We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Kirkwood Cottages & Fishing - REAL FARM HOLIDAYS

Kirkwood, Dalton, Lockerbie DG11 1DH Scotland
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (21)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 cottage in Dalton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set in an idyllic, unspoilt area of Dumfriesshire in the lowlands of Scotland, Kirkwood has seven charming holiday cottages. At Kirkwood, we offer a peaceful and relaxing experience for those who want it but for those who don't there is plenty to do, both on the property and in the surrounding area. We also have many food dishes made here at Kirkwood using our own produce, which you can order for your arrival.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room features
Seating area
Sofa
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Hair dryer
Kitchenware
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
French, German
25Reviews0Q+A3Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 22
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
David F wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution
I have been a regular visitor to Kirkwood holiday cottages for more than 10 years. Normally visiting in the spring for a week and then again in the late summer for 10 days or a fortnight. The main reason for my visits is to go fishing for salmon, sea trout and brown trout with often really spectacular results. But this is fishing and more particularly salmon fishing where all bets are off. – You can sometimes do no wrong and there are plenty of fish caught and at other times no matter what you do the fish remain elusive. What I have learned though is that the chances of “hooking up” is largely down to the river conditions on the day; when the river is up and coloured, it is mainly good but when the river is low and clear the chances are low. Anyway, enough of fishing and I will now continue with my review about Kirkwood for those who are not anglers. Firstly, the surroundings are outstandingly beautiful and peaceful. Just to wander through the woods or to stroll in the fields down by the river is a fantastic and relaxing experience with plenty of wildlife in evidence. – Apart from the farm livestock there are otters, deer, foxes, badgers and a myriad of other animals and birds to see. Also, because the land is not farmed intensively the flora is diverse and abundant. - A large proportion of the estate is woodland with some other areas that are not cultivated at all making for a rich environment of biodiverse habitats. The cottages are excellent being well appointed, clean, quiet, comfortable and homely with all of the equipment one might need on a self-catering holiday. The owners and staff are amazingly friendly, helpful and welcoming. – If you need advice, ideas or assistance with anything it is but a phone call or conversation away and that personal touch is worth much. To conclude, anyone looking to get away from it all in a tranquil and beautiful part of the country will not be disappointed. I certainly will be returning again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anthony Steel, Owner at Kirkwood Cottages & Fishing - REAL FARM HOLIDAYS
Responded 21 Apr 2023
Thank you, for the great review, it is much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Neil M wrote a review Apr 2023
Salisbury, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Having recently returned from yet another fishing holiday at Kirkwood (I believe that it was the 25th occasion we have stayed there), I am reminded once again why we continue to choose Kirkwood rather than look for other places to go and fish. The cottages are warm (in winter), well equipped, and very comfortable (we usually stay in Fox); the farmland and surrounding area are quite beautiful, particularly down by the river and completely unspoilt; Anthony, Anne and their staff always make us feel very welcome, and simply could not be more helpful; finally for a keen fisherman, the Kirkwood stretch of the Annan river has its fair share of salmon and sea trout during the season, and holds a good number of weighty brown trout as well. As the whole package works so well for us, I see no reason why we won’t as usual be back again this year and for several years to come.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anthony Steel, Owner at Kirkwood Cottages & Fishing - REAL FARM HOLIDAYS
Responded 21 Apr 2023
Thank you, for the great review, it is much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Meander712596 wrote a review Aug 2022
5 contributions6 helpful votes
Anthony was very welcoming and very helpful. It was our first time experiencing quad bike and absolutely enjoyed it. He taught us very well and took us around his beautiful farm. We will visit again soon for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Anthony Steel, Owner at Kirkwood Cottages & Fishing - REAL FARM HOLIDAYS
Responded 21 Apr 2023
Thank you, for the great review, it is much appreciated.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gordon wrote a review Oct 2020
Mosta, Russia5 contributions1 helpful vote
The comfortable independent accommodation, the remote quiet farm location, and the friendly able staff, combined with opportunities to roam, to see farm animals, to learn to ride quad bikes and more, afforded the perfect recipe for a great three generation family holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Choose the cottage that matches your needs
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anthony Steel, Owner at Kirkwood Cottages & Fishing - REAL FARM HOLIDAYS
Responded 21 Apr 2023
Thank you, for the great review, it is much appreciated. It you are looking to come back, don't forget to book direct for our Returning Guest Discount.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Hercules R wrote a review Nov 2018
Ullapool, United Kingdom327 contributions86 helpful votes
I saw this advertised inFly Fishing &Fly Tying. It was easy to enrol and the admin was great with maps, kit list etc. The cottage accommodation was luxurious compared to some holiday cottages I have had over the years, en-suite as well. Each cottage had a spacious sitting-diner-kitchen and we all met in one to eat and in another for the talk on salmon life cycle and fly tying. The Kirkwood beat was a lovely stretch of water. Although we had all fished, the tuition started with the basics. Lee who gave the casting tuition was excellent and we all picked up the different casts for both right and left bank fishing. There was one to one tuition from Lee, Mark and our host Anthony. I really learnt a lot. The last day was atrocious with high winds and rain. We went to a beat on the Jardine estate. Instead of a washout we were taught how to cast in these conditions, for me the best thing I learnt. Well that is until I fell in, but all good experience. The meals were amazing, thank you Rachel. A heart cooked breakfast, hot soup and rolls on the beat, and amazing suppers. We were all videotaped casting and seeing this in slow motion was really instructional I really enjoyed the company of like minded companionship. We had a great meal the last night up at Anthony & Anne’s house. Finally I loved all their dogs, I would happily given any a home. A Wonderful experience. Even better the family also do other courses, the wildlife photography really is tempting.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Go00993297745, Owner at Kirkwood Cottages & Fishing - REAL FARM HOLIDAYS
Responded 20 Nov 2018
Thank you, it is so nice to hear your views and we do appreciate it.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Joaovalle wrote a review Sept 2018
London, United Kingdom35 contributions66 helpful votes
+1
we arrive at the lodge and all was great, the field surrounding were marvellous and the crispy fresh air energised us. That was until we got to the bedroom and open the shower room. The smell of urine on the carpet floor was quite a contrast with it's surroundings. Who still use carpets on a toilet? The other toilet also had a problem but I can't possible discuss in public, suffice to say that it is in need of a replacement. A very disappointing time as you can imagine.My wife bought a potpourri to disguise the urine smell. Couple other things to bear in mind if you decided to book, one is that they do not provide towels, I did ask the question "why not" and the answer was very strange, something to do with people like to bring their own? Who would want to bring a towel on a weekend break is only clear now after the state of that shower room. But they offered us some. The other is that they will charge an extra £100.00 if you leave on a Monday even if the monday is a Bank Holiday. Fuel charges are also on the steep end, 3 days cost us £24.00, I believe that this and the monday charge is just a stealth way of getting more money from the customers but I am bias.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: avoid the south lodge
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Go00993297745, Owner at Kirkwood Cottages & Fishing - REAL FARM HOLIDAYS
Responded 20 Nov 2018
Joao you omitted to mention a couple of points. First that we visited you on two or three occasions during your stay and you never told us that there was any smell of urine. If you had informed us we could have cleaned it or done something. You only told us AFTER you had left and by then yes, our housekeeper confirmed there was a smell but as she swears there was no smell before you arrived she was mystified. We can not clean it or sort a problem, if we are not told. The second thing you omitted was that you asked for a refund at the time you complained about the smell with the implication that you would not make a bad review so long as you received a refund. As we refused to give you money back, we have been expecting a bad review so it is no surprise. Yes our terms (which we explained to you twice when you booked) include the extras such as electricity and gas at exactly what we are charged by electricity company and if requested we do provide and charge extra for towels. This reduces the wastage of cleaning towels that are already clean on a "just in case" basis (for example when only 3 people end up in a cottage for 6, we would still clean all 6 towels). When we met after you had arrived, you asked for towels, so we went away and brought some back to the cottage for you later. On both occasions you told us there was no other problem in the cottage. You then had more opportunities later. Why did you not tell us about other problems at the time?
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
grimn0rtherner wrote a review Sept 2017
Sheffield, United Kingdom18 contributions8 helpful votes
I made a large group booking, choosing this venue as the farm has a few cottages overlooking a shared courtyard. The accommodation was of a good standard (and great value) and I would happily come back for a break here again. The location was amazing - a picturesque farm with walks around the grounds, and a village pub a couple of miles walk away (which serves really good quality thai food). The staff were great - they are always nearby, working on the farm and always stopping to check up on us and make sure we had everything we needed. Given the large group it was hard for us to organise activities but the staff set up an obtacle course for us where we drove a tractor round one of the fields, followed by a tug of war!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Go00993297745, Owner at Kirkwood Cottages & Fishing - REAL FARM HOLIDAYS
Responded 20 Nov 2018
Thank you, it is so nice to hear your views and we do appreciate it.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BettyLouisa wrote a review Aug 2017
Adelaide11 contributions5 helpful votes
Fresh air, green fields and quality sleep accompanied by friends and local farm-stock! Dalton Green is a handsome cottage with stunning views and all the amenities you need to make a week away a dream come true.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
stephen2448 wrote a review Aug 2017
2 contributions
We stayed here for a week what a great place to stay the place is very clean the staff are very friendly and always on hand if you need anything and we had fresh veg and eggs and honey all from the farm for a small price the quad biking with Rob was amazing just like to thank Rob and his staff for a great holiday will be recommending this cottage to friends. Many thanks for a great holiday Stephen Quinn.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Martin W wrote a review May 2017
8 contributions6 helpful votes
Well the Springers remained elusive this year, but sportingly the trout did not! This is a fantastic place to get away from it all; very peaceful and a very long way from the Madding Crowd. We stayed in Dalton Green Farmhouse, which is a real touch of luxury, complete with a huge Aga - and when you are in tune with the pace at which an Aga roasts a leg of lamb then you really are on holiday. I have fished (successfully) for Autumn salmon here on the annual Salmon School so this was a voyage into the unknown. Conditions didn't favour the big fish moving but the warm evenings gave rise to some early Mayfly activity and in turn some athletic response from the wild brown trout. Incidentally, there is also a small lake stocked with rainbow trout which is ideal for any newcomer to fly fishing. Anthony quite rightly gets an honourable mention in some of the other reviews. He always goes out of his way to help you make the most of your visit, including some guiding to see the badgers in the evenings. The farmhouse is easily big enough to accommodate ten people with enough space to ensure you are not tripping over each other - so this place is definitely on the cards for a family gathering over Christmas! In case you hadn't picked up on it already, I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Kirkwood and its cottages, as well as its Salmon School. Tight lines.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dalton area.
PRICE RANGE
£96 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandDumfries and GallowayLockerbieDalton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KIRKWOOD COTTAGES & FISHING - REAL FARM HOLIDAYS - Updated 2024 Prices (Dalton)

Frequently Asked Questions about Kirkwood Cottages & Fishing - REAL FARM HOLIDAYS
Which popular attractions are close to Kirkwood Cottages & Fishing - REAL FARM HOLIDAYS?
Nearby attractions include Lockerbie Garden of Remembrance (5.0 miles), Dino Park (2.3 miles), and Eskrigg Nature Reserve (3.7 miles).
Which room amenities are available at Kirkwood Cottages & Fishing - REAL FARM HOLIDAYS?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Kirkwood Cottages & Fishing - REAL FARM HOLIDAYS?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kirkwood Cottages & Fishing - REAL FARM HOLIDAYS?
Conveniently located restaurants include Just Be, The Cressfield Hotel, and Cafe 91.
Is Kirkwood Cottages & Fishing - REAL FARM HOLIDAYS located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the centre of Dalton.
Are pets allowed at Kirkwood Cottages & Fishing - REAL FARM HOLIDAYS?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kirkwood Cottages & Fishing - REAL FARM HOLIDAYS?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including French and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Kirkwood Cottages & Fishing - REAL FARM HOLIDAYS?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Lochmaben Castle (4.2 miles).