We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ice House Hotel

Save
Traveller (586)
Room & Suite (197)
Dining (40)
Ratings and reviews
Certificate of Excellence
Ratings
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers talk about
“hot tub”(95 reviews)
“the river”(469 reviews)
“chill spa”(42 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Accessible rooms
Dry Cleaning
Private Balcony
4 Star Hotel
Contemporary chic meets old world elegance throughout the Ice House. Funky furnishings, eclectic styling and stunning architectural design combine to make you feel like you're in the heart of the city. One look at the unrivalled riverside views from all our rooms and you'll immediately...
View all hotel information
Location and contact
The Quay, Ballina, Ireland
19.6 miles to Knock Intl Airport
13 restaurants are within a 1 mile radius
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,459)
Filter reviews
1,448 results
Traveller rating
837
346
161
64
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
837
346
161
64
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubthe riverchill spafloor to ceiling windowson arrivalriverside suiterelaxation roombreakfast in bedspa treatmentsbartra suiteheritage suitespa areaglass walloutdoor saunavoya productsmoy suitesteam room
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 1,448 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

My sister and I took out 89 year old mum to the ice house on July 17th last for coffee and something light to eat like a desert for her birthday. My sister asked the girl on reception if we could get coffee in the...More

Thank Martha C
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Don’t know why but restaurant covered in towels (presumably to catch rain). Wet room shower resulted in whole wet bathroom. Views fantastic. Staff get full marks (except perhaps for one maitre d’ who never learned how to smile). All in all a good experience

Thank goingtomorrow
A TripAdvisor Member
82
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came here for the early bird menu and we're glad we did, we wouldn't have paid any more for the food we got. It was mediocre at best, the salmon was too oily and the risotto was a tad too creamy. The service was...More

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Response from ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, General Manager at The Ice House HotelResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on trip advisor. I am sorry to read that you were not entirely happy with your meal experience, I will certainly follow up on the feedback you have given, it is with this that we can try and...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed here during the hot spell of weather. Rooms were well laid out but with a large glass balcony, the room became overheated. Air conditioning is necessary for a comfortable stay. Restaurant was very good and catered to my special requirements. Staff very...More

Thank ivorg625
Response from ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, General Manager at The Ice House HotelResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review on trip advisor. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to welcome you back in the future, Kind Regards Niall Kerins General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There are so many great reasons to stay and enjoy this boutique hotel! The setting and view were the main draws for booking but we ended up loving the Spa, our rooms, and the food. The Good Stuff: We had various spa treatments including a...More

2  Thank K2KBunny
Response from ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, General Manager at The Ice House HotelResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on trip advisor. I am sorry to read that your overall experience with us was not as you expected here in the Ice House. I would be grateful if you could discuss this in more detail so that...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hot Tub
Details
Price range
US$191 - US$310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$191 - US$310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (586)
Room & Suite (197)
Dining (40)
Pool & Beach (9)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
mollykinz
1 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Keitho75 | Reviewed this property |
Parking is exceptionally limited. They say they have 32 rooms but they don't have 32 spaces. it was an issue for us the weekend we were there and ended up having to park on the foothpath. to get to spa from room you have to... More
1
Vote
Maria-Goretti C
25 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from eleanor c | Reviewed this property |
I agree with the above but anytime we have stayed which is very often I have seen kids . Ballina is a vibrant town there is a play area on the cathedral road and a play area near the large store called Archers There are... More
0
Votes
Abigail B
30 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from SunshineGeraldine | Reviewed this property |
No bath but fabulous walk in shower
0
Votes
Room Tips
"If very hot weather, ask for a fan at reception."
Read review
"Room or suite in the spa wing for great views, peace and quiet. Get a suite if you can."
Read review
"River view rooms are great - wonderful panorama."
Read review
"Lovely shopping in the Foxford Woollen Mills. Well worth a trip for a beautiful handmade piece."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing