We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Kenmare Failte Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kenmare Failte Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 64: English reviews
cork
Reviewed 18 October 2016

we were a large family group,with a big span of ages and requests--and all our needs were met--the large well-equipped Warm kitchen was perfect for catering for a crowd--and the central location meant that we could hop out and visit the local restaurants and bars with ease---and the cosy living /TV room was ideal for those who wanted to sit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank docmarym
KenmareHostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments and we are delighted you and your family had a lovely stay with us. Warm Regards, Aoife.

Australia
Reviewed 10 October 2016

I stayed at the Hostel for one night while walking the Kerry Way. This is a fair sized hostel. It has a well equipped kitchen with tea, coffee and milk provided. I had a room with ensuite. It was a large room with a double bed and bunk bed. Plenty of space though sparsely furnished. A slight downside with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeremyPaul99
KenmareHostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we are glad you had a lovely stay with us. We have push button power showers to conserve energy. Warm Regards, Aoife.

Midwest US
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

We had the opportunity to stay here for only one night to launch our drive through the ring of Kerry. Great, no nonsense, clean and somewhat romantic older place but modern in conveniences. We had an ensuite room which was spacious and clean. The room was ready when we got there so we dumped our bags and explored all the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mo-roc
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and we are delighted you had a lovely stay with us. Warm Regards, Aoife.

Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

This hostel is clean and feels warm. Staff is attentive and kind and everything has this home-like atmosphere. The place was a large house once (at least, it seems like that), so it has around six rooms, which are excellent regarding prices. You will, of course, sleep well and have a good stay. =)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jorge R
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments and we are glad you felt warm and cosy! We are a family-run Hostel so we do our best to make you feel at home. Warm Regards, Aoife.

Augsburg, Germany
Reviewed 14 September 2016

You feel as if you enter your home as soon as you walk over the tiles in the entrance. Warm welcome by the staff. Our room in the highest floor unfortunately had the problem that water (sweaty or rain wet clothes) would mostly stay in the room. Well organized kitchen which invites to cook and stay there. Warmly furnished lounge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dellam0re
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we are glad you had a nice stay with us. Our bedrooms are not suitable for 'drying' clothes-we do offer to dry your clothes if you had asked. We also have designated areas to hang your clothes so they can dry! Warm Regards, Aoife.

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

The value, location, and comfort of this hostel simply can not be beat. We stayed in a private room which was spacious, with comfortable beds and a view of the Main Street. There are two kitchens with excellent cooking supplies, dishes, and anything else you could need. It was a pretty social hostel and would be great for solo travelers,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melanie H
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this review

Wow-thank you very much for your lovely comments and we are delighted we are one of the best hostels you have stayed in. We would love to welcome you back. Warm Regards, Aoife.

Reviewed 15 August 2016

very good value. central location. clean comfortable room with ensuite. ideal for families. wifi available. parking easily found in nearby car park. very friendly warm welcome. will definitely visit again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return. Warm Regards, Aoife.

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Failte Hostel and the owner helped me out when I had been in a miserable situation. They had a bed for me as soon I asked them, and made sure everything was okay. The hostel is one of the best I ever wnt to, and it gives you more of a feeling being at home. Kitchen is big, tidy and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank schani353
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this review

You are very welcome. We are glad to have been able to help you and make you feel at home. We hope you will visit us again. Warm Regards, Aoife.

Ireland
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Stayed here for one night while on the ring of Kerry. The hostel is located in the centre of the town but is still quiet at night. The dorm rooms were clean and in good condition as were the bathrooms. There is a spacious kitchen and common room downstairs with good facilities. The staff were pleasant and helpful and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MM6298
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this review

Delighted you had a lovely stay with us and we would love to welcome you back. Warm Regards, Aoife.

florida
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Being in our 50's and on our first Euro vacation, it probably is not the best idea to stay at a hostel, but we took a chance and it was one of the best decisions we made. The price is incredible (for our own room!) and the location could not be better. So you have to walk down the hall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shorembo
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments and we are delighted we made your first stay in our Hostel - an enjoyable one! We hope you will visit us soon. Warm Regards, Aoife.

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.1 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
0.9 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
864 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
578 reviews
0.1 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.1 mi away
Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recently awarded 'The Best IHH Town Hostel in Ireland, & Fáilte Ireland approved since 1986, Kenmare Fáilte Hostel is family-run and 'A Home from Home', situated in the centre of Kenmare town - across from the Post Office on the corner of Shelbourne Street. We provide private rooms en-suite as well as dormitory rooms for a very reasonable price. There is a fully equipped self-catering Kitchen with Aga Cooker which is always on creating a very welcoming atmosphere, where you can cook - have a cup of 'free' tea or coffee, and have an interesting chat with the hostel team & other guests...and if that doesn't interest you - there is a sitting-room and dining room with many reading material to choose from, along with board games, and 'free to air' satellite stations. There is FREE wifi provided in public areas downstairs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kenmare Failte Hostel

Address: Shelbourne Street | Kerry, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Price Range: £32 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kenmare Failte Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kenmare Failte Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Kenmare Failte Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“there are a great variety of rooms from doubles to dorms”
 of 5 bubbles docmarym, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for front view”
 of 5 bubbles B350SDdenisec, 28 Oct 2015 | Read review
“We were in the triple en-suite room which was good. Never saw other dorms.”
 of 5 bubbles 445annad, 27 Aug 2014 | Read review
“They're all good.”
 of 5 bubbles Maria13919, 27 Aug 2014 | Read review
“The ones at the front of the hostel have a great view down the street of quaint Kenmare”
 of 5 bubbles 664clareg, 27 Nov 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay