We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,001 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 967: English reviews
Start your review of The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
 Click to rate
Leamington Spa. Warwickshire
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This Hotel is good, the down stairs is much better than the bedrooms, our room was good, but the view was dreadful, just of a back yard & the bathroom was awful, very small the silicon round the bath & sink was black in places with mould, not very nice. The food was good, but they must of bought a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marlen9
Rochestown, Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Not a very clean hotel. Outdated rooms. Slow WiFi. Not conducive to a good night sleep. I would not stay here again. On the positive side the staff are very friendly. I'm struggling to say more than that really

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KennethOC
Sligo, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

In room 325.. very cramped room with serious dirty wall stains on walls beside bed.. a bit of jif would have cleaned them. For the price it very disappointing regards size of room and cleanliness.. bed comfortable and clean. On the plus side the bar in hotel great for food and music.. 5 euro to stay in carpark overnight. Good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anne k
RoyalBray, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear anne k Thank you for your recent review on Trip advisor. We are very disappointed to read your review and you did not have an enjoyable experience with us. Your feedback has been relayed to our accommodation manager. We are continuing to upgrade our rooms at present. We are delighted that you had a pleasant meal in our McGettigan's...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed with a group of family members to attend the Christmas Party overnight, but the beds are tired, rooms are cold and there was no hot water in the evening to shower and get ready for the party. We enjoyed the breakfast which was plentiful and cooked well. Staff were friendly and helpful when our parents requested an extra...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ydv74
RoyalBray, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Ydv74 Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are very disappointed to read your review and can only apologise for any inconvenience caused. We do hope that you would consider staying with us again in the not so distance future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel a few times when visiting family in Bray. I have always found it very welcoming. Staff are very helpful especially Karen on reception who gives great customer service and goes above and beyond. The staff in the bar and restaurant are excellent. Definitely worth a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lovesgrey
RoyalBray, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear lovesgrey Thank you for your feedback on trip advisor. We do look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Hotel Bray soon!

Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Francis T
RoyalBray, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Newry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SballNewry
RoyalBray, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vgfdhigtcvjiy
RoyalBray, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheatreMo
RoyalBray, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chelleys
RoyalBray, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

235 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (211)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bray
0.5 mi away
The Martello Hotel
1.3 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
423 reviews
0.7 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
1,957 reviews
4.4 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
976 reviews
7.9 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room 338, the outlook was deadful but it was quiet.”
Marlen9, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one of the newer refurbished rooms”
153francist, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check that the lift gives access to the floor where your room is sited”
TheatreMo, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 337 had a shoddy window and was very dated compared to room 339!!”
lisaq550, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not a room at the front of the hotel”
LillianA_12, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5