We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

An Sugan

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
An Sugan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 95: English reviews
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Nice homely atmosphere and the B&B is next to the An Sugan Seafood Restaurant & Bar. Room with double bed, wifi, tv, wardrobe, hairdryer, tea/coffee maker on table with ensuite bathroom. My wife and I had a lovely toasted An Sugan sandwich at the bar next to it and washed down with a creamy pint of Guinness for lunch. Friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KLeongCork_Ireland
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2016

spacious room, clean and tidy. the seafood restaurant was excellent,as was the breakfast. the staff were helpful and pleasant, great location,in the town center,close to all the bars and shops,traditional music in most bars, enjoyable !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _obrienpat2
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We stayed at An Sugan for 2 nights for a wedding and we simply couldn't have picked a better place. First of all, the restaurant is lovely - we arrived rather late and they still served us their delicious seafood chowder and seafood pie. Our room was airy, bright and clean with plush beddings. The breakfast was top notch -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hohohohaha
AnSugan, Guest Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review. We look forward to eeing you soon again!

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 28 September 2016

I always made it my business to eat in this restaurant when I visited West Cork.Unfortunately standards have dropped considerable.Service was slow. The decor was drab and I thought the premises looked dirty. My table was not cleaned properly.The food was pricey for a basic burger . I wont be returning until I hear different 2/10 rating

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vortex66
AnSugan, Guest Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not find An Sugan to your liking. we use the finest and freshest ingrefients. The prices are printed on the menu as well as a full description outlining the artisan produce we use. We are a traditional Irish pub, however there are more modern sections to the restaurant that may have been more to your...

Baldock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Visited here twice in one week two fab meals, great atmosphere really fresh food and lots of variatiy. Chose the starter platter one night then the main seafood platter both were delicious. Better atmosphere in the bar area than the restaurant but both very good. Mussels were very good and great portion size. Tried to get in another night but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne W
AnSugan, Guest Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your trip to Clonakilty and An Sugan and we hope we get the chance to welcome you again. Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are lucky to have all that West Cork has to offer on our doorstep.

County Kildare, Ireland
Reviewed 12 September 2016

An Sugan guesthouse is a very quiet, well run B&B in the centre of Clonakilty town. The room was very clean, comfortable and spacious. The en suite bathroom could be a little bigger. The breakfast was excellent, with a great choice and freshly cooked. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend this B&B.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 42anne558
AnSugan, Guest Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us. As we are a period residence, there are building restrictions regarding any changes we make to Strand House. Also the building is of historical significance and we want to keep it as authentic as possible. If you would like to get a room with a bigger bathroom try getting in touch the next time and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

This family run guesthouse has been extremely accomodating for me thank you to Dennis. With the room queries to the cab bookings to the directions for amenities/pubs, it was a wonderful stay as it was my first time to Clonakilty and for a wedding. I really enjoyed the breakfast here as there is a three course menu to choose from....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abowry
AnSugan, Guest Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this review

Great that ou enjoyed your trip to Clon and to An Sugan. We hope you will return soon again. There's always something on in Clonakilty

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

The An Sugan guesthouse is a very relaxing place to stay. We met friends from Manchester at the Sugan we all think it's a great place to relax. The staff are so friendly and helpful they could not do enough for all the guest. The food at An Sugan is first class.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bri D
AnSugan, Guest Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this review

Thank you. Visit us again soon!

Bahia Blanca, Argentina
Reviewed 30 August 2016

A basic 3 * B&B, centrally located in the town. The room was clean and comfortable with a nice big shower. The safe was broken, when I asked about it I was simply informed that the B&B was safe! We were in room 9 and the wifi did not work! You had to go down stairs to connect and use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris_fss
AnSugan, Guest Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this review

Our building is a listed historic building in the town and wifi cannot be gauranteed but is available in some bedrooms and downstairs. Luckily there is plenty to do in Clonakilty so for most of our guests this is not a problem. It is always possible to request a room where wifi can be gauranteed. Thank you for your review

Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Staff not very welcoming or friendly. No polite conversation made by staff at breakfast or leaving when payment was made. Clean and good location but staff let it down. We wouldn't stay here again. Overall nice time had in Clonakilty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DEREK C
AnSugan, Guest Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this review

We are sorry you didn't enjoy polite conversation at the B & B. It is hard to strike a balance between intruding on our customers privacy and chatting with holiday makers. Over the years B&B culture has changed and many of our guests prefer to angage with each other. We will take your comments on board.

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
0.0 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
O'Donovan's Hotel
O'Donovan's Hotel
#6 of 8 in Clonakilty
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Emmet Hotel
Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
0.7 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in a Georgian property, once home to poetess Mary Jane Irwin, An Sugan is a family-run guesthouse and seafood restaurant. Located at the heart of the historic city of Clankilty, the guesthouse is 10 minutes' walk from Clonakilty Museum, which boasts a display of Michael Collins memorabilia. Each room at An Sugan feature a flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi, and tea/coffee making facilities. The furniture is chic and modern and guests can enjoy a stylish environment. Yoghurt, cereals, and Full Irish breakfast are also included in the room rate. Next door to the guesthouse, the An Sugan seafood restaurant boasts an award-winning menu which is designed to complement fresh fish delivered daily and local produce. Guests can enjoy the West Cork Seafood Pie and Traditional Fresh Fish & Hand-Cut Potato Chips. The restaurant also offers lighter options and home-made desserts. 5 Km from the property, Inchydoney offers beautiful beaches and scenic views of the sea. Whale watching, fishing and surfing are amongst the activities available in this seaside town. Templebryan Stone Circle, also known as the Druid Temple, is 2 and half km from the property. ... more   less 

Additional Information about An Sugan

Address: 41 Wolfe Tone Street | Co.Cork, Clonakilty 00000, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Price Range: £57 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — An Sugan 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your An Sugan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from An Sugan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“not sure, only know about the room we stayed in”
 of 5 bubbles _obrienpat2, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't ask for room 9”
 of 5 bubbles Chris_fss, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Didn't get to see any of the other rooms so can't advise”
 of 5 bubbles carolef850, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We had a twin bedded room on the front which was very acceptable for the price.”
 of 5 bubbles AnnP245, 3 May 2016 | Read review
“We had a ground floor room at the back of the property (room 8) - lovely size, but bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper.”
 of 5 bubbles charliet49, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay