We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Riverbank Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Riverbank Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

294 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Riverbank Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 293: English reviews
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Called at 6pm on a Saturday, asked if they had any rooms, they had one spare & quoted £90, I politely asked if they could do it any cheaper as it was a late booking and the guy literally slammed the phone down on me!!! Perhaps he needs to grow a thicker skin or maybe learn some customer service skills.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty_chesterfield
Graham N, Owner at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review

In the 18 years we have been at Riverbank we have worked hard at maintaining a good relationship with our guests. On this occasion a call came in at 6.00pm, the caller asked for a cheaper rate, which we declined. The telephone was not slammed down. Therefore we are very disappointed that this review has been given and we would...

Torrance, California
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Such a pleasant place to stay. The owners and staff clearly care about their visitors and make you feel at home. The house and rooms have a great old fashion feel but are also very clean and comfortable. Nice location in Matlock with a short walk to shops, restaurants and pubs. Always had pleasant conversations with the owners and fellow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kens_trips_2000
Graham N, Owner at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments Hope you will come and see us again

Los Angeles, CA
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Once again, Riverbank Guesthouse never disappoints....Had really relaxing time over the holidays there. Great hosts, great English breaksfasts, etc. Had the pleasure of being there during the Raft Races on Boxing Day, which was a good laugh. The hosts treat their guests like family, really can't say enough good things about this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmarie66
Graham N, Owner at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind remarks, it makes it all worthwhile.

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Fantastic location , good parking and very friendly staff . Excellent breakfast and nice warm room in December . Matlock is a good base to see Derbyshire . We visited Matlock bath , Cromford Mills and Canal and went to the Crich Tramway Museum .We had a great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miroslaw10
Graham N, Owner at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review

Glad you had a great stay The winter has something different to offer in the Peaks

Reviewed 20 December 2016

Great people and food, Riverbank House is very clean and has a warm friendly feel about it. It is ideally situated in Matlock as it is fairly central, but enough off the beaten track in a quiet little area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
Graham N, Owner at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review

So we had both Whitbys supporters visit us . Thanks for finding us. Have a good season

northumberland uk
Reviewed 27 November 2016

This lovely period property has a large rear garden to the river's edge.we were a family party of 6 , welcomed by the owner & after leaving our luggage in our rooms sat by a roaring fire & enjoyed a glass of wine, the owner happily provided us with glasses. Guests place the breakfast order the night before ,so it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catsarus
Graham N, Owner at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for making your comments The coal fire makes all the difference in the winter months

Norfolk, UK
Reviewed 20 November 2016

We stopped here for 2 nights as we wanted to see chatsworth house for Christmas. This guesthouse is spotlessly clean, has all the facilities you could need and is in prime location for the town of Matlock. Owners extremely helpful and friendly. Food was lovely and plentiful. Good parking outside down a quiet road. Never near bars and restaurants and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kezzabird
Graham N, Owner at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for commenting. Glad you had a good stay. Chatsworth House is very special at Christmas

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here with our 4 year old during half term and it was just perfect. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. It was no trouble to them that we arrived an hour early for check in. Our room had a four poster bed so we really felt like we had a bit of luxury. We all slept comfortably....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
Graham N, Owner at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for making the time to comment You must try us again in the summer

Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

Just back from a lovely weekend there the room was spacious with tea and coffee making facilities bed was just right with an ensuite bathroom was a very quiet guest house and were made to feel very welcome was close to the centre but far enough away to be quiet there was parking spaces, the breakfast was plentiful an well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andy f
Graham N, Owner at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review

We look forward to seeing you again

Benfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Perfectly placed in Matlock and only a walk to Matlock Bath this charming and delightful guest house is further enhanced by its hosts. Jenny and Graham's attention to detail simply add to the charm and their local knowledge is valuable. On the river with a beautiful garden it was perfect for us to venture out to some great walks and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russ M
Graham N, Owner at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
188 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
349 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
7.5 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
369 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 7 in Matlock Bath
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Riverbank Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“contact landlords with your needs, they respond quickly.”
dmarie66, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our room was 10 , lovely river views over the river”
catsarus, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were overlooking the garden/river which we loved.”
cookemrsjanec, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There are only stairs to upper floors; some rooms are on second floor.”
AmyA488, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are on the upper floors. Better pack light...”
yairm, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5