strong smell of damp and mustiness together with the darkness of...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank David M
Harthill, Owner at Riber Hall, responded to this review

2nd Review from “Self Catering in Riber Barn” Sorry same response Harthill, Owner at Riber Hall, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago As you will notice, I don’t tend to respond to reviews. However, on this occasion I do believe it is wholly unfair. I will address each point: ‘£120 per couple’ The actual cost of the property which...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We spent a long weekend at the Barn (not Riber Hall), 18 of us in total and had a great time. The weather was a major plus as we spent all weekend in the garden, playing tennis and swimming at Cromford meadows (5 min drive away). Although some of the other reviews complain about the small kitchen and access to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MissA226
Watford,UK
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were a group of 7 couples who rented Riber Barn ( part of Riber Hall ) for a weekend break. We booked via Cottages4you and were very disappointed in the standards of this property for the price we paid. This worked out at £120 per couple per night. First, we had a very poor level of information before we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank UnaW
Harthill, Owner at Riber Hall, responded to this review

As you will notice, I don’t tend to respond to reviews. However, on this occasion I do believe it is wholly unfair. I will address each point: ‘£120 per couple’ The actual cost of the property which sleeps 20 is £32.50pppn for 10 en suite bedrooms each with sony LCD LED tv , many of which are 4 poster beds...

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
187 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
349 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
235 reviews
1.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wirksworth
98 reviews
7.8 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You can book 1-10 bedrooms 9 of which are four posters exclusive hire comes with use of kitchen/dining room with marble tables and conservatory both reach through the walled garden either down some stone stairs or over the lawn ... more   less 

Additional Information about Riber Hall

Address: Riber Hall, Matlock DE4 5JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Price Range: £55 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Riber Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riber Hall Hotel Matlock
Riber Hall Matlock
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Riber Hall staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Riber Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 10 is the best room”
RobinB1232013, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go on upper floor, less noisy ( you won't have guests above you ) 5-8 I think”
JulieTurner007, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“room 10 with access to the garden seemed best.”
  • Bedroom 10 - lived in!
Mark_Mid_Cheshire, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had room 5 (upstairs) which we prefer. There are 2 rooms which lead onto the lovely garden,didnt know that when booking.”
2LindaH2, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
“We were in room 3. Other rooms are bigger (and dearer).”
andypS6812CV, 20 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5