We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Bayview

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Bayview
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

330 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 295: English reviews
Bettystown, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

In Kilrush for a family anniversary service on a Sunday in Feb 2016 and we couldn't get anywhere locally and opted for Kilkee as a base. The hotel staff were agreeable to our early morning departure for service and breakfast on our return. We picked up an additional 7 people for breakfast and this was no problem for the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TJ F
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here enroute home from Killarney , it was a last minute booking as we just decided to extend our hols by a day and see a bit of kilkee . The lady Mrs Hickey ,who spoke to us when we rang to enquire about a vacancy couldn't have been more helpful, she gave us a huge spotlessly clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
Connecticut
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So, I read the other reviews, which vary widely in experience. Here's my take - the woman who runs the place is not rude, she's just not effusive. The room rate is low enough that you can excuse not getting 5-star service in terms of people taking your bags to your room or having a luxurious bedroom and bathroom. That...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KTHD65
County Clare, Ireland
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

I spent a fabulous dinner time early afternoon with my family and there were 9 of us in total! We had starters, main and desserts, eyes bigger than our bellies but the presentation and the flavour of each dish was outstanding! The service was top class with all the staff being friendly and attentive throughout! We sat at table by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kytmoroney
George Town, Cayman Islands
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

The Bayview is a small B&B style hotel with a pub annexed to it called Hickies. The B&B was lovely enough and I like the idea of having a pub attached. The rooms were clean, cozy and comfortable with a partial view of the beach and the Pollock Holes in the distance. Breakfast was decent enough as well, although the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank timf699
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review

Dear Tim, Thank you for taking the time to review us here at The Bay View. I am delighted to hear that you felt the room was to your standard and that you enjoyed breakfast. As far as the music is concerned, we have Live Music in the Bar every Saturday night, which I believe was indicated to you at...

Reviewed 30 October 2016

We recently toured Ireland with our daughter and son in law. Our daughter chose this Guest House based on Trip Advisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. We were warmly welcomed by Mary one of the owners. We stayed in room 12 which was at the rear of the premises. Although there were no views as such, the room was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne K
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Arrived to confusion the old woman at reception seemed perplexed to why we were there , and faffed with the diary until I pointed out our booking. Her demeanour was surly and unfriendly. After giving us our key with no directions to where the room was and climbing narrow stairs we were pleasantly surprised by the size decor and cleanliness...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reg_lard
jhick, General Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review

Dear reg_lard, Thank you for taking the time to review us here at The Bay View. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience, however I can assure you we pride ourselves on providing the height of customer service in an affordable way. Our customers must agree as we are #1 on booking.com & tripadvisor in...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

We stopped in this seaside town on our way to the Cliffs of Moher. The town was deserted with barely any sign of life. Perhaps the summer months bring some life to the town, but that said, you should avoid staying at the Bay View unless you have very low standards. Upon check in, there was no offer to help...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
jhick, General Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review

Dear Sharon, Thank you for taking the time to review us here at The Bay View. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience in Kilkee. We always aim to provide the best possible service to our customers and we will take what you have said into consideration. Kind Regards, John Hickie

Ontario
Reviewed 6 October 2016

I booked this hotel based on rave reviews I read here on trip advisor. I always consult with trip advisor and trust the opinions of fellow travellers. Our experience at Bayview was not as wonderful an experience as I was anticipating. First off, we had a weird welcoming. I approached the reception desk and was told they needed a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flygal8
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 30 September 2016

The Hotel is sweet and cosy. The friendliest employees and owners. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. They have everything you need. Quiet too. The food in the house is very good and the Breakfast is famous. You cannot beat the price either. top

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heidileutwyler
jhick, General Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review

Dear Heidi, Thank you for taking the time to review us here at The Bay View. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in future. I will pass on your sentiments to Mary & the staff. Kind Regards, John Hickie

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilkee
0.0 mi away
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kilkee
180 reviews
14.2 mi away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spanish Point
508 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kilkee Bay Hotel
Kilkee Bay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kilkee
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
1,144 reviews
23.2 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
904 reviews
20.9 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Bayview

Address: O'Connell Street, Kilkee V15 Y262, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilkee
Price Range: £65 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bayview staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Bayview staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a view over the main street.”
 of 5 bubbles KTHD65, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms at the front of the Guest House have the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles annek32, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go next door it's nicer”
 of 5 bubbles reg_lard, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in room 12. No view and noisy above back of the pub.”
 of 5 bubbles flygal8, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“take a front room with sea view”
 of 5 bubbles heidileutwyler, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay