We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Oakwood Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

747 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Oakwood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 719: English reviews
Long Island. NY
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed here one night before leaving to come back to the States. There were basically 2 hotel choices, this or Bunratty Castle hotel. Since we had no hot water at Bunratty several days before, this was the only choice. Hotel is very dark, with dark wood everywhere. Many antiques in public areas. Check in took longer than expected. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank promal
belfast
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We were very disappointed at the hotel We found it rather tired and certainly in need of a major face lift We paid extra for a suite only to find that the room was only 10 percent larger and had a grubby settee and chair although it did have a king bed The bathroom was extremely small and not more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pete j
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pete j Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences during your recent stay with us at the Oakwood Arms Hotel. As part of the hotel, policy we read our reviews closely and use them for both employee recognition and to ensure that you, our clients are receiving the highest level of service. We really are disappointed...

Kildare
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My husband and I stayed in this very nice and homely hotel on Saturday & Sunday night. We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist, May. Our room was ok, clean but unfortunately we could only have a twin room as the hotel was fully booked with a wedding. We had a voucher for a meal and the food was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cathy D
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cathy D Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Oakwood Arms Hotel recently and thank you also for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Your positive feedback regarding the staff , excellent location, bedrooms and fantastic food quality is most rewarding for all the team. During the recent storms...

Oxford, Mississippi
Reviewed 30 March 2014

It had been almost four years since my last stay. But the hotel has maintained the quality/hospitality that it demonstrated on that first trip. For the difference in price if you are an overseas traveler, I recommend a suite to repack and relax in advance of the journey home. Having staying elsewhere and driving in for air departure, the Oakwood...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OleMissbanker
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear OleMissbanker Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on Trip advisor. Our philosophy is great service and quality at affordable prices. We delighted when our guest take time out to express their appreciation and I will be sure to share your comments with our team. We very much appreciate the recommendation and hope...

Shannon, Ireland
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We celebrated my sisters 60th birthday party on Saturday the 8th March 2014 I have only praise for this Hotel. Management and Staff where superb. The function ran smoothly without a hitch, food was Excellent and the service was of a 5 star standard. Would highly recommend this hotel. Special mention to Frances and Rita.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gina S
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gina S, Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on trip advisor following your recent family celebration. Our philosophy is great service and quality at affordable prices. We delighted when our guest take time out to express their appreciation and I will be sure to share your comments with our team. We very...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The Oak Wood Arms Hotel is affordable and convenient to Shannon Airport. We stayed one quick night in transit to the United States. The staff were friendly but extremely busy in the late afternoon but our check in was quick and efficient. The hotel was built in 1991, in the English Tudor style, and is reminiscent of much older hotels,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JamesD20
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JamesD20, Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Oakwood Arms Hotel recently and thank you also for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Your positive feedback regarding the interior décor of the hotel, excellent location, bedrooms and fantastic food quality is most rewarding for all the team. During the...

Pune, India
Reviewed 3 March 2014

It was a brilliant experience at the Hotel. We stayed here on a business visit for 6 weeks and were extremely happy at the end of our stay. The hotel staff took very good care of our needs and I would recommend this hotel to every one.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Baljot Singh R
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Baljotsinghranu, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your good experiences during your recent long stay with us at the Oakwood Arms Hotel. As part of the hotel, policy we read our reviews closely and use them for both employee recognition and to ensure that you, our guests are receiving the highest level of service. I...

Donegal Town, Ireland
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on 14th and 15th Feb. At check-in we were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist, who clearly directed us to our room. She had upgraded up to a Junior Suite. Nice start. The rooms are large and spacious, although the furniture is dark which dates the rooms. A quick spray paint cream would brighten up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dahubbz
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dahubbz Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay at The Oakwood Arms Hotel. It was a pleasure to read that all the team look after you during your stay from the restaurant to reception. Our staffs are our greatest asset to our business and I will certainly pass on your feedback. During the...

Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in many different hotels in ireland including castles. and we have never found such good hospitality as the oakwood arms. We stayed in the suite and it is a fabulous comfortable room and so clean.. Staff are so friendly and the buffet breakfast is outstanding. It was really fresh and hot and great staff there too. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joeanddonna
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joeanddonna, Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. As always we are thrilled when our guests enjoy their stay with us. We deeply value your relationship with the Oakwood Arms Hotel and are committed to providing our guests with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best. I will be sure...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I have stayed a number of times at this hotel on business for it's convenience to the airport The rooms are large and there is a multi channel plasma TV in the rooms the breakfast is excellent and staff are friendly There is no fitness centre but the hotel is excellent for touring the local area

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank silverjet9
Oakwood A, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear silverjet9 I would like to thank you for writing a review on the hotel, our philosophy is great service and quality at affordable prices. We delighted when our guest take time out to express their appreciation and I will be sure to share your comments with our team. We really hope to welcome you back again soon Kind Regards...

622 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (191)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (396)
Viewed
Amenities (34)
Viewed
Bridal Suite (71)
Viewed
Executive Double (49)
Viewed
Family Room (38)
Viewed
New Double Room (43)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
The Hotel (98)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shannon
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
2.8 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shannon Springs Hotel
Shannon Springs Hotel
#3 of 3 in Shannon
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
380 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,024 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Oakwood Hotel staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from The Oakwood Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a refurbished room but not too far from reception as it is quite a maize of a place.”
 of 5 bubbles Anne992, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one of the refurbished rooms”
 of 5 bubbles agregg2016, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Bring a hot water bottle!”
 of 5 bubbles si0bh_n0, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“rooms on the south side are quite”
 of 5 bubbles , 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room at the rear are probably quieter than those facing the main road outside.”
 of 5 bubbles SilapInua, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5