We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Nesbitt Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

247 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 236: English reviews
Start your review of Nesbitt Arms Hotel
 Click to rate
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here overnight on a saturday night .We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. They even found a mechanic on a sunday for a guest who's car had broken down. The rooms were very spacious ,warm and clean . The breakfast was lovely and we were well taken care of. The only complaint we had was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank eundoc
Claire O, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed your time here with us and got to experience our teams friendly and warm manner. Helping out comes as second nature to Donegal people and am glad you witnessed this. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your bedroom and we are delighted to...

Craigavon, United Kingdom
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Two nights experience in June '16 in this Hotel was special because it was some 47 years ago in 1969 when my wife, myself and children last crossed the threshold. At Reception we were given a beautiful room with all the amenities and that set the tone for the rest of our stay. The meals served - breakfast and dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DAMSON59
About Hotel's Favourite Review
NesbittArms, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Welcome back to The Nesbitt Arms! What a lovely story to tell. I am thrilled that you got to travel down memory lane in this beautiful part of Donegal. You certainly managed to see all the key sights in our area and how beautiful are they? We are so lucky to be strategically placed in SW Donegal making...

Reviewed 17 January 2017

Wouldn't be in a rush to stay here again. While the place is quite nice, the service of the staff is pretty poor. Very unfriendly and uncaring, seemed like every little job was a huge effort for them. Such a shame as it has the potential to be much better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy9567
Claire O, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am very surprised at your comments as we are renowned for our friendly team here which I have to say baffles me. However we obviously did not live up to your expectations during your visit which we truly regret. I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel in other...

Maynooth, Ireland
Reviewed 27 December 2016

Knowing we would be cooking all over the Christmas period, we treated ourselves and popped in here for dinner on the 23rd December. as soon as you entered the reception area you could feel the warm friendly atmosphere. A lot of this hotel has been tastefully remodelled and the new Bar/Restaurant - The Ramblers - was buzzing for Christmas with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grainnecl
Claire O, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, What a great review and thank you for taking the time to do so. Thank you also for your comments concerning all our remodelling. We have just finished our restaurant and meeting rooms and are delighted with the results. We are renovating our bedrooms very soon so its very exciting times here at The Nesbitt Arms Hotel. You...

Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

We recently had day 2 of our wedding in Ardara and all of our guests stayed in the nesbitt arms that night. From beginning to end, we were treated so well. The rooms are impeccably clean, very comfortable, the b&b rate was extremely reasonable, the breakfast in the morning was cooked to order and really delicious.. and plenty of it!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Revlin
Claire O, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Wow, what a great review and thank you for same. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time here in Ardara. We pride ourselves on having the friendliest team, of course all being from Ardara, they share a wealth of knowledge of this area and are great at assisting guests with their day. So glad you enjoyed...

County Wexford, Ireland
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

We took my parents away for a couple of days midweek break. The village itself is very pretty and offers some great dining options, pubs and scenic drives. The rooms are standard, comfortable and clean. Breakfast in the function room was good, but constant delays with food supply to buffet. Evening dinner in the bar was busy, very tasty if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank irishroverr74
Claire O, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your review of our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your trip to this beautiful part of the world. Ardara is a unique place and definitely has the friendliest folk around. I do apologise for the delay in service, we source our food locally and do pride ourselves on cooking everything from fresh which probably...

Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Myself and my husband stopped off for a day and a half - great room, lovely renovations, lovely food etc. I found the service was timely although when it gets busy there may be a little wait, but not much. I found the service to be overall very good, friendly staff, however the waitress we were served by for lunch...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lana O
Claire O, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your very informative review. Overall, I am glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and may I say that I have taken on board your comments and have duly addressed same. I do apologise for this occurrence and am glad that it ended positively. Reviews like this are a great learning curve and its...

Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Great staff very friendly. We chose to stay here as its bang in the middle of some great touring roads in Donegal. We were able to park the bikes ( there were 16 of us.... eventually.... lol) in the underground car park next door which the Nesbitt Arms had pre arranged for us... good peace of mind. The car park...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
Claire O, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your magnificent review! I am delighted that you and your group had a great stay with us here in Ardara. We are lucky to be placed in such a great part of SW Donegal as the roads sure do suit your sport. We have lots of motor cycle groups as our secure lockup...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Excellent staff and stay. This is the second time we have stayed at the Nesbitt Arms Hotel and each time it has been a great experience. There were 16 bikers in our group and the hotel staff made everything very easy from booking to checking in and providing the three course evening meal. They even organised covered, secured car parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mgould99
Claire O, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Wow what a great review and for this I thank you so much. We are so lucky to be situated in a beautiful part of Donegal. Riding down Glengesh and into Ardara is such a majestic sight for all to see. We are glad that you had peace of mind as our secure lockup is a great spot...

Hudson River Valley, New York
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

In a quiet village the Nesbitt Arms is a lovely hotel with attentive knowledgeable staff. Rooms were clean and comfortable with teapots and hairdryers in them. The TV was small but there were only a few programs to view. Free wifi was helpful. Restaurant included very nice complementary breakfast, including friuts, yogurt, hot and cold cereal, eggs and bacon and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mariann G
Claire O, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so pleased that you got to experience the beautiful heritage town of Ardara and its surroundings. Our team here are all local and share an abundance of friendliness and appreciation of all our guests who walk in our doors. I will pass on your...

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardara
8.7 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
5.2 mi away
Lake House Country Hotel
Lake House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Narin-Portnoo
65 reviews
8.7 mi away
Tara Hotel
Tara Hotel
#1 of 3 in Killybegs
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
14.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
689 reviews
15.2 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
3,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Nesbitt Arms Hotel is the only hotel in the beautiful heritage town of Ardara in SW Donegal. An ideal location for discovering Donegal's Wild Atlantic Way. Our hotel consists of 49 ensuite bedrooms and is family run. We are very unique in that all our team here are local so our guests can be assured of a true Donegal experience. We are very conscious of our carbon footprint in that most of our team here walk to work and all share a vast knowledge of the area often imparting great information to our guests about the little gems in the area. All our public areas have been remodelled consisting of a chick traditional bar/restaurant called Ramblers. We also have a 70 seater restaurant and private dining facilities. Weavers Suite is an ideal place for your wedding or party. The hotel offers FREE WIFI to all our guests and visitors. There are an amazing amount of activities and attractions in the area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nesbitt Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Ardara, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ardara
Price Range: £73 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nesbitt Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Nesbitt Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nesbitt Arms Ardara
Nesbitt Arms Hotel Ardara, County Donegal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nesbitt Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Nesbitt Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all the roooms seem ok”
 of 5 bubbles eundoc, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Just ask Claire or her staff!”
 of 5 bubbles mgould99, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Be nice at Reception and keep your fingers crossed.”
 of 5 bubbles DAMSON59, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Just ask for your requirements, staff will oblige where possible.”
 of 5 bubbles 315Jimwayne315, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Wifi Free and really good throughout hotel”
 of 5 bubbles mullenman, 21 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5