We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Tullyarvan Mill Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buncrana
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Tullyarvan Mill Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 19: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a great stay here. Excellent facilities, spotless, cheap and very comfy beds!!! Angela on reception was so friendly and helpful and booking was so straight forward. Little distance from the town centre but only €5 in a taxi and plenty of taxi numbers provided on arrival.Thank you for everything. Would highly recommend,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
Michael D, Manager at Tullyarvan Mill Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. Great to get a positive feedback and a 5 star rating. We do get good feedback on the cleanliness and the facilities and you seem to have been happy with those. Angela was delighted to get a mention for being friendly and helpful. Thanks again hope you will return and...

Portlaoise, Ireland
Reviewed 18 April 2016

We visited the hostel on Friday evening and Devon was very good and could not do enough. The place was spotless and the rooms were warm, comfortable and spacious. Showers were fab and a special mention has to go to Angela for her help in organising the stay and helping us with the beds and the breakfast and a big...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 126mick
Michael D, Manager at Tullyarvan Mill Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review and excellent comments on our staff and facilities. Hope to see you back this way sometime in the future. So nice of you to mention that anyone travelling along the Wild Atlantic Way should book their accommodation with us. Thanks again.

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2016 via mobile

Lovely hostel, friendly staff, very quiet, clean and comfortable rooms, excellent facilities - probably the best equipped kitchen I've seen in any hostel. We had a private room, which was very spacious and even had a TV. Free wifi with good reception throughout the building. The hostel is in a pretty central location for exploring Inishowen. Highly recommended, would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Nicole F
Michael D, Manager at Tullyarvan Mill Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay in our hostel. Appreciate the great feedback, as you had the double room that is why you were lucky and had the TV. We aim to please and do our best to ensure everyone enjoys their stay. Hope to see you back in Inishowen.

Clonmany, Ireland
Reviewed 29 January 2016

I stayed at Tullyarvan Mill for 2 weeks as i was caught between houses. I was unsure how long i would be so to save money i went for the hostel option. Having never stayed in a hostel before i was unsure what it would be like, expecting bare facilities and a basic bed for the evening. I was almost...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlPienaar
Michael D, Manager at Tullyarvan Mill Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic review we really appreciate you taking the time to write such nice comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hostel. I noted from your review that this was your first experience of hostel accommodation. We are so glad that you were impressed with the facilities, cleanliness, location, staff & value...

Nantes, France
Reviewed 20 November 2015

Perfect hostel (clean, spacious, staff kind). Some defects but not important : -> 1 km - 1,5km to go to the Town Center. -> WIFI is bad in the bedrooms, perfect in the kitchen -> The hostel looks like a hopital (large corridor, wc & shower for disabled..., not very nice)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gabriel B
Michael D, Manager at Tullyarvan Mill Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you found the hostel to be clean, spacious and that the staff were kind. The WiFi Hot spots are located in our large self-catering kitchen, main reception & at hostel reception. As far as rooms go, some guests get a good enough signal, depending on their proximity to the main routers...

co dublin
Reviewed 22 October 2015

A really great value Hostel for a group attending Cranafest. Private room was great standard, The Dorms had ensuite shower with separate loo- very sensible . Kitchen really well equipped and spacious ( apart from corkscrews broken- but we managed ) Friendly helpful staff and we booked for next year already The lounge could maybe cosier for winter ie a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
Michael D, Manager at Tullyarvan Mill Hostel, responded to this review

Glad to see you have already booked for next years CranaFest. Thank you for your review. Apologies didn't know the corkscrew was broken, but it has been replaced since. From your comments its looks like overall you enjoyed your stay in our Hostel. We appreciate good positive feedback. Thanks again

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Maybe its a hangover from past days but when a place is described as a "Hostel" I tend to conjure images of greasy kitchens and smelly, overcrowded bunk rooms. What a delight then to arrive at Tullyarvan Mill and find the place spotless, spacious and equipped with arguably the most comfortable bunk beds in existence, not to mention the wet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roddy A
Michael D, Manager at Tullyarvan Mill Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we always appreciate when a guest takes the time to write a review especially when they have enjoyed their stay in our hostel. So glad that you were impressed with our facility. we work hard at keeping our hostel clean and comfortable so that guests will enjoy their stay. Hopefully you will return in the...

Passau, Germany
Reviewed 8 April 2015

We stayed as a family and enjoyed the spacious rooms and most of all the surroundings of the hostel, a nice little green park. Hostel is very clean, big kitchen and dining area. No real common room which makes it a little impersonal. It is cheap though and has friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susi A
Michael D, Manager at Tullyarvan Mill Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. Glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our spacious family rooms. Maybe you will return again in the future.

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 5 August 2014

When my recent stay at the hostel was cut short due to an injury the amazing staff went above and beyond to assist me with emergency health care, and even took the time to help me find a flight home. The hostel itself is clean (spotless kitchen) and well run with large dorms and en-suites, but it is the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trudi Y
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed here recently for St Patricks day and was surprised by the great quality of just about everything , Very clean Rooms , Toilets and Kitchen ….. The beds are also top notch , The lady that checked us in was super friendly and made us feel right at home , I will definitely be returning in the near future...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brian M

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buncrana hotels
1.3 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 5 in Buncrana
782 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 5 in Buncrana
260 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lake of Shadows Hotel
Lake of Shadows Hotel
#3 of 5 in Buncrana
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
St Columbs House
St Columbs House
#1 of 8 in Buncrana
16 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caldra B&B
Caldra B&B
#6 of 8 in Buncrana
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westbrook House B&B
Westbrook House B&B
#3 of 8 in Buncrana
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tullyarvan Mill, a 19th century renovated Corn Mill is situated approximately a 15 minute walk from the seaside town of Buncrana, Co. Donegal on Irelands 'Wild Atlantic Way'. Adjoining the Mill is a purpose built tourism hostel. Designed to offer value and comfort for families,individual visitors, residential groups. There are 51 beds in total, 2 large dormitories, 4 Family Rooms and 1 Double/Twin Room all with en-suite shower and toilet facilities. The large self catering kitchen has TV and Free Wi-Fi access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tullyarvan Mill Hostel

Address: Mill Lane | Tullyarvan, Buncrana Co Donegal, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Price Range: £13 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Tullyarvan Mill Hostel Buncrana, County Donegal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tullyarvan Mill Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all the rooms have 6-8 beds but you can have a room all to yourself if one is available”
 of 5 bubbles RoddyA_12, 14 Oct 2015 | Read review
1 of 1